Rayanne House

Rayanne House

60 Demesne Road, Holywood BT18 9EX Northern Ireland
View from Room #4
Traveler (105)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Holywood
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Rayanne House offers a boutique experience where period meets present, charm & comfort, luxury & location, elegance & excellent service. Multi award winning Rayanne House is a unique period property with private grounds, parking and spectacular views over Belfast Lough. A genuine friendly welcome awaits you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Babysitting
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Desk
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Northern Ireland Tourism.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

60 Demesne Road, Holywood BT18 9EX Northern Ireland
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 42 out of 100
42
Belfast Intl Airport
25.5 km
See all flights
Belfast City Airport
266Reviews4Q+A68Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 228
  • 29
  • 5
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Davy Kelly wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a dinner for 10 for our 25th Anniversary and went for the menu recommended by Conor. All I can say is that he knows his stuff - the Summer Tasting menu was exquisite and brilliantly matched to their wine list. There wasn't an empty plate returned to the kitchen. The welcome was warm and the rooms we used for the greeting/gathering and the dinner itself are beautifully presented and comfortable. The service was impeccable throughout. Bernie, Conor and family are a talented, professional and friendly team. I cannot recommend the dining experience highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OliviaGMB wrote a review Sep 2022
London7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this for two nights for a classy hen party. Bernie was incredibly helpful from initial booking, flexibility and suggestions. The price was very fair for us all and transparent throughout. They were very responsive to emails and phone calls and excellent communication throughout.

We arrived and were warmly welcomed. Our rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. We had drinks in one of the main rooms, and the team went out of their way to help us set up media. We then moved into the dining room for a 9 course replica meal of the Titanic's first class last meal. It was delicious! The setting was perfect and the sound proofing meant we felt comfortable enjoying ourselves without disturbing other guests. The staff really helped us with everything and we continued our festivities in another of the main lounges.

The next day we went into Belfast, which was a short drive by taxi. Rayanne House were great at recommending we booked a taxi home ahead of time, as they are tricky to get
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary B wrote a review Jul 2022
Derry, United Kingdom7 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and i stayed here for two nights and loved every minute of it . We adored the exceptional breakfast, each morning and found all the staff to be highly efficient and warm and friendly .
Our room was on the top floor and we enjoyed a fantastic view across the lough . The room was so spacious and quiet and elegantly furnished .
We were very impressed with Bernie and Conor ‘s help , when our car had an unexpected technical problem and Conor put us in touch with a local mechanic, who was so helpful and accommodating .
We will definitely be staying in this lovely home again . Thank You .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
charley94 wrote a review Jul 2022
UK23 contributions19 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an additional review to the one I have already written on Google, which the owner has responded to, but I am not able to respond to their response. So I'm writing this one as well!

We arrived at 12.30am, due to flight delays, and were disappointed as we walked up to the front door to see a hen do group (clearly identifiable by one lady wearing a fancy dress bridal veil, dressed in white), drinking in the front lounge. We checked in to our room which was directly about the room they were drinking in, and could not sleep until past 2am. I find it baffling that a "5*" establishment on the outskirts of Belfast allows a hen do party to stay up that late.

There is a wide variety of choice at breakfast, but we felt like the quality was lacking in some ingredients, namely the sausages and the bread. The breakfast room was set up with a large table in the middle of it. Another couple asked a member of staff if that was for the hens, to which the staff member replied "yes, the calm before the storm". I mention this, and the bridal veil above, because the owner replied to my Google review saying that it was just "a group of ladies in their 40s", not a hen do, who were supposedly only up until 1am. After breakfast, we set off for the wedding we were attending nearby. A lady sat downstairs kindly agreed to take a picture of me and my partner. She asked if we were off to a wedding, which we confirmed, and she replied "ah lovely, I am here for a hen do".

Our room needed some serious TLC. Despite house being a big, beautiful period property the room was dressed with a black gloss and veneer bed + wardrobe + side tables. The veneer was peeling on the bed. The wardrobe was a bizarre corner unit, which was very impractical, despite their being plenty of room for a normal one on the right hand side of the room. The bath taps were the wrong way round (cold giving out hot, and vice versa). The shower pressure was bad. The light was motion detected, and when the people above us went into their bathroom, our light would come on! It was almost comical when water started pouring through the ceiling on the day we left from the bathroom above ours.

The staff we encountered whilst we were there were polite. There was interesting choices for breakfast. Perhaps their titanic menu is 5*, but the accommodation was absolutely not. Please go and find my review on Google and read the response from the owner!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you have to stay, stay on the top floor for minimum noise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernie Mc Clelland, Owner at Rayanne House
Responded Sep 13, 2022
We take all reviews very seriously and try to address any issues to the best of our ability. This person left a review on Google which was already addressed. The insinuation of using the term "Hen do” makes one think of large groups with rowdy behaviour this was not the case at all. This was 8 classy ladies finishing drinks after doing the Titanic Menu in period dress, not at all what this person is trying to portray with the term “Hen Do” This lady arrived at 12.30 at night and the 8 ladies were finishing their drinks and in bed at 1am, so if she was disturbed it would have been very briefly. We were fully booked, and no other guests had any issues. All room complaints were addressed already, unit is for space saving not to cover period windows, taps are fine, hot is hot and cold is cold. We have replaced shower nozzle to increase pressure. I have asked and no staff member working made any remarks about our lovely guests at breakfast. I am surprised and find it strange that she did not mention the apparent leak or light sensor issue in her first review. To my knowledge the motion censored light cannot be triggered by movement in another room, and our electrician confirmed this. We have won multiple awards for our breakfast menu, that offers 10 starters and 8 main courses, there is a choice of 5 types of bread that suits most people’s needs. The sausages are local and frequently commented on for the taste and quality. We cannot be to everyone's taste so please do read all other reviews that have given us a 5-star overall score and also gained admission to the "TripAdvisor Hall of fame" for consistently excellent reviews. Many Thanks
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Darran W wrote a review Aug 2020
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom8 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed here before on business and was amazed at this place and staff.

We returned for a 6 day break and brought the family with me this time.

Even during the COVID 19 pandemic all of the staff strictly adhere to the guidelines.

Conner and Bernie again made myself and my family extremely welcome and have gone out of their way to accommodate us on every occasion, even supplying us with items we couldn’t get on the mainland, thank you again.

This hotel is a little gem and the food is absolutely amazing. The rooms are immaculate and well presented as are the dining facilities.

We would like to thank Conner, Bernie and the rest of the staff for an amazing stay and look forward to booking again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Irishgirls4ever wrote a review Apr 2022
Irish Roots90 contributions32 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Really awful and disappointing breakfast - mushy tasteless thin oats porridge dish floating in milk and not cream - overcooked scrambled eggs with chopped smoked salmon cooked through it. Since when does a chef cook the smoked salmon in tiny pieces through the eggs?
And I really didn’t appreciate being called “love” at the end of every sentence spoken to me. Not the best experience I’m afraid.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernie Mc Clelland, Owner at Rayanne House
Responded May 3, 2022
Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your breakfast. Confused about the porridge as we serve a chilled cream porridge topped with raspberry coulis and your description does not sound alike at all. You will find it is a very common and traditional way to serve smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, there is a difference with eggs cooked any way e.g. Poached/Fried and a side of smoked salmon, we always accommodate and adapt the extensive breakfast menu if asked to do so. The only staff member I can think of that may use the term “Love” occasionally (which in Ireland is a term of endearment) is a 30 something year old women, her first language is not English, which would have been obvious. She was very upset to hear this caused you offence. Delighted this year to be 20 Years in business with multiple awards for our breakfast menu, please read all our other reviews.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TrevorB wrote a review Aug 2021
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom338 contributions360 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We picked here to round off an amazing family get together week.
Staff were amazing as soon as soon as the booking went in, with Bernie trying to get us a room with a view. We ended up with a lovely room on the top floor. It was spacious, clean and comfortable with a huge bathroom. Sleep quality was very good.
The main feature here is the house itself. It is a beautiful building, finely finished with superb little touches everywhere you look. I can see what makes it a great wedding venue.
And then there was breakfast. Without doubt, up there with the best we have ever enjoyed and the vegetaruan loved the exquisite options on the menu.
We can only echo what everyone has said about the superb staff throughout.
Wonderful experience and fine advert for Northern Ireland hospitality.
Very highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Front facing rooms on the higher floors have great sea views over the town to Belfast Lough. Do...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elizabeth wrote a review Oct 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed for 3 nights whilst attending a local wedding. What can I say, the standard of the rooms is excellent with so much attention to detail in terms of quality and amenities. Everything is so well thought out. The breakfast was outstanding and the service second to none. The staff simply can’t do enough for you. The house itself is a gem, beautiful, charming with a stunning view of Belfast bay. I will be returning for leisure simply to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernie Mc Clelland, Owner at Rayanne House
Responded Oct 27, 2021
Hi, So delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! Many Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and I hope we will see you again. Warmest Regards, Bernie, Conor & the Rayanne Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HeatherER wrote a review May 2022
Huddersfield, United Kingdom87 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a wonderful place to stay, with some new delights to try on the extensive breakfast menu. The caramel spiced oranges were a big hit, so much so we came away with the recipe, and the hot baked cereal was another winner. The rooms were very comfortable and there is a really good choice of drinks to enjoy in the lounges. The highlight however was the tasting menu which was absolutely stunning, one of the best meals we have ever had. Add to this super friendly staff and owners and we would not hesitate in recommending here and would definitely like to return
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernie Mc Clelland, Owner at Rayanne House
Responded May 26, 2022
Thanks Heather, really appreciate your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. hope to see you again soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Smcc63 wrote a review Oct 2020
Belfast, United Kingdom23 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My son and his fiancé got Married last Thursday at Rayanne House and from start to finish the day was just perfect. Bernie and every member of staff were outstanding. The ceremony was outside and the space was beautifully decorated. The food and wine and cocktails just perfect and the bedrooms all different and so comfortable. Breakfast next morning once again was so good with loads of choice I would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Don D asked a question Apr 2017
Las Vegas, Nevada17 contributions29 helpful votes
Do you have ground floor rooms available? We are seniors with disabilities
Answer from Lisboeta56
Edinburgh, United Kingdom207 contributions95 helpful votes
I think all the rooms are on the 1st and 2nd floors. There is no lift. But I would suggest emailing the hotel. As an alternative try Stormont Hotel some 3 miles away with ramp into hotel and lifts.
Don D asked a question Apr 2017
Las Vegas, Nevada17 contributions29 helpful votes
Do you have rooms on ground floor available? We are seniors with disabilities
Answer from RayanneHouse
Belfast, United Kingdom4 contributions
Yes we have a ground floor room with a walk in shower. The Breakfast room is also on the same level but there is some small steps at the front door
hummernator asked a question Mar 2017
Madison, Alabama249 contributions104 helpful votes
How far is the train station for Belfast?
Answer from Lisboeta56
Edinburgh, United Kingdom207 contributions95 helpful votes
About 5 mins by taxi or a 20 min walk downhill from Rayanne. Holywood is the nearest train station and there is off road parking there.
Andrew G asked a question Jun 2016
Can a well behaved dog stay?
Answer from RayanneHouse
Belfast, United Kingdom4 contributions
Generally no as we have had a few bad experiences but if you would like to give me a call on 02890 425859 we can discuss your requirements ~ Regards
charley94 wrote a tip Jul 2022
UK23 contributions19 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have to stay, stay on the top floor for minimum noise."
Read full review
cathyh563 wrote a tip Oct 2021
Guildford, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Facing the Lough."
Read full review
TrevorB wrote a tip Aug 2021
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom338 contributions360 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Front facing rooms on the higher floors have great sea views over the town to Belfast Lough. Do not miss the breakfast."
Read full review
Budgie wrote a tip Oct 2019
Dublin, Ireland36 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request the golf themed bedroom!"
Read full review
Chilling_0ut19 wrote a tip Aug 2019
Derbyshire14 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All front facing rooms have a superb view over the estuary with fantastic sunsets."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Holywood area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
rayanne house hotel holywood, rayanne hotel holywood
LOCATION
United KingdomNorthern IrelandCounty DownHolywood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RAYANNE HOUSE - Hotel Reviews (Holywood, Northern Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Rayanne House
Which popular attractions are close to Rayanne House?
Nearby attractions include Hillside Trout Fishery (1.0 km), Holywood Priory Church (0.9 km), and Holywood Maypole (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rayanne House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Rayanne House?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Rayanne House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Rayanne House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rayanne House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fontana, Tulsi, and Coast.
Is Rayanne House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Holywood.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Rayanne House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Rayanne House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parliament Buildings (3.2 km), Crumlin Road Gaol (7.7 km), and Albert Memorial Clock Tower (7.0 km).
All Holywood HotelsHolywood Hotel DealsHotels near Rayanne House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars