We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort

Save
Share
Fowlis, Dundee DD2 5LP Scotland
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (1441)
Room & Suite (391)
Dining (38)

About

#8 of 19 Specialty lodging in Dundee
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Iron
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
1531Reviews98Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 608
  • 403
  • 215
  • 147
  • 158
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lois M wrote a review Yesterday
Dundee, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
We are currently staying at Piperdam and I admit the reviews had me worried but I shouldn’t have bothered. We are staying in a three bedroom lodge with hot tub. The lodge is spotless. Ok there might be a web on the ceiling but your in the middle of the woods that’s Mother Nature for you and yes there is a rip on the hot tub lid. But that’s it. The staff are amazing. Kirsty at reception explained the spa treatments available and as a result I have treated myself to a facial. We were at the archery today and Harry and his other colleague were brilliant. My daughter has a learning delay and they were amazing with her and took there time to go through it all and encouraged her to take part when at first she refused point blank to join in. Dinner last night at the restaurant was really good. Yes it’s a limited menu but the portions are huge and well worth what you pay. Please don’t be put off by the negative reviews. We are already looking at dates while we are here to book again before we leave.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cochrane93 wrote a review 15 Aug
1 contribution
Just back from a long weekend with family to celebrate a birthday. We hired the eagle and the osprey. Both lodges very tired looking and not clean. Outside of the lodge covered in moss, cobwebs, needed a good clean or even a sweep! Inside lodge dusty, dining table was sticky on arrival, rubbish on balcony, iron burns on bedroom carpets. Bathrooms had some mould and again very dusty. For the amount we paid, we were not pleased. Not sure that I would return unless they were maintained better.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gill Cree, General Manager at Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Responded yesterday
Hi, Cochrane93, Thank you for the review! We apologize for your disappointment with the accommodation; Did you contact guest services about this? We again apologize for the disappointment; do not hesitate to contact enquiries@piperdam titling 'FAO General Manager'
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosemary C wrote a review 13 Aug
Rincon de la Victoria, Spain29 contributions10 helpful votes
Popped in for lunch with some friends who were visiting from Australia because I thought we might have a nice view over the lake - shouldn't have bothered. Could hardly see out of the windows because of the cobwebs, bird mess & dirty hand prints. The place was full of flies - granted the door was open but the general state of the place is unkempt and needs a thorough clean. The "Chef's Special" soup was from a packet & so thin & salty that we couldn't eat it. When we brought this to the staff's attention, it was taken away with no apology. Altogether a very embarrassing experience and one which could easily be improved with the strategic use of some cleaning products.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gill Cree, General Manager at Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Responded yesterday
Hi, Rosemary C, Thank you for the review. We are sorry to hear your experience with us was unpleasant; we apologize for this. We will pass these comments to the restaurant staff.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan H wrote a review 13 Aug
Glasgow, United Kingdom4 contributions
We booked one of the forrester spa lodges for a week with extended family including my elderly parents and 4 children aged 4-14. I had read some negative reviews and was very aprehensive but we had a really great holiday. The lodge was as we expected and looked like it did on the website and the cleanliness was as we would have expected. We made use of the hot tub which was clean and lots of the activities on offer with soft play and cycling for the younger children along with activities for the teenagers and we used the pool each day. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times. The menu was small but adequate and the staff and service were very good, in the restaurant and throughout the site. As I said, I was really apprehensive having read negative reviews but we had a great time and would definitely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gill Cree, General Manager at Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Responded yesterday
Hi, Susan H, Thank you for the five-star review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us; we hope to see you again soon :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CB87 wrote a review 13 Aug
