We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Save
Share
Via Giuseppina Turrisi Colonna 4, 90141, Palermo, Sicily Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$164
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$164
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Lol.travel
$114
View deal
Hotels.com$164
Travelocity$164
Priceline$130
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (61)
Room & Suite (155)
Dining (39)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 17/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Updated 17/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#30 of 116 hotels in Palermo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Hotel Principe di Villafranca is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Palermo, offering a quiet environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Hotel Principe di Villafranca offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including a 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge. Guests of Hotel Principe di Villafranca are also welcome to enjoy free breakfast, located on site. For travelers arriving by car, parking is available.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Il Castello della Zisa (0.8 mi) and Santa Maria dell'Ammiraglio (La Martorana) (1.0 mi), guests of Hotel Principe di Villafranca can easily experience some of Palermo's most well known attractions.

Palermo has plenty of seafood restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Ferro di Cavallo, Osteria Mercede, and Trattoria ai Cascinari, which are serving up some great dishes.

Plus, during your trip, don’t forget to check out some of the popular monuments and statues, such as Monumento strage di Capaci, Porta Nuova, and Palazzo delle Aquile (o Pretorio).

Enjoy your stay in Palermo!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
517Reviews11Q+A37Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 158
  • 240
  • 80
  • 21
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Andreas K wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
We had a one day conference in one of their conference rooms. Excellent communication before and during the day. We did not miss anything and got what we ordered. Had some coffe, fruits and juice. The internet was working, a bit slow, but that's what you get on Sicily, Nice hotel with good service that has our recommendations.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Y7836ARandreask, thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your meeting! Thank you for highlighting the great efforts taken at all stages in the reservation process to make sure services run smoothly on the day of the conference. We are delighted that you have appreciated our meeting spaces, our F&B proposal and service. Thank you for recommending our hotel! We hope to have the possibility to welcome you back to our hotel on the occasion of your next event in Palermo! With my kindest regards, Giulia Briguglia Sales & Marketing Executive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vicki Thomson wrote a review Jul 2022
63 contributions19 helpful votes
This felt more like a business hotel than holiday hotel. That said, the reception and breakfast staff were most helpful,the room clean and very spacious, bed and pillows comfy. The outlook was a garage - so a bit uninspiring however the artwork was good! The breakfast was adequate- although we felt a bit lonely as we were the only couple having brekkie on one day! The wifi did not work despite repeated attempts. I guess I felt I could have been in any hotel in any city rather than in Palermo. The website mentioned a restaurant - Noname - it does not exist and there was no bar service- although the website does mention this.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: It is a good walk to the centre of town It is in a very quiet location Wifi was sporadic
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Vickithomson, thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that you have appreciated the comfort of rooms, the cleanliness of all spaces, the friendly and welcoming attitude of staff and the great artwork all around the property. The hotel wishes to welcome both business and leisure travellers, as we are convinced that its convenient location and lovely ambiance can be an important plus for both! We are sorry that you did not perceive the Sicilian roots of our property: as a matter of fact, contemporary artwork and antiques are all original from local artists and artisans, while products at breakfast are either locally sourced or prepared. We are sorry for the inconvenience pertaining to our website - it was recently updated as we are changing management to our restaurant, which is not Noname any more. As to the bar service, it is always active during the opening hours of our lounge bar. We hope to have the possibility to welcome you back to our property on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo and in the meanwhile we send you our very kindest regards! Giulia Briguglia Sales & Marketing Executive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kenny H wrote a review Jun 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom122 contributions77 helpful votes
Visiting Palermo for the first time and found the hotel to be close to everything I wanted to see. From the moment we walked in the staff were friendly, helpful and really pleasant. Room again had everything we needed and the breakfast had a good choice of continental items as you'd expect. If back in Palermo I would stay here again as close enough to the biz but at the same time quiet and safe neighbourhood.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Responded 1 Jul 2022
Dear 953kennyh thank you so much for sharing this very good review. We are delighted with your feedback and very happy that you have found the hotel location to be very central and convenient to visit the city. We are also very happy that you have found our staff pleasand and helpful, and our rooms and breakfast services completely suiting your expectations! Thank you for recommending our property and sharing your appreciation! We will be looking forward to hearing from you, with my very kindest regards, Giulia Briguglia Sales & Marketing Executive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan S wrote a review Jun 2022
London183 contributions122 helpful votes
We had a superior room which was quiet, spacious with good air con and storage. The bathroom was also bigger than usual but no storage or hanging space at all. Taps were a joke! The staff were excellent as was housekeeping. The breakfast was adequate. However if you are considering this hotel be aware it is situated in a residential area away from the old town. So it is a min 30 min walk to the Cathedral and Palace and at least 10 mins to get to the edge of the old town area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms lack a good view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Responded 1 Jul 2022
Dear Mr Alan S, we thank you for choosing our property and for sharing this review, and quite a good one indeed! I am actually at a loss though about what to say about the very subjective title you have expressed on our rating - why choosing to present your personal opinion (which you are 100% entitled to) as if it was an objective statement, and on which grounds - considering I do not expect you to be aware of the actual star rating system in our region. Please consider how misleading this can be. I am very happy that you have appreciated and enjoyed most aspects of our service - as to taps, I would be curious to learn more about why you think they were a joke, as they are just common taps as you would find anywhere in Italy. The hotel, just to share more details with other readers, in located in the heart of the centre of Palermo, in the shopping and entertainment neighbourhood - a short walk to the old town and 20 min from its core. As a matter of fact, it is the Norman Palace which is located on the edge of things, still the walk you need to have to reach it from anywhere is a lovely one, as to reach it you cross the whole city centre. As I said at the beginning, we are very thankful of your expressing your opinion on your recent stay, and would love to welcome you back on your next visit to Palermo. With my kindest regards, Giulia Briguglia
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucinda E wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This hotel was rated 4 star and is definitely not. More 3 star. From the start the staff were poorly trained. Room was not properly cleaned and supplies for the coffee and tea had to be requested often. When the staff member was asked she said this was not her job and grumpily went and got 2 coffee pods. The breakfast was very poor quality with the milk for cereal being off on two of the mornings of our stay. When clearing tables from guests the staff wiped the food and crumbs onto the floor. Right to the end at check out the desk staff said we hadn’t paid our bill which was incorrect and on further searching he realised that we were correct. The furnishings and carpets in the common areas are filthy with food spills on the couches and chairs. Recommend selecting a better hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Nick wrote a review May 2022
Toronto, Canada2 contributions
We stayed in this hotel from the 16th of May to 18th of May 2022. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, the service and hotel were perfect. To start… the location. We didn’t realize how well situated the hotel was until our second day in Palermo (our first day we arrived late in the day and stayed local) and we went into the old part of the city where many of the hotels are located. This hotel is located in the newer part of the city (yet still a 15 minute walk to the start of the old city). The roads are wider, easier to navigate, the buildings a little nicer and a few blocks away from the more luxurious shopping district of the city (your neighbours are Hermes, Pravda, Gucci, etc). Contrast that to the old city with much more cramped, noisy, and harder to access road system. Th staff at the hotel were professional and super friendly. They all spoke English. They went out of their way to assist us when asked and even when we didn’t ask! The front desk were attentive and accommodating. The breakfast staff were friendly and offered their service when needed but backed away so you could enjoy some quiet time while enjoying your breakfast. The food options included scrambled and boiled eggs, meats and cheeses, yogurt and fresh fruit, fresh juices, cereal, and a great assortment of freshly baked goods (if you can snag the pistachio loaf… do it!). Coffee was made to order for you (espresso, cappuccino, Americano, etc.) meets all your coffee needs. The room we had was spacious and we had one of the 6-7 rooms with a balcony. The hotel has two floors so access from the second floor guest rooms to the first floor reception/breakfast is easy. There is a slow elevator between the floors to assist with luggage, baby stroller, etc. Now the question of many of the reviews: the water temperature of the shower. I read review after review how the shower temperature was cool to cold. My first time in, I had the same experience. It wasn’t cold but cool. But then something entered my mind to try turning the shower from left to right (the opposite from the showers back home) and voila! We had HOT WATER! So if you are reading those reviews, they were wrong in our situation. There was not much we could critique in the hotel. Even the art adorning the walls on both floors of the hotel were great (all for sale too). We would come back here again in a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Responded 25 May 2022
Dear Nick, thank you so much for choosing our property for your stay in Palermo and for sharing your excellent review - and such a detailed one as well, I am sure all future travellers will find it extremely useful. We are delighted by your appreciation of hotel location, of our standards of service and our staff approach to guest relations, and also of our rooms and their comfort and amenities. We will be looking forward to having you back as our guest on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo and in the meanwhile we send you our very kindest regards! Giulia Briguglia Sales & Marketing Executive
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Salvatore M wrote a review Feb 2022
5 contributions5 helpful votes
the perfection of the reception, the staff is extremely kind and helpful, beyond all expectations, really recommended, congratulations to all the staff for the excess of kindness and courtesy worthy of a five-star, very good and thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ChrisGradidge wrote a review Oct 2021
Dallas, Texas9 contributions3 helpful votes
Very welcoming staff, secure parking available (if you book). Rooms were large and clean. On our last night the restaurant was closed fir a function. However, the chef set us up on an outside table for two, provided great wine recommendation together with a wonderful meal. Although busy with the main restaurant he constantly came to check on us. Wonderful experience. We will be back to the hotel again when we are next in Palermo.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Responded 11 Oct 2021
Dear ChrisGradidge, thank you so much for choosing our property for your recent stay in Palermo - and for sharing such an amazing review. You made us truly proud of our work! We are truly delighted that your stay experience really went beyond your expectations - and that your dining one was truly marvellous! We will be looking forward to having you back as our guest and in the meanwhile send you our kindest regards. Giulia Briguglia Sales and Marketing Executive Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NicolaCopley wrote a review Sep 2021
West Malling, United Kingdom22 contributions6 helpful votes
Stayed here for 3 nights. This hotel is ideally located for reaching the city centre on foot. The room was lovely and clean and the bed very comfortable. Plenty of choices for breakfast. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Paulcavallaro wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hotel staff where great . Spoke English well . Made my stay a lot easier.Room was clean and modern. All was very accommodating.I enjoyed my stay .30 min from airport. Close to shops and restaurants.Quiet and peaceful area .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Giulia Briguglia, Altro at Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Responded 5 Aug 2021
Dear Paulcavallaro, thank you for choosing our property and for sharing this very good review. We are delighted that you have appreciated the great service at hotel, the cleanliness of rooms and the central yet peaceful location. We truly look forward to having you back to our hotel on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo! With our very kindest regards, Giulia Briguglia Sales & Marketing Executive Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$94 - US$202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
principe di villafranca palermo, principe di villafranca hotel
LOCATION
ItalySicilyProvince of PalermoPalermoPoliteama
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Principe di Villafranca?
Nearby attractions include Picone Enoteca (0.2 km), Vinile Bar (0.4 km), and Piazza Castelnuovo (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Principe di Villafranca?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Principe di Villafranca?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Principe di Villafranca?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Principe di Villafranca?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Principe di Villafranca?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sikulo - Umori & Sapori, DOC Cucina & Griglia, and Lo Scrigno Di Donna Rosa.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Principe di Villafranca?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Principe di Villafranca offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Principe di Villafranca?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Principe di Villafranca?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palazzo Conte Federico (1.7 km), Palazzo Drago Airoldi di Santa Colomba (1.5 km), and Oratorio di Santa Cita (1.3 km).
Is Hotel Principe di Villafranca accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.