We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Culloden Estate & Spa

142 Bangor Road, Belfast BT18 0EX Northern Ireland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (1164)
Dining (201)
Room & Suite (200)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#26 of 48 hotels in Belfast
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Standing high on the wooded slopes of the Holywood hills, overlooking Belfast Lough, is the magnificent Culloden Estate and Spa, one of the most prestigious 5 star hotels in Northern Ireland.Originally built as an official palace for the Bishops of Down, the Culloden stands in 12 acres of beautiful gardens and is 5 miles from Belfast City Centre. The exclusive Spa offers health and leisure facilities, and a full range of ESPA spa therapies. Bright, spacious and individually decorated, each of the 98 bedrooms and suites in the Culloden Estate and Spa is comfortable and inviting. Our rooms are furnished with a King Koil 'Cloud Bed' and luxurious bed-linen to ensure a good night’s sleep. After a restful night, guests can wake up to wonderful views over the hotel gardens and down towards Belfast Lough.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
2611Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,747
  • 329
  • 243
  • 166
  • 126
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
daryls1986 wrote a review Feb 18
Belfast, United Kingdom64 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
Just before I start I’m not even sure the words I choose to write will do justice for this hotel. Me and my fiancée recently visited the Culloden to celebrate our engagement, on arrival we were presented with two cupcakes with congratulations written in chocolate on a plate in our room. Oh did I also mention the unexpected upgrade, this was totally unexpected but very much appreciated. The spa facilities are amazing and the place is so clean. Me and my fiancée visited this multiple times during our stay. We had a drink in the bar area, which was so relaxed and very reasonably priced. The selection of speciality teas as well as different coffees was excellent. The breakfast offering was amazing, there was so much choice on the self serve Buffett as well as the option to order extras like omelettes etc All of the staff we interacted with were so friendly and professional at all times. I suppose I should be unbiased and say some not too positive, the only thing I can really say is I was disappointed our stay had to end. We will certainly be returning though. This hotel offers a true five star experience for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James McGinn , Other at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear daryls1986 Thank you so much for your lovely review after your experience at the Culloden Estate & Spa. We are delighted that you and your fiancee had a wonderful time celebrating your engagement whilst you were here, and that you were able to avail of the facilities we have on offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Estate in the very near future. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JMcClements wrote a review Feb 18
Comber, United Kingdom97 contributions31 helpful votes
A wonderful day spent at the Spa with my sister, to celebrate a special birthday. We enjoyed the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi before having a facial. Very relaxing indeed! The changing facilities were clean and spacious. Many thanks to the helpful staff 🥰
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James McGinn , Other at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear JMcClements Thank you for your review after your relaxing experience at the Spa. We are delighted that you and your sister had a lovely time celebrating a birthday and we hope that you return to see us all again in the very near future. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jackie A wrote a review Feb 13
2 contributions
Hotel was excellent. Excellent breakfast and service. Room and the spa were very good, Staff very very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much bother. Dinner at the Cultra inn was substandard, and ruined the break.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James McGinn , Other at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jackie A Thank you for your feedback after your stay with us and we are delighted that you had a lovely stay. Your comments have been forwarded to the Cultra Inn so that issues can be addressed with the team. Someone will also be in touch with you in regards to your dining experience. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul M wrote a review Feb 11
4 contributions2 helpful votes
I am over visiting family for a funeral. Staying in a nice spot in Belfast. We travelled down for some grub to Culloden estate and Spa. It is a lovely place to look at but the food left most of us dissapointed at tge price tag. Bland food but we are aware everyone has their off days
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from James McGinn , Other at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear paulml1045MV Thank you for your comments after your dining experience in the hotel and I am sorry that you were not happy with the quality of food that you received. Please be assured that I have passed on your feedback to our Executive Chef so that he can address his team to ensure that this does not happen to future guests. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sam T wrote a review Feb 4
Bangor, United Kingdom94 contributions55 helpful votes
My family went to The Culloden to celebrate my husband’s 60th Birthday with an Afternoon Tea. Whilst it’s not cheap at £40 per head it really is a very special place to experience an Afternoon Tea. My son is Coeliac and they offered him a Gluten Free alternative which was very similar to ours.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from James McGinn , Other at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 363samt Thank you for your review after your afternoon tea experience with your husband to celebrate his 60th birthday. I am delighted that you had a lovely time when you were here and that you son also enjoyed the afternoon tea that our pastry chef prepared for him also. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Amy Pag wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions3 helpful votes
We chose the Culloden for our wedding anniversary lunch as it was a special occasion and when I booked it I mentioned it was for our anniversary. When we got there no one greeted us even though we had reserved a table for lunch at the loch bar. Eventually a member of staff working in another department acknowledged us and said he would get someone to come over to us. When we got served, nobody acknowledged that it was our wedding anniversary and we had to ask a different waiter if we could order food. The waiter that served our food was very helpful, but nobody had acknowledged it was our anniversary. Very poor. Will not be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from James McGinn , Other at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear miapA3632QA Thank you for your feedback after your disappointing experience at the hotel to celebrate your wedding anniversary. Please accept our apologies as we understand how disheartening it must have been for you both to not have your special day acknowledged. Please be assured that your comments have been forwarded to our Restaurant Manager so that he can address the lapse in service with his staff team so that they can make improvements for future guests. Once again we apologise for the inconvenience you faced on your special day, Please let me know if you decide to come back again and I will personally look after your booking to ensure you have a lovely experience. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ronniel55 wrote a review Jan 2024
County Dublin, Ireland16 contributions6 helpful votes
Lovely hotel - real Christmas vibes. Will be back. Comfy room and lovely decor for Christmas. Staff were great and welcoming. Used the spa, it was quiet and had everything needed. Taxi to town and back
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Gavin Rimmer, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded Jan 8, 2024
Dear Ronniel55 Thank you for your comments after your stay with us over the festive period. We are delighted that you had a good experience whilst you were here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sharon S wrote a review Dec 2023
46 contributions21 helpful votes
We were here for Christmas Day lunch. We opted for the buffet. Prosecco reception on arrival was lovely. We were shown to our table and then left, Nobody asked us if we’d been before, showed us the layout or wished us a good day (which has been done in the past at different Hastings Hotels) Minor details but they make such a difference. Very young waitresses serving the drinks who were lovely but inexperienced. Live singer on who was fantastic, He created a great atmosphere. Our food was delicious. Every course was beautiful, We will definitely go back but just wanted to mention the little things that would have made this a five star review. ,
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gavin Rimmer, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded Jan 2, 2024
Dear 186sharons Thank you for your comments after your stay at the Estate over the Christmas period. I am delighted that you had a lovely experience but will take on board your feedback from the day to ensure that all staff are fully trained and that on arrival, you are greeted appropriately and correctly. We hope you have very Happy New Year and look forward to seeing you at some point in the near future. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Barbara K wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
When we arrived there was a mix up with the booking we had originally booked for dinner in restaurant the receptionist explained to us the restaurant wasn’t open but assured us we would receive the same menu in the bar where we would be eating. This was not the case it was just snacks in bar which was cod and very draughty. All the tables at the fire were reserved. NeXT morning they were all reserved again managed to find a lovely seat in the drawing room by the fire ordered 2 coffees after a time the manager came and asked us to leave as it was set up for afternoon tea bearing in mind it was only 10.30 am there was no other seats available only in the draughty bar so we just left. Very disappointed as I was looking forward to this stay for a long time never be back
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t expect to get a table by the fire check if restaurants open
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gavin Rimmer, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded Jan 2, 2024
Dear BarbaraK Thank you for your comments after your stay with us and I am sorry you were had a disappointing experience whilst you were here. Please be advised that I have forwarded your feedback to the relevant managers so that they can address each issue with their staff team to ensure the same issues do not happen again to future guests. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jimbob Doherty wrote a review Dec 2023
Bushmills, United Kingdom28 contributions74 helpful votes
A serious clean needed and awful experience !!! We stayed her over Xmas period and the food was awful , rooms not hoovered , phones broke in rooms, - photos can be provided … paid 400 a night for a hostel experience _STAY AWAY as this place is a complete dump !!! - staff and management didn’t care , … 5/100 at most
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Stay way if wise !!!!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gavin Rimmer, General Manager at Culloden Estate & Spa
Responded Dec 28, 2023
Dear Jimbobdoherty_1989 Thank you for your review after your stay with us and I am sorry you had a disappointing experience. Please could you send your contact details to pa@cull.hastingshotels.com so that we can contact you personally in regards to your stay. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Belfast area.
PRICE RANGE
₱11,539 - ₱17,029 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
culloden estate hotel holywood, culloden estate and spa, culloden hotel, culloden estate holywood
LOCATION
United KingdomNorthern IrelandBelfast
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CULLODEN ESTATE & SPA - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Culloden Estate & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Culloden Estate & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Escapade HQ (7.2 km), Clip 'n Climb Dundonald (7.2 km), and HMS Caroline (7.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Culloden Estate & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Culloden Estate & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Culloden Estate & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Culloden Estate & Spa?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Culloden Estate & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mayur Indian Restaurant, Little India Restaurant, and Tale of Spice.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Culloden Estate & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Culloden Estate & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Culloden Estate & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Culloden Estate & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Culloden Estate & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Culloden Estate & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parliament Buildings (5.6 km), Andrew Jackson Centre (8.0 km), and Grey Point Fort (4.7 km).