We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
81 Smith St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$110
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
$78
View deal
Official Hotel$117
Expedia.com$110
Travelocity$110
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (152)
360
Panoramas (16)
Room & Suite (60)

About

#12 of 38 hotels in Darwin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
H Hotel is a locally designed, built and loved hotel. Being centrally located on Smith Street in the Darwin CBD, the hotel is a short distance to the Entertainment Center, Darwin Convention Center, Esplanade and Mitchell Street (Darwin's dining and night-life hub). The stylish property offers 186 rooms and suites providing guests with modern comforts such as crisp linens, luxurious pillow top beds, deluxe bathroom amenities and a curated selection of minibar treats. Most rooms showcase spectacular views over Cullen Bay and the Cityscape, with other comforts including complimentary parking and high-speed internet, FOXTEL streaming in-room movies & sports channels and a rooftop gym.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking garage
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, Greek and 2 more
577Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 202
  • 218
  • 86
  • 28
  • 43
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kelly F wrote a review 13 Sep
2 contributions
Certainly not the stay we expected at this hotel. Customer service doesn’t exist here. The dinner service was shocking we had to actually get up from our table to see if we could possibly order dessert as the waitress was too busy looking at her phone to see us trying to attract her attention to order. On arrival in our room we discovered there were no towels. When we called reception to ask where the towels were we were told they would send some up. 1 hour later we called again as we were waiting to have a shower as we had a dinner cruise booked & we had to be out at a specific time. We were told sorry there is a shortage the hotel is booked out , we are trying to get more but it won’t be till 6pm or we can bring you some hand towels! We advised we needed to leave for our cruise at 430pm & were offered nothing but hand towels again. We ended up finding the room service trolley & staff member & asked them for towels & they said there were rooms that weren’t booked that had towels in them he would get them & bring to us which he did. Arrived at breakfast to an empty buffet which the chef want even aware of till he saw us standing there waiting for food so then he started cooking ! We came in the middle of the breakfast service time so not like it was the very beginning or even the end of breakfast service! Yeh whole experience has been terrible I feel like I am staying in a back packers! Asked at reception where to get some iced water from & was told to go to Woolies as the bar was closed . Walked around the foyer & there is a water fountain for guests to use. Yeh staff could care less about the guests . Anything you ask is just a bother to them !
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dustin Kochen, Marketing at H on Smith Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Kelly, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are sorry to hear of your experience in the restaurant, and we do apologise for the lack of towels, Darwin has experienced linen shortages however this could have been handled better by our team. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We do appreciate your feedback and we will discuss these items with our team. Sincerely, H on Smith.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trusstytraveller wrote a review 7 Sep
Palmview, Australia998 contributions366 helpful votes
Check in was seamless, front counter staff were helpful, room was huge. A really well located hotel within walking distance to most of Darwin CBD and the local Woolworths. The restaurant was well run, food was great and reasonably priced. Compared to other hotels and their prices this was a great find. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dustin Kochen, Marketing at H on Smith Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Hi Trustytraveller, Thank you for the fantastic review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel location. Great to hear that our staff were friendly and helpful, and that you had a great experience in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks again, H on Smith.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
phillie55 wrote a review 4 Sep
Hoppers Crossing, Australia89 contributions23 helpful votes
This hotel is expensive for what it delivers. Don’t be deceived by the sites photos. Our queen room was decidedly smaller with only a desk chair. I sat on the bed whilst my husband sat on the chair if wanted a cup of tea or coffee when out and about. we were on the 9th floor and there was an on and off sound of bubbling water(? from the aircon) which was louder and more disturbing during the night. House keeping varied from excellent to did not happen, on the 5th day I enquired when the sheets would be changed? I was informed every 3 days! Which had not occurred. We had the buffet breakfast on our first morning which was extremely basic and not worth money. From then on we ate out. A great breakfast place during the working week is only 100 metres away. The pluses were a fairly quite area, good air conditioning (excepting noise) the bed was comfortable and a nice pool, though uncomfortable pool lounges.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Eat else where
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dustin Kochen, Marketing at H on Smith Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear phillie55, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are glad to hear that you found the location quiet and liked the pool. Due to staff and linen shortages, we are experiencing some issue which we do apologise for, and we acknowledge that you should not have had to wait 5 days before asking for a service, we will certainly address this with the team. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. Sincerely, H on Smith.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane C wrote a review Aug 2022
11 contributions3 helpful votes
Loved this hotel central location in Darwin CBD. Walking distance to everything. And cheap taxi/ Uber to Parap and Mindil markets. Big comfy bed, great little pool, good bar with smoking area and lovely restaurant. Recommend as very reasonable rates.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dustin Kochen, Marketing at H on Smith Hotel
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Hi janecl1422KN, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and our location. We are pleased to hear you had a great stay, and we hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards, H on Smith.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Larelle F wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely little hotel in the CBD. Great coffee which was a pleasant surprise. Usually we are googling best coffee houses on arrival to anywhere. Most importantly though comfy bed and pillows. Friendly and warm customer service. I recommend you book the corner rooms for the extra windows/light if you’re staying a few days or more. Pool in full sun by midday which is what you want if your from Melbourne and there’s also shade available for reading and snacking by the pool.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Book the corner room, same price as regular rooms but more light.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dustin Kochen, Marketing at H on Smith Hotel
Responded 10 Aug 2022
Hi Larelle, Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel! We are so pleased to hear that the bed and pillows were comfortable, and we appreciate your lovely feedback about our staff and service. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon. Thanks again, H on Smith.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sabs wrote a review Aug 2022
Perth, Australia9 contributions7 helpful votes
We visited Darwin from 29th July to 02nd August and stayed at H on Smith hotel. Staff were courteous, polite and very helpful. Our room was spacious, clean and well serviced. A huge shout out to Chris who went out of his way to help us at a time when Qantas had lost our bags . Chris, you are an absolute star! Many thanks to Rishi at the reception too for excellent service. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dustin Kochen, Marketing at H on Smith Hotel
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Hi Sabbay67, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your wonderful feedback about our team, and we are happy to hear they assisted you. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Thanks again, H on Smith.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lihan W wrote a review Jul 2022
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
I stayed here recently was really impressed with the room and the view was spectacular at sunset. The hotel was close to shops and restaurants. Reception staff there are very good they help you with any issues would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants decent place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Higher floor especially the corner offer larger rooms and offer sunset views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dustin Kochen, Marketing at H on Smith Hotel
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Dear WanSolo2022. Thank you for the 5 star review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the spectacular sunset! We hope to see you again very soon. Thanks again, H on Smith.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melbcowgirl wrote a review Jul 2022
Melbourne, Australia1000 contributions25 helpful votes
Hotel desk staff with helpful and friendly. Room was large with great pillows and sheets. Staff accomodating when I asked for extra blanket. Break delivery to room was simple. Some confusion working out what the options were for eating in restaurant for breakfast, but once we figured it out, buffet had good selection. Easy onsite parking. Room only serviced every couple of days and only downside is for this price would expect daily. In my room carpet was grubby and needed a good vacuum. Some staining on lamp shades carpet needs a steam clean, but everything else was fantastic. Shower was amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Need to request towels at reception. If traveling with friends request same floor as key only...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dustin Kochen, Marketing at H on Smith Hotel
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Hi Melbcowgirl, Thank you for the great review of our hotel. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the bedding and the shower! We appreciate your feedback regarding the carpets and lamp shades, and we will pass this onto the relevant team. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, H on Smith.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lizgay wrote a review Jul 2022
Ballarat, Australia14 contributions6 helpful votes
Great location. Very clean, and comfortable. We are travelling with another couple and booked two rooms. We are separated by 7 floors and I hope our tariff was not the same as our friends have a much bigger room with a couch, extra chairs and a desk, and more power points. The bathroom sink is tiny and needs to be used for everything as there are no laundry facilities at this hotel. the kettle does not fit under the bathroom tap, so needs to filled with a glass. Only one side of the bed has a light. The air conditioner sounds like a toilet flushing from time to time. The biggest drawback is there is no ventilation in the rooms. Windows do not open, it is very stuffy. Front of house staff are lovely and efficient, but unfortunately room cleaning was poor and restaurant/bar service staff seem to be really struggling. This hotel would be fine for one or two nights, but definitely not set up for long stays.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Don’t stay in a standard room if staying more than one or two nights. Maybe check out the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dustin Kochen, Marketing at H on Smith Hotel
Responded 6 Aug 2022
Dear lizgay, Thank you for your review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location, and found our rooms clean and comfortable. It does sound like your friends booked a different room type, there are three different types and they are all hotel style rooms suitable for shorter stays. Thank you for the feedback about the air-conditioner, we will pass this onto the relevant team. Thanks again, H on Smith.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melbournetraveller84 wrote a review Jul 2022
Melbourne124 contributions74 helpful votes
Stayed two nights each at beginning and end of Kakadu trip. Very good location, easy walking to inner city attractions and restaurants, car rental, supermarkets. Good free parking. Large clean rooms and bathrooms although they were rather dark ( presume keeps them cool in summer), rather uninspiring grey decor, and basic fluorescent lighting throughout. Pool is compact but fine for a quick dip. If the decor had been a bit less basic would have been 5 stars
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: King suite worth the extra for amazing spaciousness, but still the same grey decor!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dustin Kochen, Marketing at H on Smith Hotel
Responded 6 Aug 2022
Dear Melbournetraveller84, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our location and the rooms. We appreciate your feedback regarding the decor. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, H on Smith.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$95 - US$174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNorthern TerritoryTop EndDarwin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
186
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about H on Smith Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to H on Smith Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Parliament House (0.2 km), Bicentennial Park (0.4 km), and St Mary Star of the Sea Catholic Cathedral (0.08 km).
What are some of the property amenities at H on Smith Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at H on Smith Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at H on Smith Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at H on Smith Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to H on Smith Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Phat Mango, Moorish Cafe, and Hanuman Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at H on Smith Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is H on Smith Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Darwin.
Are any cleaning services offered at H on Smith Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does H on Smith Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at H on Smith Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Italian, Chinese, Hindi, and Greek.