We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thistle Express London Luton

Save
Share
The Mall, Library Road, Luton LU1 2TR England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$57
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$57
View deal
Destinia.com
US$43
View deal
Hotels.comUS$57
PricelineUS$57
Official HotelUS$64
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (93)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (7)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 24/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Thistle Express London Luton
Updated 24/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 29 hotels in Luton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the next generation of Thistle hotels, Thistle Express. Get amazing value. Think 40” flat screen TVs and super fast Wi-Fi. Think free breakfast and coffee and tea on tap. Think modern rooms and clever design. And with no check out, simply drop your keys and get going! Find handy travel tips below: By car, please use the postcode, LU1 2PA Coming from: M1 Nottingham Take Exit 11 from M1, At Junction 11 Take A505 exit to Luton/Dunstable, continue on to Dunstable Road. At the roundabout, take 3rd Exit onto Chaul End Lane. At the roundabout take the 1st exit to Hatters way/ A505. At the roundabout take the 1st exit onto Telford Way/A6. Turn right to Hucklesby/A6, then turn right onto Guildford street and follow Guildford street for 300 yards hotel will be on your left Coming from: M1 London Take Exit 10. At the roundabout take the 2nd exit for New Airport Way/A1081. At the next roundabout take the 1st exit onto Gipsy lane/B653. At the roundabout continue straight onto Windmill Road/A505. At the roundabout take 2nd exit to St Mary’s road, continue to Church street, turn left from traffic light to Hucklesby way continue forward, from next traffic lights turn left onto A6 and follow Guildford street and after 300 yards hotel will be on your left and follow the ramp to get into hotel car park. On foot From Luton Station to the hotel Walk south, pass the Starbucks coffee then turn left towards Bute St. Turn right onto Guildford street, after 200 yards, then turn left onto hotel car park ramp. When coming from the Mall to the hotel Follow the sign for TK MAXX, then exit the Mall and walk straight ahead. The hotel will be directly on your left.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Iron
Laptop safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
283Reviews8Q+A20Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 115
  • 88
  • 38
  • 20
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
RaymondW wrote a review 20 Sep
1 contribution
Always a lovely, well kept affordable hotel. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Our stay was made even more pleasant by Danish, who was an absolute joy to spend time with while we waited for our room (we arrived far too early!). The rooms are a good size, very clean and well presented. Close to the train station with links to Luton Airport and Kings X, it is a little jewel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mathieu Dengremont, Owner at Thistle Express London Luton
Responded 3 days ago
Dear RayMondCalligraphy, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback and to mention one of our team member. It is always rewarding to be recognised for the hard work provided. I hope to welcome you back soon Mathieu
Read more
Ovidiu wrote a review 18 Sep
3 contributions
Nice hotel with a fresh decor. Good design. In general all the staff i came across was nice and helpful. Room was clean and housekeeping working very hard. Nice stay in overall and will be staying again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Mathieu Dengremont, Owner at Thistle Express London Luton
Responded 3 days ago
Dear400ovidium, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glade to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were well looked after by our team. I look forward to welcome you back Kind regards Mathieu
Read more
Michael T wrote a review 16 Sep
London, United Kingdom99 contributions36 helpful votes
Located inside Luton Mall Friendly efficient staff. Bright clean decor. My room was on 4th floor. My window overlooked the hotel parking lot. Big comfy bed. Large wall mounted TV with plenty of channels. Room was done in line green and grey. Nice clean well lit ensuite shower/bath/ toilet. I had an issue with the basin plug that a manager came and sorted out and brown marks on the shower curtain rail that he said was rust. I could hear a couple next door having sex that afternoon. There was a bit of noise from outside but nothing that bothered me. There are plenty of wall sockets to charge devices. Some with USB connections. Downstairs you can buy bottled beer and Juice Also free tea and coffee. The White House pub is a few metres away. Breakfast is free It consists of a fresh bacon bap 2 croissants and a bannana. All for £64. I shall stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Mathieu Dengremont, Owner at Thistle Express London Luton
Responded 3 days ago
Dear J2314TNmichaelt, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am please to see that you enjoyed most of your stay with us. I have already picked the marks on the shower rail with our housekeeping team to bring a solution to it. We are in the process of improving our breakfast offer. Do come back shortly to try it on. Mathieu
Read more
Kiran wrote a review 11 Sep
3 contributions
1. No hand sanitiser on the main hallways 2. Breakfast is awful. Vegetarian breakfast is vegetarian sausages. No other vegetarian options 3. Only one towel was provided for 2 guests 4. Filthy carpets on hallways 5. Room was ok. Y. Bathroom was dirty with stain on bathtub 6. No free parking 7. Indian lady on reception was rude and didn't give proper instructions relating to parking and stopped answering the phone. Very poor customer service. Male receptionist was able to answer query. Best to avoid this substandard hotel and book premier inn or travelodge.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Mathieu Dengremont, Owner at Thistle Express London Luton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Kiran, Thank youf or staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. I am very sorry that we could not meet your expectations on this occasion. We do have several hand sanitiser in the main hallway available by the main door by the lifts and by our coffee machine. I am sorry that our breakfast was not up to yo expectations, we are currently reviewing our offer and we will will be working towards upgrading our offer very shortly. I will pick up the points you raised about cleanliness with our housekeeping manager. This is not the standards we aim to provide and will make sure corrective actions are put in place immediately. Our car park is indeed chargeable at the rate of £10 and is limited in space. alternative options are available. Just ask one of our receptionist. In spite of this, I sincerely hope you would give our hotel a second chance to see the improvement we would have made. Mathieu
Read more
Freddiebella wrote a review 3 Sep
8 contributions8 helpful votes
STAFF ARE RUDE, HEAD OFFICE DO NO REPLY TO COMPLAINTS, HOTEL IS DATED AND DIRTY AND NOT COVID-19 COMPLIANT During my stay once I was checked in and arrived in my room I used the bathroom facilities to find that the 3 soap, shower gel / body wash bottles all empty. I immediately telephoned Reception and a bar of soap was bought to my room. When I asked why the bottles were empty and there was no soap the Male Receptionist who bought my soap to the room told me they had been busy and they had been fully booked for tree nights and he didn't have time to check the housekeeping and they weren't used to being fully booked. The hand sanitizer was empty by the lifts on my floor, I reported this and it was not re-filled during my stay as it was still empty on check out. When booking the hotel on the website it stated it is a 'Safe to stay Hotel - your Safe2Stay Hotels all follow strict hygiene and cleanliness recommendations so that you all enjoy your stay with our guarantee of absolute peace of mind' - This certainly was not the case. My partner and I are extremely concerned about Covid-19. When we went to use the bathroom we had only been left one bath towel, once again I telephoned Reception to ask for a towel, the same Receptionist said he bring one to my room immediately, as it took some time I decided to go to Reception to collect a towel and I met the Receptionist on the way, I raised my concerns and he said I wasn't the only one complaining that night and agreed with me on my complaints. Why only provide one bath towel when two adult guests were booked into the room? The Receptionist also handed me some soap and said they are no longer leaving soap in the rooms, why was the not mentioned at check in or the soap left in my room? I then noticed that there was a blood stain on the bedding. Once again I telephoned Reception and the same Receptionist came up, I told him that this was totally unacceptable and that I wanted a refund on the room, he said that was fine and if I went to Reception with him his colleague would issue a refund. He told us to speak with this colleague who I believe to be called Guinny. She was most unpleasant and quite frankly rude. I explained my concerns and that her colleague had said I could have a refund and she said "I am the Manager and I will not give you a refund" She was not interested in my concerns. I returned to my room not really knowing what to do. I did try to find another hotel locally to move to but at 22.30 on a Saturday night over bank holiday I was unable to find an alternative room. The Male Receptionist arrived shortly after with clean bedding, he did offer to change the bedding, I thanked him but said I would do it. He also said that Guinny was off duty at 11pm and if I spoke with the Reception Manager in the morning he was sure that I would get my refund. A few minutes late Guinny knocked on the door, on opening the door she barged into my room, once again being rude, telling me that if I was staying I wouldn't be getting a refund. I was not happy with Guinny barging into my room, it was now very late. On Sunday morning housekeeping knocked on my door, this was before my check out time, once again my stay had been disturbed unnecessarily The hotel room was dirty and very run down, it did not seem very clean at all. I did not see any staff or guests wearing face masks. In the morning I went to the lobby area to make a hot drink, the breakfast was not explained clearly to me and I did not see any staff in the fifteen minutes I was down there. There was nobody to speak to regarding my complaint and there was also no staff when I checked out and left my room key. When we were queuing to make drinks in the lobby a customer dropped their hot drink on the floor, they could not find a member of staff or anything to clean it up with and a bucket was put over the spill, this is a serious health and safety issue. There were children and elderly guests and somebody could have been seriously injured. I am extremely disappointed with my stay at the hotel, Guinny did not want to help or rectify the problems which I encountered during my stay. Before I booked my stay at the hotel I looked on your website and looked at your Covid19 update and I felt reassured but on arrival was disappointed and let down. Your staff were not following your guidelines.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: no room is a good room
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mathieu Dengremont, Owner at Thistle Express London Luton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Freddiebella, Thank you for your recent stay. I am very sorry to read that on this occasion we failed to provide the service we aim for. With the recent disruption of product across the country, we have faced some challenges. Unfortunately, we did not manager the situation as we should have and I apologies for this. I will review our service operational mode to ensure we do not fall behind and provide smooth service continuously. I will as well reiterate the pillar of the hospitality industry to my team and ensure we are dealing more efficiently with feedback. I have as well contacted privately to discuss further this matter In spite of this do hope to see you soon Mathieu
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$54 - US$94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBedfordshireLuton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
152
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Thistle Express London Luton
Which popular attractions are close to Thistle Express London Luton?
Nearby attractions include The Bear Club (0.2 km), The Hat Factory (0.1 km), and Luton War Memorial (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Thistle Express London Luton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and reduced mobility rooms.
What food & drink options are available at Thistle Express London Luton?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Thistle Express London Luton?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Thistle Express London Luton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Monna Lisa, La Trattoria, and Villa Ada.
Is Thistle Express London Luton located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Luton.
Are there any historical sites close to Thistle Express London Luton?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wrest Park (14.2 km), St Albans South Signal Box (15.8 km), and Shaw's Corner (11.4 km).
Is Thistle Express London Luton accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.