Original Sokos Hotel Ilves

Original Sokos Hotel Ilves

Traveler (352)
Room view day
Room & Suite (240)
Breakfast - empty cheese plate
Dining (23)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#6 of 23 hotels in Tampere
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
This central, 19-story high hotel offers fantastic views over the city in a prominent location in the heart of town, at the back of Tammerkoski. The hotel is close to all services such as shopping center and restaurants, as well as the lively nightlife. Sokos Hotel Ilves has 3 restaurants, pub and a nightclub meaning that your palette will never get bored. Your taste buds will be pampered with Northern European delicacies, flavors from Italy, Mexico and France though you are only on a visit in Finland. The hotel has meeting facilities for 300 people and offers free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, making it easy for you to stay in contact with important business associates as well as friends and family. To truly relax during your stay, take a dip in our pool or unwind in the sauna, the perfect tonic for a day of business meetings or sightseeing.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Paid private parking on-site
Parking garage
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish

Location

Hatanpaan Valtatie 1, Tampere 33100 Finland
Name/address in local language
930Reviews1Q+A75Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 288
  • 469
  • 135
  • 29
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JKT wrote a review Jul 2020
Helsinki, Finland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Ilves for two nights. The hotel is easy to find and in a good location. The hotel is also directly connected to Koskikeskus, which makes it easy to do some shopping.

Unfortunately, the first impression of the room was dirty. There was smudge on the table indicating that the tables are not wiped. Otherwise the room was tidy. On the second day we had to call the room service because the room was not attended to by 3pm.

The spa was great! One pool for swimming, one kiddie pool and a small space for sun bathing. It is not huge so it might get crowded during the holiday season.

Having been to other Sokos hotels, the breakfast here was disappointing. There was only one type of yoghurt, no granola, no pastry (e.g. croissants), small selection of fruits, no fish or nuts. The black sausage was a nice regional touch tough. These days I would also hope for vegan/vegetarian warm food options available for all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mikael F wrote a review Aug 2022
Helsinki, Finland
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This Sokos hotel has also been revamped. It has never been our favorite hotel in Tampere because of the same problems we found out also at this time. The facilities cannot handle all the amounts of people if the hotel is full or nearly full.

We stayed the first night in a suite and the second night in a superior view room. We got the best rooms in both categories. Also, the sale prices of 249 and 115 euros were affordable.

The check-in queue for our first room was 15 minutes and 30 minutes for the second room. Luckily there were waiting numbers in use. Otherwise, it would have been complete chaos.

Suites are located on floors 3 and 4 but the stairs cannot be used. The lifts were crowded. Our second room was on the top 18th floor but lifts were full already from there downwards. People had learned that in order to get into a lift you must go first upwards.

We had two dinners at Amarillo and Rosso which are hotel restaurants. Both were very average experiences. Although we had table reservations, there was a long waiting also there.

Breakfast was served at Amarillo and it was also crowded. We were lucky to find tables but the buffet was complete chaos. On the second morning, I finally found the pancakes. We were sitting next to them.

The rooms are quite small but well planned and equipped. I would call the suite a junior suite. The bedroom and bathroom are so small. Also, beware that four suites are located in the other direction and the views are not so good. I would put the suites into two different categories: with a view and without a view.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
haraldsen2020 wrote a review Jan 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice location. Very close to good restaurants and shopping. improvements can be done especially to the bathroom facilities. Breakfast is good but with the irritating small glasses for juice. Would be a good move to have some taxis outside in the morning when everyone goes to work instead of asking to call a cab every morning.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ilves_Tampere, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Responded Jan 21, 2020
Hi haraldsen2020! Thank you for your review. In the future we are having some room renovations so there will be an update for the bathrooms. Sorry to hear that there were some difficulties to get a cab otherwise than to ask from the reception. Hope to see you again! Best Regards, Tuuli/Reception
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chouettehu wrote a review Jul 2022
Belgique, Europe
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The most expensive rooms are situated on the top of the tower and display the fantastic view on Tampere and the lakes. The rooms are nicely set and functional. The hotel is well situated, in the centre. Breakfast is a disappointment however. Little fresh fruit, no fresh bread and....you have to go to the bar and pay a surcharge to get an espresso coffee!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MJ_Aspen wrote a review Jul 2023
Valkeakoski, Finland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited here for a one night stay in July 2023 with my son. The service at the reception was very friendly and smooth, we didn't have to wait a long time even though the hotel was apparently quite full. The reception staff was also very friendly and attentive towards my son, and it seems the hotel is a great option for lone travelers, couples and families all alike.

Our room was on the 9th floor with a decent view partly towards the river and partly towards the roofs of the shopping mall next door. The room was recently refurbished and very clean, and we really liked it. Even though the room was almost directly opposite the elevators it was still very quiet and peaceful.

The problem with the room was the temperature, which was too hot for getting a comfortable sleep. I had to use a wet towel to cool myself during the night. Another problem was with the bed. While it was basically very comfortable, the mattress topper didn't stay in its place and was sliding out of the bed so that it needed to be adjusted several times. My son even fell from the bed once because of this problem. Maybe the problem is worse with the twin beds we had compared to the bigger beds.

Another small issue is with the children's playroom. While it's great that the hotel has this area for the kids, compared to other parts of the hotel it felt kind of unfinished and shabby, and it feels like the space allocated to it could be used more efficiently to provide more options for the kids. The air hockey strikers need replacing, the bottom felt has been worn out and it doesn't slide smoothly on the table anymore.

The swimming pool area looks nice even though we didn't have time to try it. Breakfast had many options and provided a great start for the new day.

The location of the hotel is great in the heart of Tampere with plenty of restaurants and shopping options close by. The location is also convenient for public transportation, and arrival by car is also possible.

Overall a very good experience, but not perfect as the sleep could have been better due to the hot room temperature and the sliding mattress toppers. Also the children's playroom needs some attention.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sokos Hotel Tampere, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Responded Jul 31, 2023
Hi MJ, Thank you for your review and stay with us! I hope you brought up the problem with the air condition and bed during your stay so we were able to fix the problem. Hope to see you again! BR, Tuuli Reception
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maya P wrote a review Jan 2024
Jyväskylä, Finland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful room, freshly renovated. Nice view from the 15th floor, very quiet as requested. Good deco and lights. Stylish and fresh.

Dirty waterglasses in the bathroom: someones eyelash in one and a dirty fingerprint inside another. Uncomfortable bed, didnt feel stable. Two sleeping pillows+ decorative pillow.

Breakfast was almost good, it had everything right on paper but all veggies had dried from surface from the prep, apparentently from the previous night. Orange juice tasted like it’s been industrially made, not from orange.

Staff was very friendly and nice.

Parking on the lower garage level = you have to carry your luggage up steep stairs. Signs are not clear, also really small space for cars, not clearly marked spaces = people park on 2 spots.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sokos Hotel Tampere, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Responded Jan 31, 2024
Dear 667busybee, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear there were problems with the room. I hope you contacted the reception during your stay and we were able to fix the problems straight away. Sad to hear that you didn't like our beds. I will tell your feedback also to our breakfast! Great to hear that you liked our renovated rooms! Lovely that our staff was friendly, I will tell many thanks to them! Best regards, Saila Service Manager Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Netta_Koo wrote a review Sep 2020
Helsinki, Finland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
All though the hotel seemed to be fully booked while we stayed there everything worked pretty smoothly. There was a long queue for check in but all the desks were in use and you could tell all the receptionists tried their best to serve each customer quickly and efficiently. Our pre orders were delivered to the room as promised and the view was nice from the 10th floor. Even though the room was clean and comfortable I found it a bit tired. Like the whole building, maybe in need of a little update to bring them to this decade?
The sauna and pool were well maintained and clean.
Breakfast was pretty chaotic, since there were so many guests at the same time. The bacon and the scrambled eggs were very disappointing; soggy, fatty, lacking taste.
The parking hall is very cramped, our car barely made it through the gate and it was hard to fit it anywhere.
The location is perfect for exploring the city.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Liamola wrote a review Jul 2022
Helsinki, Finland
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel itself is good and tidy but it is under resourced: I had to wait for an hour for check in. Their explanation was that the hotel is full. Well okay, maybe you should hire more staff to take care of the guests... at one point we had to wait for 10 minutes for a lift as they were full and there were no stairs to use. Additionally, you had to select your breakfast time when checking in because otherwise it would get overcrowded (again, the hotel needs to match it facilities/resources with the amount of guests). The room was smaller than average standard double room. It was tidy and clean though. The service was typical Finnish semi-rude service. The parking carage has the smallest spots I have ever seen in Finland and is unpractical (there is only one lane down/up). The location of the hotel is convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tuuli E wrote a review Jun 2023
Turku, Finland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really tidy, stylish and modern hotel. Stayed here for business and slept really well in the room. The room was on the 9th floor with really nice views to the riverside, although I heard from others that their views weren't as great - towards the shops. Ate in Amarillo and Ballroom 3, the meals were rather good and there were enough options, I liked the breakfast especially. All in all, I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sokos Hotel Tampere, Other at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Responded Jun 18, 2023
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you liked the food in our restaurants, and that the room was nice as well :) Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Tanja Korhonen Reception Service Manager Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leo Vegoda wrote a review Jun 2022
Los Angeles, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An elegant room with at least nine power outlets and four USB-A charging ports. I think they are targeting the business traveller. There is actually a telephone but they relegated it to a windowsill position. No desk space for last century's technologies!

The furniture is comfortable. The bathroom has an excellent shower. It also has a sign noting that the tap water is excellent and good to drink. This is great as there's an electric kettle and some cups. There's also a little fridge with the usual minibar items.

The hotel dining options are fine but not exciting. But there is a wide selection of dining options within a few minutes walk.

The hotel is on the river. The train station, stadium, museum, and office locations are all nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wyatt B asked a question May 2015
Las Cruces, New Mexico3 contributions3 helpful votes
Does the s card pay for a breakfast every morning at the sokos in st petersburg? Thanks
Answer from Immuli
Helsinki, Finland25 contributions55 helpful votes
Hi, you should be able to pay your breakfast with the Scard if you have earned points = euros from other Hotel visits. Breakfast is also included in some room rates.
marikatariina wrote a tip Jul 16
Lahti, Finland30 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get upper floor room with nice view over Tammerkoski and the city."
Read full review
Sari S wrote a tip Feb 2024
114 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking! Do not park under hotel. Whole parking place is too small for any cars."
Read full review
Sari K wrote a tip Jul 2022
Turku, Finland57 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Busy check-in around 3 p.m. Try to avoid. Breakfast busy 9-10 a.m. Lifts crowded. Use check-in machines."
Read full review
V M wrote a tip Mar 2019
Helsinki, Finland216 contributions86 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"High floors"
Read full review
Miina K wrote a tip Jun 2018
Helsinki, Finland191 contributions113 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"MItä ylempää sen parempi, liikennemeluakin on vähemmän."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tampere area.
PRICE RANGE
₱8,295 - ₱11,332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sokos hotel tampere
LOCATION
FinlandPirkanmaaTampere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
336
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ORIGINAL SOKOS HOTEL ILVES - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Tampere, Finland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Which popular attractions are close to Original Sokos Hotel Ilves?
Nearby attractions include ElämysTeeri - Room Escape (0.2 km), Church of St. Alexander Nevsky and St. Nicholas (0.3 km), and Hämeensilta (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Original Sokos Hotel Ilves?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rioni Tampere, Kauppahalli, and Zeytuun.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Original Sokos Hotel Ilves located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Tampere.
Are any cleaning services offered at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Original Sokos Hotel Ilves offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Tampere HotelsTampere Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TampereHotels near Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars