Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City

Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City

Traveler (49)
Evening view from Green Choice Deluxe room #1116
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#12 of 22 hotels in Tampere
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Whether traveling for business or fun,Courtyard by Marriott® makes all of your travels successful by providing exactly what you need: spacious, thoughtful guest rooms ;a hot breakfast buffet and services that help you be more productive and comfortable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Paid private parking on-site
Parking garage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

Yliopistokatu 57, Tampere 33100 Finland
Name/address in local language
80Reviews1Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 27
  • 32
  • 13
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Elina S wrote a review Mar 2020
11 contributions31 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is a very welcome addition to hotel choices in Tampere. Usually you end up paying quite a lot for outdated, very basic accommodation. Courtyard offered a stylish room featuring a king bed (just loved this!! After all the Finnish style ”twin beds everywhere” hotel rooms). The bathroom looked like a real bathroom in a real hotel (vs. the painfully hospital like horror bathrooms everywhere in Finnish hotels). The sound proofing was good; no noise during the night, no listening to concersations from the next room.

Then, the not so nice:

The shower had weak water pressure, which was annoying. I’ll save the world somewhere else, please don’t force me to do it in the hotel bathroom on a special Sunday morning...!

The location is not the most central, but still ok. Parking was very expensive (25€ / 24h) but it was not too difficult to find a parking spot on a nearby street.

The most annoying thing was the breakfast: far too few tables!! We had to wait to find a seat. This was also reflected on the dishes - they just kept on running out of more or less everything. The selection was ok but nothing was out of the ordinary.

All in all, there are more positives than negatives: we will return (and most probably soon - we stay in Tampere at weekends quite often).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from courtyardtampere, Front Office Agent at Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Dear 170elinas, Thank you for your great feedback. Your valuable feedback gives us the opportunity to improve our services and to see which parts of our service still need our special attention. I'm sorry to hear that all of our services didn't meet your expectations. I'm glad to tell you that our management team is currently investigating a solution for the low water pressure in the showers. I will most definitely communicate your comments about the breakfast to the restaurant team. However, it is true that during busy periods the breakfast area will get crowded. I hope we are able to see this coming and prepare ourselves better in the future. I'm also glad that you found a better parking place for your needs, our staff is happy to tell more about other nearby parking options. It makes me very glad that you really enjoyed our rooms. I also hope you got a good night sleep in our famous Marriott beds. It is very important to us that our guests feel welcome and relaxed during their stay. If you have any additional feedback or comments, you can always contact us to the following e-mail address: info@courtyardtamperecity.com I'm looking forward to welcome you back to us soon in the future! Sincerely, Emma Courtyard Tampere City reception
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Juhani R wrote a review Jan 2020
Tampere, Finland21 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was just a test visit limited to the restaurant of the brand new hotel. The business lunch consisting of an artichoke soup, an entrecôte steak and a sweet dessert was very tasty and attractively priced. Value for your money! Service was OK, considering that the hotel was opened just about a week ago. The location, next to the Tampere Hall, the prime conference, concert, and event venue of the City of Tampere, is perfect for business and cultural visitors. The new hotel endeavors to become a leader in service quality, which is key to successful business. A number of hotels have been opened during last five to ten years and many more will be opened in Tampere during next ten years in the course of an ambitious investment program, including a new ice hall, and a bunch of high-rise business and apartment towers on top of and next to the main railway station area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Did not visit rooms at all
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from courtyardtampere, Front Office Agent at Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City
Responded Feb 16, 2020
Hi JuhaniR20, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We value guest feedback very highly because it gives us the opportunity to become better every day. It is extremely important especially because we are in the early stages of our journey as a hotel. I'm very glad to read that our restaurant services reached your expectations. I will let my colleagues from the restaurant know this positive feedback. You're warmly welcome back to us, hopefully next time we could give you a little tour in the rooms also! Best regards, Emma Courtyard Tampere City reception
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elsa wrote a review Jul 2021
Finland29 contributions55 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Marriott Tampere is the place to stay if you appreciate world class customer service, fresh & airy rooms and sound sleep. Beds are very comfy and rooms are spotless.

The young crew of this hotel seems to be extremely professional. They made sure we had a lovely time from the moment we stepped on to this property to the very end of our stay. Especially a young manager called Aleksi, who made us feel very welcome. Descreet yet relaxed style to look after a customer!

Other hotel chains in Finland should set them as a standard of how things are done.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
polarbearfin wrote a review Jan 2020
Finland7,245 contributions83 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a brand new hotel in a good location, just about the only good thing in this hotel.
The stay started with an issue of not being able to pay the room and get an invoice for the right amount, since they also wanted to reserve funds for extras. Not really an ideal process, since the reception said that in the morning their printers are really slow.
Once in the room in the 9th floor the good thing was a nice view. The room was freezingly cold and there was a very bad draught. There's possibility for an individual setting for the heating/air com, but that did not work or make any difference in the room conditions. TV was not working properly, cut off every 2 mins or so.
Bathroom looks nice. However there's not enough water pressure in the shower. Do not wash your hair, as you are unable to rince the shampoo away. Also the cleaning lady had folded nicely toilet paper, bit the roll had less than 10 sheets of paper. Is this a joke or what?
Bedding unfortunately is not the regular Marriott, but some inferior. A pity, since Marriott beds are probably the best in the industry. The pillows were just awful and only one sort of pillow was available. The pillow was strkingly hard and very high. The worst ever found in any hotel.
Breakfast is very, very basic. Not even up to a middle class chain hotel. For 20€ you might expect to have a Marriott breakfast. A huge disappointment as a cherry on top of everything else.
The staff is courteous, but not really helpful as they are completely unable to fix any of the issues. Not even tried to offer another room!? Not to mention that no compensation was offered.
I am a regular Marriott customer and I have a pretty good idea what t should be getting. Although Courtyard is an inferior subbrand of Marriott, they still have been pretty good places to stay. This was definitely not.
The building is not yet ready to receive customers, nor are the Marriott standards met.
Never again. Sokos, Scandic etc basic chain hotels in Tampere offer way better stay experience. Surely not worth the price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from courtyardtampere, Front Office Agent at Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City
Responded Feb 16, 2020
Dear polarbearfin, I want to thank you for your honest feedback. Customer feedback is one of the most important factors that allows us to improve our services. From your feedback I get the understanding that you have visited us in the very first weeks. I honestly admit that we had several issues in the beginning, including the ones that you mentioned. I want to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced during your stay. However I'm glad to write to you and tell that all of your mentioned issues have been fixed. I have passed on your feedback also to our other team members including housekeeping and restaurant team. What you mentioned about the toilet paper in the room is definitely not the way we prepare and clean the rooms for our guests. I'm really sorry that the service wasn't on point during your stay. Water pressure was set to this level due to sustainability reasons. We are currently testing different options how we can improve it even more. As a regular Marriott customer I'm sure you know that some hotels offer pillow selection where the guest can choose the model that fits one the most. We unfortunately don't have this service yet, but the option is being investigated by our management team. The whole team would appreciate if you'd like to tell us more about your breakfast experience and other topics that might come to your mind. If you want you can write us an e-mail to the following e-mail address: info@courtyardtamperecity.com I truly hope you give us a second chance to accommodate you again in the future! Sincerely, Emma Courtyard Tampere City reception
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pertti12345 wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible soundproofing, for a light sleeper a car would be a better choice for a sleeping place than this hotel. If someone walks on the corridor, it sounds like they were in the room.

Hotel info is unclear, everything (like wifi) is written to be free, but does not work without paying premium.

I have never felt as scammed in any service that I felt staying in Marriott Courtyard Tampere.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ville Virkki Koro, General Manager at Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City
Responded Nov 25, 2020
Dear Pertti12345, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. We understand that a good nights sleep is paramount to our guest experience and I will investigate further with our maintenance manager the cause that resulted in a terrible soundproofing. Wi-Fi is free of charge at our hotel and our reception team is available 24 hours to assist with any issues you may encounter. If you have any additional feedback or development proposals we are more than happy to hear them. You can contact us at anytime info@courtyardtamperecity.com Kind Regards, Ville
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cadhlan wrote a review Feb 2020
Nurmijarvi, Finland693 contributions188 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very friendly staff and check up went smoothly. We got a room on 7th floor facing the city, but it is still not high enough floor to see the city view as the house opposite blocks the view..

Room size is good and the bed is comfortable. There is a fridge in the room which is a nice addition.

Tv is huge and we waited to be able to watch movies from it. We fought with the Chromecast for 80 min and gave up. It didn’t work, called reception, they just said that if it doesn’t work it won’t work as there are still problems with that.

Biggest disapointment was the bathroom shower. The shower is only the hand shower with an eco friendly end. The water doesn’t flow that fast and in very narrow area. When the bathroom is big, you feel cold all the time in the shower, which is not what I expected. A door to the shower to keep the steam in or wider shower hand would be a solution.

And last of all, a soap bar for washing hands? It isn’t that hygienic and you need to throw a lot of barely used soaps to the trash. A bottle of hand soap would be much more convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from courtyardtampere, Front Office Agent at Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City
Responded Feb 18, 2020
Dear Cadhlan, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. Guest feedback is very valuable for us, as it allows us to see which part of our services still need improvement. I'm sorry to hear that all our services didn't meet your expectations. We had some issues with our TV's and it must have effected the Chromecast service as well. I'm glad to tell you that the problem has been fixed. As you also mentioned, our showers have eco friendly ends. For this reason the water pressure is set to be a little lower than one would normally be used to in Finland. Our management team is currently investigating different solutions to improve the pressure. The single packed hygiene products are unfortunately at the moment a Marriott standard. However Marriott has made a promise that these products will be all changed to refillable packages by the end of this year. What makes me very happy is that our staff has succeeded serving you they way you deserve during your stay, and that you enjoyed our rooms. I truly hope we get a chance to accommodate you again in the future! Sincerely, Emma Courtyard Tampere City reception
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mikael F wrote a review Jan 2022
Helsinki, Finland31,244 contributions2,495 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Originally, we booked one night at Scandic Hämeenpuisto because of our musical at the nearby theater. However, the musical was canceled because of the pandemic.

We stayed the previous night at the new Lapland Arena Hotel and this hotel is located quite near to it. So it was easy to move here and see also this two-year-old hotel located directly next to another event venue Tampere Hall.

I booked the next best room category after the suite, the Green Choice Deluxe room. The prepaid Marriott Bonvoy member rate was 133 euros including breakfast.

These rooms are located on the top 11th floor. City view rooms have panoramic views over the city center. Inland view rooms are facing backward.

The rooms are not very spacious but practical. Green Choice Deluxe rooms have bathrobes and a bottle of Kombucha as a welcome gift.

The breakfast was quite average compared to what we had at the Lapland Hotel. Be careful that it is included in your room rate. Otherwise, it is 22,50 per person extra.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter S wrote a review Sep 2020
Espoo619 contributions118 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice, new hotel with superb service
The front desk takes care of you and your wishes 👍👍👍
Rooms are clean, big enough with storage space. Bathroom is modern and practical
The cleaning is triple A class and your extra wishes are fulfilled👌
Bfast is good, and there is space enough with is very important at the Covid 19 times.
The whole stuff pays a lot of attention on Covid 19 👍👍👍
Location is ok, walking distance almost to everywhere. Tampere house next doors, and in the future UROS Live arena just next doors

Two small remarks :
No sauna ( hey guys, we are in Finland) 👎
Parking slot: the pricing of the parking slot is outrageous. Probably the most expensive slot in town 👎👎
I’ll be back....
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ville Virkki Koro, General Manager at Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City
Responded Nov 25, 2020
Dear speedy1313, Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your honest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you found our services and staff to your liking. I will share your nice comments with the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Ville
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abe B wrote a review Jun 2023
Baarn, The Netherlands7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice hotel. Friendly staff. My room on the 10th floor was very spacious. Coffee and tea available as well a small fridge. Breakfast was also very good altough the breakfast room is quite small so it can get a bit busy sometimes. The location is also perfect if you attend an event in the Nokia Arena.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Have breakfast before 8.00-8.30 if possible.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ville Virkki, General Manager at Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City
Responded Jun 24, 2023
Dear albertdock4, thank you for the feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and everything went well. Our staff always wants to provide as personal a service as possible, because it is important to us that customers feel welcomed to our hotel. We apologize that the breakfast area is rather small. We have started planning a renovation in order to serve customers more efficiently in the future. Our location is convenient for most since we are right next to the university, Tampere Hall and the Nokia Arena. Thank you once again for visiting us. We do hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Stina Front Desk Associate
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Henna V wrote a review Dec 2023
3 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is new and the rooms are clean, fresh and comfortable. I’m not sure if it’s part of the brand, but the interior design of the hotel (rooms, public areas) is quite bland and not very interesting.
The bed was comfortable but I found the pillows too thick - I would’ve preferred to have a couple of different pillows to choose from as I usually prefer flatter pillows.
I couldn’t find any instructions in the room on how to turn off the air con. I tried pressing the buttons on a device attached to the wall but it did nothing.
The air con was a bit too efficient and I felt a bit chilly, and the air con was making a bit too much noise for me to sleep comfortably.

The breakfast was nice and there was something for everyone. The breakfast area was small but I had breakfast around 7.30 so it wasn’t very crowded.
The staff were friendly and helpful.

Overall a nice hotel but nothing more than that. I have to say I expected something more - more personality, more style.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ville Virkki, General Manager at Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City
Responded Feb 18, 2024
Dear hennav, thank you for leaving us a review! Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities and services met your expectations. We are committed to provide exceptional guest experiences and we are always happy when our guests have had an enjoyable stay with us. Our hotel is part of the Courtyard by Marriott - hotel brand and indeed, our interior design follows the brand. Sorry to hear that there have been difficulties with the air conditioning. Our reception is open 24/7 and they have illustrated instructions on how to turn off the air conditioning if needed. We send your kind greetings to the Kitchen&Bar team regarding the breakfast. We hope that we will meet you in the future if travels bring you back to this area. Sincerely, Stina Front Desk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abe B wrote a tip Jun 2023
Baarn, The Netherlands7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Have breakfast before 8.00-8.30 if possible."
Read full review
Johanna K wrote a tip Aug 2022
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking cost about 35€/day"
Read full review
ahtariloma wrote a tip Sep 2021
Helsinki, Finland19 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Higher floors have nice views over the town."
Read full review
Destination419376 wrote a tip Dec 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"we had a great view from the 11th floor towards to city, room was quiet and loved the coffee machine in the room :)"
Read full review
m0ntebell0 wrote a tip Jul 2020
Espoo, Finland67 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"You may ask for a city (W) or woods (E) view."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tampere area.
PRICE RANGE
₱5,516 - ₱7,453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FinlandPirkanmaaTampere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
229
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COURTYARD BY MARRIOTT TAMPERE CITY - UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Finland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City
Which popular attractions are close to Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City?
Nearby attractions include Getaway Room Escape Tampere (0.09 km), Moomin Museum (0.06 km), and Tampere Hall (0.05 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Borneo Malesialainen Ravintola, Moro Sky Bar, and Pizzeria Basiliko.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Tampere.
Are pets allowed at Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Swedish, and Finnish.
All Tampere HotelsTampere Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TampereHotels near Courtyard By Marriott Tampere City
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars