We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel du Vin York

Save
Share
89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$233
View deal
Free cancellation until 31/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$233
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (575)
Room & Suite (370)
Dining (65)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Contactless check-out
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 48 hotels in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
1899Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,060
  • 551
  • 197
  • 69
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sterling157 wrote a review Jan 2021
Worcestershire, United Kingdom23 contributions7 helpful votes
Stayed here for 4 nights for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We ate in the Restaurant for Breakfast and Dinner. Food was delicious and reasonably priced. Wine menu was good and would definitely recommend the Chateau Bauduc Red. I cannot rate this Hotel & Bistro highly enough, everything was just perfect. All the Staff we encountered were ultra helpful and gracious. Charley on Reception was always smiling (even beyond a mask) and helpful, Jade in the Restaurant was a delight to speak to and always good with a food recommendation. Sarah was Brilliant throughout and Yancy was a delight. If the Management of HdV read this, your staff need commending and recognising for their commitment to Customer Service and going above and beyond what was expected. We stayed in the Signature Suite (Belle Epoque) and it was simply stunning! 2 roll top baths, 10 foot bed, 2 TV’s, Soak Shower, worth every penny. Thank you to all the staff at York for making our stay such a memorable one, even in difficult circumstances. It was an experience that we will never forget. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Charley Heseltine, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel du Vin York
Responded 4 Feb 2021
Dear Sterling157 Thank you for such a wonderful review. We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope we can welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Charley
Read more
mikki75 wrote a review Jan 2021
merseyside18 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here for one night in a deluxe room. Beautiful room with good facilities. Staff couldn't of been more helpful. Location is good, about a ten minute walk to York city walls. Didn't want to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Charley Heseltine, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel du Vin York
Responded 7 Jan 2021
Dear mikki75 Thank you for your feedback. It’s lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again soon. Take care and a very happy new year. Kind regards Charley
Read more
profmatt wrote a review Dec 2020
Harrogate, United Kingdom22 contributions4 helpful votes
I stayed at the HDV in York for Christmas in 2016 and 2017 and I came back this year — I really needed a break from going stir crazy at home because of COVID. First, they have a great system for dealing with COVID and I didn't feel remotely unsafe at any point. I chose to have all my meals in my room and they were super-accommodating about this, even setting up a table for me in the room before I arrived. Second, the service in general was just outstandingly good. They really are Best In Class here. Third, I thought the food was fantastic. They have the best breakfast of any hotel anywhere. And the bistro food was top notch. As for the Beef Wellington on Christmas Day — I've never seen beef like it! Wow. Oh — and the mulled wine was the most delicious drink I've ever tasted. Sure, there are little things you can whine about if you're desperate to find fault. (I say this having had a quick scan through some other reviews.) The car park is a mud festival and I guess it's dark at night. One of the lightbulbs in the room wasn't working. And to get the TV guide on the TV you had to reset the date and time every time you switched it on! But these are just so trivial. What you need to focus on are the essentials. The rooms are fantastic — super-comfy beds, really stylish and relaxing environment. The service is second-to-none. And the food is terrific. I really do think this is an exceptional hotel that gets it exactly right where it really matters.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I stayed in a suite — "Cristal". It's lovely.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Charley Heseltine, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel du Vin York
Responded 30 Dec 2020
Dear profmatt, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It was wonderful to have you both back with us this year. I’m so pleased to hear you enjoyed your return visit and I hope we can welcome you again soon. A very happy new year from us all. Kind regards Charley
Read more
Laura W wrote a review Dec 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
After coming for dinner a few years ago I was really excited for an overnight stay. There was no lights in the car park, pitch black. If you didn’t have a light on your phone you literally wouldn’t find your way. No one was around in reception when we arrived. Staff were very despondent when we asked for assistant. The rooms were clean but very small and basic for the price. For dinner the menu is very limited. We had the steak which would of been okay for average pub food. Also £10 parking per over night stay is pricey. I wouldn’t recommend. Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Charley Heseltine, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel du Vin York
Responded 21 Dec 2020
Dear LauraW3692 Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry to hear you were left disappointed with different aspects of your stay. I have passed your feedback on to the relevant departmental managers who will look into your comments. With regards to the parking we do charge £10.00 a night however this covers you from any time on day of arrival and until 15:00 on day of departure which is the lowest charged parking in the city centre. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay and Merry Christmas. Kind regards Charley
Read more
GoPlaces738264 wrote a review Dec 2020
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom52 contributions7 helpful votes
Although I like the brand, I was disappointed by my recent visit to this hotel. I booked the room last minute through booking.com at a reasonable price but was unaware there was a £10 parking charge( I'm aware this is common in York but didn't notice when I booked) The evening meal was unremarkable but certainly wasn't exceptional and we were disappointed with the bedroom. The basin in the bathroom was cracked and the room was very hot.Our efforts at adjusting the air conditioning were unsuccessful ( if we had realised how hot it was we would have asked for a move but it was 2am when we realised the room was too hot.) We couldn't open the window as traffic noise would have kept us awake. In addition an air conditioning fan seemed to go on every 15 minutes outside our window which meant we really got no sleep. Breakfast was pleasant and all the staff were very nice. In fairness, when we mentioned the problems to the staff, at checkout, they graciously deducted our drinks bill but overall I was very unimpressed by my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Charley Heseltine, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel du Vin York
Responded 16 Dec 2020
Dear GoPlaces738264 Thank you for taking the time to feedback your recent stay to us. As mentioned on departure we do sincerely apologise for the issues you encountered with the air conditioning system. However after I spoke to you on check out I wasn’t aware you were left disappointed with the evening meal or that you found Maintance issues in your bathroom. I would have liked to have dealt with this directly with yourselves, please feel free to contact me at the hotel on receptionmgr.york@hotelduvin.com to discuss this further and allow me to rectify these issues. Kind regards Charley
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$111 - US$246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel du vin york
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel du Vin York
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel du Vin York?
Nearby attractions include The Bar Convent Living Heritage Centre (0.3 km), Everyman Cinema York (0.2 km), and Henry VII Experience at Micklegate Bar (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel du Vin York?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel du Vin York?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel du Vin York?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel du Vin York?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel du Vin York?
Conveniently located restaurants include Delrio's Restaurant, Cafe La Tazzina, and Dough Eyed Pizza.
Is Hotel du Vin York located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of York.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel du Vin York?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel du Vin York?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel du Vin York offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel du Vin York?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (1.5 km), Holy Trinity Church (1.3 km), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (1.2 km).