We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Save
Share
The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Priceline
Destinia.com
US$368
US$240
View deal
SAVE US$128
Free cancellation until 27/09/21
Booking.comUS$309
eDreamsUS$309
HurbUS$368
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1355)
360
Panoramas (59)
Room & Suite (443)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 23/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Updated 23/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 13 hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere, Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a break in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens, the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere. Laura Ashley The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views of Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Elegantly decorated meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your event in the Lake District.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Hungarian, Polish, Romanian and 1 more
2036Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,102
  • 506
  • 242
  • 112
  • 74
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
David R wrote a review Apr 2021
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom126 contributions164 helpful votes
My title tells it all. Whilst I fully appreciate the financial strain many Hospitality venues, have suffered, too many are trying to grab as much cash as quickly as possible, but offering second rate food and service, at Premier prices. NOT The Belsfield! We’ve just finished an excellent mid range meal, excellent value for money, with great, attentive, prompt service, with a knockout view. Wine at sensible prices, accompanied by a generous starter (£8.95), and good quality main (£13.95). Why bother paying similar prices for an average cafe meal? Book, and try before everyone catches on. Don’t be put off by it’s upmarket name and location, this place is working hard to get its business back on track, by offering super value and service
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
The Ranger wrote a review Apr 2021
62 contributions58 helpful votes
Turned up to have a 3 course meal with drinks for two on a quiet sunny post lock down Monday afternoon and despite being shown to our table waited for twenty minutes to be served. We watched on as staff made a fuss of people arriving with dogs or requesting Champagne right next us. On bringing this to the notice of one of the staff waiting on we were simply told “ We don’t see people on that table “ this even though this member of staff showed us to our table , cleared tables next to us, and served people next to us. No apology expressed at all even though we said we were looking to have a full meal and no attempt even at this point to take an order. Simply watched us walk out without any service. This place may have a stunning view but this appears to be focus of those waiting on rather than the customers.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Rae C wrote a review Apr 2021
4 contributions
We had noticed the hotel advertising their lunch on the terrace for a while and couldn’t wait for lockdown to end. At last after what seemed ages we could get together with our family and enjoy a meal together, and we weren’t disappointed, the cream teas were really enjoyable, the Prosecco went down a treat, the view over the lake was stunning, and even the sun came out. The only thing that marred our afternoon was that the service was impeccable, but when we wanted to add a tip to our bill, we were told not to as the hotel pocketed all tips paid by card, though tips paid by cash went to the staff. This was really disappointing, as we thought this greedy attitude by management had disappeared, but apparently not.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Bartosz Kowalski, Guest Services / Front Office at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 351raec Thank you for your positive review. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your Cream teas on our Lake-view terrace. We are all pleased to be open after such a long time of lockdown! I want to assure you that gratuities added to the card do go to staff, as a business we do not keep them (we are not allowed - these are accounted in a different way). These tips are shared every 3 months and added directly to wages, however because of 3 lockdowns this was not done yet. I will speak to all our teams to explain this in more detail, please be assured that all tips - cash or card, do go to staff :) Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again! Bartosz Kowalski Deputy General Manager
Read more
Stephanie wrote a review Dec 2020
Cumbria, United Kingdom54 contributions22 helpful votes
The room was great and looked newly refurbished and the view from the room was awesome. You could see all the boats out on the water which was lovely. The only thing I can fault is that the old fashioned style lift was very tricky to operate and the leisure facilities didn't seem to be in use. Service in the bar area also very slow but breakfast delicious and decor was beautifully done
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bartosz Kowalski, Guest Services / Front Office at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Responded 7 Mar 2021
Dear StephanieP978l Thank you for your lovely feedback! I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our beautifully positioned hotel. I agree that the views are simply fantastic. Thank you for your other comments from which I have taken some constructive points. I hope that we can welcome you back very soon? Kind regards Bartosz Kowalski Deputy General Manager
Read more
Gail SB wrote a review Dec 2020
Durham, United Kingdom68 contributions23 helpful votes
We booked this fabulous hotel last minute due to our regular hotel being closed. We were definitely not disappointed. From start to finish the service we received was well above first class. All the staff couldn’t do enough to make our stay memorable and they certainly exceeded our expectations. Special thanks to Ian and Taylor. The food was exceptional and of great quality. Great activities included Christmas Eve quiz ( which we won ) casino night and boat trip. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel which is perfectly situated. Thank you so much you guys made our Christmas
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Bartosz Kowalski, Guest Services / Front Office at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Responded 7 Mar 2021
Dear 291gails Thank you very much for your fantastic review! We are all please that we could make your Christmas stay this special. I have passed your kind words to all our teams (especially Ian and Tayler). I look forward to welcoming you again very soon! Kind regards Bartosz Kowalski Deputy General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$164 - US$329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
belsfield hotel bowness on windermere, belsfield bowness on windermere
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictBowness-on-Windermere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Which popular attractions are close to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield?
Nearby attractions include Lake Windermere (0.3 km), The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction (0.4 km), and The Albert Bar (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dr Brews Coffee, Graze, and Folk.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere.
Are any cleaning services offered at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, Romanian, Hungarian, and Slovak.
Are there any historical sites close to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Townend (5.6 km), Blackwell, The Arts & Crafts House (2.1 km), and Hill Top, Beatrix Potter's House (3.3 km).