We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$77
View deal
Expedia.com
$77
View deal
$77
View deal
Priceline
Travelocity$77
Hotels.com$77
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (177)
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (40)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 31/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 31/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 29 hotels in Dundee
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Invercarse Hotel is situated in Dundee's West End and has stunning views of the River Tay. All of our recently refurbished bedrooms have free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV with Freeview. Flanked by Californian Redwood Trees, the Redwood Restaurant and lounge bar are renowned for imaginative use of local produce and original menu choice. The restaurant overlooks mature gardens with views over the river and the lounge bar is relaxed and informal. The hotel's Ballroom is a popular setting for weddings during the summer months and hosts conferences throughout the year. Smaller rooms are available for hire to use as meeting rooms or private functions. Off street FREE parking for approximately 120 Cars. The hotel is only a 5-minute drive from the centre of Dundee and is ideally situated for both leisure and business trips. The cultural quarter of the city is within walking distance.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Electric vehicle charging station
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
River View
Languages Spoken
English
868Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 427
  • 289
  • 99
  • 33
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Frances G wrote a review Jul 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
We met wonderful staff who where very helpful. The room was spotless and location excellent. So was very disappointed to find the breakfast was poor. Mouldy bread on the toasting section. Dirty plates waiting for use at the hot section. The bacon and potato scones hard as brick and all the breakfast items were cold. However the coffee was delicious!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sarah b wrote a review Jun 2021
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom1527 contributions848 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We had 2 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Room was comfortable and clean and we were well looked after. Amenities pack was provided for tea and coffee and biscuits so we were looked after whilst adhering to covid processes. On the second day housekeeping left a bundle of fresh towels and tea and coffee making so we didn't go short of tea, a must have for me during any stay. Comfortable bed and windows that are easy to open, essential on warm nights. A lovely quiet hotel and we slept really well with no disturbances until the soft sound of the birds waking up in the morning..bliss. Plenty of hot water for showering. Good Wifi, well positioned TV. We didn't have time to try the restaurant this time as we were eating whilst out and about, but if love to cone back again and try dinner here. The feel of the hotel is of a welcoming country house but all modern comforts you'd expect. Friendly welcoming people on reception. Plenty of car parking. Felt very safe and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Burke, General Manager at Invercarse Hotel
Responded 30 Jun 2021
Thank you for your very positive review following your 2 night stay at the hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit so much and that you plan to return. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Read more
Gail C wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
Lovely hotel. Very helpful staff. Room lovely. Disabled facilities in room great. Was with my mum who uses wheelchair. Some difficulty in accessing room because of stairs. Had to use fire door. Go out of hotel to external path. Would advise any wheelchair user to check with hotel to ensure needs met.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
dupes1972 wrote a review Jul 2022
11 contributions5 helpful votes
evening meal food lovely and value for money . lots of banging doors at night , there was a wedding this evening so people coming back to there rooms until around 1am. you could hear people using the toilet and sinks from the rooms next door so didnt have a great night sleep. dirty razor top left in shower soap tray. dirty glasses and bits of mould in water container at breakfast. the breakfast looked nice but was totally put of with the water.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Alison N. wrote a review Jul 2022
Hampshire, United Kingdom22 contributions10 helpful votes
The Invercarse hotel staff are absolutely amazing! Nothing too much trouble...so friendly, caring, approachable and so attentive! The hotel cleanliness is excellent, as always. We stayed in a King accessible suite this time and it was perfect with its own patio doors. It was great being able to open the window that was part of the patio door but still keep the patio doors locked whilst sleeping. The bed was super comfy, quality of linen and furnishings of a high standard and the amenities in the room were great. The wet room was huge with lovely toiletries. The tea/coffee tray was well stocked and housekeeping were more than happy to accommodate if we needed more. Fresh towels were supplied daily (although we re-used ours more than once... as we would at home....trying to do do our little to help the environment). There is always a friendly, warm welcome at reception and a wee chat if they're not too busy. The bar is very comfortable with a well stocked selection of drinks. The cake was delicious for our afternoon cuppa! The restaurant has spectacular views of the beautifully tended hotel gardens and the River Tay beyond....We've taken so many photos of this view and they never live upto how beautiful it actually is in person. The food served in the restaurant is exceptional, so flavoursome. Great variety too. Worth a visit even if you're not a resident...but remember to book so as to not be disappointed incase they're fully booked! Also, what a view for enjoying a delicious breakfast. Great choice of fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurts and fruit juices. Cooked breakfast has a great range and then lovely, fresh cooked sweet pastries to finish off with a cuppa. The restaurant/bar staff are very attentive and always on hand with a friendly manner. The hotel itself is in a really nice, quiet location with plenty of free parking. Approx 5 mins drive from town centre but noticed there's a local bus service just beside hotel entrance. A huge heartfelt "thank you" to Sean, Paul and the wonderful staff for looking after us so well xxx
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Patrick B wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Suzy displaying her skill at pouring a Guinness in a one go was a sight to see... Food very good, clean rooms and friendly staff. Great view from the restaurant stretching out over the river. Will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Susan M wrote a review Jul 2022
Chelmsford, United Kingdom71 contributions46 helpful votes
We have stayed here a few times over the years. We were here for 2 nights this week for a family funeral. The room was a good size and clean with a good shower. (We had upgraded) Breakfast had a lovely selection although the sausage wasn’t of great quality. The food made for the wake was lovely. Fresh sandwiches, cakes etc. The staff were all very friendly. On arrival there was a man being trained who was smiling and friendly but the lady training him was not! Not the most modern hotel we have stayed in but perfectly clean and welcoming. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Lots of parking and accessible rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
VoyageVogage123 wrote a review Jul 2022
Bangor, United Kingdom134 contributions110 helpful votes
Had booked a standard room for 3 adults for a graduation visit to Dundee. We were pleasantly surprised when we walked in to find our son had his own separate room off ours, complete with TV and coffee/tea making facilities. We just had to share the bathroom. Was great value, private & spacious. We were in room 209.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sheena M wrote a review Jul 2022
8 contributions3 helpful votes
The staff were pleasant and helpful but are let down by company needing to attend to a few matters in a competitive market. We booked 3 rooms for our stay at the Invercarse hotel in Dundee. 1. King Accessible Room 2. King Room and 3. Quadruple Room. The King Accessible room was anything but accessible. It is located at the very back of the hotel (which is built on a hill) and this requires a very long walk from the reception area and the negotiation of several sets of steps ranging from 3/4 - 5/6 steps. Our party included a 93 and 90 year old who both use walking sticks and zimmer frame. We were told this room was the disabled / elderly room due to the patio door exiting to the outside driveway. However it is simply not acceptable to have to endure a trip outside to move between the bedroom and the dining areas particularly if it is dark and raining. It would be far better to say to potential guests that you cannot accomodate elderly /disabled guests than to have them cope with having to go outside to access the rest of the hotel. Many elderly guests were staying that night and found their bedrooms too far away from reception/dining area. In addition the patio door lock was loose and this had either not been checked or ignored, we had to fix the lock ourselves using a penknife screwdriver. Quadruple Room This was used by 3 young adults in 20s. The sheets on 2 of the beds were covered in a thick (and I mean thick) layer of dust. In addition to visible dust that had to be brushed away, the sheets were musty. This we assumed was due to the room being serviced many weeks/months prior to its next use- but again unacceptable. The other rooms were clean however. King Room The mattress was terrible with a dip. Mattress really needs to be renewed. I felt as if I was rolling to one side and constantly had to shift position. The hotel generally had a very basic feel to the rooms which is fine but frankly Premier Inn do that alot better - and so that is where I would go in future. I was disppointed with our group's stay at the Invercarse whichh is a shame as I stayed here about 5 years ago and it was much better.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Burke, Owner at Invercarse Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. I apologise for the inconvenience faced by your relatives staying in our disabled access room. It would be unfair and untrue for us to state to guests who are elderly that we cannot accommodate them. Our Quad Room was used the night prior to your stay on 28th June. I would therefore be extremely surprised if there was "a thick layer of dust" accumulating on the beds between the room being serviced at 11.00am and your check-in later that day. We do not have any rooms that are serviced weeks or months prior to use - we are a busy hotel and our rooms are in use constantly. Again, I am surprised that you found the mattress in your room so uncomfortable that you could not enjoy your sleep - you have left a rating of 4/5 for sleep. I cannot accept that you find the hotel to be on the same level as a Premier Inn. I must say that is a ridiculous comparison. Our Hotel is set in its own private wooded gardens, it has a bar, restaurant, events spaces and provides 3 meal services throughout the day. Our room furnishings and decor are also markedly higher than a budget hotel. I would note that a member of your party has left this same review on our internal review site and has stated that we should offer him a free/reduced price overnight stay in order to be "convinced there are good quality comfortable rooms to be had". I would hope this is not the purpose of your review, and that your feedback is given in a constructive manner to allow us to continue to improve our standards.
Read more
1408MaggieM wrote a review Jun 2022
Dundee, United Kingdom12 contributions9 helpful votes
I was lucky enough to be invited to a private function and the room we were in was a perfect size for 40 people with a spectacular view of the Tay. Buffet was delicious and staff very attentive. The following day, because of the experience the night before, I treated my friend to lunch at the hotel and that did not disappoint either. Food amazing and again, staff attentive and not overpowering. Definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$70 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western dundee, dundee best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Invercarse Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandDundee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Invercarse Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Invercarse Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Axe Hurling (3.7 km), Escape Rooms Dundee (4.0 km), and Dundee Museum Of Transport (4.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Invercarse Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Invercarse Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Invercarse Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Invercarse Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Invercarse Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Camperdown Elm, The View Restaurant, and Piccolo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Invercarse Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Invercarse Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Invercarse Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Verdant Works (2.6 km), Drinking Fountain (5.4 km), and Wishart Arch (3.8 km).
Does Invercarse Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Invercarse Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.