We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveler (32)
Room & Suite (86)
Dining (42)
Ratings and reviews
Certificate of Excellence
Ratings
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers talk about
“shared dorm”(3 reviews)
“games room”(3 reviews)
“adequate space”(3 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Internet
Breakfast Available
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Self-Serve Laundry
3 Star Hotel
Canberra City YHA is right in the heart of the nation's capital, 5 mins from the interstate bus terminal. Hostel facilities include cafe, indoor pool/spa/sauna, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), fully-equipped kitchen, rooftop BBQ area, TV/games area, and...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
7 Akuna St, Canberra 2601, Australia
6.1 km to Canberra Airport
207 restaurants are within a 0.5 km radius
1.5 km from Australian War Memorial
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
53
97
41
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
53
97
41
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared dormgames roomadequate spacecanberra citycommon roomcommon areaspower pointsgreat facilitiesgreat central locationfree wifiper nighthostelhammocksnoisetvsaunaaustralia
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

This is a very different hostel from other hostels in Australia. Lovely interior, great facilities, and very helpful staff. Rooms are nice and spacious and women and men have separate lavatories. I took off a star due to the fan/heater in the room is very...More

Thank Anita S
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Canberra City YHAResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Anita- thanks for the feedback on the heater noise. This is a new air con system through the building so we will get that checked out. Unfortunately, the hostel does not have any car parking on site - the spaces behind are public spaces...More

Reviewed 3 May 2018

We were very satisfied with our 2-night stay here. We had a private double room, very comfortable, we slept well, bathrooms clean and well-maintained. Good cafe with very well priced breakfast; car parking at the nearby Canberra Centre was convenient and inexpensive. Very handy for...More

Thank melbvictory
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Canberra City YHAResponded 7 May 2018

Hi there - delighted that you had a comfortable stay. Hope you got to see lots of the sights of Canberra and look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

The location was absolutely perfect, in the CBD close to everything. The staff was friendly as well. At my first night I had one dirty old guy in my room and I came to the reception for changing the room and the next day they...More

Thank Maxime0927
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Front Office Manager at Canberra City YHAResponded 19 March 2018

Hi Maxime - sorry you had trouble with the Wifi and we will follow up with our supplier. It is a free wifi hotspot, not throughout the building. We do have a premium option for those wanting it in their rooms. Hope you enjoy the...More

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

The hostel is nice and clean and therw is a free pool and a sauna to use which we did. The room was quite big and my bed was really good. Staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing which was not that good was...More

Thank Mirjam S
Reviewed 23 January 2018

Great spot. Good location. Close to everything. Bikes for rent could use a tune up. Buddy of mine chose a bike, we then biked 2 blocks before it turned it's own sirens on. Bike sounded like a trumpet hitting a constant high note. We turned...More

Thank Marino A
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Pool
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Indoor pool
Pool
Details
Price range
US$27 - US$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$27 - US$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (32)
Room & Suite (86)
Dining (42)
Pool & Beach (16)
Amenities (46)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Enira66
11 March 2018|
Answer
Response from YHA_Backpacker | Property representative |
Hi - The hostel is 7.5 km from Canberra Airport. There are regular daily buses to the City Bus Interchange (10 minutes walk away) or Airport Express shuttle services pick up and drop off in front of the YHA. There is more... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"At the moment a renovation is taking place next door so rooms at the back can expect an early wakeup call."
Read review
"Really we didn't have a choice as we couldn't get into the Dixon Backpackers although we were booked."
Read review
"There are many types to choose from, at varying level of cost however I believe that all share bathrooms"
Read review
"Book ahead for the best deals and rooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing