Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City

Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City

11 John Redmond Street Shandon, Cork T23 A9TF Ireland
Traveler (298)
Double & Single Bedroom
Room & Suite (63)
Dining (34)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#19 of 33 hotels in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value

This newly refurbished 4-star modern hotel in the city centre is 2 minutes' walk from the main shopping area, and attractions such as Shandon Bells.

Contemporary rooms come with free Wi-Fi, TVs, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Family rooms are available, accommodating up to 2 adults and 3 children plus an infant.

The restaurant serves vitality breakfast and dinner, and the Bells bar offers casual dining. Other amenities include an indoor pool, gym and a seasonal kids' club. Limited parking is available for a fee.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Street parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English, Lithuanian, Polish

Location

11 John Redmond Street Shandon, Cork T23 A9TF Ireland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 97 out of 100
97
Cork Airport
Kerry County Airport
78.2 km
See all flights
1,055Review19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 448
  • 311
  • 176
  • 72
  • 48
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Judita S wrote a review Sep 2020
Ireland17 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, we were welcomed by a very professional and informative lady in the reception.The Hotel was spotless clean and spacious
There's also limited parking outside so I reccomend to leave your car there and walk around the city. We stayed in Room 504 which was big and cosy with very comfortable beds! The iron in the room was broken and it was replaced with a new one within minutes, very attentive staff!
Had breakfast one of the mornings and it's very good for the price we paid, although it was not very hot when it came out so we presume it wasnt cooked to order. For lunch and cocktails my boyfriend got the pizza which he was happy with and I got the seafood chowder, which would of been very good if they didn't put extra star anise herbs in it as it gave it to much flavour and all I could taste was the herb and it ruined the beautiful chowder. But the cocktails were tasty!
For Dinner we both had the Thai Green Curry and we found it very spicy, but the lovely waitress got more cream put into it and it was perfect. The hotel had hand sanitisers on every table in the restaurant and Lobby which was a great idea as I havent seen that in any other hotels. One thing I would reccomend is putting some background music on in the lobby and bar even it being instrumental as it would of gave it a more relaxed feeling as it's the first hotel I've been to with no background music at all.
Special mention to the waitress Gulliana as she couldn't do enough for every guest, so attentive and kind always with a smile and she was the only one running the bar restaurant as we watched her and couldnt believe how hard working that girl is! Definitely a Gem to this place! as for the Blond lady in the suit, and the Bar man, I know its extremely different and hard time but wouldnt hurt to crack a smile once in a while.
Over all, a very good stay and would return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded Sep 3, 2020
Dear 723juditas , Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your lovely comments to Guiliana We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Camille R wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I would like to compliment the Maldron Hotel in Shandon for a really lovely inexpensive, one night family break. The rooms were clean and spacious,(we had 3 twin rooms) the food was excellent, breakfast fresh and generous. The staff were friendly, accommodating and followed government restrictions to the letter without being intrusive. We were a mixed party of vaccinated and unvacinnated family members and I had been concerned about how this would work for us but the hotel were excellent, non judgemental and yet precise in terms of infection control. I am very grateful to the staff who carried trays of food with silver lids to the family members who ate in their rooms. I am also grateful that we were allowed to remain parked for a few hours after check out in the limited parking space in front of the hotel so we could do a little shopping in the city. This was a much needed break for our family, the Maldron was excellent on all levels. We enjoyed great food, a swim and a warm and comfortable sleep. Thank you so much.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded Jan 3, 2022
Dear camillerI8581WZ , Thank you for the great review of our Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, staff hospitality and rooms. We looking forward to see you at Maldron Shandon again very soon. Sincerely, Mantas Kriauciunas Hotel operations manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
macpauline wrote a review Aug 2020
Mullingar, Ireland17 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A lovely one night stay in hotel. Quick check-in. Friendly reception staff. Perspex screens around desks....plenty of hand sanitizer...

Went for an early walk next morning before breakfast. Staff were busy cleaning and sanitizing tables, chairs etc. in reception area. All done with a smile. Face masks worn by all staff.
Breakfast time was prebooked. great attention to detail. Fruit salad was in individual pots. Orange juice was in little milk bottles. Breakfast was covered. All brought to our table. Again with a smile.
Room was clean and very comfortable.
Thanks especially to Maria on reception and Magda in breakfast room. Great work.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded Aug 9, 2020
Dear Macpauline, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, found our staff and breakfast exceptional. We look forward seeing you in Maldron Shandon Cork soon. Sincerely Mantas Kriauciunas Front office manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cormac wrote a review Jul 2020
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had an excellent stay for 3 days in the Maldron. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was lovely and you were free to order as much as you like without limit if like us you got the breakfast included. Lovely view from our room and nice amount of space. Sanitisation was excellent and there were sanitizer dispensers everywhere. A reminder however that you must spend over €9 on food if you would like to drink at the bar. You are also allocated an amount of time you can stay. For us it was two hours which was very reasonable however I believe depending on the day it may also be an hour and ten minutes. Bar opens at 12:30 for lunch.

Thank you to the Maldron for a very pleasant stay. I will be coming back again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded Jul 15, 2020
Dear Cormander, Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay, our hospitality and Post Covid cleanliness. We hope to meet you here very soon. Sincerely, Mantas Kriauciunas Front office manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom Fay wrote a review Aug 2020
Dublin, Ireland59 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I was away in West Cork for the day with my 2 year old child and partner. We arrived in the evening for check in to stay there for 2 nights only to find that there was no parking space outside and on the street surrounding the hotel it is all disk parking only. I had to park the car in a Local Q Park Carpark which I was told was 8 mins away walking (12-15 mins with a 2 year old) in the lashing rain.

The room we were also given was terrible. It was a wet room with no bath so again with a 2 year old it isn’t great.

You also have to book the leisure centre to use the swimming pool. All the places were fully booked when we checked in which defeated the whole purpose of booking to stay there in the first place.

The hotel is suitable for a couple or someone looking to stay without children or a car.

Then finally to make things worse the pillow which was meant to be clean had fungus on it. Overall a dreadful time and experience
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded Aug 27, 2020
Dear Tom, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. Let us apologize for the experience you had here. Unfortunately, we have very limited spaces at the hotel as we are in the city center. But we have discounted rates at Carrols Quay car park, and we do have drop off area, so guests can conveniently drop off their bags etc. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Mantas Kriauciunas Front office manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mark M wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel a bit out of town about 15min walk small car park on hotel grounds. I arrived late at night and Cathrina on reception had a warm friendly welcome and arranged with the kitchen to have something to eat ready for me. I have to say the staff here are exceptional . Cathrina worked on reception but also gave a hand out in the bar and serving food always very pleasant and took time to stop and talk. Nothing was a problem for her. I have to mention Vivienne and Anne Marie in the restaurant who worked extremely hard not only serving food but cleared the tables the minute customers finished their meal no messy tables very important. Breakfast was very good as was the bar food. Rooms very clean great shower. I would recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Come early to get car park space
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded Oct 22, 2022
Dear Mark Thank you for the great review of our hotel! And Thank you for your kind words i will be sure to let Anne-Marie & Vivienne know. We strive to ensure all our guests receive 5 star treatment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Cathrina Mulcahy Deputy General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brìd wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A birthday gift gone completely wrong! I never felt the need to write a review before but I feel I must in this case. Upon arrival reception wasnt very friendly card details was the priority for pre payment. We made our way to our room which to our horror overlooked a graveyard, we have never complained about anywhere before and we were embarassed to say anything and look a nuisance, However after a sleepless night and disappointment we did voice our worries to reception the following morning. We were given another room key and sent on our own to check the room ourselves. The TV was on in the room when entering and couldn't be turned off until plugged out and it was quickly obvious it was a joining room we were given and a down grade.We again voiced this to reception and were given a third room, this was okay very basic. Service was poor I waited 40 minutes for a drink and was forgotten about. Dinner again was a let down, Awful service waited 10 minutes to be asked if I wanted a steak knife and given soup spoons for dessert. As bad as things were while trying to enjoy a birthday dinner I over heard one waiter say to another that we were to be charged for those drinks as if we were not going to pay?! We asked then could we have a drink in the bar and told to sit in the lobby area while we could see and hear people in the bar it was a humilating feeling as we were the only guests sitting there. While checking out we were asked how our stay was and I do need to add we never wanted any compensation we were given our honest opinion and the response was hope to see us again and for €3 for a swim hat. I have honestly never felt more embarassed or mortified in my life. I have worked in this industry for years and never seen a more unprofessional attitude across the board. I was also told a manager would contact me during my stay which never happened. There is no excuse for this treatment as Covid doesn't affect any issue addressed,We were just happy to get away and enjoy a birthday celebration that was completely ruined.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded Aug 8, 2021
Dear FrequentFlier81315 , Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Cathrina Mulcahy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sheila R wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can’t recommend this hotel enough, I stayed here with my daughter on Sunday March 14th, we had an early admission to hospital on Monday morning. The service, hospitality & overall assistance given was amazing, from check in to check out everything was top notch. I was given a late checkout & when I found out my daughter wouldn’t be released until very late evening I was offered the facilities of the hotel for the full day which was most welcome particularly with the current COVID restrictions. Each & every staff member went out of their way to facilitate me for which I am so grateful. The food was 10 out of 10 both breakfast & dinner so I’ll definitely be back - i would highly recommend to family & friends if staying in Cork - great value & perfect location 👍👍👍🌟🌟🌟🌟
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded Mar 17, 2021
Dear Sheila, Thank you for such a warm review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and food offerings. We were delighted to look after you and your daughter (I hope she is alright after the hospital) and we looking forward to welcoming you back to Maldron Shandon soon. Sincerely, Mantas Kriauciunas Front office manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aongus O wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Maldron Shandon on numerous occasions from February to June 2023. From start to finish every stay was excellent. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, rooms were spotless, breakfast had a wide variety and evening meals were great value. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel highly.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded Oct 2, 2023
Dear Aonguso2021, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Cathrina Mulcahy Deputy General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charlie C wrote a review Nov 2021
Dublin, Ireland64 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed over on Business this week and this hotel was booked on my behalf at short notice. Central location with limited parking. Once checked in was completed I was being directed to my room and I was told the lift was out of service and I had to carry my case up the stairs to my room. Had I read earlier reviews I would have discovered that the lift has been out of service for some time.

My Room was cozy and the bed was comfortable but it was located on a floor that had families and it was difficult to enjoy the environment in the room with the noise coming from younger guests crying and running up and down the corridor into the evening.

The Bar food was good and staff ware friendly, I was seated towards the back door and did not realise that the area on the outside was the smoking area which I could smell from my table.

I had booked breakfast early for my departure the following morning and it was quite disappointing compared to the evening meal. I had the fried self serve breakfast which was warm and tasteless.

I will not be staying in this hotel again and have advised my company not to book anyone else here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded Dec 4, 2021
Dear Charlie, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Mantas Kriauciunas Hotel operations manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin Corr asked a question Oct 2019
Cork, Ireland4 contributions1 helpful vote
Is this hotel haunted?
5 contributions
It didn't feel haunted to me.
teresa42 asked a question Aug 2019
Birmingham, United Kingdom207 contributions91 helpful votes
Is it easy to get a large taxi from the airport. We are a party of six o.a.p.,s with three suitcases. Thank you.
Answer from joeysoap
Dundalk, Ireland75 contributions108 helpful votes
We travelled by train, but cork is a decent airport so you should have no problem, especially if you went 3 + 3 , but to ease your mind there’s lots of on line companies you can prebook. Enjoy your holiday.
dwits asked a question Apr 2019
Nanaimo, Canada57 contributions49 helpful votes
Is there parking provided?
Answer from Gary C
Whitby, Canada41 contributions55 helpful votes
yes, but somewhat limited on site. we were told also available offsite but never investigated.
dwits asked a question Apr 2019
Nanaimo, Canada57 contributions49 helpful votes
Is there parking provided?
Answer from AmpedAF
Western Ireland, Ireland134 contributions163 helpful votes
It's very limited, but there a carpark nearby that you must pay for.
Pygmyhippo asked a question Mar 2019
Uckfield, United Kingdom46 contributions48 helpful votes
What is the best way to get to the hotel from the airport? Thanks in advance!
simon c wrote a tip Mar 2024
Den Helder, The Netherlands16 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fantastic Buffet breakfast close to the city centre, Watch out for the ghosts "
Read full review
adam b wrote a tip Mar 2024
Tokyo, Japan93 contributions35 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eat elsewhere"
Read full review
Jimmy Tormey wrote a tip Jan 2024
County Wicklow, Ireland7 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The car park is very small, if you don't get a space you will pay for parking. "
Read full review
Veronica T. wrote a tip Dec 2023
11 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay if you will use your car during your stay. Don't accept the room close to the manager's cleaning room"
Read full review
tcjp1 wrote a tip Dec 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Away from housekeeping rooms"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cork area.
PRICE RANGE
₱10,618 - ₱14,724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cork maldron hotel
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkCorkShandon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
101
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MALDRON HOTEL SHANDON CORK CITY - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Which popular attractions are close to Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City?
Nearby attractions include Hysterical Histories Cork (0.4 km), City Limits Comedy Club and Late NIght Venue (0.3 km), and Sin E (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Spresso, Strasbourg Goose Restaurant, and Koto.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, and Lithuanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cork City Gaol (1.7 km), Blarney Castle & Gardens (7.2 km), and Blarney Stone (7.2 km).
All Cork HotelsCork Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CorkHotels near Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars