Weymouth B&Bs / Inns
Traveler (210)
Lovely views, rooms and luxuries
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (21)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#21 of 81 B&Bs in Weymouth
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
No. 98 is under recent new ownership, re-furbished throughout with love and the greatest of care, we want you to love our home as much as we do! Since arriving here in October 2020, as the newest owners of No 98, we have noticed how the sea in Weymouth Bay is always just that bit greener, bluer and brighter than elsewhere. The ever-changing, almost hypnotic seascape can be viewed from our lounge/dining area on the ground floor and from most of our rooms as well. We have created an exquisite space where you can unwind, relax and recharge – a space where the colours of the sea and coastline are drawn in and echoed throughout to produce a feeling of being at one with the beauty and tranquillity of the bay itself. Our newly refurbished rooms are decorated in fresh clean lines with elegant blues and greens complemented by crisp white bed linen. We have 5 sea facing rooms, and 4 Courtyard facing rooms. We are a 2 minute walk away from the train station and locally there is a wealth of amazing restaurants and pubs within walking distance. We offer substantially reduced parking permits which allow a whole days parking for just £5, these permits can be used in three main car parks, one of which is directly behind our hotel in the Royal Yard. All of our rooms are en-suite and have free Wi-Fi. We look forward to welcoming you very soon to No.98. Suzanne and Derek
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing offsite
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Tile / marble floor
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

98 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AT England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 97 out of 100
97
Bournebouth Intl Airport
47.2 km
Exeter Airport
69.6 km
88 Restaurants
within 0.5 kilometers
28 Attractions
within 0.5 kilometers
405Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 310
  • 53
  • 18
  • 17
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
KC1989 wrote a review Jun 2021
Luton, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A beautiful and modern hotel right on the seafront. Derek was a warm and welcoming host

The room was lovely, plenty of space and really comfy big beds. There was a television in the room and other useful things like a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Bathroom had a spacious and powerful shower. The rooms had recently been refurbished and to a high standard

Parking was available either directly behind the hotel or a 2 minute walk away. The hotel supplied day permits which was useful as this was cheaper than paying normally

The breakfast was absolutely delicious, one of the best Full Englishes we've had

Overall would highly recommend and would definitely stay again in future
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
johnparslow wrote a review Aug 2020
Watford, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I recently had a 4 night stay at this hotel. We had to change the dates from our original booking, and Cat was very helpful in making this change happen. We arrived a bit too early for check-in, but we were able to leave our case and then check in later. I was pleasantly surprised to find that our case had been taken to our room when we checked in, which saved me having to carry my heavy case up two flights of stairs ( there aren’t any lifts!). This is a delightful hotel, beautifully located right on the sea front and with friendly and helpful staff. Our room was spacious and overlooking the courtyard the back of the building. The bed was comfortable, with plenty of storage space, and here was also a large bathroom with up to date facilities. Breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice and delicious, well presented food. Breakfast could be a bit chaotic if everyone turned up at the same time, and I did get the feeling that the staff were quite stretched with all of the things required to maintain the hotel to its high standard. I am sure that there are cheaper hotels in Weymouth, but you get what you pay for, and this hotel gave you that feeling of being pampered! There were only a couple of negatives - we did have a couple of problems with the room, and also our final bill, but these were swiftly sorted out by Cat. Additionally, I would have thought that a hotel of this standard would provide bottled water and shower gel, but we had to get our own - but not a major issue on the grand scale of things. I would certainly recommend this hotel, and I hope that we will return at some point in the future. Thanks to Cat and the team for looking after us.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helen H wrote a review Dec 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything about our one night stay was excellent!

Derek and Suzanne have invested heavily in the hotel clearly both in terms of money and very hard work!
The attention to detail is amazing and every aspect of decor and presentation has been carried out to a very high standard.
The dining and lounge areas are very tasteful and contemporary
We had a second floor sea view room and even had a loo with a view. Although the room was quite small it lacked nothing and the in room facilities were exceptional. The bathroom had a walk in shower cubicle, lovely fresh and fluffy towels and toiletries provided too.
The bed was very comfortable and even though the room overlooked the busy Esplanade noise wasn’t an issue.
On our arrival we were greeted by Derek and from that first meeting we knew our stay would be a pleasant one. Very knowledgeable, very helpful and a genuinely nice person. Nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was superb. Couldn’t fault it at all

In summary No 98 Boutique Hotel is a gem. Derek and Suzanne have stamped their mark on it, set a very high standard and deserve every success after taking over the business at possibly the worst time possible during lockdown.

Next time we are in Weymouth we will definitely return to No 98.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Royal Yard car park behind hotel is best bet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JTJD wrote a review Sep 2020
United Kingdom
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
There were some very positive features at the hotel but unfortunately there were also some negative ones which led us to feel generally a bit disappointed with the overall stay.
The location of the hotel was excellent, situated on the esplanade overlooking Weymouth Bay & only a couple of minutes walk from the railway station.
All of the staff that we met were truly delightful! They were all very pleasant, helpful, welcoming, professional & any requests were immediately attended to.
Our breakfast was fabulous, absolutely no complaints at all about this aspect of our stay. There was lots of choice including a delicious, freshly prepared fruit salad with granola & yoghurt. The Full English breakfast was expertly cooked to order, utilised high quality produce & was faultless.
Our disappointment centred around the interior of the hotel which appeared to be well past its sell by date & not of the standard we had expected. With the exception of the breakfast room & bar area the hotel, which looked to have been fairly newly refurbished, the downstairs toilet, staircase & corridors looked quite shabby & dated. Our double room & bathroom was of an adequate size, the bed was very comfy & had nice crisp bed linen. These positive features were was all badly let down by the dated decor, dirty mirror (fingerprints on it when we arrived) cobwebs on the ceiling, rusting towel rail, blackened grout in the bathroom & shoddy paintwork & carpets. Along with the fact there was no central AC, no room safe, mini bar or gowns/slippers we felt that the “Boutique Hotel” description, which hints at something a little special & somewhat luxurious really couldn’t be justified by this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Suzanne Coughlan, Owner at No. 98 Boutique Hotel
Responded Jun 21, 2021
This is an old review, the hotel has been completely renovated from top to bottom since this was posted and is under new ownership. What you see in these photos is embarrassing and in no way reflects what you will find when you enter No.98 now. We have refurbished the whole house to an incredibly high standard with much love and attention to detail throughout.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MJFamily56 wrote a review Aug 2020
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked what we thought was a superior family suite for myself my husband and two grown up children for a three night stay, we were allocated room 8, Up on the top floor, one double bed and a futon!!!. Room very small, en-suite no bigger than a broom cupboard. No option to move rooms hotel fully booked. Had to request more towels, coffee tea etc, No complimentary sherry or water as stated on the website. Lovely bar area with plenty of drinks, however, always closed so we never had the opportunity for to purchase any.

Very poor customer service, we were constantly having to ask for the little extras which should of come as standard considering the amount of money we paid. I definitely would not re-visit. If I were to leave one positive comment, the breakfast was pretty good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gail Franks, Owner at No. 98 Boutique Hotel
Responded Aug 21, 2020
Dear Guests, I am so sorry you didn't have the best experience with us. I think, as you booked through Hotels.com, you should also take up your complaint with them. It seems from what you said, you were expecting a much larger room for 4 adults. We do not advertise or subscribe to Hotels.com so whatever information they have is clearly not accurate, and not from us. The also allocated you that particular room. I am sure you will remember we were very surprised when you arrived as 4 adults. This particular family room is only designed for 2 adults and 2 children, and I did mention this to you at the time. Obviously, in the middle of August we were fully booked, otherwise we would of course offered you some alternatives. Regarding the complimentary sherry and water - yes this is usually put in the rooms, but because of Covid-19 we are leaving less items in the rooms as a precautionary measure and on Health and Safety Government advice for the Hospitality Industry. However, you should have been informed of this upon arrival and told that you were welcome to the complimentary sherry either in your room or at the bar, likewise the bottled water. So, yes you did need to request it rather than it being left in the room in advance. Re the bar. It is not manned constantly as it is solely for the use of our guests. However, there is a bell on the bar and had you rung it, someone would have appeared to serve you. We stay open until 11 pm Sunday to Thurs and can serve until 2am on Fri and Sat, if guests require. Again I do apologise you did not enjoy your stay and hope you will give us the opportunity to improve your experience. Kind regards Gail
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex C wrote a review Aug 2020
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I recently returned from a short stay at the number 98 Boutique Hotel. I booked this hotel due to its location and recent reviews. The booking process was easy and the staff were helpful with the questions which I had when it came to covid etc.

Upon arrival the exterior of the building was well presented and inviting. Upon going inside the entrance area was clean and tidy and well kept. There was also hand sanitiser available.

We were given our room and went on upstairs (there is no lift) to have a look at our room. This is where I felt a bit underwhelmed. The room itself is ok but could have really done with some TLC. The walls marked and could have done with a new coat of paint. The bathroom door had also had seen better days. The dressing table looked like it had a bit of a life also. The futon type bed had holes in the duvet with a very thin mattress and one of the bathroom towels had marks on it. The WiFi is extremely hit and miss and the TV signal dropped out now and again.

Now I know it seems like a lot of problems, but none of these ruined our stay. It was apparent that a good 75% of the booking cost was for the lovely Sea view which we had. We really couldn't be closer to the beach.

After a okish nights sleep we came down for breakfast to dinning area. Breakfast was part of the booking and offered a wide range of both hot and cold food. The food was a decent portion size and tasted great.

Would I return? I wouldnt say our stay was bad, but I would probably explore more options if I was to return to Weymouth.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lucy wrote a review May 2022
Bristol, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Suzanne and Derek made me feel at home as soon as I walked in. They gave me a number of recommendations for restaurants and a couple of walks I could do before dinner. The room was spotless with a sea view, rainfall shower and comfy bed. The attention to detail with the coastal theme and local produce was evident through to the Dorset tea bags in the room. Breakfast was out of this world, possibly the best I’ve had at a hotel/B&B in the uk. There was plenty of choice of yogurts with homemade berry compote, nuts and seeds and fresh fruit. There was also a hot breakfast menu. I appreciated being able to choose my hot breakfast instead of a buffet. My eggs Benedict was made fresh with and I could tell a lot of care had gone into it. I was able to choose my breakfast time and dine at a leisurely pace. I left feeling very relaxed and will definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
malcolm c wrote a review Jul 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Part of a round-England driving tour, Weymouth proved to be everything it said it would. Mixture of old-world charm and seaside resort, some great pubs and some delicious dining experiences.
98 Boutique is in a perfect location and the new owners have done it up beautifully. It was immaculately clean and the hosts Sue and Derek, very welcoming. We stayed in Room 3 which has a superb view over the incredible beach (white sand the texture of icing sugar which on a windy day (we had three!) makes for a terrific exfoliator!) and harbour beyond.
However, room 3 is also very noisy and too bright for a good night's sleep. Lack of blackout curtains* or efficient blinds* means bright early morning sunlight from c.4.30am in June and without secondary double glazing*, the road noise (cars and people wandering home late at night or early morning) keeps the weary traveller awake. The en-suite also has no 'blind' on the door* meaning a midnight visit lights up the bedroom *Just a few suggestions to consider.
But whatever one's sleep, breakfast was spectacular! Best eggs Benedict I have ever had, and the sausages in the full english were delicious. Derek also gave great advice on where to visit (Bennett's fish and chips well worth the walk to the old harbour).
Parking costs c.£6 a day and is a 3 minute walk from the hotel. There is an efficient EV charger near the marina.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Room 3 is noisy. Reading the other reviews, rooms at the back will be much quieter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Suzanne Coughlan, Owner at No. 98 Boutique Hotel
Responded Jul 3, 2022
Dear Malcolm, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sorry you had a disturbed sleep due to the outside noise, I am afraid that a sea view room means that your room fronts the Esplanade and unfortunately we have no control over passers by. We have very peaceful rooms at the back of the house, maybe one of these would have suited you better, but at the time I understood a sea view was important to you. This is a Grade II listed building which means we cannot make changes to the existing windows either. There are some things that we can control but others ( ie all of the things you mentioned) which we have no control over whatsoever. We do not have “blinds” in room 3, we have quality wooden shutters which are less than two months old. We have slept in this room ourselves and find them perfectly adequate, but I guess it depends how dark you want the room, and is, in the end, down to personal preference. I’m glad that you enjoyed breakfast, very kind of you to make such nice comments about the food. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. Warmest regards, Suzanne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra E wrote a review Mar 2022
Cambridge, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent three relaxing nights in this conveniently-located hotel . We were pleased that we opted for a room with a sea view as we enjoyed a fabulous view and found the sound of the waves and seagulls relaxing. The accommodation was spotless and had a fresh seaside theme, and the proprietors were welcoming and helpful. The hot breakfasts were cooked to order, and the cold offerings were varied and included a special Greek yogurt with a delicious homemade compote. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we hope to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave T wrote a review Jun 2021
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place has been renovated to an amazing standard by the family that run it. You can’t park out front of the hotel but just behind it in Gloucester Mews is a pay and display car park, you can get discounted rates at the hotel. Our room was located at the back, away from the main street but to be honest I don’t think the traffic and noise from the front street would be that rowdy. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast is excellent with several vegetarian options. Absolutely loved this place, right in the heart of Weymouth, I would recommend this place to anyone, top notch
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from gef8882014
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Further to my previous answer, we have now secured some guest parking permits as well as our on site parking, so it is likely you would be able to have one of these which allows you to park for free in our area on the street or in a choice of 3 public car parks including Royal Yard the nearest car park to us.
Answer from gef8882014
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hello - thanks for your query. There is a small public car park at the back of the hotel, just 2 minutes away. The charge is £1 an hour from 9.30am to 6pm and is free from 6pm to 9.30am. If this is full there are 2 huge car parks in the middle of Weymouth (a 5 minute walk away) and I believe the tariff is the same. Kind regards Gail
Chris B wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Paid parking nearby at the Swannery just a few minutes walk away."
Read full review
h5dunlop wrote a tip Mar 2024
993 contributions562 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book it as it gets busy"
Read full review
h5dunlop wrote a tip Dec 2023
993 contributions562 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking available in local car parks."
Read full review
melissa p wrote a tip Oct 2023
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Terrific B&B and delightful owners - it was perfect! "
Read full review
Sharon T wrote a tip Oct 2023
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Travel by train as parking can be costly."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Weymouth area.
PRICE RANGE
₱10,532 - ₱12,944 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Kinley
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetWeymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

- UPDATED 2024 Lodging Reviews (Weymouth, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about No. 98 Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to No. 98 Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Gladstones Family Jewellers (0.3 km), Weymouth Beach (0.3 km), and RSPB Weymouth Wetlands at Radipole Lake Nature Reserve (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at No. 98 Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at No. 98 Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at No. 98 Boutique Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to No. 98 Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nicetta, Sambô, and Cafe Blue.
Is No. 98 Boutique Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Weymouth.
Are there any historical sites close to No. 98 Boutique Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nothe Fort (1.0 km), Player Ready Virtual Reality Gaming, Racing, Escape Rooms & LaserTag Weymouth (0.6 km), and The Tudor House Museum (0.9 km).
Does No. 98 Boutique Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Weymouth HotelsWeymouth Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WeymouthHotels near No. 98 Boutique Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars