The Spencer Hotel

The Spencer Hotel

Excise Walk, IFSC International Financial Services Centre, Dublin D01 X4C9 Ireland
De speciale "Shine" cocktail n.a.v. het Take That concert in de 3Arena
Traveler (1046)
Panorama of the Deluxe Double Room at The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
360
Panoramas (46)
Rum 121
Room & Suite (680)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#33 of 176 hotels in Dublin
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Located on the banks of the River Liffey, The Spencer Hotel is the perfect base to explore all our capital city has to offer. Trinity College, Grafton Street, Temple Bar and many more of Dublin’s famous landmarks are just minutes’ walk from the Hotel. Our city centre Hotel boasts 209 newly refurbished spacious bedrooms which all feature air conditioning, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and bottled mineral water as standard. The Spencer Health Club features an 18-metre swimming pool and fully equipped gym for you to enjoy whilst staying with us. We are a few short steps from the Red LUAS offering a five-minute connection to Connolly Train Station. We have self-parking facilities with discounted parking rates available to Hotel guests. Our spacious Lobby Lounge offers All Day Dining as well the best cocktails this side of the River Liffey.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Public wifi
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
River View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German

Location

Excise Walk, IFSC International Financial Services Centre, Dublin D01 X4C9 Ireland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Dublin Airport
Mayor Square-NCI
2 minDublin Luas
George's Dock
4 minDublin Luas
3,521Reviews64Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,320
  • 847
  • 212
  • 71
  • 71
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kathleen O wrote a review Jan 2020
13 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A handsome hotel located in the center of Dublin's bustling Financial District, with a friendly and helpful staff and convenience to shopping, museums, restaurants, cafes, and public transportation. The public transport bus will take travelers directly from the airport to the Hotel's front door in half the time (and at considerable savings) of a taxi ride. The lounge and restaurant are very comfortable and offer a pleasing menu and fun vibe. The fireplace in the lounge makes for an exceptionally cozy cocktail or hot chocolate spot during a cold or rainy spell. The breakfast room is picturesque and has a genial staff, with an impressive breakfast menu that enjoys an elegant presentation and diversity of delicious offerings. The rooms are amply sized, clean and offer lovely toiletries. The fabulous health club is included with stays at the Spencer. The equipment is up-to-date and top-notch and the pool is glorious! Having stayed at a different Dublin hotel recently, I can happily recommend The Spencer with complete confidence. A great hotel for business or personal travel, and families as well as singles or couples. Enjoy!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The Hotel is in the midst of a major renovation. Guests should ask for a location away from the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Spencer_GM, Manager at The Spencer Hotel
Responded Jan 4, 2020
Dear Kathleen, Thank you for taking time to review our “handsome” hotel. At Spencer we are dedicated in providing personalized service by our genuinely caring staff. It is always gratifying for us to hear that we have been successful in our mission to provide great customer service in a friendly manner. This also includes our wonderful housekeeping team who ensure that every room matches our high standards. It is true that our prospect guests may take advantage of the great public transportation services which will take them directly from the Dublin Airport to the front door of Spencer. We are happy to hear that our lounge area and restaurant East, was successful in providing an “exceptionally cozy spot” while maintaining the “fun vibes” that we are trying to keep up at our busy restaurant. Breakfast is another area, the importance of which isn’t overlooked in our “Picturesque” breakfast room as we serve full Irish breakfast with a number of interesting additions such as pancake maker and a number of continental items. I wish to personally thank the guest one more time for sharing the wonderful review and look forward to greeting Kathleen O, once again at the Spencer hotel. Kind regards, Cristian S. Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenni A wrote a review Jan 2020
17 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently stayed here for two nights and couldn't fault it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and more than adequate for a short stay. Breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice and we especially enjoyed the pancake maker. We used the car park and for €40 for two nights it was so convenient and well worth the money. Location of the hotel is great, slightly out of the busyness of the very centre of the city (which is exactly whay we wanted) but everything is easily walkable. Would definitely stay here again next time we are in dublin!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Spencer_GM, Manager at The Spencer Hotel
Responded Jan 12, 2020
Dear Jennia, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Spencer. We take pride in the service we provide which makes me happy to read our team members were able to shine on this occasion, I am sure they will be delighted to read your lovely comments. I hope on your next visit your will get to try our “East” restaurant with its Asian inspired dishes it has a lot to offer for all types of taste buds. You should try the Nasi Goreng, it’s one of my favourites. Thank you again for taking the time to give feedback on your stay and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Kind regards, Cristian S. Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lynds_o_yolo wrote a review Dec 2020
14 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at The Spencer earlier this month and it was a much welcomed break after the lockdown. The first thing you notice when you enter the hotel is the newly decorated lobby and restaurant seating area. It is modern, fresh and most importantly clean. There were sanitising stations throughout the hotel and hand sanitiser at the check in desk.

The rooms were spacious, modern and covid compliant. The bath robes and slippers were individually wrapped as was the remote control. Being able to physically see the precautions in place made relaxing in the room effortless!

Although the hotel is a short walk (15 minutes) to the main shopping areas Of Dublin City we had no reason to leave the hotel. We enjoyed a beautiful dinner in the hotel restaurant with drinks by the lobby fire. The staff were so lovely throughout our stay and could not do enough to make our visit as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eddie Sweeney, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel
Responded Dec 15, 2020
Dear lynds_o_yolo, Thanks for taking the time to publish such a lovely review. We are delighted you were able to relax and enjoy yourselves. Its great you enjoyed our full residential experience and did not have to leave the hotel for anything. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rian wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival at the hotel there was a sign on the desk stating there would be no running water in rooms from 12am-5am and apologised for the inconvenience. There wasn’t even so much as a bottle of hand sanitiser put in guest rooms which is worrisome because if you wanted to wash your hands you couldn’t even use sanitizer to clean them.

I was concerned and somewhat annoyed by this given there is a current issue with coronavirus.
If the hotel had told me this in advance I would not have stayed.
I felt staff should have informed any unchecked in guests in advance and explain they had no water or sanitation system in guests room for a significant amount of time and given them a choice if the still wanted to stay.

I was going to an event and intended on showering when I got back to my room but no longer had the option to use the tap or sink. There was no hand sanitisers and no provisions put in place for guest given the fact there was no access to water if you wanted to wash your hands, flush the toilet or take a shower. The noise in the room was terrible, this was due to the plumbing issue and the maintenance being carried out.

I told staff the next morning, they were polite and got a manager to speak with me. He apologised, didn’t offer any sort of compensation token.

I emailed the hotel later and was insulted at the token of money offered by way of apology.
The Hotel thinks it was appropriate for me pay €100 for a room that;

—I was unable to get any sleep in due to the plumbing issue causing noise throughout the night.
—I had no running water for a significant amount of time and with no sanitation services.
—Not a single provision or solution offered to guests that wanted to wash their hands or use a toilet. Not even a bottle of hand sanitiser was available in the room.
—They had the opportunity to inform guests of this in advance of check in and give them the choice of staying during a time when we are dealing with Coronavirus and need running water.

I would not go back ever because the basic needs for guests was not supplied, water or sanitation service and noise throughout the night which meant no sleep.

The only positive is desk staff were very nice, kind and polite in any interactions.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eddie Sweeney, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review your recent experience at the Spencer hotel. It is very disappointing to read that we didn't deliver our usual high standards on this occasion. While it is true that unforeseen water-pipe maintenance work had to be carried out , we ensured that it is done during the night time in order to minimise disturbance to our guests. I am truly sorry that in spite of our best efforts your stay has been impacted by the plumbing works. We are taking serious measures to ensure that our guests and staff members remain safe in our hotel during the ongoing corona virus outbreak. Hand sanitizers are available throughout all public areas of the hotel and all surfaces are carefully being disinfected by our staff on hourly basis . Once again , please accept our sincere apologies for the service that you have received at the Spencer. We do hope that you give us another chance to prove ourselves to you. Kind regards, Dermot Fehily, Deputy General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra J wrote a review Mar 2020
Ireland3 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a twin room for myself and a friend on a girls night away from the kids! I booked the hotel as was looking for a hotel in a good central location but away from the noise of bars and busy streets so that we could have a night out but get a good nights sleep. We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the room and the bar, although expensive, offers a good selection of food and cocktails. After a late-ish night out we were both looking forward to a sleep in that wasn’t disturbed by any kids!

We were woken however at 5 am by noise in the adjacent room. At first we thought it was a rowdy group returning back from a night out but then heard hair dryers going etc so realised it was a group getting ready to leave. However, the noise only got worse with lots of loud laughing and conversation which we could hear as if it were in our own room. I rang the reception and the manager said he would check it out. However, by 6.15 there was still no sign of either the group leaving or the noise abating. So I rang the reception again, and the manager said that they checked it but that it was just a group of people getting ready to leave. When I explained that what we were hearing was loud laughter and long loud conversations since 5 am, he gave me the equivalent of a non-interested shrug and repeated that they were leaving and we would just have to wait. When I said being woken at 5 am on a Sunday morning was not something you’d expect from a room that cost 190 EUR a night and could he please at least ask them to keep the noise a bit, he got annoyed and said fine he would look into it but there was no change in any noise levels. The group eventually left at about 7am and we were due to leave at 8 ourselves so needless to say we did not get the rest we thought we would have had. What I found the most frustrating was the manner of the night manager, there was no apology or attempt to sort out the situation, just annoyance at being called. An apology can go a a long way in the hospitality sector and he should have understood that a guest wouldn’t ring the reception twice unless there actually was a problem. it was like he was more annoyed over the fact that we were complaining than actually being interest in resolving the issue we were complaining about.

So I wouldn’t recommend this hotel unless you are someone that enjoys being woken at 5 am! And not if you are expecting competent staff to deal with any problems that arise.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eddie Sweeney, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel
Responded Mar 10, 2020
Dear Sarah, Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I would like to apologise most sincerely for the service that you have received during your stay. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not manage to live up to our usual high standards. Please let me assure you that I will address the noise issue with the night manager so that it does not happen again and I am truly sorry that you were woken up by other guests during the early morning. Once again please accept my sincerest apologies and I hope that you will give us another opportunity to prove ourselves to you. Kind regards, Dermot Fehily, Deputy General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
maxximon13 wrote a review Jan 2020
St. Petersburg, Florida10 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 3 nights in early October. After checking in, we realized that we could not enjoy the balcony on our room at the front of the hotel, due to traffic noise, and were promptly relocated by the helpful front desk staff to a corner room at the rear of the hotel, which was completely silent. The staff in the bar/lounge area and restaurant also are tops - Maggie and Sofia went above and beyond to make our breakfasts decadent (a breakfast-included room rate is completely worth the extra $ - and I am someone who usually does not eat breakfast at all.) The hotel is short walk to Temple Bar, Trinity College, and the many museums, restaurants, shops and other sights in the city center, or for those who need to minimize the time their feet spend pounding the pavement, the Luas (tram) service to these areas stops in the plaza right behind the hotel. The Airlink bus to the airport also stops right in front of the hotel. We had a great stay and will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: To minimize noise, a room in the rear of the hotel is best. Rooms on the front face the road and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Spencer_GM, Manager at The Spencer Hotel
Responded Jan 4, 2020
Dear Maxximon, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Spencer. We take pride in the service we provide which makes me happy to read our team members were able to shine on this occasion, especially Maggie & Sofia, I am sure they will be delighted to read your lovely comments. Thank you again for taking the time to give feedback on your stay and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Kind regards, Cristian S. Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard F wrote a review Jul 2022
Cirencester, United Kingdom60 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
we stayed for 3 nights while visiting Dublin for a bit of sight seeing and relaxation. nice hotel, very modern and clearn, rooms are very nice and its in a really good location, right on the river, and slightly away from the bustle of O'Connell St (10 mins walk or 2 mins on the LUAS tram) We paid extra for a high floor room with a balcony looking over the river and it was a lovely sight watching the lights come on all over the city. The reception staff were poilte enough and not unhelpful, they just didn't seem to volunteer much info, like times for breakfast, where the restaurant was, check out times etc. My real criticism, and its perhaps not entirely on the hotel, but having paid for a river view balcony our neighbours who joined our blacony from their own room, would smoke on the balcony making our unusable. Sorry, i know people like a smoke but go away from other people or get a private balcony!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you can get a river view then its worth it, as long as the person sharing the balcony...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eddie Sweeney, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel
Responded Jul 27, 2022
Thank you for your lovely feedback, so happy to hear you had a enjoyable and relaxing time. We are sorry you were let down by your neighbours and hope this didn't ruin your trip too much. I will pass your feedback onto the team and we are sure your next visit will be an outstanding one.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Javoriva wrote a review Feb 2020
Zagreb, Croatia1,040 contribution180 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was recommended by my colleagues and it was perfect accommodation for the purpose of my visit. My room (superior double) was lovely, nicely furbished and clean, with all amenities you might need: mini-bar, coffee-machine (Nespresso!), iron board and safety box. The accompanying bathroom, rather spacious and clean, had bathtub came with all bathroom toiletries. The only thing that was missing in it to be perfect was a beauty mirror. Wi-Fi functioned quite nicely too. The breakfast offers big variety of cold and hot dishes, some local some international, and everything I tried was delicious. The staff, especially at the front desk (Hvala (thank you) Nikolina!) is very professional, welcoming, friendly, always smiling and helpful. The only thing I regret is not using spa and swimming pool. Maybe next time!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eddie Sweeney, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Spencer. I do have to admit that our rooms are very spacious and is fully equipped with everything you may need. Form a Nespresso machine to our lovely toiletries and an umbrella just in case of a rainy day. We are firm believers that our genuinely caring staff are our greatest asset and we are very happy to see that Nikolina was able to demonstrate why that is the case. Thank you again for taking the time to give feedback on your stay and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Kind regards, Eddie Sweeney, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
STMBW wrote a review Feb 2020
94 contributions57 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On our arrival at 9am, our room was ready and we were able to check in, bonus! The lady at reception gave us great advice of where to go.

In the conversation during the check in, it was mentioned we were there for our friends birthday. When we came back to the room there was a little note for her and some chocolates which was a nice touch.

The room was clean and bright, ours faced residents on their balcony across the road so no getting changed with the curtains open. The beds were super comfortable. No minibar.

The location is about 25 minute walk from the city centre (St Stephens Green / Temple Bar) so not in the centre of Dublin but a nice walk nevertheless. There is a tram available on the North side of the river which we used until we realised its cheaper to just walk if you are going to the city centre.

Things to note: ordered 4 paninis using room service which each came with a small bowl of salad. Due to this being on 2 trays, note you will be charged twice for the service.
This is not a hotel for those with children / those who want peace on the weekend. There was a fair bit of noise which did not bother us but may not be great for children.

Overall a lovely hotel with great customer service which we would stay in again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eddie Sweeney, General Manager at The Spencer Hotel
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Dear SunnyW, Thank you for choosing us to be your hotel during your friend’s birthday celebrations and taking the time to share your experience at The Spencer. We take pride in the service we provide which makes me happy to read our team members were able to shine on this occasion, I am sure they will be delighted to read your lovely comments. Next time, be sure to check out our Spencer Cocktail bar, there is a great atmosphere and vibe in the evening and so many delicious cocktails to choose from. Thank you again for taking the time to give feedback on your stay and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Kind regards, Eddie Sweeney, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SAR H wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I were recently guests at the Spencer Hotel for a night's stay.

Firstly, when we arrived, we were very rudely asked to put a mask on as I suffer with severe breathing difficulties, I am unable to wear the mask but continued to do so as I did not want to deal with the rudeness of the man who was asking to place them on in front of the large group of people behind me. Secondly checking in we were informed of a deposit which I was unaware of prior to arrival and was just informed this morning it was chosen either at random, if you're paying cash or if I booked through a third party, as I did not book through a third party, and also had a card on file as you needed to do so to book the room my only other reasoning for this seems to be 'at random' which is very discriminating as from what I seen on the day it looked like only young couples were being asked this? I was then told to stand to the side until I had got my card to pay the deposit and come back to the lady I was originally dealing with , when I had my card and was waiting at the side as the lady on reception had instructed me to do so to then be blatantly ignored as she had just continued on with the que of people behind us. This situation made me feel so uncomfortable as it looked as if I was 'skipping' the que when i was just doing as instructed.
Through our stay during the night the fire alarm also had went off twice, I understand this was unpreventable as I was informed there was issues in another room which again is totally understandable, but providing we made a call to see what was going on, and was addressed so rudely regarding this issue and not even an apology was given.
Also checking out when we had given our room keys, we were then told to take a seat in order to 'check our room', from this statement it seems to me that we were also picked out being a young couple to check we hadn't wrecked our room while slightly older couples were checking out with no deposit needed and their rooms were not inspected?
Lastly, I had asked about my parking ticket in which was included in the package I had booked, the lady at receptions response was 'well have you paid ?' in a quite rude manor without even having a look at my reservation to see that it had been included and also was not even acknowledged at check in to say this was in the package, had I not been informed this I would have been left paying for the parking bill.
I found my stay quite stressful and unwelcoming, considering the amount of money we had spent to enjoy our weekend, I would never have expected that sort of treatment in a four-star hotel. After sending emails to the reception and then also another member of staff who seems to deal with complaints nothing was done about this and my emails were then being ignored, would not reccomend this hotel to anyone and would not intend to ever stay here again ! Staff were so rude to deal with from the start of the stay right up untill my emails had been ignored !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris O'Callaghan, Guest Services / Front Office at The Spencer Hotel
Responded Feb 28, 2022
Hi shC5938OT, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. As previous discussed with you, It is the hotels policy to take a cash deposit or preauthorisation on a credit card or debit card from all our guests. This is in the pre arrival literature which you would have received. I do apologies for the fire alarm being triggered, thank you for understanding that this is unpreventable. I would like to again express my disappointment that you felt the team were rude to you, this has already been addressed with the team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SRH asked a question Aug 2022
United Kingdom6 contributions9 helpful votes
Hi, is this hotel in the city centre? Near bars, restaurants and shops please?
Answer from Alexander B
Karaganda, Kazakhstan235 contributions159 helpful votes
It is like a financial and business district mostly. All you need requires 15 min walk.
J7Y asked a question Jul 2022
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom697 contributions138 helpful votes
When using the Pool / Hot rooms do you need to book in advance? Thanks 👍🏻
Answer from Sara R
2 contributions2 helpful votes
When we were there in mid June you needed to make a reservation a day ahead. I noticed that after I complained their website now says you don’t need a reservation. You still do need to wear a swim cap. Check the website also for the hours. They are somewhat limited.
Answer from Frances G
County Offaly, Ireland7 contributions6 helpful votes
Breakfast is 7am until 10am, so depends what time you have to leave the hotel
Answer from Spencer_GM
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution3 helpful votes
Hi jmunro87, Please advise further details of you booking in order to respond to your request Regards, Cristian
richardjgreen33 wrote a tip Jun 13
Scarborough, United Kingdom93 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Perhaps a high floor."
Read full review
italy1956 wrote a tip Jun 5
seattle8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nothing we can think of"
Read full review
Mike B wrote a tip May 2024
Seattle, Washington2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Spencer is so close to the EPIC Museum it would be a crime to not pay it a visit."
Read full review
michael d wrote a tip May 2024
Newbridge, Ireland3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plan your trips from the hotel carefully as public transport in Dublin is average at best."
Read full review
Kathryn M wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"bring a swim cap. or purchase from them for 3.00. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dublin area.
PRICE RANGE
₱11,324 - ₱19,363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dublin clarion, clarion hotel dublin, clarion dublin hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Clarion Hotel Dublin IFSC
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
209
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SPENCER HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Dublin, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Spencer Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Spencer Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Jeanie Johnston: An Irish Famine Story (0.2 km), EPIC The Irish Emigration Museum (0.3 km), and The Famine Sculptures (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Spencer Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Spencer Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Spencer Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Spencer Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Spencer Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Urban Brewing, Cill Airne, and Musashi IFSC.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Spencer Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Is The Spencer Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Dublin.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Spencer Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Spencer Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Spencer Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
All Dublin HotelsDublin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DublinHotels near The Spencer Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars