We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Swan

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Durham Tees Valley Airport37 km
Leeds-Bradford Airport49 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveler rating
185
22
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
185
22
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu michelin star scallops copper bath roll top bath amuse bouche ox cheek homemade biscuits the great british menu walk in shower kitchen garden molton brown toiletries beef fat north yorkshire countryside sheep's milk separate building following morning
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

The hotel is as perfect as the restsurant. Same wonderful staff and the rooms are either on site or just a 30secs up the road. Plenty of car parking and the rooms are just perfect. Lovely large beds and large TV. Limited channels because of...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank davidrX7555BB
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Hidden in the North Yorkshire countryside, this is an absolute credit to all involved, the property and food are amazing, I would like to confirm what the other reviewers said and strongly recommend you visit wherever you live. It is a major experience.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank VMtravellers
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

The place is very quaint but at the same time stylish! In a secluded location! Warm Fire and cosy bar area was relaxed and a a good place to enjoy a drink! Upstairs the restaurant is chilled and more informal than some, although everyone was...More

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank Pigginhungry
Reviewed 19 August 2018

We stayed so we could enjoy the food and wine flight (see separate review) without worrying about getting home and it was a great decision. We stayed in one of the garden rooms which had a fourposter and a roll top bath. The bathroom was...More

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank sn0wandice
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Went to celebrate my husbands birthday and friends who had already been had told us how much they had enjoyed their visit. We were not disappointed, the garden room was very comfortable and only a short walk to the restaurant. ( Some lights on the...More

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank platemates
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
StDavid
8 March 2017|
Answer
Response from MedEngland | Reviewed this property |
I believe they are, but you must speak to the Proprietors beforehand to let them know you want to bring a pet.
0
Votes
Peter C
4 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from bobbleEngland | Reviewed this property |
We had the 8 course menu but as one of them was bread and butter, I would treat it as seven (see my review). we also went with the wine flight. Only one was indifferent - the rest were good choices with grapes / countries... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"any of the rooms in the main building"
A2526SSmichaell
6 May 2018
Read review
"I think rooms are allocated according to when you book so book early. The reception team are very..."
KayS399
5 May 2018
Read review
"Scenecliffe room"
P0wderh0und1
2 Oct 2017
Read review
"i was in the stocking room which is in the eaves - it worked for me but not for taller people."
120Damo
16 Aug 2017
Read review
Show More 
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireOldstead
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing