We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Sydney

Save
Share
117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
US$222
US$173
View deal
SAVE US$49
Booking.comUS$202
Expedia.comUS$202
getaroom.comUS$222
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2917)
Room & Suite (1193)
Dining (296)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from InterContinental Sydney
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#69 of 207 hotels in Sydney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meeting and event spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
5,610Reviews94Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,079
  • 1,619
  • 552
  • 199
  • 162
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tamsin wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
We booked a king room with a east harbour view for a 2 night treat for a special occasion. 2 weeks out we received a cancellation without explanation. My friend and goddaughter had booked a room to celebrate a birthday on my suggestion so we could be together. I tried x 4 to call to find out why we had been cancelled but at that point my friend hadnt been. After being on hold for significant periods of time I got cut off x 3 and the fourth time I couldn’t be helped. We are now left trying to find suitable accommodation 2 weeks out with prices significantly higher than when we had booked. The customer service has been appalling and if you have a chance to book somewhere else I would.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from InterContinental Sydney , General Manager at InterContinental Sydney
Responded yesterday
Dear tamsin235 Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us at InterContinental Sydney through Tripadvisor reviews. Regrettably due to unforeseeable circumstances a delay has arisen in our hotel renovation project and as a result we are unable to accommodate your reservation on the date you require. Please rest assured our team were making contact with all reservations directly. Unfortunately, before we had the opportunity to make contact with you , the third party online booking agent you utilised to make your reservation has cancelled your reservation automatically and notified you of this without explanation. Please email us directly at reservations.sydney@ihg.com where a member of our team will be delighted to assist you with finding alternative accommodations. If you prefer to discuss over the phone, kindly email us your preferred contact number and a member of our team will reach out via telephone. We sincerely apologise for the disappointment you have felt with this experience, and we wish you all the very best for the upcoming birthday celebration. Warm regards, Jennifer Brown General Manager
Read more
PickeringMc wrote a review 15 Apr
Bendigo194 contributions48 helpful votes
+1
Was very enjoyable, attentive staff, The cocktail bar was amazing, beautiful food & ambience view great views of Sydney. Great chartreuse boards ! Close walk to Quay & easy walk to CBD. Covid restrictions has changed breakfast buffet, sadly :( But they need more people for service with this new system. One person cannot make toast for a full Restaurant Really enjoyed our stay hope to be back soon :)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
ExecTravel1075 wrote a review 10 Apr
Toorak, Australia62 contributions57 helpful votes
A well located hotel. Arrived late and could not find the room service menu which I later found out was a virtual menu accessed through the tv but there were no clear instructions advising of this. Ended up raiding the mini bar to find around half of the snacks out of date - to the hotel’s credit they did not charge for them after I advised them of this. Shower above bath with a shower curtain is not acceptable for a hotel in this brand category and is for me the biggest turnoff.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Adelaide5000 wrote a review 9 Apr
Adelaide, Australia195 contributions122 helpful votes
The border shutdowns have made travel so difficult, so we were super excited that we could actually get away for Easter. It was our first trip since January 2020 and was a return to the hotel. The check in process was easy and touch free, with Covid safety in mind. We were disappointed the Club was no longer operating and never made it to the public bar it now is. This meant that being a Spire Elite Ambassador was of no advantage at all. We didn’t get an upgrade either. We had two rooms - a suite and a twin room. The rooms were immaculately clean, and no staff enter the room when you’re there. You needed to book a time for breakfast each day. The first two breakfast experiences at Cafe Opera were terrible. One queue with served food, clearly understaffed an unprepared. So, for three of us we had to join a long queue to get orange juice. Then join the queue again, wait until everyone in front of us had their toast and condiments served to them, then get to the cereals/yoghurt/fruit/cold meats to be served to us individually. Then we went back - end of one long queue again - to be served cold ore-toasted bread and condiments, swing by baked goods or hot foods. Heaven help you if you forgot to get butter (or were given one small pat only) as it was to the end of the queue. The coeliac was bought safely prepared toast separately, and it was a bit warmer. The second two days were an improvement - which was just as well as the hotel was at capacity. The toast was still cold, but they had changed the setup so we could join four different and much shorter queues. The hot cross buns and croissant were excellent. Choices for coeliacs were extremely limited compared to previous visits - no pancakes or similar. Thanks to Easter we were no disturbed by the renovations, but there were warnings in each room. The rooms have nice views and will respond well to a freshen up. The staff were friendly. They’ll have to fix breakfast - Covid is a poor excuse for the significant decline in the options - as there are new fancier hotels, which we may try next visit in June.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Lachlan wrote a review 8 Apr
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Unfortunately, our experience at the Intercontinental Hotel was not up to our high expectations we otherwise had for a five-star hotel with such an international reputation. Disappointingly, the problems we encountered during our stay were not related to the overall facilities provided, rather were to do with poor communication and lack of the personalised service that the Intercontinental apparently prides itself on. We initially arranged to check-in at 3pm, having made the booking through booking.com for a King Room with a view of the Harbour Bridge at $390 for the night. After arriving at the Intercontinental a couple of minutes after 3pm, I paid for the room, noticing that I was charged $490 instead of the advertised $390. Whilst I assumed this was some sort of bond or holding fee, this was not mentioned on the website nor explained at the front desk when it was charged – not wanting to cause any embarrassment for the staff member I decided I would simply wait until check-out to clarify the charge. We were then told that the room was not quite ready and that the front desk would call us to inform when the room was available. Despite the accumulation of slight inconveniences this still didn’t bother us too much, and we asked if we could leave our bags before we headed to Circular Quay for a drink while we waited. After we had been in Circular Quay for approximately 45 minutes, I received a phone call informing me that the room was ready. Excitedly, we finished our drinks and made our way back to the Intercontinental to finalise check-in. On arriving we were given the keys to the room, and when I asked about the bags I was told they had already been taken up. We proceeded to our room to find it had not been cleaned at all, with the previous occupant’s sheets and towels strewn all over the room. This was concerning to us noting the otherwise heavy Covid-safe measures in place at the hotel (and its history as a quarantine hotel), and we had entered a room that had obviously recently been occupied. Our bags were also nowhere to be seen. We went to make our way back down to the check-in desk and were met in the lift by a member of staff who apologised that the room was not ready. To us, this was very unusual, however, as easy-going people we accepted the staff member’s explanation in the lift that there had been a mix-up of our room and it wasn’t yet ready. As we waited in reception, a frantic discussion occurred just behind the counter between what we could assume was staff and management. The same staff member that met us in the lift came back and ushered us to follow him to the ‘Panorama’ Bar on Level 31 without any further explanation as to why. We were both a little unsettled at this stage, with my partner having hoped to have a rest after a busy day prior to proceeding to our dinner later that evening. We obligingly followed, assuming that we were being taken to ‘Panorama’ by some way of an apology for the mix-up, which at this stage we had been informed was caused by a ‘communication error’. After being seated, we were soon asked by Panorama staff if we wished to order anything, however it was clear we were expected to pay for whatever it was we ordered. This was frustrating, as from our perspective we had been incorrectly summoned from our spot in Circular Quay to be bought up to the Hotel’s own bar to spend our money. This was compounded by the fact that we had already been waiting for an extended period for our room to be ready, and then exposed to a room that had not been cleaned despite the supposed strict Covid-safe cleaning requirements Intercontinental employs. We had been expected to accept this by way of a verbal ‘we are very sorry, its because we are busy today’, and somehow the view at Panorama was expected to dazzle us into forgetting what happened. We would however, like to point out the excellent work done by Mei, a member of staff working at Panorama. She asked us what had happened after noticing we were a little unsettled at the table and didn’t want to order anything but a glass of water. We told her what had happened, and that we didn’t want to pay for drinks when we thought that we’d been led to Panorama for some sort of compensatory reason. She apologised profusely for the situation, and personally chased up the status of our room and served us a glass of sparkling wine each. Despite this being a lovely gesture and obviously at the extent of Mei’s remit, it didn’t seem like it was an adequate compensation for such a major set of mistakes on the part of the Hotel. By this stage we had been waiting approximately two hours extra from the original check-in time, when I received a phone call informing me the room was now ready, and that someone would come up with the keys. Again, Mei stood out for her customer service as she ended up going down to personally retrieve the keys to the room as no one appeared after 20 minutes. The rest of the evening was pleasant after eventually getting into our room, however by this stage there was no opportunity for us to enjoy the facilities we otherwise intended to as we had to get ready to proceed out to our dinner. We had breakfast in the morning at the Hotel prior to checking out. This was non-inclusive in the fee paid for the room. Upon check out, which we did at around 10am, we were asked by the same staff member that checked us in how our stay was. I explained that it was okay as the room was nice, but that the miscommunications relating to check-in were not very good and that we were disappointed we had to basically ask for both an explanation and some sort of recompense for our trouble. I also expressed my concern that if we had not asked, we would have been charged for anything we might’ve otherwise ordered at Panorama. In response to this, the staff member told us that we needn’t worry as we would not get charged anything aside from the cost of the room. I was therefore slightly surprised when charged a further $85 on my account after arriving home, having been led to believe that the hotel was at least happy to pay for breakfast after such major failings on the part of customer service. In our view, aside from the nice facilities and the service provided by Mei, the experience was significantly below what can be reasonably expected of any hotel, let alone a five-star international chain owned by a multi-billion-dollar company. Miscommunication, poor teamwork and a lack of customer service led to us having to wait much longer than can be reasonably expected of a guest paying $390 for single night, as well as myself and my partner entering an unclean and therefore unsafe room in the middle of a global pandemic. The only compensation we were offered this entire time was a glass of sparkling wine and a verbal apology, which is plainly unacceptable for any organisation claiming to have outstanding personalised customer service. I have never experienced such a grievous collection of errors being treated with the same laxness as would otherwise be expected of a minor common mistake of no consequence. The sheepishly delivered farewell, ‘hope you stay with us again soon’ at check-out truly summarised this experience in a nutshell.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from InterContinental Sydney , General Manager at InterContinental Sydney
Responded 1 week ago
Dear LachyM95, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us at InterContinental Sydney through Tripadvisor. We always strive to ensure the complete satisfaction of our guests and I do apologise that we did not deliver to your expectations on this occasion which is truly sorry to hear. Please allow our team to connect with you directly in effort to rebuilt your faith in us. Warm Regards, Jennifer Brown General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$170 - US$285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
intercontinental sydney hotel sydney, sydney intercontinental
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyCentral Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
509
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about InterContinental Sydney
Which popular attractions are close to InterContinental Sydney?
Nearby attractions include Next Level Escape (0.4 km), Altmann + Cherny - Australian Opals (0.3 km), and The Gentleman Magician's Magical Soirees (0.08 km).
What are some of the property amenities at InterContinental Sydney?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at InterContinental Sydney?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at InterContinental Sydney?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at InterContinental Sydney?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to InterContinental Sydney?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bulletin Place, Mode Kitchen & Bar, and Aria Restaurant Sydney.
Are there opportunities to exercise at InterContinental Sydney?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does InterContinental Sydney have an airport shuttle?
Yes, InterContinental Sydney offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is InterContinental Sydney located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Sydney.
Are any cleaning services offered at InterContinental Sydney?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does InterContinental Sydney offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.