Fairhaven Hotel

Fairhaven Hotel

Traveler (43)
Double Room With Sea View
Room & Suite (35)
Beachview Apartment Dining Area
Dining (4)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#11 of 20 hotels in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Across the road from the beach, this relaxed seaside hotel in a Georgian-era building is a 6-minute walk from the Weymouth Sea Life Tower and Aquarium, and 9 minutes by foot from Weymouth train station. Simply furnished rooms with unpretentious decor feature en-suite bathrooms, TVs, and tea and coffee-making equipment. Some rooms come with sea views. The lounge bar offers a relaxed setting for enjoying a drink with sea views.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Street parking
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

37 Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DH England
66Reviews10Q+A20Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 37
  • 9
  • 13
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Powell8 wrote a review May 2023
Stafford, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This seafront hotel has undergone a refurbish but its facilities are something to be desired. The receptionist multi-skills from cleaning the lounge area to waiting on at breakfast and then checking in or out clients. Our room was redecorated recently and overlooked the beach area which was good. The shower room needed shelving for personal equipment and a basket is needed for the shower to place soap and hair wash bottles in, A coat of white paint would not go amiss around the shower door frame. The restaurant is a franchised operation and only produces Indian food which is reasonable but only one course is served due to lack of staff which is not a good aspect. There is no parking facilities but the management have a deal with a local multi storey park. Apart from that the hotel does have some good fluffy towels for use with shower all in all a reasonable two night stay with eateries up and down the promenade
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Fairhaven, Owner at Fairhaven Hotel
Responded Jun 4, 2023
Good Evening, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some important constructive feedback and for choosing to stay with us! We hope during your stay with us that you could make full use of our facilities and our prime location along with the local businesses! There are certainly lots of lovely options for restaurants and cafes along the seafront both to the right and the left to cater for everyone's preferences which I hope you got the chance to enjoy. We will definitely make sure to take all your feedback on board and share your kind words with the rest of the team! We very much look forward to hosting you again in the near future where we will do our utmost to make your stay a 5 star experience! Kindest regards, The Fairhaven Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna S wrote a review Jul 2023
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Fairhaven was lovely hotel it has amazing and friendly staff always happy to help only downside was the curtains in the room let too much light in at 5am so was waking us up. Black out curtains would help this room The view from hotel was amazing sea views just needed the windows cleaned . Never had any food in hotel so can’t rate this but overall great hotel superb location great value for money we parked in the Melcome car park which is free from 6pm till 8am not far from hotel maybe a 10 min walk u just go on the just park app and extend your duration at 8am.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Fairhaven, Owner at Fairhaven Hotel
Responded Aug 28, 2023
It's great to hear that you found our location superb and that you found the hotel to be great value for money. We're pleased that you were able to make use of the nearby Melcome car park, and we appreciate your tip about extending your parking duration through the app. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for sharing your insights. If you ever decide to dine with us in the future, we hope you'll have a great experience. If you have any further suggestions or feedback to share, please don't hesitate to reach out. We're looking forward to the possibility of welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay in the future. Warmest regards, the Fairhaven Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
purserMonaco wrote a review Sep 2022
Monaco
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Parking is an issue. The nearest paid parking was next to the pavilion conference center. You have to move your car early morning or get a fine. My walk was ok as it was sunny but it would be long & nasty in the rain.
A very nice happy chappy called Ben greeted me, checked me in and helped me with my bags into the lift and up to my 3rd floor room.
Entering The room it had new carpets, bed, big shower, they were great. You can see immediately the up grade work that they have done. But lots of things missing or badly finished or poorly thought out.
No guest info book in the room, no WiFi info, no fire escape info on back of door !!!
Hinges hanging off new wardrobe, No mirror for lady’s to dry hair ( under TV would be perfect spot) tv cables all hanging out. The poor design of the toilet ( makes the dreaded toilet brush, essential)
The old glazed windows allow noise and cold into the room and the shower room will be freezing in the winter as it doesn’t even have a heated towel rail.
No hooks to hang towels, no toilet roll holder, no shelf for the shampoo & body wash and I had to ask in reception for a hire dryer and a do not disturb sign. Clearly lots of work has been done but the owner needs to have someone with an eye for detail to do a snagging list before the rooms should be considered guest ready.
The “ continental breakfast” was grim looking , and with so many cafes doing breakfast my advice go elsewhere for breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kim D wrote a review May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my 9 year old daughter had a twin room for one night. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly man that took our bags until we could check in at 4. They then took them to our room for us. The room was clean and all you would need, the water pressure is amazing one of the best showers I have had in a long time. Our room had hand wash, shower gel, shampoo and towels included as well as the usual tea and coffee. When we checked out at 10am I asked if it would be possible to keep our bags safe until I got the train home so we could really enjoy our last day, again the staff were amazing and said of course straight away, I asked if we had a time frame and I was told the doors get shut at 11 so any time before that, how amazing is that! I can’t say how impressed I was with the staff and our stay especially for the money. We are looking forward to coming again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Fairhaven, Owner at Fairhaven Hotel
Responded Jun 2, 2023
Good Evening, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us; Our location is something we take great pride in so we are very glad to hear you could make full use of all our facilities and surrounding beach area along with the shops! I will certainly make sure to pass your kind words onto the other members of staff too. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon! Kindest regards Tanisha and The Fairhaven Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WhatITHinkAboutAPlace wrote a review Sep 2021
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a great location by the beach and harbour. The staff are all very welcoming and friendly. The room is ok for a few nights. The bed was comfy. The bathroom had a walk in shower and was clean. The room looked tired and dated but was clean. There was a kettle with coffee/tea/milk/sugar sachets and cups. Wardrobe and dressing table. There was a lot of noise in the early hours, shouting and screaming but can’t blame hotel for this. Also close to a church whose bell tolls on the hour day and night but again can’t blame hotel for this. I would say the price we paid was way too much for the quality of the room and no breakfast included. £120 a night is not a fair price but we paid it as was last available room on our dates. When breakfast does get included the price will go up ?? All in all I would stay here again as the location is great, the staff are really good and the bed comfortable but would look for alternative cheaper rooms first.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring ear plugs and toilet rolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GingerJ wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 4 nights in August 2021, hotel was clean and comfortable, room was lovely, excellent sea views. Manager (Steve) was so helpful when booking even helping us identify a room we used to stay in over 10 years ago. Close to everything, restaurants, shops and of course, a lovely part of the beach. Relaxed, laid back atmosphere, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Was going to give a '4' rating due to the fact breakfast was not included, but then found out Steve had only taken the hotel on in May, so considering that, it is well worth the 5 rating. Will definitely be going again. Thank you Fairhaven, for a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George D wrote a review May 2023
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cannot fault this hotel one bit. Very good value for money. Staff very attentive. Got greeted by a lovely gentleman at the door and was made to feel at ease and relaxed. Stopped here (for 17 years) when I was younger and it’s so nice to see that the new owners have freshened up the rooms to have a very cosy contemporary feel. After speaking with the owners, they show so much enthusiasm towards getting the Fairhaven to the best place it can be and you can tell they love the business they have built. To sum up our visit, 1000% booking again and can’t wait to see the Fairhaven grow to its former glory. Top job Fairhaven! Totally recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Fairhaven, Owner at Fairhaven Hotel
Responded May 19, 2023
Good evening, We are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable from the moment you stepped in the door! Your kind words are what make it worth it for us so I will definitely make sure to pass your review on to all the staff members to read. We very much look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon in the near future. Warmest regards, Tanisha and The Fairhaven Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MeowMeowMeowMeow wrote a review Aug 2023
Horley, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had high hopes for the Fairhaven as we were staying in a “refurbished” family room with sea view, but sadly they’ve paid lip service to the work.

The room had been painted and air conditioning added (which worked really well and was really needed in the heat of Summer) and new tiles fitted in the bathroom, but that’s where the positives end. Nothing else in the room had been replaced or properly brought up to date.

The ceiling in the shower cubicle was old cracked and mouldy artex. The cubicle itself was tiny and the water pressure kept changing so you’d suddenly get a hot blast from the shower.

The bedroom had an old wooden wardrobe which had seen better days. The bed was a double, although the built in bedside tables and lights were spaced for a superking – so you had to really reach over to get to either.

The carpet in the room was badly fitted and didn’t reach the grip rod for the bathroom – there were nails in the carpet trying to hold it down that we caught our feet on. In the middle of the room there was a big square of carpet that had been cut out and replaced.

The other problem is the noise – we were woken early every night we were there. The hotel is in an old building and the floors creak terribly – so when someone is walking about in the room above you it is really noisy (this woke us at 5am one day). The other issue is that the hotel is single glazed so you get all the noise from the seafront – including the bin lorries and road sweepers that start work around 6am and woke us up.

There is a lift in the hotel, but on each floor there are still steps to get to many of the rooms, plus there are steps to get into the hotel front door – not an issue for us, but be aware that the lift doesn’t make it a step free hotel.

Another problem we experienced was that when we were shown to our room, we found it hadn’t been cleaned from the previous guests – dirty bedding and rubbish everywhere. To be fair to the hotel, they brought us a drink in the bar and they got the cleaners to prepare the room within about 45 minutes, but this is unacceptably sloppy. I saw another review saying they had the same issue with the room not being cleaned, so this clearly wasn’t a one off issue.

On the plus side, the air conditioning is great, there is a nice bar area on the ground floor and the staff are really friendly and helpful.

If the rooms were properly gutted and refurbished, rather than just having a lick of paint, then this could be a lovely hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Fairhaven, Owner at Fairhaven Hotel
Responded Aug 28, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Fairhaven. Our hotel is in a Grade II listed building that was originally built in 1700s, and maintaining the beauty and integrity of our premises comes with its own set of challenges. That's why despite having a lift, not all the rooms are step-free. For guests with mobility issues, we always try to allocate rooms that close to the lift, which is why we recommend guests book directly so we can advise them appropriately. Also as a result of the historical listing we have to keep the original (single glazed) windows, which obviously let in more noise than their modern equivalents. We are sorry that your room wasn't ready when you came to check-in. We always try and check people in when they arrive, even when it is before our check-in time, and as a result of this we missed our checks this time. We are at the start of our refurbishment program, and your feedback is invaluable as we improve. Warmest regards, The Fairhaven Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul wrote a review May 2023
Somerset, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Really disappointed with the hotel. Paid extra to have a premium room specifically for the advertised Air Con, which did not work. Several visits and fob offs by the reception staff telling me it would work we ended up dealing with the hot room as had no option of staying anywhere else at 10:30 in the evening. On complaining on checkout no apology stillX won’t be staying here again and be aware if you stay in a Premium Room!!!! Also the carpet in the room was stained and dirty.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Fairhaven, Owner at Fairhaven Hotel
Responded Jun 3, 2023
Hi Paul, Regarding the air conditioning in our premium rooms, the air-conditioning/heating system works by using a touchpad which is located in each room which gives the guest full control over the temperature along with a central pad which monitors all room temperatures from behind reception. Members of staff noticed that you had set the system on the wrong setting, on three separate occasions we informed you to not touch the pad as we had put it on the correct cooling option, however from our central control pad we saw that you kept changing the settings which caused the problem with the heating. The air-conditioning system can bring the room temperature down to 19 degrees celcius and as mentioned can be controlled from the room which means there can be some user error but we are always happy to assist if need be. Upon check-out, a member of staff was very apologetic and made sure your concerns were heard. We acknowledge your comments about the carpet and apologise for the small stains, we have now rectified this but do apologise that during your stay we had not removed these. Regards, The Fairhaven Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neil M wrote a review Jun 12
Reading, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice stay, spent a long weekend here recently with my disabled mother. Booked 2 rooms. Both were equally clean, comfortable and modern.

Like any establishment you could find faults if you looked hard enough. I found it to be a very nice stay. Good shower pressure, clean well stocked bathroom. Beds were comfortable and made up daily. The TV in room came with multiple to channels including paid subscription.

Hotel doesn’t do a breakfast anymore, but will provide a continental option at an additional cost. Thought this was a little mean. Also hotel doesn’t supply a parking permit anymore. So parking was a little pricey. These were the only real negative worth mentioning.

Good all round establishment, a stones throw to the beach, town and facilities. Weymouth is Weymouth, nothing really changes.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Fairhaven, Owner at Fairhaven Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Neil, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you and your mother enjoyed your stay here and hope to welcome you back to Weymouth soon. Kind regards, Aemelia and the Fairhaven team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GraceWinter asked a question Yesterday
Yate, United Kingdom4 contributions
Hi, May I please ask if Fairhaven is pet friendly? Thank you.
tosalet1 asked a question May 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom28 contributions17 helpful votes
Is the hotel re-opening this year
Ann Maclean asked a question Jul 2019
Stockport, United Kingdom30 contributions14 helpful votes
Can you get access with a wheel chair into the hotel ok or have you got to get up the front steps
Ann Maclean asked a question Jul 2019
Stockport, United Kingdom30 contributions14 helpful votes
Can you get access with a wheel chair into the hotel ok or have you got to get up the front steps
Micksterbs99 asked a question May 2019
Nottingham, United Kingdom31 contributions66 helpful votes
Can anyone tell me if the breakfast is a help yourself buffet style or a waiter service
Answer from tosalet1
Birmingham, United Kingdom28 contributions17 helpful votes
Waiter service. Very efficient
Jeffrey P wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I can't think of 1 thing that hindered me in my stay and staff were happy to help with any questions "
Read full review
MJCS wrote a tip Mar 2024
Cala Galdana, Spain12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Park in multistory and get hotel to zap your yellow parking disc for discount. "
Read full review
SilviaFlo wrote a tip Dec 2023
Florence, Italy78 contributions27 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"when booking, ask for refurbished rooms and on the front of the hotel so that you have a working wifi."
Read full review
Carla R wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check rooms for attention to detail phones to phone down when need products update some things "
Read full review
Guide743617 wrote a tip Sep 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for room with a view it's amazing, sitting there watching the waves come in "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Weymouth area.
PRICE RANGE
₱5,119 - ₱7,649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fairhaven hotel weymouth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetWeymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FAIRHAVEN HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Weymouth, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Fairhaven Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Fairhaven Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Gladstones Family Jewellers (0.2 km), Stuart Wiltshire Glass (0.2 km), and Weymouth Harbour (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairhaven Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea.
What food & drink options are available at Fairhaven Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairhaven Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairhaven Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Les Enfants Terribles, EBIKE CAFE @ Deheers, and Hall's Kitchen.
Is Fairhaven Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Weymouth.
Are there any historical sites close to Fairhaven Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nothe Fort (0.7 km), Player Ready Virtual Reality Gaming, Racing, Escape Rooms & LaserTag Weymouth (0.1 km), and The Tudor House Museum (0.4 km).
Does Fairhaven Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Weymouth HotelsWeymouth Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WeymouthHotels near Fairhaven Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars