We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
10/18 Windsor Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JR Scotland
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$147
View deal
Expedia.com
$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/26/22
FindHotel
$120
View deal
Hotels.com$151
Priceline$151
travelup.com$201
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (552)
Room & Suite (357)
Dining (42)

About

#114 of 165 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated in the lively theatre district of Edinburgh with the old town just minutes away, the Cairn Edinburgh has recently undergone a complete refurbishment to high standard. The hotel offers fantastic accommodation suited for leisure and corporate guests alike easily accessible by rail with the Edinburgh Waverley station only a 10 minute walk away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
1684Reviews47Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 529
  • 630
  • 305
  • 115
  • 105
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lindsay F wrote a review 9 Aug
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom10 contributions20 helpful votes
Stayed here during the fringe festival, extremely convenient for the events in new town. Hotel was super, just what you need.clean comfortable and with fab service, the breakfast service is excellent as is the food, choice is same every day but good quality. I will return to this little gem.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
William F wrote a review 6 Aug
Aberdeen, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
First time we have stayed here. We were down for an overnight stay as we were attending the Tattoo on the Friday evening. As others have said the congestion near the hotel isn't great but nothing they can do about that due to ongoing tram works. I arrived early hoping to get a parking spot at the hotel. Unfortunately they have only 5 spaces and they had all been allocated. I was informed by the receptionist that she could give me a ticket for a 40% discount at the public parking at the omicentre. I have parked there previously on overnight visits so had no hesitation in parking there again. It's only a few minutes walk from the hotel. We unloaded our bags at the hotel then parked the car. The room was comfortable as all we really want is somewhere to sleep as we were getting in late after the tattoo and leaving early after breakfast next morning. The room was spacious enough and the continental breakfast was enjoyable as far as I was concerned. I found the staff to be very friendly and had a lovely chat with a very pleasant gentleman who I think may have been the manager, apologies if not. On exiting the car park you insert your ticket you got from the machine on entry and it displays a price, you then insert the discount ticket from the hotel and it reduces the price by 40%. Contact less payment after that if required. My overnight parking stay cost me £14-40. The usual question is would you stay here again. Yes we would and if we come back down to Edinburgh for a show at the Playhouse or Christmas Market then this is where we will try and book.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 1 week ago
Dear William, thank you for the review I will make sure that i pass your comments on to the team, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and i hope you had a great time at the tattoo, and of course, visiting Edinburgh, we do hope to see you in the future and remember when booking directly with the hotel you save 15% off the full price Regards Helen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SeanDan wrote a review 5 Aug
Carnoustie, United Kingdom45 contributions7 helpful votes
A pleasant stay in a hotel very well located for getting to Edinburgh Playhouse as well as a short walk to the city centre and some great restaurants around. The hotel was only let down by the car parking facilities. This is a very tight car park which, even with one person directing and one very slowly driving around, ended in our car being scratched and, judging from the state of the wall and the response when I mentioned at reception I wasn’t the only one. Don’t use the car park if you have a car larger than a VW Polo. Don’t use the car park if there is only one space left. Don’t use the car park if you don’t have anyone to direct you. Save your paintwork and use the Q park at the Omni Centre.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Park at the Q Park instead of the hotel car park.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, thank you for your review, we are very sorry that when you used the car park your car was scratched, it is a very tight space to get round if you have a big car, we do hope this will not deter you from staying at the hotel in the future Regards Helen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
caroline B wrote a review Jun 2022
Portsmouth, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed here overnight on a business trip and the front of house staff were great, really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good, good selection and food piping hot. Only complaint was the amount of single use plastic used (see photo). Room was very small but clean. I personally found the bed very hard but I’m sure that would suit others. Room was very warm too but again that’s a personal choice. It was also fairly noisy but again, you expect that in a capital city! It’s about a 20 mins walk from the station and not one to do in heels!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Wear comfy shoes to walk from the station to hotel!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 2 Jul 2022
Dear Guest, thank u for your review, I'm glad to hear that the front-of-house staff was great unfortunately the noise issue we can't do much about as we are a city center hotel and we are happy that you enjoyed the breakfast we offered, i will pass on your comments to the team Regards Helen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yoana G wrote a review Jun 2022
Boulder, Colorado18 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed recently at the Cairns Hotel which was convenient to both Old Town and the Royal Mile (25 min. Walk to the castle) and Calton Hill (the path starts right across the main road from the hotel and is about 10 min. walk to the top). We chose this hotel because it offered amenities like private parking and in-house breakfast and bar that were appealing, and was walking distance to many of the sites were going to visit. The upsides of this hotel far out-weighed the downsides. First, the rooms were very comfortable, clean, spacious, afforded the ability to open windows and get fresh air (so many places you can’t open the windows!), and we especially enjoyed the shower in this hotel. In addition, it was the first place we stayed that didn’t have a “veal fattening pen” for a shower, and had a shower head that delivered good water pressure. The room was also spacious enough for our big suitcases and had adequate hanging space as well. We never tried the breakfast, but the bar was adequate. They offered a limited selection of beers, whiskies and wines, but it was more than adequate for a quick night cap. Last of all, even though there isn’t a hotel restaurant for dinner, there are several great restaurants in the neighborhood that are easy to walk to including Da Vinci’s (Italian), and Cafe Elmo (great breakfast spot). There is also a laundry and pharmacy just around the block from the hotel. The downsides weren’t entirely the fault of the hotel. This area is undergoing a crushing amount of road work, so not only did it slow traffic to a halt, but there was a labyrinth of barricades to navigate to get to old town just around the hotel. The drive to the hotel was painful. The traffic had slowed so much that it took us about 40 minutes late in the day to travel the last 0.5 mile to the hotel. Part of this is because of the road construction, and it is also partly due to the crushing amount of bus traffic in this particular area. Then, once at the hotel, we had trouble finding the private parking area for the hotel, which is around the back through a narrow archway and alley. (It cost 15 pounds a day to park). The directions from the front desk clerk were less than explicit and we ended up missing the locked doors to the lot and had to backup 0.25 mile through the narrow alley because there was nowhere to turn around. That said, once we got our car there, it was fine. It was just finding it that was difficult. Had the clerk said look for the bright colored blue doors just past the archway, we would have found it easily, but no such descriptors were included in the directions. In short, this is a nice hotel, fairly priced and well located. I would not hesitate to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for EXPLICIT directions to their parking area.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, thank you for your review, we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay here, the traffic at the moment is horrendous in leith due to the tram extension and we hope that it wont be too long before it ends, sorry to hear that the instructions to the car park were not told correctly and i have spoken t the team to make sure that this does not happen again, if you want to stay with us in the future remember that if you book directly with the hotel you will save 15% of the full price Regards Helen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Norma F wrote a review Jun 2022
Gateshead, United Kingdom1 contribution
The limited parking consists of 5 spaces which appears to be allocated on a first come basis. When we arrived all the spaces were full and we were told spaces would only become available the following day. We were told we could park on the street until a space became free. As all spaces on Windsor Street were taken, we had to park three streets from hotel at a rate of £2.60/hour. We were lucky that a guest booked out early the following morning and we were then able to park the car in the secure carpark for £15/night. Otherwise we would have been stuck for at the hotel feeding the meter for a further 3 hours .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, as the hotel is in the city center parking is few and far between and must be paid for by the meters provided, free on-street parking is from 5.30 pm to 8.30 am, our car park is small and unfortunately can only take 5 cars at a time to the check out time of 11 am, other than that there is paid parking at the qpark which if you stay at the hotel we give 40% discount there per 24 hours Regards Helen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna F wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
This is a lovely clean well run and friendly property service is excellent and the rooms are spacious, and well appointed. Tea and coffee facilities are well stocked and in good order. An ironing board and fan are very useful additions. I have worked in the ravel industry for well over 30 years and for anyone looking for a reasonably priced property I would have no hesitation in recommending. The only caveat to that is no lift which may be restrictive for anyone with reduced mobility.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: As no lift check if you have reduced mobility.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Dear Donna, thank you for your review, we are very happy to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one and i will pass on your coments to the team, unfortunately we dont have a lift and this is stated on all websites and booking engines Regards Helen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ann Marie E wrote a review Jun 2022
10 contributions1 helpful vote
The Cairn Hotel was clean, close to bus station and walkable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. On the last part of vacation the manager/assistant manager Prince was outstanding! My only complaint was that the room we were assigned to had a shower/tub combo that was unusable to both of us. The tub was to high to enter without being very surefooted. The morning breakfast was varied and good. Overall a very nice place with the exception of the shower/tub combo in our room.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: If you have mobility issues make sure you request a room on the main floor(s). No lift/elevator.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 22 Jun 2022
Dear Ann Marie, thank you for the great review, I'm sorry the bath was not suitable unfortunately all of our family rooms have this in them. our night supervisor Prince will be so happy with the review that you have given him and the rest of the review we will pass on to the team Regards Helen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paul m wrote a review Jun 2022
Lurgan, United Kingdom62 contributions30 helpful votes
We stayed for two nights. Clean & comfortable. Good location, easy 15 minute walk to the to the royal mile. We where going to the usher hall for a concert & it’s about 25 minute walk. We didn’t have breakfast here but it looks good. Our room was downstairs, great value @ £75 per night.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel for 15% discount
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 7 Jun 2022
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. I will share your kind words with all of the staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Edyta
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A Raz wrote a review Jun 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom330 contributions77 helpful votes
The hotel is only 10 minutes away from Waverly station. Staff are available 24 hours and very friendly/helpful. Room is quite spacious and the bathroom has a bathtub. My only small complains are: - TV is too small. You can't even watch properly from the bed. - I booked a double room, but they just combined two single beds together, so I still couldn't sleep in the middle because of the gap.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 7 Jun 2022
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. I will share your kind words with all of the staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Edyta
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cairn hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghLeith
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Which popular attractions are close to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh?
Nearby attractions include Edinburgh Treasure Hunts (0.2 km), Nelson Monument (0.5 km), and National Monument (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh?
Yes, secured parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mamma Roma, Pera - Turkish Mangal & Meze Bar, and The Walnut.
Is Cairn Hotel Edinburgh located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are there any historical sites close to Cairn Hotel Edinburgh?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palace of Holyroodhouse (0.9 km), The Real Mary King's Close (1.1 km), and Edinburgh Vaults (1.0 km).