Scotland3 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed Monday to Friday in vegas lodge last week. When we arrived at 4 the lodge wasn’t quite ready as was still being ‘cleaned’. We were a party for 4 adults and 6 kids. The lodge itself has great potential as does the resort but it really seems to be getting less TLC than it needs and is looking run down. Our lodge was dirty, had been given a surface clean and a wipe but the bathrooms, the floors, carpets, walls units were very dirty, mould, stains, cobwebs. We felt we couldn’t walk around the lodge without our shoes on. We complained in the morning as the showers were so clogged up and dirty they were over flowing. The balcony was disgusting and had old cigarette ends and food along with tears of cobwebs. There was broken glass on the ground beside the hot tub and one of the children in our party ended up injured by this. We reported this in the morning, after queueing behind several other parties also complaining. The staff were apologetic and organised for a ‘deep clean’ to commence. We returned later that day to cleaner showers but nothing else was touched. The tumble dryer was broke , the fridge was not in complete working order (kept certain sections cold but not all). Our party ate in the bar area one evening and although the food was fine service was poor and slow with staff saying ‘we were lucky to get fed’. We witnessed some shocking service with a party of golfers being turned away because they were 20 minutes late, it’s like they don’t want business there! The hot tub was clean when we arrived but by day 3 it smelt mouldy, definitely need to be checking chemical levels more. All in all we had a good week but we would definitely not return to piperdam, it was extremely overpriced for what we paid and even after complaining a lot of our issues were not rectified. It’s centre parcs prices but does not near compare.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gill Cree, General Manager at Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Responded yesterday
Hi, CB87, Thank you for your review. We're sorry to read of the disappointments you have experienced; please email your feedback to enquirires@piperdam.com, titling 'FAO General Manager', where we can conduct an internal review and assist you further.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashley K wrote a review 13 Aug
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Absolutely dusting to pay over £1000 for a 5 day stay to only be allowed to get into your lodge at 6pm and have to be out at 9am on exit so for £1000 your only getting 3 full days. The first lodge we were offered was horrific there was body hair in the cutlery tray mud all over furniture, dried in food over counters and the smell was so bad my 13 year old was heaving. Paying for what they class as luxury lodges only to stay in something thats dirtier than my own home. We were given another lodge and were told if not happy we would have to go home, the lodge they did give us was better apart from the huge holes in the floor boards which we put chairs over to avoid. This is our second time as the first was so good but will definitely not be returning the whole place is filthy everything is run down and needing improvements, I feel sorry for the staff who are trying hard to keep holiday makers happy but are taking the brunt of the issues when it’s out their control. If it wants to succeed then money needs to be spent on upgrades and cleanliness or sadly it will never keep its head above water. As a family we understand covid has a lot to answer for but basic hygiene has nothing to do with covid. Would like to point out the young gentleman who was attending the hot tub every morning was amazing super polite friendly and couldn’t be apologetic enough sorry we never got your name
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gill Cree, General Manager at Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Responded yesterday
Hi, ashleykP6873CJ, Thank you for your review! We apologize for your disappointment with the accommodation; please do not hesitate to contact enquiries@piperdam.com titling 'FAO General Manager' where we can assist you further with your feedback :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HW17 wrote a review 10 Aug
1 contribution
Went prepared to find a slightly dirty and run down lodge but found nothing of the sort. We stayed for 3 nights in a Raeburn Lodge, these are on the grassy area rather than in amongst the trees. Our lodge was clean and smelled of disinfectant when we first entered (having been messaged to say it was ready at 2pm so we got in earlier than expected). The furniture was in good condition although the mattress on the double bed is very firm, for someone who likes a firmer mattress even I found it a little too firm. The hot tub was well maintained and was being refilled when we arrived. The swimming pool area was clean, every time we entered the changing rooms there was a member of staff making sure the floor wasn’t wet and the changing rooms were in order. The pool itself was nice and warm. Our kids (5 and 9) had lots of fun on the Rip Riders, and enjoyed the Soft Archery also - both members of staff running these events were friendly and good with the children. Only small disappointment was for my daughter who was sorry to find that most of the fairy houses were missing or broken on the fairy trail, the staff at the activity barn made up for this by gifting her a key ring and backpack which she hasn’t stopped playing with. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening, the burgers were good and we didn’t have a wait at all. There was a hen party came in as we were enjoying our meal but the staff had purposefully sat us on the other side of the room so we weren’t disturbed by any noise (not that the party was too noisy anyway). All in all we had a great weekend and hope to do it again one day :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gill Cree, General Manager at Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Hi, helenwP4168AQ, Thank you for the five-star review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us; we hope you will return soon :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannah M wrote a review 8 Aug
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Don't know where to start with this review problems are endless!! DISCUSTING, not as described! Lodge was filthy the carpets stained the showers looked like they haven't been cleaned for a while mould all the way around the bottom the doors. Tree debris all outside haven't been swept in years which get stuck in your feet the hot tub was full of them. Dead bugs on the window sills. Mould in the wardrobes. Advertised as a go active holday nothing go active about It in fact nothing going on. It is a real shame I have to rate this with one star if I could give non I would. please AVIOD AVIOD AVIOD!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Gill Cree, General Manager at Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Responded yesterday
Hi, F3790YZhannahm, Thank you for your review! We apologize for your disappointment with the accommodation; please do not hesitate to contact enquiries@piperdam.com titling 'FAO General Manager' where we can assist you further with your feedback :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul S wrote a review 5 Aug
4 contributions
I can see the prior reviews on here don't put paint the resort too favourably... Whether that prompted a response from the resort to book up their ideas, and we witnessed this - or whether it is just dependent on which lodge you actually get, I don't know - but all I can give is our experience. When we arrived, the staff were very friendly. Everything was ready for us, and we arrived at our lodge with everything very clean and tidy throughout. There was me and partner, with our dog. There was a nice welcome message with some bits and bobs to help keep things tidy, which was nice enough. For positives, I can certainly say that the Hot Tub and Sauna were a plus for us. We enjoyed spending a chilled evening in the hot tub and then into a nice comfortable bed. The bed was very comfortable, and we especially liked the quality of the pillows, which were very comfortable indeed. Negatives wise; yeah - the hot tub cover has definitely seen better days. It was ripped in places, and not befitting of the quality throughout the rest of the lodge. The sauna took a good 2 hours to reach any form of usable temperature, which wasn't ideal - but it was hardly an issue. It would have been nice to have a pamphlet included on arrival on how to do the basics in the lodge like operate the dishwasher, oven and sauna - but a quick google sorted that out. The only thing I could say we really bemoaned was the comfort of the couch, but that's really picking fault that isn't there considering it would suit somebody else's tastes. The holiday was a five day stay, so we had mapped out a few things to do around the area - a lot of which was away from the resort. (Trip up to Stonehaven for Auntie Betties Ice Cream is a must!!). When we did venture into the resort for some dinner, we were greeted, and dealt with in such a polite manner. The resort has a bar/restaurant, but for all intent and purpose, it is a Clubhouse. Having worked in these establishments in the past, I was expecting the food to be pretty basic, but was really impressed with the quality of the food. We had a burger and a pizza, and both were cooked with fresh ingredients, and was hot and flavourful too. Reasonably priced for a clubhouse, with a fantastic selection of drinks on offer for all tastes. Overall though - staff were fantastic, and smiled when we were greeted. It is brilliant to see that none of them were on mobile phones between serving (which is a massive bugbear of mine) and were attentive throughout - even noticing a ten minute wait for food, and promptly calling the kitchen. We really enjoyed our stay, and have already recommended to other couples!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: You can book for dinner in restaurant as it gets busy, otherwise, just eat in bar.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gill Cree, General Manager at Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Hi, paulsP417LF, Thank you for the four-star review! We are thrilled to read your comments and that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon :-)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maz wrote a review 5 Aug
1 contribution2 helpful votes
+1
Our summer holiday has been absolutely ruined. Bedroom carpets are badly stained. The hot tub has a lid that is in poor condition and the hot tub is full of debris off the trees. We came because we had been told it was an excellent place for a break. How wrong were they !!!! Bed sheets with holes in them shower which have button covers missing shower heads that dont fit. The place is full of cobwebs and grim and dust never been in such a dirty place if I could post the pictures I would
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Gill Cree, General Manager at Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Responded yesterday
Hi, Culture19914004228, Thank you for the review! We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience during your stay with us; we hope to find a resolution for you. Please do not hesitate to contact enquiries@piperdam.com titling FAO General Manager, where we can assist you further with your feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
piperdam golf & leisure hotel dundee, piperdam golf and leisure resort
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandDundee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort?
Nearby attractions include Tay Railway Bridge (7.4 km), Camperdown Country Park (5.5 km), and The Scottish Antique & Arts Centre (4.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Camperdown Elm, Cafe Circa @ Abernyte, and The Post House Coffee Co.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Balgarthno Stone Circle (Farm of Corn) (5.8 km) and St Peter's Church (6.5 km).
Is Piperdam Golf & Leisure Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.