We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
US$136
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (596)
Room & Suite (197)
Dining (46)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from York Marriott Hotel
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#41 of 48 hotels in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howards, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel in York, United Kingdom. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms, the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style. Secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Cast Iron Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
2469Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 765
  • 855
  • 499
  • 218
  • 132
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
debbie r wrote a review Dec 2020
Nantwich, United Kingdom6 contributions4 helpful votes
A very average hotel much scaled back with a flat and dull feel. Tired rooms - ours was so cold we had to ask for an extra heater. Staff were friendly and it does have a nice pool area but it is SO expensive for the service offered. I would never have chosen to stay but it was a present - I would save your money and book one of the lovely independent hotels who are much more in need of the support.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Samiya wrote a review Nov 2020
England, United Kingdom68 contributions47 helpful votes
Hotel staff was managing very well due to covid. It was a one way system. Staff was very helpful. We checked in late and we straight away felt so comfortable in the huge room we got. The room was sooo spacious. We got queen size bed with a couch. Toilet was very nice and clean. The surrounding of this hotel is beautiful. We slept like a baby on those comfy bed. The only disappointment was the breakfast. It was a table service and we had to ask the chief for whatever we want. That was awkward since my husband is little hesitant, he doesn’t like asking. Since there was no buffet system so i dn’t know whether there were any vegetarian options or not. The scrambled egg i got was soo dry and hard. I couldn’t take a bite of it. We literally wasted our money on the breakfast. I know the changes were due to covid but it could be done in a better way like we got in Hotel Football old Trafford. Because of the fall season the surroundings of the hotel looked way more beautiful. Overall stay was superb except the breakfast. Parking is free for the hotel guests.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Anne D wrote a review Oct 2020
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania1186 contributions404 helpful votes
We have stayed here before and stayed here twice in recent weeks. We felt safe in the hotel with the restrictions in place. We had nice rooms on both occasions but the second time had a room with a balcony overlooking the racecourse. It was our anniversary so it was nice to enjoy a glass of Prosecco on the balcony before going down for dinner. We enjoyed dinner on both trips. Breakfast was well organised but we have small appetites and the portions were just way too much. Staff were really nice and helpful. We also enjoyed the pool and had some spa treatments. I think we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Emma Hirst, Guest Services / Front Office at York Marriott Hotel
Responded 1 Nov 2020
Dear Anne D, Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time in York and your stay with us here at the York Marriott. I have shared your feedback with the relevant departments as a good example and I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
Kieron DV wrote a review Oct 2020
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Currently staying at the Marriott hotel York. It’s like being in a 2 star maybe 3 at absolute most. From woodchip stained ceiling to the bad white tile bathroom with exposed pipes. Feels like I’ve rented a room in a council estate. Currently sitting here wishing I had booked the Hilton or even a hotel above a pub would have been better. The funny thing is this is the best they could offer us when asked for a family room or suite which is half a mile away from reception and all facilities with a great view of a car park.... AVOID at all costs don’t waste your money.....
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emma Hirst, Guest Services / Front Office at York Marriott Hotel
Responded 1 Nov 2020
Dear 19deveer, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and you have provided some very valid feedback that I will be taking up with the relevant departments. I can only apologise at this stage for those issues you encountered. We strive to ensure all the needs of our guests are met, and I can see by your comments that this was not the case. Please let me assure you that you have provided me with valuable feedback and I assure you that your comments have been taken seriously and everything in our control will be addressed. We hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back and show you our usual high standards.
Read more
AlanRB64 wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom107 contributions35 helpful votes
Booked this as a kind of last-minute trip away to get out of London. The hotel is on one of the main roads into York and overlooks part of the racecourse and grandstand. Given the restrictions at the time, the check-in process was smooth and well organised, they handed out the reduced menu for the restaurant as well some anti-bac wipes. I had a really nice sized room that overlooked the garden and the racecourse. The food on the menu was excellent and always well presented and I tried almost everything on it during my stay. They had a one-way system in place in the bar/restaurant area but this was to be expected at the time. The hotel is about a 50-minute walk, mostly downhill, from the city centre but there did appear to be some local buses that you would be able to use, I’d not recommend taking a car as traffic is bad and the city centre is old with narrow streets. There is a park and ride, but I chose to walk in. Overall an excellent getaway and when this virus is over I’d go back and visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emma Hirst, Guest Services / Front Office at York Marriott Hotel
Responded 1 Nov 2020
Dear AlanRB64, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our facilities. I will be sharing your comments with our team to provide a good example, as we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marriott york, york marriott
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Marriott York Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
151
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about York Marriott Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to York Marriott Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Goddards House and Garden (0.1 km), York Racecourse (0.8 km), and St Edward The Confessor Church (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at York Marriott Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at York Marriott Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at York Marriott Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to York Marriott Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fox and Roman, Cross Keys, and Goddards.
Are there opportunities to exercise at York Marriott Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does York Marriott Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to York Marriott Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (1.9 km), Holy Trinity Church (2.6 km), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (2.5 km).
Does York Marriott Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is York Marriott Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.