We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Muckross Road, Killarney V93 D593 Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/17/22
Expedia.com
FindHotel
$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/15/22
Hotels.com
Priceline$168
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (195)
Dining (33)
Room & Suite (21)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 21/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#24 of 40 hotels in Killarney
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The hotel by the lake at the edge of the park. The Killarney Oaks Hotel is an award-winning four star hotel situated at the entrance of The National Park. The ideal combination of relaxation and style creates a unique experience for guests from the moment you arrive. Just a short drive away, The Oaks is the perfect location to escape from the hustle and bustle of the town centre. The Killarney Oaks is within walking distance of some of Ireland's most stunning attractions. Just across from the world-famous lakes of Killarney, visit Torc Waterfall and Muckross House and Gardens, or take a trip out on the lakes of Killarney. Dine in The Oaks Restaurant, renowned for it's high quality food and idyllic views of Mangerton Mountain. Enjoy our popular cocktail menu to compliment your meal and relax into the ambience of The Oaks Experience. The family-run nature of the hotel creates lasting connections with guests and our award winning staff will take care of all your needs, for your ultimate relaxation during your stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Diving
Hiking
Babysitting
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Horseback riding
Windsurfing
Fishing
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
733Reviews8Q+A75Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 474
  • 141
  • 46
  • 36
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nathan C wrote a review 9 Aug
1 contribution
We had a gorgeous 5 star meal in Killarney Oaks restaurant on our holidays. Martin and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely recommend the T-Bone steak, top notch! Lorraine and Nathan
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Niamh M wrote a review 5 Aug
1 contribution
+1
Booked for 2 adults and 1 child and provided the child’s age (1 year old). Specifically asked for a cot when booking but no cot there. When we checked into the room, my wife called to say there was no cot in the room, and also to ask if there was mini fridge available to cool milk for the baby. Reception said they would check to see what they had and that was the end of the call. Around 15 mins later, Housekeeping came straight into the room without knocking while I tried to tell them to stop as my wife was getting out of the shower, the staff member had the mini fridge which we had asked(which to be fair a lot of places wouldn’t provide) but the lady proceeded to tell us there were no travel Cots available. When the lady left the room, my wife called to reception to ask about the cot. At this stage, the staff argued that it wasn’t asked for in the booking rather than helping to provide one. After going back and forward, my wife had been asked to show the booking confirmation to show the cot had been requested, it is not something that we would have lied about as if a cot wasn’t provided we would have brought our own. Eventually staff brought a cot into the room whilst we had been out but we were left to feel as if we were a nuisance. To add as well, We had also been left waiting for half an hour with child and bags to check in, as they had a wedding group having their drinks reception in the main area and didn’t have any separate area to accommodate anyone other than the wedding to check in. We had just been told “Check in is just around the corner but we’re flat out at the minute” We called on the morning of checkout around 10am to see if a late check out was available, which I know they are not obliged to provide but we were told there was another wedding coming in so it wasn’t available. We are not ones to complain but in this day and age when you pay for a room at £170+ a night you shouldn’t expect to feel as an annoyance.Place is also needing a lot of TLC as you can see from pics.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Avoid any time there is another event on at hotel. Plenty other nice places to stay in the area
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Killarney Oaks Hotel, Other at Killarney Oaks Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Hi Niamh, We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us and we would like to address some of the issues you brought up. Firstly, in regard to the cot, as we explained when you called down to us, we did not receive a request for a cot on your booking. We never insinuated that you lied about having it on you booking we simply said that we had not received the request on the booking from your booking agent. On the day you arrived we were fully booked in the hotel. A copy of this booking was and still is available at reception for you to see. Subsequently this unfortunately meant that all cot where in use. Our staff did their best to find one in the building and when they could not, they actually went and purchased a brand new one just to accommodate you. Secondly, our staff members DID knock on your room but received no answer so off course assumed the room was empty and wanted to set up your requested mini fridge for you. Thirdly, you were left waiting because there were guests ahead of you in the que, and we had to look after these guests as they arrived before you. You rang 1 hour before check out to ask if you could have a late check out, we offered you check out at 1pm and you denied the request, so it was in fact available. Finally, our rooms where fully refurbished in January 2022 and when you include pictures from behind a toilet and the corner of a bathroom, while excluding pictures of the bedroom itself, it does not reflect the quality of our hotel or rooms. Regards Eamon
Read more
Breeda O wrote a review 4 Aug
Killorglin, Ireland3 contributions
We recently ate there, staff were quick to take our order but we had to wait a while for it. When we eventually got our meals, the portions of them were appalling. I even asked if there was more veg/potato coming, which I was told not. So I paid 18e for 3 small slices of beef, 1 foret each of broccoli & cauliflower & a tiny bile of greens beans, which I couldn't eat as they were all soft. Must have been kept on heat too long instead of been cooked fresh & 1 scoop of mashed potato. No sign of any roast potatoes or yorkshire pudding. When I started to eat, it was cold so I returned it to the bar counter as they're were no staff about at the time. The staff member made no attempt to apologise. My meal was retuned, we ate & left. Giving payment to the same staff member & still no apologies. Totally overrated hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Killarney Oaks Hotel, Other at Killarney Oaks Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Hello Breeda, We are sorry to hear about your negative experience but we cant say we are not surprised as we had prepared for this review the moment you entered the restaurant, Firstly, in regard to the timing of your meal, your food took 25 minutes to be dropped to your table after the order was taken, given the fact that it was 17:20 on the August bank holiday Monday with a full restaurant at the time, we would see this as an acceptable timeframe. In regard to your next complaint, we have never before received complaints about the portion size of our roasts, quite the contrary as in reality we are known for their large sizes. Sizes that are so large and delicious in fact that you ask for a take away container for the lasagna that one of your group of three could not finish. In regard to the vegetables and potatoes selection that accompany or meals, you received three different types of vegetable and a large scoop of mash potatoes, which after we add to the plate with the large portion of meat, we cannot fit any more on without it overflowing from the dish. Also, for a “Totally overrated hotel”, yourself and the other member of your party cleared the plates whilst also ordering a dessert course for the table after your mains. To the fact of our staff member not apologising, we do not expect our staff to apologise for anything that is not wrong. Regards, Eamon
Read more
Jacqueline Rita Skinner wrote a review Jul 2022
232 contributions25 helpful votes
Myself and my husband stayed here recently and loved our stay here. Beautiful hotel and the food was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean. I highly recommend a stay here and will most definately revisit here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
G C wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
The killarney oaks from start to finish were absolutely amazing. Nothing was too much to ask. The staff were super accommodating and friendly. The lead up to our wedding felt so easy as Tara and all the wedding staff were so helpful. The food was cooked to perfection with large portions. Everyone was impressed by the meal options and they were able to cater for all our guests needs, vegan, vegetarian and coeliac. The reception drinks were fabulously set up and everyone was thrilled with the variety. We wouldn't have wanted to celebrate our wedding any where else but at the Killarney Oaks Hotel. We cannot wait to go back for a weekend and relive all the amazing memories we have made there. Thank you to all the staff at the Killarney Oaks Hotel From, Mr and Mrs O'Shea
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Killarney Oaks Hotel, Other at Killarney Oaks Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr & Mrs O' Shea, Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your experience of hosting your wedding reception here In The Killarney Oaks Hotel. We are thrilled to read your positive feedback in relation to our team, Tara is indeed a fantastic asset to our wedding team and is always on hand to help all our wedding couples. We were also delighted to read your comments regarding the food being cooked to perfection, generous portion sizes & the drinks reception. I do hope we have an opportunity to welcome you both back in the near future. Kind Regards, Donal Casey Management
Read more
Galicia Manuel wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
Nice and friendly environment, excellent food. I went to celebrate my birthday and Martin from restaurant was very patient, kind and made my day by surprising me with a birthday plate. I definitely recommend the oaks restaurant
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Killarney Oaks Hotel, Other at Killarney Oaks Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 396Galiciam. Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your recent dining experience in the Oaks Bar & Restaurant. We were thrilled to read you thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We are delighted that Martin made your experience extra special, he is a valued member of our team here and always willing to go the extra mile for our customers. I do hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Donal Casey Management
Read more
Tracey L wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We held our wedding at the Killarney Oaks recently. The food was excellent, so tasty with huge portions and that is due to the wonderful chef and cooking staff. It was served so quickly and promptly which really impressed. Our guests raved about the drinks reception, which was so impressively set up and really set the tone for the rest of the day! The bar staff were great and the reservations team dealt superbly with our guests. No request was ever too much and they did everything with a smile on their faces. Also I have to say from the outset, the hotel has been an absolute dream to deal with .Every email/call was dealt with efficiently. I want to give a special mention to Donal Casey who we dealt with mostly. He was so informative, helpful and generous with his time. Anything we asked for, he delivered!!He was on hand to attend to everything on the day and really put us at ease. He was so professional throughout and several guests commented on how attentive he was to their needs. No task was ever too much! We both really appreciate the work and efforts of all staff throughout the day. Thanks very much for helping our wedding day run so smoothly.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Killarney Oaks Hotel, Other at Killarney Oaks Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Tracey, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of hosting your wedding reception here in The Killarney Oaks Hotel. I was truly delighted to read your positive feedback, for which we are ever so grateful. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to all our team. I do hope we have an opportunity to welcome you & Paul back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Donal Casey Management
Read more
Adrian H wrote a review Jul 2022
Mallow, Ireland7 contributions
Stayed here for one night and our experience was good besides the rudeness of the lady at reception, now I understand that there was a wedding after arriving and she may have been under pressure so I gave the benifit of the doubt but upon checkout it was the same. Stayed here a few times and this was the worst experience we had, can't see me booking this hotel again as we felt we couldn't ask her anything in relation to the hotel as it was greeted with disgust and just plain rudeness. A shame to be honest as the rest of the staff we dealt with were a pleasure.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Killarney Oaks Hotel, Other at Killarney Oaks Hotel
Responded 7 Jul 2022
Dear Adrian, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at The Killarney Oaks Hotel. I was most concerned to learn of the service shortfalls you experienced, for which please accept my most sincere apologies. It is very seldom we receive negative feedback relating to our front-of-house team; the team are often praised for their helpfulness, friendliness & professionalism, as you will see from previous reviews. I would be very grateful if you would contact me directly either by phone: (064) 663 7600 or by email: info@killarneyoaks.com so I can investigate this further. Kind Regards, Donal Casey Management
Read more
rinss wrote a review Jun 2022
Clonmel, Ireland182 contributions69 helpful votes
Graet food served with a smile. Wide range of choice . I would recommend to family and friends. Situated in a great place. If i have to choice the best spot in Ireland it would be one of them, Must visit
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Killarney Oaks Hotel, Other at Killarney Oaks Hotel
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Dear Rinss, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We are thrilled to read your positive feedback in relation to our food offerings, location & staff friendliness levels. I do hope we can welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Donal Casey Management
Read more
Catherine Coady wrote a review Jun 2022
Dublin, Ireland2 contributions
We spent three nights in the Killarney Oaks Hotel and it was just amazing. On arrival the check in was hassle free. The foyer is very spacious and has ample couches to chill . Lots of car parking and just inside the entrance the hotel coffee Dock is very inviting with outdoor seating.. Our room and bathroom was spotless shining and bright. We enjoyed breakfast each morning and also ate in the bar on two ocassions and it did not disappoint.. the friendliness of staff through out the hotel is worth noting. The function room for the wedding was so well laid out and the meal and service of same was exceptional as was the foyer for the drinks reception.. the decor in the hotel is very easy on the eye and all of this adds to the enjoyment of our weekend away. We will be back.!! I can highly highly recommend The Killarney Oaks Hotel. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Killarney Oaks Hotel, Other at Killarney Oaks Hotel
Responded 27 Jun 2022
Dear Catherine, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Killarney Oaks Hotel. We are delighted to learn you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to read your feedback in relation to the breakfast selection, interior design, bar food, wedding service & overall friendlessness of our staff. I do hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Donal Casey Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$116 - US$182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
killarney oaks hotel
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty KerryKillarney
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Killarney Oaks Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Killarney Oaks Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Muckross Abbey (1.2 km), Killarney House (1.2 km), and Gleneagle INEC Arena (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Killarney Oaks Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Killarney Oaks Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Killarney Oaks Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Killarney Oaks Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Danu at The Brehon, Herbert Restaurant at Cahernane House Hotel, and The Lakeside Bistro.
Are any cleaning services offered at Killarney Oaks Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Killarney Oaks Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Killarney Oaks Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Muckross Abbey (1.2 km), Muckross House, Gardens & Traditional Farms (2.4 km), and Muckross Traditional Farms (2.4 km).
Does Killarney Oaks Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Killarney Oaks Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.