We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Kilima Hotel

129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ England
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (89)
Room & Suite (140)
Dining (24)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.


#15 of 48 hotels in York
Travelers' Choice
The BEST WESTERN Kilima hotel is a privately run family feel hotel with 26 bedrooms. Located on the west side of the historic city of York we are a 10-15 minute walk to the bar walls and a further 5-10 to the city centre. We are on two bus routes and busses go every 10-15 minutes. Taxis are around £5.00. We have our own car park as well as an indoor swimming pool and small fitness room. All rooms are en-suite and all have flat screen TV and free coffee and tea making facilities. We pride ourselves on our friendly relaxed approach as well as our drive to make every guest stay as enjoyable as possible.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Steam room
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
834Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 399
  • 323
  • 77
  • 23
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Robert G wrote a review 6 May
Worst stay in our lives. If you go to Myrtle Beach and want a ocean front room please let us inform you of our experience at the Best Western ocean sands beach resort. It was horrendous. Room on day of arrival unavailable until at least early evening. Parking atrocious. House keeping unavailable. Never never will we go to this site again. We were staying in the penthouse, can you imagine what you will get if you stay here. Check all other places on the street. We are sure nothing can be as bad.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Ann D wrote a review Dec 2020
Spend 2 nights at this lovely well kept hotel, on arrival we were greeted by well experienced staff with a smile. The room was beautiful and staff couldn't do enough to adere to our needs. Considering the circumstances of covid 19. Everything in place to keep everyone safe. Hand sanitizer everywhere you went within hotel. Pool was lovely and warm and we booked it at night to have to ourselves for an hour. Obviously in normal circumstances you probably wouldn't get the chance but we did and we're so grateful. We were literally less than a 10 minute walk into town and there was also a bus stop literally just outside the hotel to take you into town if you didn't want to walk. We loved our stay here and would definitely be coming back to this hotel again in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Joel S wrote a review Nov 2020
Hotel was amazing, very clean, staff very friendly, phone plug next to the bed for once, the pool is nice and warm and parking is free if you pay direct and is cheaper! It was about a 15 minute walk to the centre of York which was great.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
GravyBoat wrote a review Oct 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Loved the hotel, the rooms and the service. The only thing that wasn’t so good was the bed. It looked lovely, four poster, but with every turn it squeaked down loud, it was impossible to sleep. Even the kids in the adjoining room were woken up by it. So didn’t sleep much. Pool was lovely and warm, everything else was brilliant
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
eltab wrote a review Oct 2020
We stayed on a saturday for one night in the Best Western Kilima hotel. The staff on reception are very friendly and check in was quick. The Hotel was geared for Covid. It was the 1st weekend of wearing a mask inside hand sanatiser was where youy came in. There was no tea and coffee in the room this was on the end of each floor where you helped yourself to what you needed. I think this was a good idea, at the time but most other places now have tea and coffee in the room.. We booked direct with the hotel. All they had left was a king size room. When we were shown to our room we asked if it was a kings size? The bed looked small. He advised us it was. (Having stayed in 2 more Best Western hotels since one double and one king this was not a king but a double) We are a little bit disappointed about this.The room was a decent size with a smart tv bath with shower. Iron and ironing board in the room, which is good. The hotel is an old building the rooms were nice and the decor allthough dated was in keep with the building. The day was very hot one. There was a fan in the room but it was only a desk fan. I'm not sure if in future whether air con can be fitted or if not whether a ceiling fan could be fitted? The hotel has a pool which we used and a decent size you booked a time slot and we were the only ones in. The hotel was around 15 to 20 mins walk into York. We enjoyed the walk and it shouldnt put anyone off from booking here. In the morning a mini breakfast was served. At the time this was included in the price. You booked a time and it was delivered to door you got either a bacon or cheese sandwich and some other goodies. It was a really nice touch. We would stay here again, even with the 3 star review. The bed was a dissapointment and the main reason for 3 rather than 4 star.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from CHRIS BETTERIDGE, General Manager at Best Western Kilima Hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2020
Dear eltab Thank you for your review of the hotel. The room you had was indeed a king bedded room with a standard King size bed. These are often confused with super kings which are two single beds put together. We did look at air con but it would not be practicable nor would ceiling fans given the height of some of the ceilings. I do hope you return one day and until then please stay safe and well. Regards Chris Betteridge Hotel Manager
Read more
US$90 - US$174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
best western york, york best western
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Kilima Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Kilima Hotel?
Nearby attractions include National Railway Museum (0.8 km), Can You Escape? York (1.2 km), and York Cold War Bunker (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Kilima Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Kilima Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Kilima Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Kilima Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include skosh, The Rattle Owl, and Melton's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Kilima Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Best Western Kilima Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of York.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Kilima Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (1.0 km), Holy Trinity Church (1.6 km), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (1.6 km).
Is Best Western Kilima Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.