We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Cardiff Lane Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin D02 YT21 Ireland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (906)
Room & Suite (252)
Dining (102)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#93 of 174 hotels in Dublin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set just a 2-minute walk from the Bord Gais Energy Theatre in the heart, this modern 4-star hotel is within walking distance of Dublin's iconic attractions. Relaxed rooms feature warm decor and include free Wi-Fi, TVs, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Guests can enjoy complimentary access to the Club Vitae leisure centre including a heated pool, gym and a sauna. Beauty treatments are also available. There is a contemporary restaurant and a chic cocktail bar.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English
6022Reviews96Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,076
  • 1,754
  • 736
  • 282
  • 174
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
IrelandLovetotravel wrote a review Feb 18
Dublin, Ireland2219 contributions65 helpful votes
4 adults , 2 rooms with dinner B&B package. Hotel spotless , lovely rooms , very close to theatre. Excellent check in experience at reception. Without even asking the lady switched allocated rooms to facilitate our early arrival and we were in the rooms by midday. Very happy but after that …… all downhill. We went for a ‘quick lunch ‘ in the bar before the show which turned into a two hour ordeal resulting in us taking out seats 3 minutes before curtain up. Unbelievably poor service , slow , haphazard and all staff totally disinterested every table was complaining. A question re gluten free options was answered with ‘none ‘! It took a visit to reception and a manager to provide two bowls of gluten free soup , no bread or anything else. The food itself for non coeliac people was very good when it finally arrived only after chasing it up twice. Long delay to pay as well with wrong bill given the first time. Manager did apologise and committed to ensuring our dinner experience would be better. Dinner , couldn’t fault anything about the food including gluten free options but again service was very slow , haphazard and two of the three staff we interacted with were abrupt and disinterested. Fabio was a notable exception in terms of attitude. Breakfast was chaotic mainly due to self service tea and coffee meaning everyone had to queue twice. Eggs can be ordered fresh ‘from your server ‘ if you could find a server so we didn’t bother. Having stayed in other Clayton hotels it is not the same standard at all. In summary , great location for theatre but go room only , plenty of other places to eat and drink.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Bar lunch best avoided if coeliac as no options and no gluten free beer in stock either.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun Carmel, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and sharing your feedback, I am happy to read you found your room spotless, location central, check in excellent and staff at reception helpful. I am sorry to read of the issues you experienced at the bar and breakfast. I will be sure to look into these points raised and would be grateful if you could contact myself directly so I may gather some more information on the points made. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards, Siun Guest Relations CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 00353 1 643 9500 Guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com CLAYTONHOTELCARDIFFLANE.COM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Claire J wrote a review Feb 17
Waterford, Ireland22 contributions31 helpful votes
Location is perfect if going to a show at bord gas. After that - it’s terrible. It ranges from Lifts not working to reception staff not having time to speak to you, to orders at the bar being lost / missed. And lastly - room service - doesn’t exist except for a pizza that takes an hour. So look - if you’re happy with a room and nothing else near the bord gas. This place is perfect If however you expect to get something back for what you paid as it’s not cheap - then. I would encourage you to book elsewhere
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun Carmel, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 3 days ago
Dear CJ, Thank you for your review and sharing your feedback, I am happy to read you found our location central to the bord gais energy theatre however I am sorry to read you were dissappointed with your stay. I can assure you strive to provide excellent service to all our guests and would be grateful if you could contact myself directly so I may gather more information of the staff members mentioned in your review. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards, Siun Guest Relations CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 00353 1 643 9500 Guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com CLAYTONHOTELCARDIFFLANE.COM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nomad49633624224 wrote a review Feb 17
3 contributions
The positives: The hotel was clean, modern and well kept. Staff were friendly and efficient. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. Coffee machine and chocolates were in the room. The negatives: The lifts took ages and one was out of order. Our room was very hot. A member of staff was very helpful and said she would send someone to ensure the room was cooler but it didn’t make much difference. The shower was nice and hot but the pressure wasn’t great- it was a bit of a dribble. The first morning there was a huge queue for breakfast and hardly any tables. The queue for coffee was separate and also large. If you wanted fried or poached eggs you had to order them separately but it was impossible to find a member of staff available to order from. To be fair we did then notice a poster in the lift (which we had missed due to having to use the stairs most of the time) advising of the breakfast times to avoid. The next morning was much better - we got up an hour earlier, ordered our eggs on arrival and there was no queue. However we then couldn’t find a clean plate as those piled up for guests to take were all dirty. A passing manager (?) was horrified when we pointed this out and immediately removed them and gave us new plates. Also we didnt realise that you are required to wear a hat in the pool so the options were to use the sauna and jacuzzi only (if there was space) or purchase a hat.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid peak breakfast times! And order poached or fried eggs if you want them when you arrive at...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun Carmel, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and sharing your feedback. I am delighted to read you found staff friendly, our hotel clean & modern, room spacious, bed comfortable and you enjoyed the chocolates in your room. Also thank you for rating our location 4 stars. Please accept my apologises for the issues you experienced at breakfast as mentioned we advertise in the hotel our busy and quiet periods at breakfast so guests can avoid any ques. As advertised on our website swimming hats are compulsorary for the main swimming pool. I will be sure to share your feedback with our head of departments and thank you for bringing these points to my attention. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Clayton Hotel, Cardiff Lane again soon. Kindest regards, Siun Guest Relations CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 00353 1 643 9500 Guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com CLAYTONHOTELCARDIFFLANE.COM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Maciej Z wrote a review Feb 14
2 contributions3 helpful votes
We had a pleasure to visit Stir Restaurant and had a lovely family meal - Pablo was very attentive and helpful providing all what we have asked him for (extra cups, bowl, cutlery etc. as coming with two small children can be a bit challenging). We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun Carmel, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel, I am delighted to read you enjoyed your meal and found our staff helpful and felt they offered excellent service. I will be sure to share your feedback with Pablo, who will delighted to know his hard work has been noticed. A recommendation is the best gift you can give, thank you again for your great review and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Clayton Hotel, Cardiff Lane again soon. Kindest regards, Siun Guest Relations CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 00353 1 643 9500 Guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com CLAYTONHOTELCARDIFFLANE.COM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sinainn-Jane c wrote a review Feb 13
1 contribution
Decided to stay in the Clayton as I have stayed in many Clayton hotels over the years and this is the first time I would rate my stay as average. On arrival the receptionist was nice but felt very rushed regardless of the fact I was the only person checking in. The room was standard, I was expecting more from previous Clayton stays especially given the price. Beds are extremely uncomfortable, pillows were hard and the duvet cover was undone where tucked into the bed and the duvet was clearly very used and old. No toiletries provided in the bathroom which was unfortunate. There was loud banging noise whenever the shower was running and after. We chose to go elsewhere for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Overall ok hotel but could improve especially the bed as I can honestly say it is the worst sleep I have had in a hotel in years
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun Carmel, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sinainn, Thank you for sharing your feedback and rating us 4 stars in location and service. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the matress and pillow firmness. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards, Siun Guest Relations CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 00353 1 643 9500 Guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com CLAYTONHOTELCARDIFFLANE.COM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Zara12345 wrote a review Feb 13
2 contributions
I have been taking private swimming lessons and attending aqua aerobics classes with Lorena over the past few months. Lorena is a super teacher, I would highly recommend her and Club Vitae The pool and staff are great and everyone is always very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun Carmel, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Zara, Thank you for your glowing 5 star review of our hotel's Club Vitae, I am delighted you are enjoying our pool facilities and find our staff friendly. I will be sure to share your kind words with our team. Thank you again for your review and sharing your feedback. Kindest regards, Siun Guest Relations CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 00353 1 643 9500 Guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com CLAYTONHOTELCARDIFFLANE.COM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Douglas F wrote a review Feb 9
Barcelona, Spain9 contributions1 helpful vote
Maybe not the worst 4 star hotel (I haven’t seen worse but there could be). Location is good if you on business in the area, try to avoid at all costs, if you can’t avoid, you won’t die, but try to get another hotel. I tried this time to be out of bit hotel chains and thought to be in a smaller local chain, big mistake here. I would understand if the price was more reasonable and more adequate to what they offer but not the case here, price was same to Hilton and Marriott chain also 4 star and value for money wasn’t there. I was in the hotel for 11 days for business. Negative Points: Staff is not proactive ( you need to show them everything, like ask them to give you a menu, ask them to get your order, tell them there is no glasses, plates and everything, everyday). No personal cleaning products in the room (first time I see a 4 star without shampoo, etc) Broken TV Super noisy light system (even if you turn off there was a noise) Gym is not just for the hotel so always full and staff was rude. 2 days the staff just did not show up to clean/refresh the room (even though it was the signal outside to clean and I was out all day) Room and hotel has much dusty and if you have allergy you will feel it. Every day there was a different lift broken and always you had to excessively wait for the lift. You have to pay the room at check in and bar/restaurant do not allow to put bill in the room ( only if you top up before, which means prepaid) - seems they do not trust us (not sure if it is a common practice in Ireland) No laundry service Very poor options for breakfast Expensive and not worth options for dinner Room was either cold or too warm (no AC or way to set room temperature) Positive Points: Some staff members were friendly I did not got stolen Learning: if it was a cheaper hotel and declared as a 2 or max 3 stars I would understand but as of know I felt scammed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun Carmel, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Douglas, Thank you for your review and sharing your feedback. I am sorry to read you were unstaisfied with your overall stay here at the Clayton. I am aware we did reach out to you during your stay and after check out, I would be grateful if you could get in touch directly so we may discuss the points raised. Many thanks again for your review and bringing these points to our attention. Kindest regards, Siun Guest Relations CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 00353 1 643 9500 Guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com CLAYTONHOTELCARDIFFLANE.COM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Matteo B wrote a review Feb 7
1 contribution
We enjoy the gym so much and the personnel is incredibly professional. Big shout out to Tatiana (Who is just perfect because she is always incredibly kind and most of all always positive and smiling) Charlie, Juan, Philip, Lorena and Ciaran! Love you lots!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun Carmel, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive 5 star review of our hotel's Club Vitae, I am delighted you are enjoying our facilities and find our staff friendly and professional. I will be sure to share your kind words with our team. Thank you again for your review and sharing your feedback. Kindest regards, Siun Guest Relations CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 00353 1 643 9500 Guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com CLAYTONHOTELCARDIFFLANE.COM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Premier F wrote a review Feb 4
3 contributions
Room is nice. Staff are nice. Food is absolutely appaling. Stale bread, cold soup. Wilted undressed salad and half raw bacon! What a shame concidering it doesn't take much to produce even a mediocre dinner. Sent the soup back because it was stone cold. New soup stone cold.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun Carmel, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and sharing your feedback. I am delighted to read you found our staff and room nice. However please accept my apologises for the issues you experieneced with your soup and salad, I would be grateful if you could contact me directly so I may gather more information to look into this matter. Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you. Kindest regards, Siun Guest Relations CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 00353 1 643 9500 Guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com CLAYTONHOTELCARDIFFLANE.COM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Louise C wrote a review Feb 2
1 contribution
I did 6 swimming lessons with Lorena. I am a 40 year old woman who could never swim, was very uncomfortable in the water- now i can go on holidays and enjoy the pool and swim with my son, something i never thought possible, Lorena is a miracle worker- thank you
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Siun Carmel, Other at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Louise, Thank you for your lovely 5 star review of our hotel's Club Vitae, I am delighted you are enjoying your swimming lessons with Lorena. A reccommendation is the best gift you can give and we thank you for your glowing review. Kindest regards, Siun Guest Relations CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Grand Canal Dock, Dublin 2, D02 YT21 00353 1 643 9500 Guestrelations.cardifflane@claytonhotels.com CLAYTONHOTELCARDIFFLANE.COM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dublin area.
PRICE RANGE
₱7,776 - ₱15,104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
maldron hotel dublin, quality hotel dublin
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Maldron Hotel
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
304
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CLAYTON HOTEL CARDIFF LANE - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Dublin, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Which popular attractions are close to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane?
Nearby attractions include Escape Boats (0.4 km), The Jeanie Johnston: An Irish Famine Story (0.4 km), and Endgame Escape Rooms (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane?
Conveniently located restaurants include Herbstreet, Cill Airne, and Musashi IFSC.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Dublin.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (4.6 km), 14 Henrietta Street (2.1 km), and Guinness Storehouse (3.0 km).
Is Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.