We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
69 Bath Street, Southport PR9 0DN England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/12/21
Expedia.com
US$82
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$71
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/12/21
Hotels.comUS$81
PricelineUS$79
eDreamsUS$81
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (31)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 09/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Le Maitre
Updated 09/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A friendly, family run establishment ideally located close to Southport's famous Lord Street, Promenade and Southport's Theatre and Conference Centre. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you are assured of a very warm welcome and the hightest standards of cleanliness, comfort and hospitality. As with all the guesthouses in the area parking is limited and is allocated on a first come basis. As well as a typical full English breakfast being available there are vegetarian options and if advised at time of booking a tofu vegan dish can be prepared.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Business
255Reviews2Q+A41Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 199
  • 47
  • 5
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
douglasandgreen wrote a review Oct 2021
Blackpool, United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
This place was not for me, was stuck in a ground floor room at bottom of stairs and next to main lounge, felt like a crypt with a small obscured window, and a claustrophobic shower in the bedroom, this in not a 4 star, more like 2, very in your face with rules and regulations, was more like a interview, could not relax with better half as conscious of where room was situated, breakfast was just ok, bacon very thick and jewy, which I had to leave sausage had Grissel, no plumb tomato's, these cost nothing to buy and to me that makes my breakfast, some prefer half tomato, cater for your guests, stay in quite a few b&bs, this was one of the worst also landlady never stopped talking while I was trying to eat my breakfast, I'm the type to eat my breakfast in peace it was like she was watching me to see if it was alright, for us it was not a very pleasant stay and will definitely not be back
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirley and Gary Bromage, Owner at Le Maitre
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your 2nd lot of feedback Douglas. As we have previously responded we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. The ground floor room is a very popular room often requested months in advance and although it is next to the lounge it is often commented on how quiet it is. We were aware some time after your check-in that you wanted to change rooms as you didn't want to be on the ground floor as you thought it might be noisy. Unfortunately by the time you came to ask we only had 1 other person left to arrive and they had paid for a bigger room at the front so we could not change rooms. We did leave the lounge and close the door to it after the they checked in half an hour later as we were aware of your concerns but by this time you had gone out anyway. You said you would still stay as it was too late to find somewhere else and the only rooms available at other nearby locations were more than double the price you had paid. We assume the rules you mention were the no smoking or vaping and that we don't allow takeaways in the rooms(but do allow you to eat them in our dining room) as we can't think of any others other than following Covid safety measures. We are disappointed that you didn't rate our breakfast as we score very highly on other reviews and do buy premium bacon, premium sausages and fresh free range eggs from local farms. We had guessed you weren't a fan of the bacon as it was only half eaten but I think your partner must have pinched the sausage off your plate as there was no sign of it when we removed your plate. We hope your partner enjoyed her smoked salmon and scrambled egg. As you mentioned the plumb tomatoes aren't expensive but you are the first to ask for them and as there is also beans on the plate fresh grilled tomato is a better match. We appreciate this is your preference but it isn't something we plan to change. I'll apologise again over being chatty at breakfast I honestly thought I had walked away when your cooked breakfast was served returning later to pick up your plate and asking 'How was your breakfast'. There were other people dining so I did need to keep popping in checking if tables needed clearing and resetting as being full we had 18 people to fit in over 2 hours. Thank you for adding pictures of the window to Tripadvisor which shows it's size and that it can be opened. It is patterned so you don't have to look at the bin yard and so the guests in the neighbouring B &B can't look down into your room. I hope we have covered all the points you have made and I can confirm that I did find and remove the biscuit wrapper that had slipped under the bedside cabinet when i cleaned your room after your departure which you took the picture of. Sorry I had missed it the first time I can see from the photo that dents in the carpet show the cabinet was over the wrapper .. I had wiped the skirting board behind but not fully lifted the cabinet away so hadn’t exposed the wrapper under the cabinet.
Read more
Tracy V wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Lovely quiet room with a nearly 200 year old bed. We were made to feel really welcome from the moment we walked in and were greeted by Gary. Lovely breakfast too. I didn't want an egg so I got extra bacon though I didn't request this. The breakfast was made to our requirements. Shirley enquired with each of the guests as to how we enjoyed our previous day/night, which shows an interest in each of the guests. They also wished my partner a happy birthday. My partner was also offered to choose any book free of charge. Would defo recommend
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Jim D wrote a review Sep 2021
Mountain Ash, Wales, United Kingdom10 contributions13 helpful votes
Myself and Wife Just spent 7 days at the le maitre, What a brilliant couple Gary and Shirley are they do the hospitality business in Southport proud, The rooms were spotless and of a very high standard, the breakfast was very nice and varied as you would like it, also an evening meal is provided at a very reasonable cost, All in all we had a very enjoyable stay with a very jovial couple of hosts and will return on our next visit to Southport.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirley and Gary Bromage, Owner at Le Maitre
Responded 17 Sep 2021
We are glad you both enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to meet you both and the time you were staying seemed to pass so quickly. We know it may be a while before your next trip to Southport but we will look forward to welcoming you back.. We hope you managed to put the apples you collected to good use.
Read more
Charismatic wrote a review Sep 2021
wales66 contributions42 helpful votes
I am so happy that I went with recommendations on this B&B I’ve stayed in many but this is the best I have ever stayed in Absolutely spotlessly clean,fantastic room everything you need really is there for you. A very comfortable bed and great linen. A very good choice for breakfast and a really tasty breakfast to Gary’s poached eggs 🥚 are done to perfection a huge thumbs up 👍 Gary and Shirley can’t do enough for you so helpful I forgot my iPad charger so save me buying one Gary found one for me they even booked a table for us at a restaurant which I thought was a nice thing to do. I would very highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a B&B in Southport you won’t be disappointed and it is only a few minutes walk to the pier and lord street it’s just central really to everywhere. I now know where I will stay again when I next go to Southport. We thank you both for an amazing welcome and a fantastic weekend Take care both of you and stay safe ❤️❤️❤️ xxx
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirley and Gary Bromage, Owner at Le Maitre
Responded 12 Sep 2021
Thank you for your amazing review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you booking again.
Read more
alfie000 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Just returned from a short stay and wanted to say what an excellent hotel it is. The rooms were spotless and Gary & Shirley are so friendly. Also in an excellent location. Cooked breakfast fab. Thank you Gary for sorting a table for us at the Windmill for the football. Will definatly recommened to friends and family. Will stay again next time in Southport. Thanks Debbie & Gary
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirley and Gary Bromage, Owner at Le Maitre
Responded 14 Jul 2021
Thank you for your fantastic review. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on your stay and are happy to read you enjoyed your stay and will recommend Le Maitre to friends and family. We will look forward to your next stay.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$81 - US$94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandMerseysideSouthport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Le Maitre
Which popular attractions are close to Le Maitre?
Nearby attractions include Southport Marine Lake (0.3 km), Southport Pier (0.3 km), and Genting Casino Southport (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Maitre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Le Maitre?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Maitre?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Maitre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Great Himalayas Nepalese Restaurant & Bar, Volare, and The Swan.
Is Le Maitre located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Southport.
Are there any historical sites close to Le Maitre?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Meols Hall (2.9 km).
Is Le Maitre accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.