We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Tregolls Road, Truro TR1 1ZQ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$129
View deal
Hotels.com
$160
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/27/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Vio.com
$121
View deal
Expedia.com$160
Priceline$140
Travelocity$160
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (705)
Room & Suite (202)
Dining (140)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 5 hotels in Truro
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Escape to the Cornish capital and indulge in laid-back luxury at The Alverton. Cocooned on the outskirts of Truro since 1830, wander up the winding driveway to discover a beautiful oasis, manicured gardens and a four-star hotel steeped in history. Once a Cornish convent, The Alverton has earned grade II listed status, and the stunning original features and breath-taking architecture are a sight to behold. In addition to the hotel’s gorgeous ivy-clad walls, verdant grounds and central location, The Alverton boasts an award-winning restaurant, The Great Hall - a breath-taking wedding and events venue, and 51 rooms that ooze tradition, comfort and romance, complete with uniquely original features and luxury furnishings. Explore the city, coast and countryside, before returning to The Alverton, where a warm welcome awaits at the hotel on the hill.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
1518Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 996
  • 329
  • 120
  • 51
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
lou1232013 wrote a review 23 Nov
somerset395 contributions126 helpful votes
We last stayed in February and often pre-covid, but the place has gone downhill and is now more a wedding venue. Weddings on the Fri, Sat and the Sun we stayed in November meant it was completely overrun and noisy - the worst impact on us being on Sun at 6am the person upstairs woke us and was incredibly noisy and banging about - so no lie in for us. The "cosy cornish retreat" offer was also disappointing as it is not up to £40 off 2 courses on the dinner menu - we were given the wrong menu and after eating told it was only £25 off the main menu and there is a separate and more limited menu for this offer - and when you look what is on there it is not good value for money. Thankfully we were able to resolve this error by the servers. Overall - the rooms are clean, the service still polite - but you can get this anywhere. We won't be back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Larissa Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Alverton
Responded 2 days ago
Dear lou1232013, I'm so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay because you were disturbed by noise and did not like the menu available on the offer. We are still catching up on weddings that were unable to take place in 2020 and 2021 so whereas we would usually host one large event a week, we've naturally had to increase this to accommodate our lovely couples who have been waiting patiently to get married for the past three years. I would really like to discuss your stay further with you and see what I can do to change your experience moving forwards. Would you kindly email me mystay@thealverton.co.uk I look forward to hearing from you. Best wishes Larissa Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RosaTraveller33 wrote a review 20 Nov
London19 contributions26 helpful votes
I stayed at The Alverton for a business trip. Check in was fine, although slow due to a new system, but the staff were charming, friendly and I cannot fault them through my stay. My room was clean but very basic. There were a few niggles - the lid on the kettle was broken, there was not enough water pressure to run a bath and the temperature gauge for the bath was broken anyway, so swung around uselessly. The biggest issue was how absolutely freezing my room was, I had to sleep in a jumper, hat, socks and even the towelling robe, the radiators - whilst turned to full - were barely tepid. Breakfast was pretty basic, the scrambled eggs were really so bad I couldn't eat it and ended up walking into town to get breakfast. Again though the service was faultless and friendly - the staff are the saving grace of this hotel and were lovely. I probably wouldn't stay there again, although maybe I just had a bad room as reading the other reviews they seem to have have more luck!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Larissa Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Alverton
Responded 6 days ago
Dear RosaTraveller33, Thank you for your review, however I'm very sorry to hear there were heating issues during your stay as the hotel is usually nice and toasty. I wish we had known because we could have fixed it or move you to another room and given you a complimentary upgrade. Would you kindly email me with your name and date of your stay to mystay@thealverton.co.uk so I can look into what room you were in and ask our maintenance team to ensure everything is working correctly. The Head Chef will also be able to speak to the breakfast team working on the morning of your stay and I'm sure had they been aware you didn't like the scrambled eggs, they would have made you something different. I'm pleased that the staff were friendly, charming and the service throughout was faultless. I do hope we will be able to welcome you again. Best wishes Larissa Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DansPawSox wrote a review 14 Nov
Bristol, United Kingdom46 contributions30 helpful votes
I hadn’t stayed at The Alverton since pre-Covid days, and my experience last Wednesday was excellent as it was previously. My room was quiet, the dinner was nice and breakfast was great. We also hosted an event on Thursday and all the staff I met on both days were friendly, so overall it was a very pleasant stay!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Larissa Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Alverton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear DansPawSox, Thank you for your fantastic review and it's always nice to welcome a returning guest. I'm delighted that everything from your room through to dinner was great and the following day your event went well and all the staff were helpful. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes Larissa Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelinBand88 wrote a review 12 Nov
Hershey, Pennsylvania18 contributions39 helpful votes
Fantastic hotel! Top-notch customer service across the board. The front desk personnel are some of the best I have encountered in my travels. VERY helpful, considerate and attentive. Platinum. Breakfast, lunch and dinner service – the same as above. Incredible customer service and attention to detail. Food was very good – especially lunch. Gold. Rooms and service – room and services were fantastic. Appreciate the coffee and tea service in the room as well as the water. Gold.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Garden room views are worth paying for.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Larissa Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Alverton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear TravelinBand88, Thank you for your fantastic review. The reception brigade will be thrilled to hear that they are amongst the best you have ever encountered and I'm delighted they were so helpful and considerate and the whole team are a credit to the hotel. We have a very skilled team in the kitchen and I'm pleased your meals were great with incredible customer service and attention to detail. It's lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and liked your room. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes Larissa Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrea Newton wrote a review 10 Nov
2 contributions
A friend recommended the Alverton Hotel with great reviews and it certainly met and exceeded our expectations. The location is within easy walking distance of Truro Town Centre. The staff are very welcoming, helpful, and full of knowledge both of the local offerings and the history of the hotel. Our room was very well-appointed, and comfortable and the food was extremely good. We highly recommend this venue as a place to stay, whilst visiting the area. We look forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Larissa Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Alverton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Andreamnewton, It's great to hear you were recommended to stay at The Alverton and that your visit exceeded all expectations. The team will be thrilled to hear that your food was extremely good, your room well-appointed and the staff were very welcoming. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes Larissa Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christianne D wrote a review 10 Nov
London, United Kingdom68 contributions24 helpful votes
I would highly recommend the Alverton, the staff go over and above any requirement. The food is outstandingly good and very moderately priced. The staff both cleaning, concierge, bar and dinning go over and above expectations. My only criticism is the hardness of the pillows. I went to visit family and loved every moment. WELL DONE team Alverton!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Larissa Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Alverton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear ChristianneD, Thank you for your wonderful review and for sharing your experience. I'm so proud of the team and they really do go above and beyond to help our guests. I'm delighted that all the staff you encountered from housekeeping to concierge and restaurant delivered a standard of service beyond expectations. The kitchen brigade will be thrilled that you found the food to be outstanding and I'm pleased you loved every moment of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes Larissa Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah E wrote a review 7 Nov
Woking10 contributions4 helpful votes
Attended a wedding, we could not fault it at all. Food excellent very tasty. Staff waitresses bar staff organisers etc so friendly and efficient.all in all a fab hotel for perfect wedding venue. We all had such a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Get wed here the venue is stunning
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Larissa Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Alverton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear SarahE935, I'm delighted to hear what a fantastic time you had at a recent wedding. Weddings at The Alverton are simply beautiful and I'm pleased everyone was friendly, the food was excellent and you had the perfect day. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes Larissa Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cathy D wrote a review 5 Nov
St Austell, United Kingdom395 contributions195 helpful votes
You would have no idea from the road. We have driven past so many times but due to a night out at The Hall For Cornwall we decided to have a couple of nights here. The wow factor as we drove up the drive was just that. What a beautiful building. This is an extremely classy looking hotel. The decor has been carefully chosen to compliment the building and very tasteful, even down to the outside lighting giving the whole place an immediate welcoming feel which continues at reception where we were given a warm welcome and attentive staff checking we knew everything we needed to know. It is also very comfortable from our room which was spacious and comfortable down to the bar area. Only let down by no fridge. We have stayed in places that provide a fridge and then deliver fresh milk in small bottles to your door in the morning which is a nice touch. Maybe a second chair in the room so both occupants can sit. We were on B&B and enjoyed impeccable service at both breakfasts from a young, professional and attentive staff. Very impressive team. Despite living locally we would definitely stay again as it is well placed with ample parking to be able to walk into town easily. Its a no brainer, lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Ample parking and only 5-30 minute walk into the centre
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Larissa Hardy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Alverton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 299cathyd, It is always nice to hear guest's reactions to coming up the winding driveway to see the beautiful Grade II building. I'm pleased on this occasion you managed to tie a visit to The Hall for Cornwall with a stay at The Alverton - a great combination! I'm thrilled you liked your room, decor and style of the hotel. The classic rooms only have one chair and no fridge, but all of the larger rooms have two chairs and a fridge. Please do speak with the reservations team when booking and they will help you find the best room for your requirements or add any extras that may be required. Thank you for sharing your experience and it's lovely to hear that as local residents we will be seeing you more often. Best wishes Larissa Guest Relations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
njd1954 wrote a review 5 Nov
St Austell, United Kingdom7 contributions6 helpful votes
the hotel in situated very near to Truro centra but you would never know as it feels secluded, quiet and surrounded by trees it is ideal for shopping, shows and restaurants all within walking distance, as well as Malpas and St Clements reachable by scenic estuary walks
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Myles B wrote a review 2 Nov
My wife and I had our wedding held at the Alverton in October. Clare and her team were exceptional and very welcoming throughout the whole planning process. All of our guests said how amazing the rooms were and how great and friendly the staff were. Top Marks for the Alverton for putting on an amazing stay and event for us. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$117 - US$184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alverton manor truro, hotel alverton manor
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Alverton Manor Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallTruro DistrictTruro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ALVERTON - UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Truro, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Alverton
Which popular attractions are close to The Alverton?
Nearby attractions include Zafiros Bar (0.5 km), Kazbah Truro (0.5 km), and The Sanctuary (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Alverton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Alverton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Alverton?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Alverton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grounded, Chorley's Truro, and The Rising Sun Pub.
Is The Alverton located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Truro.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Alverton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Alverton?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Alverton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Alverton?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tregothnan (4.4 km).
Does The Alverton have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.