We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$70
View deal
Expedia.com
$76
View deal
Hotels.com
$102
View deal
Priceline$104
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1940)
360
Panoramas (108)
Room & Suite (557)

About

#11 of 21 hotels in Durham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Within easy driving distance of Newcastle, Durham and Sunderland, the magnificent spectacle of Lumley Castle has dominated the County Durham landscape for 630 years. Surrounded by beautiful parklands overlooking the River Wear and Durham County Cricket Ground, the castle is a magnificent monument to a bygone age of chivalry and honour. The hotel boasts 74 luxurious en suite rooms, with complimentary Wi-Fi internet. Dine in the splendour of the Black Knight restaurant, offering varied cuisine and a 3-course table d’hôte menu (table reservations are essential). Lumley Castle is the first and only historic site in the UK to have it's own Escape room - Lily of Lumley - a truly immersive and thrilling Escape experience. The hotel is ideally situated to explore the North East of England and more, being just 10.9 miles south of Newcastle, 8.1 miles north of Durham and 11.8 miles west of Sunderland. This hotel is one of the best-rated locations in Chester-le-Street.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Business
Languages Spoken
English
3025Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,557
  • 741
  • 422
  • 197
  • 109
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Claudia wrote a review Yesterday
3 helpful votes
Wow, if you love castles then this authentic castle is the perfect place to stay. Driving into the grounds the hotel castle commands an elevated scenic view; it is simply stunning! Myself and my partner treated ourselves to a two night stay for our anniversary. The initial welcome (and throughout our stay) from the reception staff was warm and friendly. Excellent 'Anything to help' attitude. We even had a paw-some 'meow' from Poppet the cat. We stayed in the Bishop Suite, which was amazing! Complimentary treats, refreshments, slippers and toiletries were provided for us in our room; nice touch. We enjoyed the relaxed ambience of the Library Bar and Knights Restaurant. Food and drinks were faultless. Special 'thank you' to Cait ~ Reception, Frankie ~ Library Bar, Sandra and Steph ~ Knights Restaurant for making our stay a memorable one.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Iain R wrote a review Jan 2023
Excellent stay , lovely rooms & friendly staff . Magnificent setting . Colourful Burns night with a great atmosphere . Food was quite nice - certainly giving excellent value for money.A very enjoyable evening .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Susan L wrote a review Jan 2023
Absolutely shocking, do not waste your money. Burns night disguised as a medieval feast. Very disappointing. If I could just add a picture of the tea cup of food we were served, very disappointing to say the least. We won’t be back and we would not recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear S9120AUsusanl Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent visit to Lumley Castle. Your feedback is very concerning as this event has been very successful for many years and the general feedback has been very complimentary. I wonder if you could contact the hotel and ask for the Director of Operations, I know he is keen to speak to you regarding your experience in greater detail. The Lumley Experience Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark O wrote a review Jan 2023
Harrogate, United Kingdom81 contributions80 helpful votes
First time here for me (my partner had stayed here for work) It was a fabulous experience. The room was very comfortable and immediately clean. The nice touch in the room was a selection of treats. Crisis, Kitkat. Chocolate and a bag of Haribos. All complimentary. The Knight restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was the BEST selection anywhere I have stayed. This place has to be one of the top places for service, the staff can’t do enough for you. Exceptional place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Marko678 Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a glowing review of our castle and it's staff. Your feedback is testament to the daily training that the team undertake to exceed the expectations of our guests. Your review has already been distributed to the hotel management team and staff who are not only delighted you enjoyed your stay but look forward to welcoming you again at some point in the future. Our very best wishes. The Lumley Experience Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nigel m wrote a review Jan 2023
leeds14 contributions
Booked Dads 80 th birthday celebration,let down totally by restaurant and organisation. Ordered Birthday cake £35 wrong message on cake,menu was changed and made more expensive 2 hours prior to us all eating.Staff complaining they didn’t know menu ,served chicken liver parfait and told it was game terrine. Wine overpriced. Normal breakfast menu changed to buffet because as one of the staff told us they had too many residents to cope with it. Very disappointing we had 15 people staying,and spent a lot of money and didn’t get the experience promised. Three choices of main course only,and least expensive £22.50.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Nigel M Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay. Your review has been passed to the General Manager who will be in touch during the coming week. Best wishes. The Lumley Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott L wrote a review Jan 2023
1 helpful vote
The hotel cancelled my visit without bothering to tell me. After making my booking and receiving a confirmation email from the hotel, it turns out they were closed for maintenance works. I only found out when a friend also tried to book and they told him. I called them up to check 2 days before my visit for my wife’s birthday. Not happy. If I hadn’t checked, I would have driven 4.5 hours to be greeted with a closed door.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michelle Gibson wrote a review Jan 2023
Liverpool, United Kingdom2 contributions
+1
Location, room, staff. Hotel is amazing it’s a magnificent period property. It’s clean, comfortable beds and rooms are just gorgeous if you like authentic buildings full of character. It is what it says on the tin an original castle. Reception staff very helpful and showed us around when we asked. Restaurant couldn’t fault the food and staff. Good selection well cooked and the staff were very pleasant nothing was too much to ask for. We stayed in Room 47 the King James suite I think) WOW it’s huge with a separate sitting room and lots of space. If you are going and want special then push the boat out and go for one of the castle rooms even though the courtyard rooms are equally lovely and comfortable. At quiet times they will upgrade really reasonably. Bae lovely and cosy sat by the fire having a few drinks, again staff faultless. Breakfast was gorgeous again staff very helpful and couldn’t do enough for you. If you enjoy golf there’s a golf course next door. We have stuffed and drank ourselves silly and had a gorgeous time. Thanks Lumley Castle we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Trek47780927101 Many thanks for such a glowing 5 Star review for which we are incredibly grateful. It looks like you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves and we'd be delighted to see you return to the Castle again in 2023. Your feedback has been shared with the management and staff all of whom see a review like this as testemant to the ongoing training that the team undertake day in day out. Best wishes and thanks again. The Lumley Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
slgermani wrote a review Jan 2023
Aberdeen, United Kingdom52 contributions21 helpful votes
Stayed for New Year two night package and booked an addition night. Had a fabulous time. Would most certainly stay again. Stayed in a castle state room, room 60. Great experience however would not be good for anyone who struggled with stairs. New Year’s Eve gala dinner was excellent, food was exceptional and the castle is beautiful, very relaxing and chilled experience. It is however a castle so do not book if you are looking for a corporate or premier inn type experience. Staff were helpful and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear sigerman Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback around your New Years stay. The team are delighted with your feedback as this was a special time of year for the Castle and we're thrilled that it was enjoyed by yourself and other guests. You are right of course that being a castle, complete with cobbles and spiral staircases, means that extra thought is needed in which bedroom you select to stay in. That said, the majority of guests enjoy the character and authenticity of the castle just for those reasons. We look forward to seeing you back at the castle in 2023! Best wishes The Lumley Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JPtheMoC wrote a review Jan 2023
Dunfermline, Scotland40 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
Two stays in as many months due to proximity to a work event I was attending. First time wasn't too bad, but the second time was awful. Its an impressive and beautiful old building with a long and picturesque drive leading up to it. Reception is reasonably well hidden in the corner of the main car park. The car parking is terrible, just not enough spaces really. It took me 15 minutes and help from a member of staff to find my room the first time, thanks to some misleading information from Reception! I had the same room both times and it was a very small, quite tired looking room. There is a basket of treats in the room which was a lovely touch and quite frankly kept me going until room service eventually arrived. The food wasn't the best and was shockingly overpriced. The bed is quite comfy but the room is like a furnace. The second visit was terrible. The food was inedible (raw chips, cold burger), the staff were rude and the heating system made an infuriating tapping noise - all night. It was like water torture. I raised the issue with Reception but they didn't seem to care at all.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: The parking situation is awful, but there's a big place for the staff to park
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear JPtheMoC Many thanks for your feedback which has been shared with the management team Addressing your points we're sorry that you felt reception was unhelpful in regards to your arrival or assisting with the tapping noise in room 43. Welcoming guests should provide a highlight of any stay and we're sorry that you didn't receive the welcome you had every right to expect. Regarding the tapping noise in room 43, our maintenace team have been alerted thanks to your update. In terms of car parking we have sufficient parking to accommodate 90 cars. Admiitedly not all car park spaces are adjacent to reception but plentiful provision is provided. The seperate car park exclusively for staff, adjacent to our waste disposal area, sits in addition to guest parking and accommodates 15 cars. The in-room nibbles are very popular although we were disappointed that you didn't enjoy your room service to the same extent. Feedback has been provided to the chef. Notwithstanding the niggles that impacted your stay we do hope these haven't put you off returning in the future. All the best for 2023. The Lumley Experience Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FrankPatient wrote a review Jan 2023
Huddersfield, United Kingdom335 contributions105 helpful votes
+1
This is a great experience to stop in a castle if you are planning a family / romantic day or two away . The hotel is in its own grounds , so if you are thinking of walking somewhere and having a change of scenery in a different place for a meal or drink you can but you would have to drive . It is a great place to stop - room was really warm and bottle of fizz and chocolates in the room was a nice touch - I had the plonk , wife had the chocs .The corner bath was good and the bed was comfortable - what you would expect really . Restaurant is nice and service was efficient - glass of wine £15 - beer £6 a pint - what the hell ! If you're going to do this be prepared for open wallet surgery. The bar is quiet and elegant , just the kind of place you would like to be if the kids/grandkids are driving you mental . I don't know about stopping for two nights though as there isn't a lot to do - you would have to go out in the car - Beamish Museum or Durham . One night for us was perfect - place is easy to find and totally different to anything else I had ever stayed in . there are a variety of different rooms that have e.g. a bathroom through the back of a wardrobe - back in Narnia - other rooms available . It's also good to explore the castle - I would book again definitely if I wanted a night away .Nothing bad to say about this place - so if you fancy something different that you have never tried , this castle is a good one for a new experience .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Rooms are priced - you pay your money you takes your choice - a remote area - no problems with...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Guest Experience Team, Other at Lumley Castle Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear FrankPatient Thank you so much time for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent visit. The team always appreciate a 5 Star review and your positive comments are well received. Regarding your comment regarding wine costing £15 per glass, our wines by the glass begin at £5.20 (Pinot Grigio) whilst £6 for a pint of beer represents the standard price of beer in hotels in the region. I hope this helpful. Our rooms are indeed unique and the 'Narnia' bedrooms are very popular. We do look forward welcoming you back to Lumley Castle in 2023. The Lumley Experience Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lumley castle durham, hotel lumley castle, castle hotel lumley, castle lumley
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamDurham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
74
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LUMLEY CASTLE HOTEL - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Durham, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Lumley Castle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Lumley Castle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Holmside Park (6.9 km), Crook Hall & Gardens (8.0 km), and WWT Washington Wetland Centre (6.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lumley Castle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Lumley Castle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lumley Castle Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lumley Castle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Guiseppe's Italian Bistro, Il Cancello Italian Restaurant, and Sunarga Indian Restaurant.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lumley Castle Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Lumley Castle Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Lumley Castle Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Crook Hall & Gardens (8.0 km), Washington Old Hall (5.8 km), and Houghton Hillside Cemetery (5.5 km).
Does Lumley Castle Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Lumley Castle Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.