We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zing Backpackers

Traveler (13)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (1)
156 Victoria St Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011 Australia See on map
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Wifi
Free Parking
2 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini fridgebed dormsmall kitchengood nights sleeptvinternetlaptoptrain
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2018

Backpack was clean with a great location ! (Nears shop and the beautiful botanic garden) Host are nice and friendly. Everything is good and looks like to website pictures. I booked a room with 2 beds and small kitchen 👍

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mykidou
Response from Bruce-KE, Manager at Zing BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review-we have a great location,friendly staff and the reality is as good as the pictures on our website,

Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

A friend and me stayed for three days in a 2 bed room we didn't know what to expect as it was very cheap, we were very shocked when we saw how nice the room was and even had a TV. Great kitchen and cool...More

Thank constalasasa
Response from Bruce-KE, Manager at Zing BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review.We have nice rooms,a great kitchen and we are a truly international hostel with guests from LOTS of different countries.

Reviewed 13 May 2018

Being 20 years old and travelling alone it can be very nerve racking entering a new hostel, from the second i arrived at zing i was made to feel sooo welcome and fitted right in. If you want clean rooms, great facilities and the buzz...More

Thank domaustraliajones
Response from Bruce-KE, Manager at Zing BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review -you will feel welcome as soon as you arrive-our vfriendly staff make sure of that.In addition we have clean rooms,great facilities and a brilliant location.

Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

I have travelled around the world and my time at zing has to be one of the best. The staff went out of their way to make my time a good one. Sven was hilarious, Sam was a joker and the manager Bruce was amazing....More

Thank lizioldham
Response from Bruce-KE, Manager at Zing BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review .We have fantastic staff from several different countries that help to make Zing a great hostel.Our location is also brilliant and I'm stoked that you thought the manager was amazing!!

Reviewed 10 May 2018

Stayed at Zing for two weeks stayed in a 6 bed dorm the room was super clean and plenty of space, and i even had an en suite bathroom. couldnt believe it for such a cheap price. During the week its a friendly chilled hostel...More

Thank Mezzeisawful
Response from Bruce-KE, Manager at Zing BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review.Our rooms are clean and great value.We have lots of different nationalities on the staff and in the hostel and the staff are super friendly.

View more reviews
Top amenities
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Non-Smoking Hotel
Price range
US$16 - US$63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
Reservation Options
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zing Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Also Known As
Travellers Rest Hotel Sydney
Formerly known as
Travellers Rest
Traveler (13)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby HotelsSee all 188 hotels in Sydney
Highfield Private Hotel
97 reviews
.04 km away
Spicers Potts Point
158 reviews
.09 km away
Quest Potts Point
634 reviews
.09 km away
The Crest Hotel
23 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 6,740 restaurants in Sydney
Ms G's
503 reviews
.05 km away
Chester White Cured Diner
84 reviews
.06 km away
Petrol Restaurant
113 reviews
.09 km away
Holm Cafe
45 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,758 attractions in Sydney
El Alamein Memorial Fountain
30 reviews
.19 km away
Rob's Tour
16 reviews
.16 km away
The Old Fitzroy Theatre
13 reviews
.24 km away
Bamboozle Room
14 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Zing Backpackers staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Room for 2 people with small kitchen."
Read review
"Private rooms are very well priced"
Read review
"The top floors are more quiet since they are further from the courtyard."
Read review
"Book in advance"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing