We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Charlestown Road Harbour Front, Charlestown, St Austell PL25 3NJ England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (552)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (192)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 24/10/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 24/10/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant in St Austell Cornwall is situated on the picturesque harbour of Charlestown with stunning views of the port and coastline of St Austell bay. It has been a hotel since 1920 and now incorporates the Harbourside Inn Public House since 2004.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Hiking
Taxi service
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Fishing
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Room service
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
1028Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 635
  • 238
  • 85
  • 32
  • 38
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JudyOswestryUK wrote a review Yesterday
Thurso, United Kingdom177 contributions43 helpful votes
Our room in the annexe was comfy, large, well thought out, good views of the harbour, parking outside as was out of peak season, but there was apparently parking in their sister hotel 3 mins walk away. The food is the same menu as other places in 5is pub chain, but with some tasty extra dishes of the day.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Eylem K wrote a review 26 May
1 contribution
I have been in Pier House for a week. The location is nice with a beatiful harbour view. The room I stayed was very comfortable and it was upgraded. The personnel were very kind and helpful. The food was really great.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Chrissie C wrote a review 23 May
1 contribution
Booked a stay here to enable easy access to Eden Project and Heligan. Very nice hotel. I had a single, ensuite room that was perfectly adequate if a tad noisy due to kitchen activity below till quite late. I think rooms on the harbour side of the hotel would be quieter, plus the lovely view. Breakfast was very good and served cheerfully and fast. All members of staff were really friendly and welcoming. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Sitting with a breakfast coffee on the terraced area overlooking the harbour is a very nice way to start the day. Charlestown is a pretty place with plenty of food outlets of varying types and things to do and see. I thoroughly enjoyed my two night stay here and recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: try and get harbour side room
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from St Austell Brewery, Revenue Management at The Pier House Hotel
Responded yesterday
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for your recent visit to Pier House Hotel, Charlestown, accommodation. Its very hard to argue your point of enjoying coffee on the terrace, because its something that we love to. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you here again sometime soon. From all of the team at the Pier House.
Read more
Loveweekends wrote a review 22 May
Exeter, United Kingdom53 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
Just enjoyed a lovely stay at the Pier House in Charlestown. Room 1 has beautiful windows with seats overlooking the harbour. Lots of people watching opportunities and a great spot to see the sun come up. Great breakfast, lovely staff and overall a fantastic stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from St Austell Brewery, Revenue Management at The Pier House Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for thanking the time to review Pier House Hotel, Charlestown. The whole team love to hear that guests have enjoyed their visit with us. Room one is one of our favourites too! So we are so please that you have shared this with us. We’re looking forward to welcoming you back soon, from all at the Pier House
Read more
Marion G wrote a review 21 May
1 contribution
Stayed for 2 nights in a single room. Very basic accommodation and really needed updating. Surprised there was no hairdryer. Bed very comfortable and clean but very small. Heated radiator not working in bathroom.Food was excellent and people friendly and welcoming.I initially wanted the sister hotel “the Rashleigh” but no room so booked this. Disappointing comparing the two.also noisy at night in corridors when people coming in late. Slightly overpriced in my opinion
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Definitely ask for sea view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from St Austell Brewery, Revenue Management at The Pier House Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review for us here at The Pier House We are very glad that overall you had a pleasant stay, the housekeeping team do a great job of keeping the rooms clean as you mentioned. We hope to see you here again soon, from all of the team at The Pier House
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$145 - US$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pier hotel st austell, the pier hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallSt AustellCharlestown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Pier House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Pier House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Charlestown Harbour (0.09 km), Shipwreck Treasure Museum (0.2 km), and The Harbourside Inn (0.03 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Pier House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Pier House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Pier House Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Pier House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Charlie's Coffee House, The Longstore Steaks & Seafood, and The Boathouse Charlestown.
Is The Pier House Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Charlestown.
Are there any historical sites close to The Pier House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mevagissey to Fowey Ferry (7.2 km) and The Lost Gardens of Heligan (6.5 km).
Does The Pier House Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.