We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
77 South Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1HN Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View deal
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (838)
Room & Suite (438)
Dining (122)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 19/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Updated 19/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#105 of 164 in Edinburgh
GreenLeaders Silver level
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge is an economy hotel located in Edinburgh Old Town, just off Royal Mile.The hotel has 259 modern guest rooms and is within walking distance of the sights and nightlife of Edinburgh. The bar serves a selection of beers, wines, spirits as well as light meals & snacks 24 hours a day. Waverley Railway Station is just 0.5km and Edinburgh Airport is 13km away. Edinburgh Old Town, Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle are all within walking distance.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 6 more
3439Reviews94Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,444
  • 1,303
  • 463
  • 121
  • 108
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nessie99 wrote a review 19 May
Inverness, United Kingdom13 contributions6 helpful votes
I came here with my daughter on a break away ,the staff were fantastic,from start to finish ,even when we were checking out we asked if could store our luggage for couple hrs they did,room was really 100% spotless,housekeeping were polite ,helpful as was all staff we had encountered on our visit. I'd highly recommend ibis in Edinburgh as its quite near town centre,all amenities. We will be back
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Samiya7 wrote a review 17 May
Deerfield Beach, Florida1039 contributions221 helpful votes
We selected this hotel because it was one of the few remaining hotels on the Royal mile with availability. The location was prefect and close to a lot of things on our list to see so that was a plus. The hotel lobby is atrocious and probably one of the worst I have ever seen. It is a long cramped hallway with nothing but 2 stands as the check in desk and no where for guests to lounge. They did allow us an early check in so that was another plus. Our room was in the 830s and it was super quiet so that was another plus. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. We got daily maid service. The negatives - the room was small, the bathroom was tiny like a cruise ship bathroom and no hand towels were provided. I tried to get one from housekeeping but she didn’t understand me and handed me another big bath towel. We weren’t in the room much so it was okay for a few days. Breakfast was not included and should have been at the prices they charge.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Hotel has no parking
See more room tips
BrawBlether wrote a review 7 May
Ballarat, Australia2275 contributions146 helpful votes
I enjoyed a two night stay here in an 8th floor double room and would happily return next time I'm in Edinburgh and after a simple room. As you can see from the photos there is one chair and a small round table to sit at. The room has all the standard items you would expect from a basic hotel room - tea and coffee making facilities plus biscuits, shower gel/shampoo, a luggage rack. The only things missing that I would have liked was a face washer and tissues. As an Accor Silver member I was gifted a plate of delicious macaron biscuits (and two bottles of Scottish water, one still and one sparkling - I'm not sure if this is standard or also because I a silver member). I received a voucher for a drink in the hotel bar as well. I asked for, and was granted, a very generous late check out time. This allowed me to leave straight for my next destination without having to leave the room and put my bags in storage. The bed was comfortable. I found the pillows very thin though and there were no extras placed in the room. The window is fixed shut, which didn't really bother me and blocked all outside noise which was great. I heard little to no noise from the hallway or neighbouring rooms however I strongly advice bringing ear plugs because anyone coming and going or talking anywhere near the room would be disturbing. I took my shoes off in the room because they were floor boards and I was concerned for anyone in the room on the floor below mine, but whether or not noise from above was an issue for them or not I'm not sure. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming and made my stay particularly pleasant with their little extras and attention to detail. I really appreciated the higher floor room and the view I would definitely stay here again, although only if the price was right.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: top two floors, street facing
See more room tips
Ali G wrote a review 4 May
1 contribution
Arrived early to drop off luggage and offered an early check in which was much appreciated. From that point on it rapidly went down hill. Wasn’t told where the room was, where the bar or restaurant were located, how to book breakfast. Lost revenue there and then as we planned to eat that evening and have breakfast each morning.Found our room. followed a trail of crisps that were all over the carpet. On entry to the room it was basic as expected with the rate we paid. Impressed with the cleanliness in particular the bathroom. Headed out for dinner and returned to the room at about 8’30pm. The noise from the bar next door was unbearable, the room was literally vibrating. Popped down to reception and admittedly they offered us a different room, my point was that we should have been put in a different room in the first place. We were offered earplugs which I accepted and decided to get through the night as my daughter was asleep by this point. 3.00am wake up call by a very drunk gentleman who was convinced I was in his room and insisted on belting out Kylie Minogue sings till he passed out and his friend found him. Spoke to reception the next morning and the response was to hand me a contact number in case the same thing happened again. General lack of interest in the guest was apparent throughout, not rude or unpleasant. just generally didn’t seem to care. This hotel is in a great location and I am aware that IBIS offer no frills, budget accommodation but it came across as more of a hostel than a hotel and the customer service is massively lacking. Maybe we just picked a bad weekend but if you chose to work in a front facing role then you should raise a smile and at least try and show willing.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
D P wrote a review Apr 2022
County Down, United Kingdom14 contributions10 helpful votes
Nice hotel in a great location. Room was typical Ibis hotel room, so nothing to complain about. Same small towels as every Ibis! Fantastic breakfast and bar area, with a large outdoor area perfect in Summer! Staff very friendly. A pleasant stay
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Response from Tony Horan, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another stay with us. Sincerely, Antonello – Front Office Supervisor
Read more
US$108 - US$236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghCowgate / Old Town
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Which popular attractions are close to Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge?
Nearby attractions include Edinburgh Old Town (0.2 km), National Museum of Scotland (0.2 km), and The Real Mary King's Close (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, Doctors, and The Haggis Box.
Is Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.0 km), The Real Mary King's Close (0.3 km), and Edinburgh Vaults (0.1 km).
Is Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.