We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
142 Bangor Road, Belfast BT18 0EX Northern Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$188
View deal
Hotels.com
Algotels
Priceline
Hurb$251
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1041)
Room & Suite (197)
Dining (196)

About

#25 of 54 hotels in Belfast
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. Bright, spacious and individually decorated, each of the 98 bedrooms and suites in the Culloden Estate and Spa is comfortable and inviting. Our rooms are furnished with a King Koil 'Cloud Bed' and luxurious bed-linen to ensure a good night’s sleep. After a restful night, guests can wake up to wonderful views over the hotel gardens and down towards Belfast Lough.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Airport transportation
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
2498Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,673
  • 320
  • 232
  • 156
  • 119
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ian M wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions1 helpful vote
From the moment you arrive at the Culloden you feel very relaxed the surrounding are lovely ,with just a glimpse of the sea.Rooms are a great size as are the bathrooms ,most importantly a good sized comfortable bed.Vespers was the restaurant we used as part of our stay and again nothing to fault.My better half used the spa and also had treatments which she raved about.All in all this is what you would expect from a hotel of this stature.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Brad2326 wrote a review Yesterday
NIreland12 contributions7 helpful votes
We arrived at reception nice welcome from the team,on arrival to the room noticed a tray of half eaten pizza at our door room 419 and it was still there nearly 4 hours later .The spa was great we enjoyed the new jacuzzi nice touch.Had dinner at the cultra inn it was nice the server was really good .Big disappointment was breakfast we thought as it was our anniversary we would have it in our room ,big mistake lots of food missing eggs prunes ,sauces etc .I phoned down to reception 3 times no answer,nobody picked up as we paid separately for breakfast £50 what a waste of money .5star not this time . We have stayed at the culloden a few times now but this was a let down sorry.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Savvyeater wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution3 helpful votes
I visited the bar in the evening on the 4th December with my brother who was visiting from New York. We just wanted to have some drinks and bar food. The hotel was well decorated for Christmas with a roaring fire adding to the lovely ambience. When we got there we were directed to the bar by the lady at reception. The bar staff seemed very cold and unfriendly. They did say we could sit anywhere we liked. When it came to orders my first choice was not available and that was fine with me as a restaurant can run out of produce by the end of the week. My brother ordered the duck and I ordered the Mauritian Prawn Curry. When the food arrived, my brother's duck was fine but my Prawn Curry was tasteless with dry rice which I can only think must have been pre cooked or a boil in the bag rice. Having been to south Asia, I know this is not what a prawn curry is. The prawn curry served was watery with massive slices of onions which had not been cooked properly. As for the rice, even the worst takeaways do not serve dry rice. I did not complain as it was the last day my brother was in Northern Ireland and the staff seemed to cold to approach. I suggest the chef try some supermarket curries to have an understanding about what an average curry even tastes like. It was definitely not worth £18. For what we spent on drinks and food at the Culloden, we could have had a much better meal in any of the restaurants in Holywood. I do hope you take this review on board and improve on the food and service as the Culloden is a beautiful hotel where customers expect the best!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall Burns, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Pralita M Thank you for your comments after your disappointing experience in the Lough Bar, and I apologise for the quality of food that you received. Since your visit on the the 4th December, we have updated our menu in the Lough Bar, which our team of trained chef's have all had some input into. The dishes have all been created and tasted by our Executive Chef and we hope you will return and try what we have on offer. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lela McG wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Went for a couple's retreat to celebrate my birthday, however the service was very disappointing. The room had many issues such as broken lamp and hairdryer, shower door broken and dust in the wardrobe. We had a dinner for 2 included in the Vespers fine dining restaurant, the food was fine but the service was quite shocking. The meal took over 3 hours (not in a good way) and was very inattentive, we had to ask multiple times for water and there was no chance of getting a second beverage. The staff seemed disgruntled by being there. We asked for our complimentary wine and we're told that we had to have it in the bar afterwards for no reason, even though we had no drinks for dessert. The tea and coffee came eventually and was wrong but we gave up trying! We went to the bar afterwards which had no atmosphere or music. In talking to a large group with kids, they also had the same issues. The spa was nice but a little dated, as it was a Saturday it was full of day spa guests with no day beds available. I had a full body massage which was ok but a little rushed as it was very busy. You also have to walk through the hotel bar areas in your robe to get back to your rooms, if you don't want to change which is odd. Overall, I wouldn't recommend. In paying £440 for a one night dinner stay, I expected a lot better service and more luxury. I suggest going for dinner in the Culta Inn and look around the grounds instead of paying the inflated stay prices.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall Burns, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Lelamcg Thank you for your comments after your stay with us and I am sorry you had some issues whilst you were. Please be advised that I have passed on all of your feedback to the relevant department manager so that each issue can be addressed and actioned or additional training given to their staff team, to ensure that the same issue does not happen to future guests. We do hope you return to see us again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RPFinlay wrote a review Jan 2023
Holywood, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
A beautiful place to get away from it all. The quality of the service and the surroundings can only make you feel special, which is what any 5 Star Hotel experience should deliver and the Culloden does it very well. I can honestly say that the quality of the food we ordered via room service was probably the best I've ever had. There aren't many hotels left that exude such seemingly effortless old world style, so a massive thank you to all the staff that made our stay in this special place so enjoyable. It's not exactly cheap, but I would suggest that you get what you pay for and for once in a while treat, a very worthwhile experience!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall Burns, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear RPFinlay Thank you for your lovely comments after your stay with us. I am delighted you had a lovely experience whilst you were here and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Estate in the near future. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arthur Fleck wrote a review Jan 2023
17 contributions25 helpful votes
This hotel was such a massive let down. Although set in magnificent grounds and with luxurious suites, the food and service were such a disappointment. We attended a celebration, where we were one of many guests served raw beef (literally served with blood on top). This dangerously undercooked meal was served by foreign staff with faces on them that made it clear they disliked both their work and the people they were serving, there was no communication whatsoever. The whole four course meal wouldn't have filled a toddler, such were the miniscule portions. The suite was lovely, but too warm and the room temperature controls were too complicated to cool it. The tea/coffee machine was also overly complicated and we were unable to use it. Breakfast the following morning was self service, which was a relief, because we went to bed hungry the previous night. For the extortionate price, I would never stay here again, I've stayed in much superior 4 star hotels, even Premier Inns, with friendly staff, good food and you don't drive away feeling utterly ripped off.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall Burns, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear SportsterIron883 Thank you for your comments after your visit to the hotel in May 2022 and I am sorry that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. In regards to your meal, we apologise that you felt your beef was undercooked. Please be assured that your comments were forwarded onto our Executive Chef who passed on your concerns to his team. In relation to the air conditioning unit and coffee machine which you felt was too difficult to use, please be assured that if you had contacted our reception desk they would have sent a member of staff to assist you to show you how to work the appliances. We apologise again for any inconvenience caused and do hope you return to see us again in the near future. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
david m wrote a review Jan 2023
Hillsborough, United Kingdom1 contribution
Stayed in the Culloden Estate and spa, hotel as always amazing . Dinner in Vespers was excellent , very helpful staff. Highly recommended the hotel in every way. Looking forward to my return on February 24th.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall Burns, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear davidmD9584DN Thank you for your review after your stay in the Culloden Estate & Spa. I am delighted that you had a lovely experience whilst you were here and that you enjoyed Vespers. We look forward to welcoming you back again on the 24th Feb. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LuxeTripper wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This was my first experience at the Culloden Spa and it was a complete joy! Kim was my therapist and she absolutely made the experience beyond amazing. Her natural energy brought an immediate calm and pampered atmosphere to the experience. She was sure to explain every step of the process and was an absolute pleasure to chat to. My back and shoulders feel wonderful - Loved the entire experience. I would go back and definately recommend this spa. Thank you again Kim.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall Burns, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear J9394QJluxetrip Thank you for your review after your visit to the Estate and I am delighted you had a wonderful experience at the Spa. Thank you also for your lovely comments in regards to Kim which I have passed onto her. We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tim B wrote a review Jan 2023
Banbridge, United Kingdom22 contributions40 helpful votes
Just enjoyed a wonderful stay in the Culloden, and a superb meal in Vespers Restaurant. It’s the first time we’ve stayed since Lockdown, and have been spoilt with a relaxed stay in the charming surroundings, a lovely room and friendly/professional staff. We finished our stay with dinner in Vespers restaurant, enjoying exceptional food and first class service. Michael and his team provided a knowledgeable, efficient and friendly service throughout our evening, while the chef & team in the kitchen gave us amazing food that both looked and tasted delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall Burns, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Tim664 Thank you for your review after your stay in the Estate and I am pleased you had a good experience when you were here, as well as having a delightful meal in Vespers. Please be assured that I have passed on your lovely comments to our Executive Chef and to Michael to pass onto his team and we hope to welcome you back to the Estate in the near future. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Seaneen M wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
We spent the day /night at the hotel to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday. The service was outstanding from start to finish; the staff were so friendly and accommodating. My mother had a treatment at the spa while we took our children to the pool. The kids had a ball and I made the most of the sauna and steamroom while they swam. The meal in The Cultra Inn was beautiful and I was particularly impressed by the standard of the kids' meals, they were really good value for money. The highlight of the stay was the breakfast on the Sunday. The food was outstanding and the waiter went out of his way to get my 5 year old son Nutella for his toast! There was also a great range of gluten free options to suit my dietary needs. The hotel hotel room was spotless and the beds were extremely comfortable which lead to a great night's sleep. Overall, a great stay and one of the nicest hotels we have been too.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Niall Burns, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Stay617133 Thank you for your review after your stay with us to celebrate your mother's 70th birthday. I am delighted that your mother and the rest of your family had a great time whilst you were at the Estate, and that you were able to visit the Spa and Cultra Inn. I am also pleased that found our staff to be friendly and accommodating and that you were happy with your room and had a great nights sleep. I do hope you return to see us again at some point in the future. Kind regards i am also pleased that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$236 - US$331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
culloden estate hotel holywood, culloden estate and spa, culloden hotel, culloden estate holywood
LOCATION
United KingdomNorthern IrelandBelfast
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CULLODEN ESTATE & SPA - UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Culloden Estate & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Culloden Estate & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Clip 'n Climb Dundonald (7.2 km), HMS Caroline (7.8 km), and Ulster Folk Museum (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Culloden Estate & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Culloden Estate & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Culloden Estate & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Culloden Estate & Spa?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Culloden Estate & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mayur Indian Restaurant, Tale of Spice, and Noble..
Are there opportunities to exercise at Culloden Estate & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Culloden Estate & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Culloden Estate & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Culloden Estate & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Culloden Estate & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Culloden Estate & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parliament Buildings (5.6 km), Andrew Jackson Centre (8.0 km), and Grey Point Fort (4.7 km).