We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crouchers Hotel

Save
Share
Birdham Road Crouchers Orchards, Chichester PO20 7EH England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
FindHotel
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (110)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (162)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 29/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 29/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 9 hotels in Chichester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Crouchers Hotel is an early 1900's farmhouse which has been converted to house 26 bedrooms in the outside coach house,barn and stables . The main house contains our oaked beamed restaurant , relaxing bar area and lounge. Our staff are always on hand to ensure you are well looked after .
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Patio
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Parking garage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Separate dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
1238Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 676
  • 373
  • 123
  • 41
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
tayjers wrote a review Nov 2021
London66 contributions38 helpful votes
The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were very pleasant. We did however have a problem which guests should be aware of as we ended up paying £21 for two small bowls of porridge. When you are paying £120 a night for bed and breakfast, you do not expect to have to be careful of the small print when reading the breakfast menu, yet it seems that you do. It appears, though I was not aware of it and did not see it, nor was I told about it, that there is some small print that says there is more than one breakfast and you cannot order off different ones or something like that. else you get charged for two whole breakfasts, which meant that we were charged £10.50 each for a small bowl of porridge because of this. I mentioned this while paying the bill, but the directors are apparently unwilling to consider reducing or refunding the amount, saying that it was clear on the menu and by extension, that I should have read the small print. Lesson: Make sure that you read all of the small print at this hotel so that you do not get any nasty surprises like we did. Caveat Emptor Too bad as this marred what could have been a nice stay
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Juliewoo14 wrote a review Nov 2021
Sarre, United Kingdom40 contributions17 helpful votes
We really enjoyed our long weekend stay at this hotel. The staff were amazing, particularly Charlie, the bar manager, who looked after us really well. The decor in the main bar areas and restaurant is tastefully decorated and modern. We had room 6, a nice comfy room, with doors leading out to a patio area with table and chairs and lovely view of the garden. Nespresso machine in room. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and we’re not disappointed with the menu and quality of the food. In view of the price we paid for our stay though would have expected bottled water in the room and better toiletries but nevertheless a lovely hotel and we would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Room 6 is lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
GlasgowWeekender wrote a review Nov 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
Return trip after several years the hotel has maintained its high standards room was comfortable and the food was excellent enjoyed walks round the estate. Handy for visiting the surrounding villages and beaches
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Douglas K wrote a review Nov 2021
9 contributions2 helpful votes
I agree with a previous review. This is not a 4 star hotel. It's just a motel next to a main road. The prices are extortionate,.for £150 per night you would expect a hotel service. No room service. No fridge in the room. Small room. Very basic.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Crouchers Orchards, Owner at Crouchers Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Douglas, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're disappointed to hear that you weren't happy with your stay with us and that perhaps you weren't made aware of the services we offer. We do offer room service for both food and drink orders, as well as a daily service of the rooms by our housekeeping team. There are a select number of rooms that have with fridges in and we are in a continuous cycle of improving our rooms and are in the process of organising additional fridges for our rooms. We do always encourage guests to book direct as you're always guaranteed the best rate available when booking with us, compared to booking through online booking companies. Again, we are disappointed to hear that your stay didn't live up to expectations but we appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve the service and offering we provide here.
Read more
mablecross wrote a review Nov 2021
mablethorpe103 contributions59 helpful votes
We had 3 nights to explore the local area. Maybe a few ago the hotel was well worth the price we paid but it’s been neglected over the years to the point now that it needs an overhaul. The rooms are spacious and it’s a nice set up as a lot of the rooms have external doors and a garden view. Our room was a good size and the bed was comfy but the cleaning, water pressure and lack of extras let them down. The breakfast is good and the restaurant was enjoyable (we were lucky enough to stay on one of the days they did a local menu with special offers). The space around the hotel is vast and they have future plans to develop which will make it better but they need to keep up with maintaining what they have. The saving grace was the gardener, (think his name was Tom). He was great to talk to, passionate about conservation and very knowledgeable. He even gave us a cutting of a plant we haven’t seen for a few years. Overall we enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Crouchers Orchards, Owner at Crouchers Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Mablecross, Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that overall you did enjoy your stay - especially your dining experience in our Potager Restaurant and getting to know our wonderful Gardener Tim. We do hope the plant cutting is going strong! In response o your comments regarding the rooms, we are in a constant and continuous cycle of refurbishing the rooms and improving the experience for our guests within the rooms. Unfortunately, like many other hotels, the many months of being completely closed with nobody using our facilities, to then suddenly being fully booked all throughout the summer period, can be rather detrimental to the systems and can cause issues due to the lack of demand suddenly changing to high demand. Rest assured, any issues that occurred have been rectified. Thanks again for taking the time to review us and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$122 - US$278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crouchers country hotel and restaurant, hotel crouchers country, crouchers country west sussex
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWest SussexChichester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crouchers Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Crouchers Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tangmere Military Aviation Museum (7.3 km), Chichester Cathedral (3.2 km), and Bosham Quay (4.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crouchers Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Crouchers Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Crouchers Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crouchers Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Pass Street Food Cafe, Little london tea shop, and Thyme & Chillies.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crouchers Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Crouchers Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Crouchers Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Crouchers Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stansted Park (12.0 km) and Sinah Heavy Anti-Aircraft Battery (15.0 km).
Is Crouchers Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.