Ashlee Lodge

Ashlee Lodge

Vista do quarto
Traveler (21)
Room & Suite (20)
Breakfast Room
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 2 small hotels in Blarney
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travelers make Ashlee Lodge their small hotel of choice when visiting Blarney. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a romantic setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you.

For those interested in checking out Church of Ireland Church (2.0 mi) while visiting Blarney, Ashlee Lodge is a short distance away.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Ashlee Hotel features room service and a concierge. In addition, as a valued Ashlee Hotel guest, you can enjoy a hot tub and free breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

While in Blarney be sure to experience local fish and chips favorites at Muskerry Arms Restaurant, Blarney Castle Hotel, or Mill Restaurant.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Blarney Castle & Gardens, which is a popular Blarney castle – and it is conveniently located a short distance from the small hotel.

At Ashlee Lodge, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Blarney.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Tennis court
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, German
137Reviews1Q+A15Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 108
  • 18
  • 7
  • 4
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Coastal2402 wrote a review Dec 2003
Haslett, Michigan1 contribution5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited Ashlee Lodge in August of this year, '03. We had beautiful rooms, great service, and delicious food. The owners, I apologize that I can't think of their names, were wonderful. They went out of their way to make accomodations for us on the next part of our trip. It was a perfect spot to day trip from, we went to Cobh, Kinsale, and visited friends in the Blarney area. It is located just a few minutes outside Blarney, very peaceful.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patti S wrote a review Sep 2012
Collegeville, Pennsylvania67 contributions69 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I recently took a 6-day tour of southern Ireland, and our stay at Ashlee Lodge didn't disappoint. Only a few miles east of Blarney, it's location is convenient and easy to find. The rooms were very nice, including a roomy marble bathroom and even robes and slippers. Very luxurious feel for the price.

Our favorite part of our stay was our short walk to the local pub, the Huntsman, where we enjoyed live traditional Irish music as well as conversations with locals and other Ashlee guests.

The continental breakfast that was included with the room is more than sufficient with a big selection! I noticed several people on TripAdvisor complained that there was a charge for a hot breakfast, to which I counter...Ashlee doens't tout itself as a B&B, so what hotels do you know include hot breakfast?? And compared to what an American hotel would call a continental breakfast, this puts that to shame. Those that felt they were "fooled," the menu you're given as you're seated clearly states that there is an extra charge for the hot breakfast.

All in all our stay was quick but very nice, I'd recommend Ashlee Lodge to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael B wrote a review May 2012
Charleville, Cork, Ireland1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
There are times in your life you just want to relax and unwind..thats what i got at Ashlee...not a big fan of guest houses all a rule,I prefer the anonomity of a hotel but ashlee changed my mind..beautiful room..very comfortable bed...fluffy towels..all we could say was wow...The breakfast was very good...my wife is a coelic and there was no problem taking care of her needs...intended to stay one night but added a second night..well done to all the staff there...you are a credit to the hotel industry..
Read more
Date of stay: May 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacques17 wrote a review May 2007
Pretoria, South Africa8 contributions17 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Ashlee Lodge in May 2007, and although the accommodation facilities are good, the level of service experienced was far below par.

We booked the accommodation on the internet, and at the time a dinner was offered at the hotel as part of a special offer.

We arrived at approximately 21:10 at the hotel, as we had a long day driving and exploring in Ireland. Upon arrival we enquired about the dinner, only to be informed that we arrived late and that our dinner had been forfeited. The host then informed us that all other restaurants (except for a Thai Restaurant) are closed, as all restaurants in Ireland generally close at 21:00. We declined the offer of the Thai Restaurant, and used our GPS device in the vehice to locate a restaurant. We found a restaurant open not more than 2 kilometres from the hotel.

The next morning upon our departure we were billed in full for our forfeited dinner. This is hard to comprehend, as no food was prepared, and the hotel incurred no expenses. The hosts offered no explanation for this.

Overall, we cannot recommend this hotel, as the level of service experienced was below that expected from a hotel of this nature.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2007
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesCheck in / front desk
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
southeastgirl09 wrote a review Sep 2009
ireland1 contribution3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
recently stayed here and although our room and the lodge in general was beautiful, our stay was tarnished when we checked out and were informed we had a charge of 32euro for the breakfast. we had booked and paid for bed and breakfast but we were not informed by staff on ordering the hot breakfasts that we would be charged for them as our room included only continental breakfast. it was quite misleading for us as i imagine it would be for anyone. this was the only negative point but it was quite a big error on behalf of the hotel. just watch out for hidden charges if you stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2009
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AshleeLodge, Proprietor at Ashlee Lodge
Responded Sep 22, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. However we are a little surprised and disappointed to read that you are still confused over the breakfast charge as we already have had a discussion over the telephone about it. As previously stated to you on the telephone and also at check out, you booked an offer over the telephone which you saw advertised on our website www.ashleelodge.com. This offer is an advance purchase offer of just €69.00 per night for 2 people in a double executive room with continental breakfast from the buffet included. This is clearly stated on the website. As you booked over the telephone, we confirmed your booking via email and again this clearly stated that it included breakfast from the buffet only. For anyone wishing to have a rate with full breakfast (any one of 10 hot dishes cooked to order plus the buffet) we also have a rate of €99.00 advertised on our website for a double room for 2 people with full breakfast included. All our other online offers clearly state if full breakfast or continental breakfast is included. I trust this clarifies the situation. Regards, John O'Leary. Ashlee Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rudi1994 wrote a review Jul 2008
Derby7 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the most beautiful room, room 6, it wanted for nothing, was beautifully clean, huge comfortable bed and lovely sitting area.

Now for the negatives, the breakfast was absolutely terrible. The full breakfast was so overcooked and dry and the pancakes were so microwaved they just stuck together in a glued mass - completely inedible and returned after just one mouthful. The furnishings and crockery in the communal rooms were very dated, I have not seen Eternal Beau for more than 20 years, but they have the full set!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2008
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesCheck in / front desk
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AshleeLodge, Owner at Ashlee Lodge
Responded Jul 28, 2008
Dear Louise, Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us, especially your breakfast experience. It is most unfortunate that you did not intimate this during breakfast when your table was checked and perhaps we could have rectified it. We would encourage everyone to tell us directly if we are failing to meet with your expectations, it is much easier to deal with any problems there and then rather than reading them online aferwards. We wish to point out that all 10 hot dishes on the breakfast menu are cooked to order and we will endeavour to provide top quality cuisine and service at breakfast at standards currently endorsed by the top food and travel writers in the country. We appreciate the time you took to complete the review and will actively take onboard your comments. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, John O'Leary. Proprietor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
83SJP wrote a review Jul 2014
Singapore, Singapore4 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently visited Ashlee Lodge in Blarney, Ireland. What a wonderful place to stay. Fantastic room, great food and a great welcome from our host. This is a real gem and a place of tranquility and very high quality. Highly recommend it! We had a wonderful stay with outstanding service and quality!

JP
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bud O wrote a review Oct 2012
Sudbury, ON, CA3 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This B&B was recommended to me by a friend but it certainly didn't live up to my expectations. The rooms were OK but it is overpriced (if breakfast included) as far as I am concerned. The breakfast was fair but not great and I felt like we were rushed to eat and get out. The lady proprietor was certainly not the friendliest person I've met but the gentleman of the house was great. The Internet was hit and miss and not secured. It is central but not that easy to find.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
J W wrote a review May 2012
San Francisco, United States6 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed at the Ashlee Lodge. Upon checking in, we asked about the hot tub, as we had just traveled a good distance, and the tub was a criteria for our booking. The owner replied that there was an issue with the tub, and it was not available. We requested a discount for things not being as advertised, and were essentially told "too bad, feel free to leave". The also-advertised sauna was not mentioned at all in the tour, and after the first encounter we decided to not bother asking for fear of a similar response. I mentioned an update of the website, and was met with a response of "that takes too long" (sic).

The owner also mentioned that there was "music every Friday" in the local pub, when in fact the only music in the aforementioned pub was every Saturday. There were no other guests on our evening, and we went away feeling rather taken advantage of, unfortunately.

The room was clean, the breakfast good, but overall between the tub issue and the morning encounter with the woman (wife?) who constantly rushed us on and pushed the pay extra for hot breakfast, then we simply cannot recommend this establishment. Look around, as there are plenty of opportunities in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Check that all accommodations are available as advertised.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AshleeLodge, Owner at Ashlee Lodge
Responded May 22, 2012
Dear James W, Thank you for your recent review. We regret you did not fully enjoy your stay with us due to the out door Canadian hot tub being closed on the evening of your arrival due to a maintenance problem. As previously stated this was beyond our control and as we have a duty of care towards all our guests we could not possibly allow you to use the tub in an unsafe condition. As you had only booked online 2 hours before your arrival it was not possible to contact you and inform you the tub was closed for the evening. Unfortunately it was also not possible to give you a further discount on your room rate as you requested as you had already received a 30% discount on a last minute deal. We did offer you the opportunity to cancel the reservation without penalty and allow you to reserve another hotel in Cork that may have a hot tub available but you were reluctant to do this. You will be pleased to hear the hot tub has now been fully repaired and serviced and is once again available for all our guests to use on a complimentary basis. With regard to your comment about being rushed at breakfast we again would like to apologize if you felt this way but that was not our intention. Our waiting staff (in this case not my wife!) are trained to provide a 4 star service in the restaurant which would include offering a menu and inquiring if you wish to order a hot dish, clearing plates etc and rectifying cutlery between courses and checking the table once to inquire if everything is to the guest's satisfaction. We regret if these actions caused you to feel rushed but at Failte Ireland (Irish Tourist Board) 4 star and AA 5 Star classification it would be expected of us to do this. We value and thank you your feedback and hope you might allow us the opportunity to accommodate you at some stage in the future. Best Regards, John O'Leary. Proprietor.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jerzy_Kachinski wrote a review May 2012
Cambridge31 contributions66 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently stayed for two nights at the Ashlee Lodge for a conference in nearby Cork. I found the Lodge on the basis of a TripAdvisor search, and am very happy I chose to stay there. The owners were very friendly, helpful and welcoming, the building itself was clean and inviting, and the breakfasts were excellent. It was also a terrific value. And while many reviewers call it a B&B, it is more like a small boutique hotel than the standard B&B's I've stayed in during a previous rip to Ireland. In short, I recommend it highly.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daryl B asked a question Jul 2014
Winchester, Tennessee5 contributions3 helpful votes
I would like to know if the price for the room is for single or double occupancy? Thanks. Daryl Baker
Answer from AshleeLodge
Blarnry
Dear Daryl, Thank you for your inquiry. All rates quoted for rooms allow for double occupancy except our single room rate of €95.00 which is just specifically for single occupancy. I hope this helps. Kind regards, John.
Tore Ulv S wrote a tip Sep 2016
Jessheim, Norway29 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Any room will do."
Read full review
Wendyme50 wrote a tip Jul 2016
Puerto Escondido, Mexico144 contributions78 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are superb and very comfortable. All the toiletries and towels are of a very high quality. They supply robes and slippers."
Read full review
Michael H wrote a tip Jun 2015
Brockville, Canada41 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They all seem lovely !"
Read full review
SeanBeahon wrote a tip Jan 2015
West Henrietta10 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not a bad room in the place from what I saw!"
Read full review
cjr_10 wrote a tip Jul 2014
Eastbourne27 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The triple room was very quiet"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Blarney area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
ashlee hotel blarney, ashlee lodge
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkCorkBlarney
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ASHLEE LODGE - Hotel Reviews (Blarney, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ashlee Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Ashlee Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Blarney Castle & Gardens (2.9 km), Blarney Stone (2.9 km), and Blarney Woollen Mills (3.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ashlee Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Ashlee Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ashlee Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ashlee Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Muskerry Arms Restaurant, The White Horse, and Blairs Inn.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ashlee Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ashlee Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Ashlee Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Blarney Castle & Gardens (2.9 km), Blarney Stone (2.9 km), and Old Cork Waterworks Experience (7.7 km).
Is Ashlee Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Blarney HotelsBlarney Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BlarneyHotels near Ashlee Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars