We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2 Greenside Place, Edinburgh EH1 3AA Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Autograph
$214
View deal
Booking.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (636)
Room & Suite (197)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 10/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Updated 10/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#39 of 165 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 3 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1011Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 657
  • 198
  • 95
  • 41
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
TheClanster wrote a review Yesterday
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom150 contributions122 helpful votes
Lovely check in staff, super helpful and friendly. Room great although quirky to have the bed almost in the middle with patio behind your head. Only niggle was my patio door didn’t lock properly, the top section didn’t connect….being a worrier took a bit of getting used too. Location brilliant (great cocktail bar across the street :))
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
J9298XGjana wrote a review 8 Aug
Mill Valley, California10 contributions3 helpful votes
We had an excellent stay at the Glasshouse in Edinburgh. Mostly because of the best service I have ever had in a hotel...Jonathon was the best!! He was so fun to come back to every day and made sure our needs were taken care of. We also had a great roof top terrace room with a view of Calton Hill and a nice sitting area outside. The proximity to everything was very convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Roof top rooms have access to your own outdoor sitting area with views of Calton Hill.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mike F wrote a review 7 Aug
Aberdeen, United Kingdom5 contributions13 helpful votes
The rooms are fabulous. But that's kind of where it ended for us. The toilet at reception was out of order. The rooms are all over the place.. we needed to go up 3 floors, walk some distance and then go down 3 floors. The down lifts were out of order. Very limited facilities on site .. the snug bar is sterile and characterless. No restaurant. All in all unacceptable for what is typically £400/night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Ritter, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Dear mikefl1683CL, Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey on your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We are a unique hotel and and older building and therefore have limitations on modifications that can be made made. We are very proud to be a listed building in an iconic city. We did have an issue with the lobby bathroom which was quickly sorted by our maintenance team and apologise if this affected your stay in any way. Our snug lounge is a very relaxed environment with a a fireplace and usually get many complements especially leading to our 2 acre rooftop terrace. We thank you for your time and feedback which will be discussed in our next leadership meeting. Kind Regards, Ryan Ritter
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeffrey J wrote a review 5 Aug
New York City, New York5 contributions
Amazing hotel. Beautiful rooms and perfect location near old Edinburgh and close to everything. Don’t miss a drink in the courtyard looking up at the hill at sunset. The bar is lacking in food choices but the ample restaurant options nearby more than make up for it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ginny M wrote a review Jul 2022
MA57 contributions35 helpful votes
From check in, all of the staff were wonderful and very professional. Special thanks to Shubham and Zolof for brightening our day - each and every day. And for helping us along the way. This hotel is in a great location - within walking distance of Waverly Station; St. Andrew’s Square ( lots of great restaurants - Gaucho and Amarone were our favorites); Princess Street, Calton Park ( worth the trek up the hill for some great views of Edinburgh) and the Royal Mile. Most of the room either have a city view patio or access to a roof top garden. Snug Bar has over 145 types of whisky. Sorry we have to leave eventually but will definitely come back again and again.. and again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Great shipping center across the street - St James Quarter.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Daniel wrote a review Jul 2022
Salem, New Hampshire2 contributions1 helpful vote
Wasn't impressed. Beautiful location and rooms but service was sub-par for a property at this price point. Bar service was amateurish, hotel never reserved a taxi as they had promised, and the shower drain was clogged which resulted in a half inch of water flooding our bathroom to which they responded to just use the bath towels to sop up the water.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Would avoid this property
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Ritter, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear dlsmusic, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your recent stay with us. I do apologize for the service you received and will follow up with the teams to ensure does not reoccur. At the moments the taxi wait times are very long and may not arrive at the exact time. On a brighter note, I am delighted that you found the rooms to be clean and the location perfect for exploring our iconic city. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future and show you a true Glasshouse experience. Kind Regards, Ryan Ritter Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carlos wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
We had the worst experience of our trip in this hotel. The AC did not worked in room 76. We reported this in the middle of the day and the solution was to put a portable AC unit in our room, but for that to work we had to sleep with the terrace door open. The problem with that is that the hotel had a party right outside our terrace so we did not had a good sleep. When we tried to talk to the manager to see what solution he could give us, he told us that there was nothing we could do, that we had to wait for the morning manager the next day. We just came from a 13 hour flight wanted to rest in what is suppose to be a boutique hotel, and I had never experience a worst hotel night in my life.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Ritter, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Ccanalesu, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey on your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear about your experience and understand we have spoken this morning to find a resolution. Rest assured this is far from the standard expected from our hotel and will use your feedback to improve the services that we offer on a daily basis. Kind Regards, Ryan Ritter Rooms Division Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mayur k wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Location, ambiance, rooms , staff everything is best Specifically Recepection person Shubham 👍 he welcomed us very nicely and guided us properly abt Edinburgh… thank you so much Shubham great going… he personally taking care of everything guests.. hotel terrace is beautiful
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sharon B wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Completely over priced and not as advertised. Restaurant is not open, and when I asked for possibly bar snacks reply was “I’ll have to check if anything available and cook”. My room overlooked an office building and I asked for different but was told no because I only booked 2 nights. Bright spot was breakfast and nice reception. Otherwise would not recommend…
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Ritter, Guest Services / Front Office at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear A7244INsharonb, Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey on your recent stay with us,. I am very sorry to hear about your experience whilst with us and can assure you this is far from the level of service expected from our team. Your feedback will be discussed further in our weekly leadership meetings in order to improve the services offered in the hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Glasshouse again in the future and show you a true Glasshouse experience. Kind Regards, Ryan Ritter Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BeeMass wrote a review Jul 2022
Colleyville, Texas134 contributions76 helpful votes
First rate experience. This was my second time staying at this hotel and I love it here. The whole hotel smells amazing and every space felt clean and luxurious. As a Titanium and Lifetime Platinum member we got a nice upgrade to a Calton Hill room which had its own outdoor seating area with great views. The Snug bar is a cozy spot to have a drink. My only feedback is that the rooms were hot at night and the air conditioning never seemed to kick in.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$267 - US$491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the glasshouse hotel edinburgh, glasshouse edinburgh, edinburgh glasshouse, glasshouse hotel edinburgh, glass house edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghBroughton & Calton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include Calton Hill (0.4 km), Scottish National Portrait Gallery (0.5 km), and The Stand Comedy Club (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Howies Waterloo Place, L'Escargot Bleu Restaurant, and Pickles.
Is The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (0.9 km), The Real Mary King's Close (0.7 km), and Edinburgh Vaults (0.7 km).