We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
19 North Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1SD Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Hilton Honors Discount
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$476
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Traveluro
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (737)
360
Panoramas (48)
Room & Suite (363)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 10/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Updated 10/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#91 of 164 in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Blending perfectly into the historic surroundings of the Royal Mile, Hilton Edinburgh Carlton is an iconic element of the city. The building dates back to 1900s and is part of the impressive North Bridge which links Edinburgh's Old and New town together, giving you easy access to countless shopping, dining and entertainment. Once one of Edinburgh's top department stores, the building was fully refurbished in 2016 to bring the décor back to its stylish best. Our modern accommodations offer complimentary WiFi access, ergonomic work area and Suite Dreams by Serta(R) beds with luxurious linens. Select an executive room or suite for extra space and amenities including access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast and refreshments.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Executive lounge access
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Hilton Honors Discount
2007Reviews104Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 994
  • 530
  • 246
  • 136
  • 101
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Christopher wrote a review Yesterday
Harlow, United Kingdom100 contributions22 helpful votes
On the surface this seems like a great hotel, centrally located and reception and bar area are spacious and modern…. Check in was chaotic as rooms were not ready (I arrived at 14:50 and given check in at 15:00 I couldn’t see that being an issue), I was asked to take a seat in the bar, and was assured by the receptionist she would bring my key just after 15:00. At 15:30 I gave up waiting went back and got a key (the digital key stated Requested until I checked out). I was booked in a Junior Suite (room 123), and I’ll start by saying I was glad to have been a Scout as a child, as the route from reception to the room is basically an expedition to the bowels of the hotel. Room is a nice size, but appalling badly designed and laid out, the sofa is in the wrong place to view the television (unless you enjoy watching sideways) but the sofa is also exceptionally uncomfortable, with cushions that slide off if you move slightly, there is a small ‘arm chair’ that is also rock hard, and faux leather, and weirdly the lounge area also contains the wardrobe, but don’t plan on fitting much in it if you are staying longer than a day or two. It’s also worth noting there is no mini fridge in the room as advertised. Executive lounge - pretty standard for any Hilton with one Bar - friendly bar man, good selection of whisky Restaurant - this was closed on Tuesday night, despite being advertised as open, was offered eating in the bar area, with the menu consisting of a poorly printed piece of A4, with a menu full of overpriced dishes you’d expect on the out of hours room service menu (not that you would find a room service menu), luckily there are plenty of dining options very close by. Breakfast - a good range of breakfast items served buffet style, including local items like haggis and potato scones, however, the temperature of the food was poor, I did point this out to a waitress, who shrugged and said ‘at least you won’t burn your tongue’
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Rooms are a long way from reception and not ideally suited to those with mobility issues or lots...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
sassy1242 wrote a review Jul 2021
Alton, United Kingdom183 contributions76 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Centrally located hotel. We are gold Hilton honors members and loved our executive king size modern room. What I did notice was the sound proofing - it was quite amazing. We had a front facing room on floor 3 and I didn’t hear a sound all night, Breakfast was a disappointment ( mainly due to having to pre-order a time slot). We were late handing in our booking slip for the next morning and could only get an 0800 slot which was slightly too early for our holiday so we skipped breakfast. I’m desperately looking forward to the buffets coming back again post Covid and executive lounge being re-opened! Efficient booking in - friendly staff. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Get your breakfast booking in early!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Livingston , Other at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Responded 17 Jul 2021
Dear Sassy1242, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked our city centre location. Sorry you could not get the time for breakfast you were looking for. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Kind Regards Claire Livingston General Manager
Read more
William wrote a review Yesterday
Sarasota, Florida2 contributions
We were in room 247. May 2022. All the staff were very well versed in how anyone likes to be treated. Ian(Liam) at reception was very accommodating in checking our taxi reservation.. he even printed our Covid test results for us. Ross in the restaurant/bar area was also very helpful. Breakfast buffet was excellent and very well stocked.. being an American the coffee could have been brought a bit quicker. Executive loings had a nice selection of liquid refreshments. Would stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
shellbee22 wrote a review Yesterday
Durango69 contributions93 helpful votes
This Hilton is not upgrading Diamond Members. They insisted the hotel was full, even when I showed them availability in all room categories for my 3 night stay. I guess lying is ok with them. I complained to corporate, and without explaining why they chose not to upgrade despite Hilton’s claim that if there are better rooms available, upgrades are given 72 hours before arrival, they gave me some points. Would rather be treated well. Then they insisted that they also refunded $100 to my credit card, which never happened. No point being loyal to Hilton anymore. I have never felt so unappreciated as a loyal member (for years). We were given the tiniest room and never received any water. After much arguing, we were upgraded on night two. But too little, too late.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Craig R wrote a review 23 May
Barrington, Illinois36 contributions20 helpful votes
Pros: location, clean, breakfast food was good, check in process was good with friendly staff at desk Cons: a bit dated, hard beds, Huge Con: breakfast manager extremely rude. Our first morning, our adult children sat a a table separate but near us. No staff would approach their table, and they had to seek out staff. She visibly rolled her eyes at them, loud deliberate sighs. Told them chef was too backed up and not to order off menu, but did not tell other guests at other tables. My son ordered anyways. She walked away without my daughters orders. The next day, She deterred us away from ordering off menu, because “only 1 chef was on staff and would be long wait.” We ordered anyways and got ordered items within 10 minutes. She was less dismissive to us but opening annoyed when our son requested pancakes. She again told him that it will take a very long time. They can in 5 minutes. My kids are 26, 24 & 20, so not children. I would avoid their breakfast as a result. Go somewhere else. Not a nice welcome to Edinburgh our first 2 days in Scotland
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire Livingston , Other at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Responded 2 days ago
Dear 987craigr, Thank you for your review, I am very disappointed to read your comments we usually receive very positive feedback about our breakfast team. Can you please email with details of your stay so I can investigate the issues you experienced. Kind Regards Claire Livingston claire.livingston@hilton.com
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$218 - US$415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo edinburgh, carlton hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
211
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Nearby attractions include Edinburgh Old Town (0.3 km), National Museum of Scotland (0.4 km), and The Real Mary King's Close (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, Howies Waterloo Place, and The Haggis Box.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hilton Edinburgh Carlton located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hilton Edinburgh Carlton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hilton Edinburgh Carlton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Polish, and Latvian.