St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris

St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris

Traveler (425)
Rooms: clean and bright
Room & Suite (432)
belushi's bar cafe at the St Christopher's Canal Paris
Dining (59)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#10 of 73 hostels in Paris
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
A multi-award winning hostel only three stops away from the Gare du Nord Eurostar station with a waterfront terrace overlooking the Canal St Martin with modern pod beds and FREE WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including female only dorms and private rooms and every room includes heating, electronic key security, secure locker storage, private or shared bathrooms and modern hostel POD beds with curtains for extra privacy as well as comfort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Desk
Safe
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 3 more

Location

159 Rue de Crimée, 75019 Paris France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 90 out of 100
90
Orly Field
17.9 km
See all flights
Charles De Gaulle Airport
18.4 km
See all flights
Crimée
4 minParis Metro
1,427Review46Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 492
  • 564
  • 228
  • 72
  • 71
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
KasiaMariaLondon wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve stayed at St Christopher Inn Canal in Paris in August 2020. It’s not far from metro and and attractions are easily reached. Views of the Canal are beautiful and morning coffee at downstairs bar terrace is a pleasant start to a busy day.. My room was clean, had towels changed and bathroom cleaned daily. All the precautions for Covid-19 are implemented. Hand sanitation stations are plenty,. Wearing face mask in downstairs premises is compulsory: bar, reception, cleaning team and security are wearing face covering at all times. The crew is very friendly and helpful, will go an extra mile to make sure they deliver excellent service.
Now, the only drawback is that there’s no small fridge in private en-suite rooms which is a complete disappointment. Usually August in Paris have a heat wave as this year too. The temperatures were reaching almost +40 C on the daily basis, the heat was unbearable . Of course there’s no air conditioning, after all it’s just a hostel. In such high temperatures not providing this little luxury for private en-suite rooms is a big disappointment. If you’re looking for a longer stay ie. up to a week or over during hot, French summer and you don’t mind any of the above mentioned then that’s your place. If you’re looking for short stay in a clean, friendly place near shops with great metro connections then this is a place for you too.
Btw my tv was broken, reception tried to fix it but sadly couldn’t. Would’ve been nice to watch a bit of news and metro at late night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellie Roberts, Owner at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded Aug 15, 2022
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yollyej wrote a review Aug 2020
Ljubljana, Slovenia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Super histle, very Clean, friendly and helping stuff, with a bar with TV, soccer, hamburgers and other stuff, renting knives etc, whatever you wish, positive people and stuff, great location near the river, where at the evenening people come and sit and enjoy the day/evening, nearby Velib rent-a-bikes 50m from entry of hostel, Metro about 300k, restaurants nearby, also stores, bakery, swimming in Siena River 300m away, piecefully inside, busy and fun outside, since many bars by the river around, also pretty near all parts of Paris that are important. Inside smart offers for whatever person needs, forgot a towel-borrow one, same with locker, sleepers, etc., a hostel that is being Developed according to the peoples needs, would highly recommend it! Thanks for a Gr8 stay and fun time, have enjoyed it as max as possible 😊😉

Eiffel Tower 10km, Moulen Rouge etc. 4km,busy City center etc. 5km, all near with a bike/Metro/Bus...
Have missed only kitchen, but bar gave me all I need, cannot say a negative word, since developed better than most hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellie Roberts, Owner at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded Aug 15, 2022
Yollyej, we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex wrote a review Feb 2020
Malaga, Spain
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed for only 1 night but the experience was very good. Usually, hostels are not the place where you would like to stay more but this time I wished I didn’t book my next place. As I arrived in front of the building, the entrance was visible, but it goes through the bar called Belushi´s. The ambiance at the reception was welcoming, and I loved how lively the bar downstairs was. The food was amazing and had very competitive prices. If you are staying at the hostel, you get a bracelet that entitles you to 25% off your bill for food and drinks.

Full Review on my blog, link in bio.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: water views, backpackers, young hostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Belushis19, Responsable relations clients at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded Mar 5, 2020
Hello Alex, Thank you very much for your amazing review. We're glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at St Christopher's Inn Paris Canal. We've bee happy to receive you and we hope we'll see you soon again! Have a nice day and a lovely week-end. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Commen taire wrote a review Sep 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
COVID WARNING !
Some latin staff tend to allocate people of colour, regardless of attitude, in the same rooms than economically deprivated people, sometimes with doubtful hygiene and without respecting the allocation of bunkbeds with reasonable distance.
The french managers are much more inclusive and dont base their decision on skin colour only.

Be careful if you care not catching covid positive.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellie Roberts, Owner at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded Aug 15, 2022
Thanks for your review! Allocations are made randomly. Have a great day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jaliya D wrote a review Jul 3
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I checked into St. Christopher's Inn Canal on July 1st at around 9:30 pm. The receptionist, a friendly girl from Brazil, provided excellent customer service, making my initial experience very pleasant. However, as a former employee of this hostel, I was shocked by the behaviour of the reception staff the following day.

The attitudes of the two receptionists, one a skinny African girl and the other a stocky lady (apologies for the descriptors), were incredibly aggressive and unprofessional. I witnessed several guests having confrontations with them, to the point where security had to intervene. The level of customer service was far below acceptable standards.

When I requested an iron, their response was extremely rude, as if my request was an inconvenience. Additionally, when I inquired about the possibility of an early breakfast since I was leaving around 7:15 am, their immediate reply was a blunt "NO." Even when I asked about a packed breakfast, I received a dismissive and impolite response. Interestingly, on July 3rd, when I returned at 7:15 am, another receptionist and security personnel allowed me to have breakfast without any issue.

While I understand that hostels do not offer star-rated service, basic hospitality should be a given. Unfortunately, my experience felt more like being in a homeless shelter rather than a hostel.

I remember the days when Dustin Mills and Greg Welsh managed the hostel with great efficiency, supported by the exceptional Carolina and Camille. The current state of guest service is disappointing in comparison.

I hope this feedback helps improve the service standards at St. Christopher's Inn Canal.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellie Roberts, General Manager at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded 4 days ago
We regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ciaran1murphy wrote a review Aug 2020
Naas, Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Attention should be given to the steps on entry and exit to the building by the front door. No drinks should be taken beyond the steps unless the adequate seating and table facilities have been provided. Care should be taken at all times on entry and exit of the St Christopher Hostel
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellie Roberts, Owner at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded Aug 15, 2022
Thank yo very much for your review! Have a great day
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa wrote a review Sep 2020
Strasbourg, France
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A clean, well organised, quiet and very very cheap hostel, about 30 min from the city centre with the metro (which is not much, considering the size of Paris). The breakfast is included if you book on their website and they have a very nice bar/pub at the ground floor. The neighbourhood is quite calm and for what I have seen not dangerous.
The common bathrooms are clean and there are many.
I would definitely recommend it for groups of friends that are planning a cheap but nice weekend in Paris!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellie Roberts, Owner at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded Aug 15, 2022
Thank you very much for your review Lisa! Have a great day
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Henry T wrote a review Jan 2024
Stirling, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly it’s a hostel so there are multiple people to a room and it can be noisy. This should be expected.

St Christopher’s i found to be perfectly clean and the inclusion of a bar on the ground level is convenient for a beer when you get back. There are multiple screens showing sport which when j was there includes football and NFL

Each bed is allocated a metal cage to keep your belongings during the day and in the basement are lockers that can be used after checking out.

There is an option to add continental breakfast which is highly recommend. I opted for this and set myself up well until mid afternoon.

Lastly the location is slightly further out than some but is within 10 mins of the metro. If you are used to walking around cities this should pose no problem at all.

Overall i will likely stay here again when i return to Paris in the coking months.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Opt for the breakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ellie Roberts, Owner at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded Jan 29, 2024
Roguewader, we really appreciate your feedback!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Timmy B wrote a review Jan 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall a very good hostel experience, staff encourage guests to engage with each other by organising free hostel events every evening. Pedro was really nice and helped us meet other guests.

Rooms are OK. They are very basic but as prices are cheap they are still value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Social Media, Owner at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded Mar 30, 2022
Thank you for your review. We are really proud of our everyday free hostel event!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Teigan L wrote a review Dec 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a pleasant stay. Very economical and worthwhile stay. The staff speak English so it was easy to engage them, and get help with local attractions. Reasonable
Drink and food prices in the attached bar. It’s a fairly standard hostel, multiple bunks in my room (4). They need to do a better job with lockers, the lockers are quite small (9’ x 20’). This means you can only lock up some of your stuff. They don’t have locks, or power adapters for rent/sale, so make sure you bring your own. The lockers in our room were broken, would be nice if they were fixed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Social Media, Owner at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Responded Mar 30, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! Have a safe trip
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fsalso asked a question Oct 2023
Leon, Mexico141 contributions25 helpful votes
Puedo llegar y pagar ahí
Answer from Leizel
Sydney, Australia135 contributions30 helpful votes
I went walking around the Canal around 1-2am and felt very safe. There was actually a fair few people out and about, socialising and chilling out near the water. I also walked around quite late around the Crimee station area (nearest train station) with my female friend and felt safe. However it doesn't matter where you are in the world, you should always be careful and have your wits about you when out at night =)
CheverelleSF wrote a tip Jan 2024
California76 contributions52 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book another hostel!"
Read full review
Henry T wrote a tip Jan 2024
Stirling, United Kingdom77 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Opt for the breakfast"
Read full review
Ellie W wrote a tip Jun 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"no kitchen but you get discounts at the bar/restaurant"
Read full review
Spencer H wrote a tip May 2023
8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Say Merci a bunch and you’ll be alright "
Read full review
Piero P wrote a tip Mar 2023
10 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book in advance, don't bring food coz there is no fridge, don't take your laptop or precious, high value items, maybe single rooms are more worth. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Paris area.
PRICE RANGE
₱2,921 - ₱8,937 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
st christopher`s paris hotel paris
LOCATION
FranceIle-de-FranceParisFlandres / 19th Arr. - Buttes-Chaumont / La Villette
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ST CHRISTOPHER'S INN CANAL PARIS - UPDATED 2024 Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (France) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Which popular attractions are close to St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris?
Nearby attractions include Bassin de la Villette (0.4 km), Quais de la Seine (0.5 km), and Péniche Café-Librairie L'Eau Et Les Rêves (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cedars, Simonetta Restaurant, and Le Bastringue.
Are any cleaning services offered at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris (4.5 km), Arc de Triomphe (6.3 km), and Sainte-Chapelle (4.4 km).
Does St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Paris HotelsParis Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ParisHotels near St Christopher's Inn Canal Paris
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars