We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
West Mill Street, Perth PH1 5QP Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Mercure
$65
View deal
Booking.com
$64
View deal
FindHotel
$57
View deal
Travelocity
Expedia.com$64
Destinia.com$73
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (314)
Room & Suite (104)
Dining (29)

About

#16 of 17 hotels in Perth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mercure Perth offers so much history and enchantment as it dates back to a 15th century watermill. Look through the portholes in the reception and lounge areas and fresh running water can still be seen. This centrally located hotel offers modern comfortable bedrooms with free WIFI throughout the hotel. All bedrooms come with en-suite bathrooms, flat screen TV’s, trouser press, hairdryer and coffee & tea making facilities. Enjoy a show at Perth Theatre or Perth Concert Hall just a few minutes walking distance from the hotel. Nearby tourist attractions are Scone Palace, Branklyn Gardens and the Glenturret Distillery. If you are travelling by train, Perth Station is only a 10 minutes’ walk from the hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1401Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 262
  • 406
  • 378
  • 203
  • 152
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
John Thornton wrote a review 12 Sep
4 contributions5 helpful votes
At check-in our receptionist was friendly, helpful and, despite the appalling weather, cheerful. However on entering the room we became aware of a heap of towels on the bathroom floor with no others in sight. We took them to reception and asked for replacements which were quickly delivered to the room. We then began to wonder just how much cleaning had actually taken place before our arrival. A little later whilst in the shower I noted that this hotel appears to have been rather neglected over the years. There were significant areas of brown mould around the soap recess and behind the plumbing fittings which had been very roughly mastic sealed and there was a crack right across the bottom of the washbasin. In the bedroom only one bedside lamp worked and it was virtually falling to pieces. As we went out for breakfast the next day we noted three bedroom doors wedged open with towels and/or bedlinen. When we returned an hour later they were still open with no sign of any movement in any of them. Perhaps this apparent lack of continuity is how things like our towels get missed ?
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mercure Perth, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Perth Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Kathryn McLellan – General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aimz162003 wrote a review 12 Sep
Ripon, United Kingdom1 contribution
My husband and I stayed at the hotel for our anniversary, previous Mercure hotels we have stayed at have been lovely. However, despite the setting of the property, the rooms were very dated and in much need of a revamp. The water pressure from the shower was very poor. The staff were very polite and kindly gave us a bottle of wine to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Unfortunately we will not stay at this hotel again unless it has a make over, as it was not worth what was paid for the 2 nights stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mercure Perth, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Perth Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Kathryn McLellan – General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dlongley wrote a review 10 Sep
Ripon, United Kingdom63 contributions20 helpful votes
Pros: Nice history of the building, good customer service Cons: Dated room (207), old bathroom that desperately needs updated (shower rail is rusty, pressure in shower is poor, finishing in bathroom have holes or are not secured correctly), no air conditioning with a window that can’t be opened fully to let fresh air in, due to this the room makes it unbearable to sleep in. Overall we did not have a good sleep and were more tired than when we started the 3 day break.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mercure Perth, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Perth Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Kathryn McLellan – General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
matrixyat wrote a review 8 Sep
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates13 contributions3 helpful votes
This hotel is in dire need of a refurbishment. I imagine it has been in need of a refurb for a decade or more. Rooms are tired, bathrooms are awful, floors are creaky and sound like a stampede is happening when someone is walking on the floor above.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mercure Perth, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Perth Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Kathryn McLellan – General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
antwn wrote a review 7 Sep
Plounevez-Lochrist, France94 contributions37 helpful votes
The hotel is okay, the staff are friendly, but the hotel is in need of a complete refurbishment. It is not up to mercure standard. Needs double glazing, new bathrooms. Overall it is shabby and tired looking
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mercure Perth, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Kathryn McLellan – General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rientraid wrote a review 6 Sep
Killearn, United Kingdom54 contributions18 helpful votes
The hotel is in a good location, with parking and only a few minutes walk to a range of shops, restaurants and pubs. The hotel was pleasant enough but in need of some investment to modernise rooms. Good breakfast and wifi.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mercure Perth, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Kathryn McLellan – General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew wrote a review 5 Sep
Dundee, United Kingdom2 contributions
+1
The room showed a lot of signs of wear and tear. Very visible scuffs of the furniture, headboard and carpet frayed. Stains on the walls, curtains and shower curtain. The sash and case window showed signs of rot around the frame and where the ventilation clips should clip to. The shower/plumbing pressure needs to be looked at and the tub is dangerously slippy even with a bath mat. The room (2XX) just needs an overhaul and clean. It is a listed building but investment repairs should still be done, especially for visitor comfort and the price of the room. The staff we dealt with were friendly, the beds were clean and comfy and got a good sleep. Iron, board, kettle and tv were fine. Great location for Perth. The original mill features are lovely but feel these are part of the price. The rooms need a review and upgrade. If the issues are seen to, the value for money would be much better.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
G Clark wrote a review 1 Sep
United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
friendly staff and efficient service.rooms tired but makes up for location as in centre of town. nice bar lounge area with selection of drinks. breakfast buffet in morning with plenty of selection. will return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mercure Perth, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good Evening Travelscotgirl, Thank you for your kind review we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Many thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary G wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We stayed one night on the 23rd august ,to join my sister for the tattoo to find they did not have a disabled room which had been requested .no working lift up some stairs plus another flight to restaurant....Staff total unhelpful as my sister couldn't have shower as it was over bath and she has mobility issues asked what she was supposed to do got no answer. Room not clean ,marks on wall, mould on windowsill ,bath needed replacing and was dirty. Furniture looked as it came from a tip ,i like old but this was awful, lampshades filthy and not working. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone..
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mercure Perth, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Kathryn McLellan – General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bigalid wrote a review Aug 2022
Dumfries, United Kingdom23 contributions27 helpful votes
Stayed 2 nights for a weekend event with my son. Sadly the Mercure failed the is it better than a Travelodge test. The room was dated and the crumbs on the floor by the bed confirmed what we'd heard when checking in that the hotel was struggling with lack domestic staff. The sound proofing was awful. I've never stayed somewhere where you could hear other guests snoring or speaking normally in their room as clearly. Didn't enjoy the low pressure shower that I had to lean uncomfortably over to get my head in. At least someone had tried to fresh up the bathroom by painting badly over the tiles. The carpet was worn-out in places. The dining room was very 1970s and that's sad as the attention on the bar and reception was much better (really liked the detail of the old mill). These only were ruined by the weird brown carpet that puts the shining to shame. It avoids 2 stars as the staff were good and the £10 buffet breakfast was more than reasonable. Could have got the travel lodge a few miles away for less than this
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Some parking at front which is great if you can get in. There is overflow for the hotel and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mercure Perth, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good Morning Bigalid, Thank you for your review we are currently looking at renovation options so will take on board your feedback. Many thanks Matthew Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$70 - US$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ramada perth
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ramada Perth Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandPerth and KinrossPerth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Perth Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Perth Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Perth Concert Hall (0.5 km), Perth Theatre (0.3 km), and Jardine Gallery and Workshop (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Perth Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Perth Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Perth Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Perth Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The North Port Restaurant, Effies of Perth, and Mae-Ping Thai Dining.
Is Mercure Perth Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Perth.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Perth Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Perth Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Perth Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Perth Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Scone Palace (2.8 km), Kirk of St. John the Baptist (0.5 km), and Perth Railway Station (0.7 km).
Is Mercure Perth Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.