We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Generator London

Save
Share
37 Tavistock Place Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
Official Site
US$95
US$58
View deal
SAVE US$37
Booking.comUS$86
Expedia.comUS$82
HurbUS$95
View all 16 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (746)
360
Panoramas (21)
Room & Suite (193)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Generator London
Updated 20/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#176 of 2,113 Specialty lodging in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Game room
Billiards
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
164Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
56Attractionswithin 0.5 km
3554Reviews128Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 948
  • 1,327
  • 639
  • 312
  • 328
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
EDi wrote a review Apr 2021
9 contributions6 helpful votes
Lack of personal hygiene, some guest living there for months, bedrooms are dirty and smell really bed, plenty of food and personal stuff in the room, dirty bathrooms and showers. The staff always know which one are the “bad” rooms because they always put me there or all the rooms are terrible?
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator London
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi, Thank you for your review. I was really disappointed to hear about your experience with us. We allocate guests to rooms based on availability, but should you have any doubts about other guests staying with us please come discuss this with our reception team. Likewise, if cleanliness is ever an issue during your stay, please don't hesitate to tell the staff as we will do our best to assist in situations like this. Our housekeeping team does work hard to make sure everything is looking it's best, I will however pass this on to them to make sure it will improve in the future. We hope you still enjoyed your time in London and hope to welcome you back in the future to leave a better impression on you. Best wishes, Generator London
Read more
Moyra J wrote a review Apr 2021
Matlock, United Kingdom41 contributions26 helpful votes
Because of the lockdown, Generator could not be the lively buzzing place i love. However, it’s done so well to manage to keep the single and twins rooms available. To have had somewhere tucked away but so near major stations and such lovely parts of London in the circumstances, is just brilliant!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator London
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments. Our guests satisfaction is our primary concern, so it's really nice to hear that you liked Generator London and appreciate our location – we always make sure that we’re in the right place at the right time. We hope to see you once everything is up and running fully again! Safe travels, Generator Team
Read more
meganroberts100 wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
Very friendly staff Good facilities Covid considerations Overall very good experience, I obviously could not use any of the facilities like the bar or restaurant due to Covid and did not have the breakfast but the rooms and bathroom were good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator London
Responded 24 Mar 2021
Hi Megan, Thanks for the lovely review! Seems like you really had a good time here with us and enjoyed all that we're able to offer given the circumstances! See you next time you are in London. Sending some #genlove your way, Reception team
Read more
M H wrote a review Dec 2020
Leicester, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
Bathroom was filthy and toilets with full of crap, the the luggage compartments underneath the bed had the padlock hinges broken off so it wasn't possible to lock them. The property was very difficult to access with luggage so I wouldn't recommend it for anybody travelling onwards or with a suitcase. Overall I have stayed in a number of hostels for a few years now and this was possibly the worst one I've ever stayed in.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator London
Responded 8 Feb 2021
Hi M H, We appreciate your feedback. We have a separate entrance for people who have difficulties moving or a lot of luggage. Staff is on site 24/7. Our maintenance team can help with any issues with lockers and the reception team could move you to another room if the issues is not solved. We will forward your remarks relating to cleanliness to our housekeeping department and the management for further review and subsequent improvement in the area you think is lacking. Thank you for sharing your opinion and enjoy the rest of your day! Srdjan Generator London
Read more
Anty64 wrote a review Nov 2020
London, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
The hostel is excellent. Excellent staff, hygiene and cleanness. Grab and go breakfast was still good but I've ended up being bullied from the long term residents in the dormitory. I couldn't have a proper night sleeping
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator London
Responded 8 Feb 2021
Hi Anty64, Thank you for your awesome review! Glad you enjoyed your stay. If you had an issue with another guest of ours, who happened to be staying longer with us, you could have contacted one of our staff members for help. Hopefully this is how it played out. You will see for your self that our staff deals with issues swiftly when you decide to visit us again :) Have a nice day! Srdjan Generator London
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$24 - US$127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
generator hostel london hotel london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonBloomsbury / Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
NUMBER OF ROOMS
215
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Generator London
Which popular attractions are close to Generator London?
Nearby attractions include Agent November (0.3 km), British Library (0.4 km), and The Foundling Museum (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Generator London?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Generator London?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Generator London?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aux Pains de Papy, Albertini Restaurant, and Pizza Sophia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Generator London?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Generator London?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Generator London?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (2.7 km), Tower of London (3.9 km), and Houses of Parliament (3.0 km).