We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

George and Pilgrims Hotel

1 High Street, Glastonbury BA6 9DP England
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View deal
View deal
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (262)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (30)


#2 of 3 hotels in Glastonbury
Dating back to the 15th century, the George and Pilgrims has various areas where you can while away the day over a pint or a glass of wine or enjoy one of our delicious and freshly prepared dishes; our style of cuisine is classic British with a French influence and our menus change seasonally to get the best ingredients for the time of year. Our bedrooms and bar and dining areas all reflect our age and history.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
608Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 194
  • 175
  • 90
  • 64
  • 85
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bristol_Traveller wrote a review 23 Jan
Bristol, United Kingdom83 contributions135 helpful votes
Had a one night stay here in late January, as we were visiting friends in the area, and the central location for this hotel was fantastic. It is a very old building, which they don’t try to hide, so it continues to astonish me that people on here moan about this aspect of it - if you want something ultra modern then nip down the a39 to the premier inn. We had room number one, The Monks Cell, which was a twin room, which was basic, but spotless, and the bathroom was also spotless and a good size for an overnight stay. I’m not sure if this room is above the laundry, because all through the night there was a motor noise that was speeding up, and slowing down, then doing the same again - sounded like a washing machine spinning, hence my comment about the Laundry. Not the end of the world but if you’re a light sleeper and given this room maybe ask to be changed if you know it’ll be a problem in advance. Breakfast in the morning was great and included in the room rate although it does end at 09:30, which felt quite earlier for a weekend in particular. We parked in the car park around the back which was £6 for 24hrs - unbelievable value considering what we have to pay at home! Finally, every single member of the hotel team we encountered were really friendly and welcoming - couldn’t have asked for more.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Angela f wrote a review Dec 2021
Trabzon, Turkey1 contribution
5 stars for ambience and 2 stars for the food. I took two family members to the George and Pilgrim restaurant recently for a pre-New Year evening meal, wanting to experience the historic ambience as well as enjoy a meal together. I was sorely disappionted and shocked by the poor standard of the cooking. We may have perhaps gone when the main chef was on a day off. We paid over £60 for three drinks and three main courses. A small portion of very average scampi and slightly soggy chips with average peas costs £15. The standard is of a back street cafe. The chef "specialities" cost over £20 per meal - the lamb shank looked good but the luke warm rock hard carrots and grated cabbage were the standard of a school dinner - or maybe worse. The bar is hugely atmospheric and great for drinks and snacks but we will never eat there again. A great shame that such a historic treasure hasn't managed to employ a better chef.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Liz g wrote a review Dec 2021
Swansea, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
We had food here tonight pie of the day ok ? Sprouts like bullets .Cripy beef ok noddles so salty I could not eat them told the waiter nowt said . Food has gone down hill fast in this place . I was here at frost fair electrics problem freezing there .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Juli C wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Should have stayed 4 nights. (2 rooms) Left for safety after suffering 2 nights. On arrival no heating which apparently hadn’t worked for some time, plug-in heaters in the rooms but bathrooms were freezing. Electric went off so no lights or heating, no hot water, toilet wouldn’t flush, then no water coming out of the taps. No explanations or apologies, this continued the entire time, when enquired the staff member just made excuses and false promises. The hotel is not manned overnight, on the second night everything downstairs also in total darkness the main front doors were padlocked and the only way out was a dark cobbled corridor. The place is a fire hazard, and total health and safety nightmare.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Response from Sam Dean, General Manager at George and Pilgrims Hotel
Responded 5 Dec 2021
Thank you for your extremely subjective review. Unfortunately during your stay we had a major issue with our power and water due to the age of the building. You were fully informed of all of the issues at all times and offered appropriate refunds for the nights that you were affected. Obviously, having no water or heating is awful for any guests, hence the offer of a full refund and compensation that was given to anybody staying during that period. This was totally out of anyones control (least of all our hardworking and dedicated staff who are in the same position as our residents). The vast majority of our guests understood that this is something we couldn’t do anything about immediately (obviously) as it’s a massive job that is currently being carried out. This job involves removing all of our water pipes, installing 2 new water pumps and rebalancing all of our mains electric phases. Thank you for your opinion but please bear in mind that our team have done, and continue to do, everything they can to make your stay special. We cannot control the fact that we have a 600 year old building, but the vast majority of people understand that.
Read more
Elizabeth C wrote a review Nov 2021
Hastings, United Kingdom20 contributions10 helpful votes
We arrived at 7pm and went to the Bar and asked for a table for two to eat. We were told there could be a 45min wait but he booked us in for 8pm but said he would call us if something came up earlier. We were told we would have to sit outside and wait....it was cold. We came back in and ordered another drink and showed our faces. One hour and 20mins later still nothing. He admitted he had forgotten about us. He took us to a table at 8.20pm and gave us the menus. Then he disappeared. He then came back at 9.05 and said sorry the kitchen was closed and that did we realise we should have ordered at the Bar!!!! No we were not told this!! He then said he had spoken to the chief and he would cook something for us....so kind 😩. We ordered the Lamb Shanks that came in only 5mins. The potatoes were raw, the Lamb was micowaved and it cost us £22 each for a horrid Microwaved meal that we could have brought in the CoOp for £5 Never had such poor service and bad food.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
US$88 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
george and pilgrims glastonbury, hotel george and pilgrims
United KingdomEnglandSomersetGlastonbury
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about George and Pilgrims Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to George and Pilgrims Hotel?
Nearby attractions include St. Margaret's Chapel & Magdalene Almshouses (0.07 km), Glastonbury Abbey (0.1 km), and Wyrdraven (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at George and Pilgrims Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at George and Pilgrims Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to George and Pilgrims Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Queen Of Cups, Burns the Bread, and Rainbows End Cafe.
Is George and Pilgrims Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Glastonbury.
Are there any historical sites close to George and Pilgrims Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chalice Well (0.9 km), Glastonbury Abbey (0.1 km), and Somerset Rural Life Museum (0.7 km).