Abbey Hotel

Abbey Hotel

Traveler (101)
Bedroom
Room & Suite (26)
Colazione dalle 8 alle 10, ma alle 9:30 la signora aveva già ritirato tutto!!!
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#137 of 177 hotels in Dublin
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Abbey Hotel is in the heart of Dublin city. Adjacent to Temple Bar, the Abbey Hotel Dublin is in the midst of the capital's favourite shopping, dining and entertainment district. The hotel boasts its own bar and restaurant, Monks at the Abbey - a true Irish cultural experience. This year Monks will premier a new and exciting Celtic Dance and light show. The Abbey Hotel is only a few steps from the Academy music venue and 300m from the GPO, the last stand of the 1916 rising, the Spire on O'Connell Street and the shops of Henry Street. Grafton Street and the Olympia Theatre are both 700m away. The rooms come with TVs, toiletries and tea/coffee. Whether you are visiting to enjoy local artisanal fare, enjoy some of the country's top historical attractions or to shop until you drop - The Abbey Hotel Dublin on Middle Abbey Street is the perfect place for you to stay. A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the Abbey Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range

Location

52 Middle Abbey Street, Dublin 1 Ireland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Dublin Airport
Jervis
3 minDublin Luas
Abbey St
4 minDublin Luas
301Reviews13Q+A37Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 68
  • 94
  • 64
  • 37
  • 38
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
BGrace30 wrote a review Oct 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom504 contributions102 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for one night on a recent trip to Dublin. Room was comfortable with plenty of space. The hotel is a little dated but this didn’t bother us. Facilities to make hot drinks were also available alongside a tv in the room. The hotel is situated above a bar however we did not hear any noise from below. Location is perfect just walking distance to all the pubs/restaurants/shops. Overall a good base and we would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Entrance to the hotel is either through the bar or a small side door so be careful not to miss it!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
henchwench wrote a review Jan 2018
County Cork, Ireland13 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Really nice hotel, very conveniently located in a very central local. But barely slept due to the crazy high level of noise coming in from the street. I had assumed a window had been left open because of how clear the noise from the street was heard but it wasn’t. And we were on the third floor!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alex P wrote a review Mar 2015
11 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Abbey Hotel during March 2015 for 2 nights (Friday to Sunday).

The hotel staff are very pleasant, from the receptionist, cleaning staff, management and bar staff... all accommodated our needs, very friendly, chatty, helpful with directions and things to do and made our stay very pleasant.

The hotel is clean, spacious, quiet at night and secure. Rooms are basic.

As we were two gay lads, the hotel was very gay friendly and situated in the heart of Dublin. Had such a laugh with all guests and employees. O'connell street is a stones throw away, as is Temple Square, The George and all the main attractions. -Perfect location.

The hotel offers food services at reasonable prices to save looking around for food, althou a Food Court / Hall is literally next door with foods from around the world.

Price was ideal for the location comparable to all hotels near by.

Highly recommend The Abbey and shall certainly book this hotel again when ever in Dublin.

Thanks for an amazing stay!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neil wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was really basic & stank of paint, a single bed and 2 single beds pushed together to form a double which you fell down the middle of if you rolled over in the night. There was no fridge. There was a chair and a small table that had a kettle on it with coffee/tea. There was no cups to use though. TV was small but at least there was a virgin box all be it the picture quality was terrible. Bathroom was a decent size, shower was ok but the bath panel was hanging off and it looked minging behind it.

Main door of the hotel doesn’t close properly so anyone can wander in at all hours. Had some guy at my door at 4am while I was staying there looking for a grinder hookup. Room walls were also paper thin so you can hear everything going on in the surrounding rooms.

Restaurant was also closed for refurb and was unusable so although we booked the room with breakfast we were told it wasn’t available although the pub would give us a small discount if we paid to use that. No refund was offered.

Personal opinion, look elsewhere. There are much better options around the same area for the same price. I won’t be returning here as you can possibly imagine.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MJMJM1963 wrote a review Sep 2021
Sydney, Australia95 contributions53 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Good location not bad value for money but when I specifically request a quiet room I do not expect to be put directly above the A/C unit. When I complained they said we are full we will not refund you.
The little witch on reception who’s face might fall off if she smiled refused to fetch the manager for me. I was eventually told the A/C would be turned off at 9pm.
Great way to encourage customers to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a booking for 16 people booked here for the upcoming bank holiday weekend. They emailed me this week requesting I cancel the booking because they could no longer accommodate it because the owner has decided to take in Ukrainian refugees (they didn’t mention the massive grant they’d be given to do this). I requested a copy of their cancellation policy on multiple occasions but they refused to provide it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul K wrote a review Apr 2022
Ennis, Ireland1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had made a booking for March 27th but on the morning I had to cancel within the 24 hours due to Covid, I have a genetic lung disease so could not take any risks. I am also a stroke survivor and it would have been my appointment with my professor I was travelling for but because of the spike in numbers I was advised not to travel to the hospital. I emailed and assumed due to the pandemic there would be some leniency afforded to guests. To my horror the full amount of €89 was taken from my card without even a phone call. I had emailed before and after cancellation to plead my case but unfortunately you have been very unprofessional in getting back to me in any form. I have complained to IHF, the Ombudsman, Failte Ireland and Booking.com. I would appreciate a reply from the manager at her earliest convenience.

And also just a note when I called today I was informed that the General Mangers name was Sharon and that she did not have an email even though on LinkedIn if says the GM is Megan Donohoe.

I would appreciate some feedback and definitely some consideration for the Pandemic we are going through and that not everyone has €90 to throw around especially as I am on Invalidity Pension due to my illness'

I have also forwarded a copy of this to Megan on LinkedIn as the receptionist on duty was very wary of giving me the Gmail address which I found quite perplexing for a business in this day and age. also just a note when I called today I was informed that the General Mangers name was Sharon and that she did not have an email even though on LinkedIn if says the GM is Megan Donohoe.

I would appreciate some feedback and definitely some consideration for the Pandemic we are going through and that not everyone has €90 to throw around especially as I am on Invalidity Pension due to my illness'

I have also forwarded a copy of this to Megan on LinkedIn as the receptionist on duty was very wary of giving me the Gmail address which I found quite perplexing for a business in this day and age
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dale wrote a review Sep 2022
Belfast, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
No experience booking cancelled at last minute due to taking in refugee for what I’m sure is a fortune. Do not support this hotel when they start taking bookings again as they obviously do not value their customers. Had to rebook elsewhere at extra expense
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aine wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here in august 2019 for one night. That night a fire alarm went off at 6am due to construction (which was never mentioned to us). We proceeded to head out to reception as we did not know if false alarm or real. There was noone at reception to explain or reassure guests. Once they eventually arrived they just said oh it's not a real one. There was no apology or explanation to any guests. I have since emailed them 5 times to follow up and noone has replied to me once. Do not reccomend as non responsive customer support is ridiculous.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
michaeloI9900HK wrote a review Aug 2020
Dublin, Ireland32 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hi, I stayed in The Abbey Hotel, Middle Abbey St Dublin last Tuesday night, it was my second stay in 2 weeks. Although the hotel is not as luxurious as other city centre hotels I can not find fault with it. The lady at reception who told me she is the manager was very nice, helpful and polite. The 2 different rooms I stayed in were clean, had comfortable beds and a good sized bathroom. The best part of the hotel for me is the bar down stairs, the staff, especially Darragh are very helpful and up for a chat and a laugh. The Stout is first class and always flowing. Overall the Abbey is excellent Value for money, for what it is, it is excellent, clean and very customer friendly, it will be getting to see plenty of me and my friends in the future... Keep up the good work folks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vera Clarke asked a question Jan 2020
Longford, Ireland8 contributions5 helpful votes
Does the luas stop outside
Answer from Aine H
Limerick2 contributions10 helpful votes
Yes close by.
Rob W asked a question May 2018
elevator?
Answer from Bill D
County Cork, Ireland226 contributions53 helpful votes
Yes it has an elevator.
Pollyanna272 asked a question Jun 2017
Staffordshire, United Kingdom253 contributions17 helpful votes
Has all the rooms got tea/coffee facilities
Answer from petergasca
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina21 contributions9 helpful votes
Yes, a hot water kettle and tea bags and instant coffee.
Mag B asked a question Mar 2017
Saco, Maine4 contributions2 helpful votes
does this hotel having parking?
Answer from PatrikBlackForest
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany681 contributions79 helpful votes
Hello, no not possible
Finnegans asked a question Jan 2017
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom58 contributions41 helpful votes
Is the hotel within walking distance from Busarus ?
Answer from PatrikBlackForest
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany681 contributions79 helpful votes
Yes, it's about ten minutes (1/2 mile)
markdija wrote a tip Mar 2023
portsmouth292 contributions69 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for table for 1 to 10 From sat at bar to sat around the place always catered for"
Read full review
Mrs_Pud1 wrote a tip Nov 2021
Ireland1,806 contribution575 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book somewhere else"
Read full review
BGrace30 wrote a tip Oct 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom504 contributions102 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Entrance to the hotel is either through the bar or a small side door so be careful not to miss it!"
Read full review
Adventure795704 wrote a tip Sep 2018
8 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take ear plugs if you are sensitive to noise. If you want your room serviced make sure you hang out a sign."
Read full review
HeavenlyTraveling wrote a tip Sep 2018
Los Angeles, California88 contributions49 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"They do have a lift."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dublin area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
abbey hotel dublin
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublinNorth City Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ABBEY HOTEL - Reviews (Dublin, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Abbey Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Abbey Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Irish Rock 'N' Roll Museum Experience (0.3 km), The Craic Den Comedy Club (0.4 km), and Dublin Free Walking Tour (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Abbey Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Abbey Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Abbey Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Copper + Straw, The DL Bar & Restaurant, and The Stage Door Cafe.
Is Abbey Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Dublin.
Are there any historical sites close to Abbey Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (3.2 km), 14 Henrietta Street (0.7 km), and Guinness Storehouse (1.7 km).
All Dublin HotelsDublin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DublinHotels near Abbey Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars