The 1852 Hotel

The 1852 Hotel

Traveler (34)
Town Square
Dining (27)
The 1852 Hotel
Videos (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#39 of 48 hotels in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Very Best Beds | Magnificent Cocktails | World Class Coffee Say goodbye to the boring hotel chains.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
Hotel links
Special Offer:SIGN UP AND SAVE 10% OFF ALL FUTURE STAYS

Location

13 Lower Crescent, Belfast BT7 1NR Northern Ireland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Belfast Intl Airport
20.1 km
See all flights
Belfast City Airport
Botanic
1 minAnkara Metro
71Reviews0Q+A20Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 30
  • 16
  • 15
  • 5
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Paul M wrote a review Oct 2022
Manchester, England, United Kingdom33 contributions51 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a wonderful stay here, arrived early morning before check in so left our bags in a secure room, came back just after 3 and self checked in on a pad on the wall which was really easy, went through door and a fridge with free beer! We were on top floor (59 steps we counted 🤣) the place looked like it had recently been refurbished as the carpets looked new. Room was huge with a big king size bed and what felt quite luxurious bedding which had to be one of the comfiest beds I have had and best nights sleep in a hotel. Tea, coffee making, big flat screen TV, ironing board, iron, hairdryer… Bathroom again was huge with a large walk in shower with a rain head as well, whole place was spotless. They weren’t offering breakfast but a great cafe Mama Mays right opposite that did a fantastic breakfast for £8. Only a few minutes walk to city centre but enough bars on the way if you need to rehydrate on the way. Hugely recommended we will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ben Ringland, General Manager at The 1852 Hotel
Responded Nov 9, 2022
Paul, Absolutely class review!! I really appreciate the feedback and the stair count - it genuinely was something I don't think I have counted before! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Many Thanks, Ben Ops Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris D wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom228 contributions110 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
A mixed feeling about this place. The absence of staff feels like an issue, but I guess it can be gotten used to. They send a check in email in advance, but it’s a waste as you can’t check in early using the online version. Easy check in at the kiosk in the hotel. Check out even simpler, just put key in the box. However, I had a problem with the safe and no-one to ask. Also one day, my bins were not emptied (had some food waste there), even though room otherwise made up.
I had a room on top floor and at the back (318), which was good to get away from noise but it is 4 floors up with just some quite steep stairs. Bar staff did take my bag for safe storage which was good.
The location was excellent for me, walking south to the gardens, university etc, as well as only about 15 mins to the city hall area. There is every food under the sun available nearby.
There’s nothing wrong with this place , but personally I couldn’t warm to it either.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: If any difficulties with stairs, other places may be better
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ben Ringland, General Manager at The 1852 Hotel
Responded Nov 9, 2022
Chris, thank you for taking the time out to leave such a levelled review. I really appreciate the comments you have made and the feedback you have provided. I am sorry that the bins weren't emptied in your room, we have placed a massive focus recently on housekeeping training, so hopefully this has improved drastically. We do have a member of staff on site at all times to help with anything and I am personally on call at all times as well, but this is an area I need to improve communication. If you are traveling to Belfast again, please do send me a n email ben@the1852.com let me see if I can sort you out at our sister hotel The Flint - this might be more to your liking and we will have a bar going in next year! See you again soon. Ben Ops Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MelGM wrote a review Feb 2020
Waterford74 contributions81 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The 1852 is a sister hotel of the Flint in central Belfast (which is also excellent). It has many of the same qualities of being a very well priced and very comfortable property. On arrival I was tempted with a very tasty welcome cocktail! Room was superb, urban chic in a beautiful old 1852 building. bed very comfortable and lots of space, excellent shower and an appropriate "belfast sink" in the bathroom. Cool.
You can include breakfast for about £7-8 and it is well worthwhile. the breakfast restaurant is super, the menu array wide and the coffee choices extensive.
That it sits on Botanic avenue is great, with lots of bars and restaurants within 100 metres in a bohemian atmosphere.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ben Ringland, Owner at The 1852 Hotel
Responded Sep 15, 2020
Mel, Your review is great!!! Thank you for taking the time out to leave it!! :) Really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and from the sounds of it you have stayed at the Flint as well!! Next time you are travelling let me know and I will see what I can get sorted for you!! My direct email is ben@ringlandgroup.com Many Thanks, Ben
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Colin O wrote a review Nov 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
After staying at the flint we decided to give its sister hotel a go on our last trip to Belfast.

We had never stayed in an unmanned hotel before but Check-in was easy and straight forward and the complimentary beer fridge was a nice touch. We were allocated room 101 at the top of the stairs and we were pleased with the overall esthetic of the hotel at first glance.

I did notice the room was quite hot when I arrived so plugged in the fan and opened the windows, there was tea and coffee making facilities and a large bed and tv but I did notice it was a little loud as they put us directly above the larger, busier of the two bars on the ground floor.

The second day we got ready leaving all dirty towels on the floor and an unmade bed and were disappointed when we returned and the room hadn't been serviced at all, that night being a Friday night the noise was unbelievable and there was no staff to speak to about it, the ceiling heaters in the downstairs bar made the room unbearably hot and because the bars outdoor seating was directly outside the window we couldn't even open a window.

The third day the room still wasn't serviced and we were left with no toiletries, toilet roll,(yes we had to go and purchase toilet paper) three-day-old towels, no hand soap, no tea or coffee, no water and overflowing bins, we returned early on a Saturday, the music was so loud we couldn't even hear the tv, prosecco was vibrating in the glass on the nightstand and the heat from the bar was unbearable, this went on until 1 am them the patrons and passers by stayed sitting on the outdoor seating until 5 am the next morning the music started again.

Simply. put this hotel has a lot of promise but misses the mark massively, they have been so intelligent to word their website in a way it eludes to the issues a guest will face without being truly transparent. It is loud, hot and has zero service,it is a bit shabby and not well maintained has poor wifi and really was not an enjoyable experiance at all.

And to clear up any confusion we are 33 and 40 and love a vibrant night life and loud music and are not hard to please so anyone who is looking for any enjoyment out of your stay I would avoid at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ben Ringland, General Manager at The 1852 Hotel
Responded Sep 19, 2022
Colin, Thank you for taking time out to leave a detailed review. We clearly fell short during your stay. During the long delay in getting back to you we have made substantial changes to the hotel, ground and upper floors. Please feel free to get in contact with me the next time you are traveling to Belfast and let me see if there is anything I can do to get you to revisit and retest our facilities. Kindest Regards, Ben Operations Director ben@the1852.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
300SAM wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom36 contributions19 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfy beds and great showers. Everything else not so good. Check in awful you download an app which is supposed to tell you when your room is ready and give you a key . It didn’t . The rooms are not serviced if you need anything on the weekend you have to ask the bar staff in the bar downstairs and whilst they are helpful they are not clued up on what the hotel guests need. Also although the bar serves food they don’t serve breakfast until 12pm. Not good if you are sightseeing and want to get up and out . I recommend Maggie Mays across the road marvellous breakfast. Couldn’t even have a cup of coffee in the room as coffee and tea had run out . Also no lay ins building work going on next door which is not the hotels fault but the noise starts at 8am and you have to keep the curtains closed as the builders can see into your room
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ben Ringland, General Manager at The 1852 Hotel
Responded Nov 9, 2022
Sam, Thank you for taking time to leave a review. I have taken on board your feedback and we having been addressing each item. The building works next door we spoke with them following your review and had it starting later. The room service has restarted following the COVID restrictions. Further training has been provided to all staff on site and the check in process has been substantially improved **there is still areas of improvement for the check in process and this is being constantly improved. If you have any further feedback it would be greatly appreciated and or if you plan to come back to Belfast I would love to chat with you to see if I could get more feedback while staying with us again. My direct email is ben@the1852.com Kindest Regards, Ben Ops Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannah C wrote a review Aug 2021
Raheny, Ireland10 contributions20 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from a 2 night stay at the 1852 hotel and it has more then exceeded my expectations. The online check in and app room key is the way things should be moving forward loved that feature, I even had a call which I missed but a voice message was left from a member of staff the day before to go through any questions I might have about the check in/stay. There was another member of staff at the desk area when I arrived didn’t get his name but was very friendly and helpful cannot fault the staff. Our room was huge we were on the second floor and were given a massive double room I don’t know if it’s just beginners luck but I was delighted, the room also had a fab little perch window seated area with a beanbag to chill out in and watch the world go by LOVED THIS. Sure it is a bit of a walk from the heart of the city but your talking about 10-15 mins max (+ I was in heels the majority of the time) very doable! Had drinks in the outside area of what I think was the hotel bar/restaurant drinks were good and the personal heater per table again was a lovely touch, didn’t get to try the food but from what I saw looked delicious. My only critique would be waking up on the 1st morning it was VERY loud outside the window as works were being done to either the hotel or outside area the windows didn’t keep much of that out and it was at least 8am made it a bit uncomfortable to sleep. Maybe if notices were put up to make lodgers aware of the noise to be expected. Apart from that which may of been out of the hotels control I couldn’t fault anything else.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ben Ringland, General Manager at The 1852 Hotel
Responded Sep 19, 2022
Hannah, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry for the noise it was a building next door that had nothing to do with us unfortunately. However that has not completed!! We do have a few bits and pieces we are planning on improving ourselves however this shouldn't cause any disruption!! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Many Thanks, Ben Ops Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Morganeg wrote a review Jan 2022
Orleans, France62 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the best hotel in my life !

It was my birthday and they get me a bigger room for the occasion . The bathroom is amazing ! The beds are really comfortables , and you have access to an hair dryer , towels , shampoo and shower gel , the TV, some tea and coffee . The hotel is very well situated, the neighbourhood is also really nice ! The workers are so sweet and kind ! Thanks for everything !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ben Ringland, General Manager at The 1852 Hotel
Responded Nov 9, 2022
Morgan, Love it!!! I am sorry that we fell short by a star/ bubble. I would love to hear from you regarding what we could do better - my direct email is ben@the1852.com. Many Thanks, Ben Ops Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannah F wrote a review Jul 2023
Keady, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
DO NOT STAY. SCAMMERS!!
Once checked out, I got an email saying that I had smoked in the room and they took £200 off me when myself and other guest have never smoked in our lives. Contacted hotel and they said that the cleaner ‘smelt smoke’ and there was smoking damage to a window which is a complete fabrication.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not stay ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alex Mullan, Marketing at The 1852 Hotel
Responded Aug 14, 2023
Could you send me an email with your details so that I can discuss it with you further? My direct email address is alex@the1852.com. Kindest Regards, Alex.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie J wrote a review Apr 2022
13 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 3 nights. A great location in botanics area (right opposite train station with direct train to city airport ). It's in bustling area of the city with lots food drink, night life and close to Queens area and botanic garden. Free beer on arrival for self check in was a nice touch, spacious room, powerful shower, effective black out curtains and comfy bed for a good price. Lighting in the room was all done by lamps (no central ceiling lamp). Drawbacks was we had a second floor room but could hear the busy pub/restaurant beneath and housekeeping not great - we had to request a 2nd bath sheet second day (housekeeping only left one despite 2 person occupation) and teas, coffees and toiletries were not restocked during our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: All done by self check in - when you ring reception you're sent down to talk to bar staff. Will...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ben Ringland, General Manager at The 1852 Hotel
Responded Nov 9, 2022
Julie, Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We as a team clearly fell short and I am extremely sorry for that. Massive focus has been given to housekeeping training and hopefully all issues should be smooth!!! I look forward to hearing from you on your next visit! Many Thanks, Ben Ops Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aiveen M wrote a review Nov 2021
Belfast, United Kingdom29 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms were very spacious which we didn’t expect for the really affordable price. The room had a massive tv, a lovely bathroom, a desk and mirror and you could move freely around. Got a free bottle of beer on arrival too. It’s simple yet effective
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ben Ringland, General Manager at The 1852 Hotel
Responded Sep 19, 2022
Aivee, Love your review!! I am extremely sorry that we fell short though. Any feedback you could provide would be greatly appreciated - my direct email is ben@the1852.com. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!! Many Thanks, Ben Ops Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
vanessa c wrote a tip Apr 2024
26 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are 2 SPARS close by if you want some food and drink but no booze. There is a Tesco Express about 5 mins away for booze."
Read full review
Cherry231 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Hyderabad District, India31 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Service is very poor, need to clear bins and make bedding when requested which is lacking."
Read full review
Richard H wrote a tip Jan 2024
Dublin, Ireland255 contributions116 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plan to eat out. Maggie May's cafe is across the road."
Read full review
ZoeP123 wrote a tip Dec 2023
Lisburn, United Kingdom19 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the greek restaurant at botanic"
Read full review
Roz D wrote a tip Dec 2023
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You can get airport bus into centre then get bus direct to hotel … train station is literally 2 mins away"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Belfast area.
PRICE RANGE
₱5,688 - ₱11,433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crescent townhouse belfast, crescent townhouse hotel belfast
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Crescent Townhouse
LOCATION
United KingdomNorthern IrelandBelfastQueen's Quarter
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE 1852 HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The 1852 Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The 1852 Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Forbidden Quest - Escape Games Belfast (0.2 km), Queen's University (0.4 km), and Queens Film Theatre (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The 1852 Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The 1852 Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The 1852 Hotel?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The 1852 Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Himalayan Restaurant Belfast, Holohans Pantry, and Bites of India Botanic.
Is The 1852 Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Belfast.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The 1852 Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to The 1852 Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parliament Buildings (6.8 km), Crumlin Road Gaol (2.4 km), and Bobby Sands Mural (1.7 km).
All Belfast HotelsBelfast Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BelfastHotels near The 1852 Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars