We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Generator Hostel London

Save
Share
Traveler (592)
Room & Suite (144)
Dining (80)
Overview
37 Tavistock Place Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
Laundry Service
2 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (2,918)
Filter reviews
1,586 results
Traveler rating
464
582
275
142
123
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
464
582
275
142
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormrussel square stationshared roomcommon areaskey cardkings crossbritish museumyour luggageenjoyed my staylate at nightroommatesbackpackerssinklaundrytubepancrasdrawers
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,586 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

The hostel location is near underground. It is very convenience to go everywhere in London for sightseeing. If I come to London, I will visit this hostel again. The room price of the hostel is accept. .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thinaunt
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I have stayed in many hostels recently, but none were as bad as this. We stayed in a room with a single bunk bed (private room) and paid the extortionate price of over £100. The bathrooms were very dirty, there was hair stuck in all...More

Thank Beth L
Response from Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel LondonResponded yesterday

Hi Beth L, We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. As you will see by other reviews our team usually provide an awesome experience, providing a home away from home experience. We are saddened that you did not feel this and will...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

The enty of the hostel has stairs and you have to lift your own bags to reception. If the lifts are broken you will have a bad time, we had no lifts for three days. The showers are noisey and small. So if you are...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Navigator787488
Response from Genlon, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel LondonResponded yesterday

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to hear that we didn't match your expectations and didn't quite enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately we had some problems with the lift. We called straight away the engineer but...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I've stayed in a couple of different hostels in this area of London. Compared to the others, this one isn't bad but leave a lot to be desired. Firstly I don't think the prices are reasonable for the service given. The shower facilities are awful...More

Thank anonymousC2907SI
Response from Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel LondonResponded 4 days ago

Hi anonymousC2907SI, We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We have shared your feedback with our housekeeping manager, our bathrooms are checked and cleaned regularly throughout the day so there is no reason for this, we do encourage any guests who...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

The stay was really disappointed. I chose this hostel mainly because it's near by my London's friend. Firstly, I made two booking since me and my friend arrive in different day, I've sent a message to the hostel in advance for letting them know my...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Si Man A
Response from Genlon, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel LondonResponded 4 days ago

Dear Si Man A, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so disappointed that we have not got it quite right for you. As you can see, we do have some great reviews and I am sorry that this was...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes ...More away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
214
Price range
US$24 - US$164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Generator Hostel London Hotel London
Location
United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
214
Price range
US$24 - US$164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Generator Hostel London Hotel London
Location
United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Photos
Traveler (592)
Room & Suite (144)
Dining (80)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (26)
Business Center & Event Rooms (10)
Nearby
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and
leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance
access to many of London's most popular attractions.
It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated
museums, including the must-see British Museum.
Despite an understandable popularity with students,
tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury
retain a quiet, residential feel year round and
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,085 hotels in London
Harlingford Hotel
479 reviews
.11 km away
Avonmore Hotel
167 reviews
.14 km away
Mentone Hotel
625 reviews
.14 km away
The Euro Hotel
767 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 25,043 restaurants in London
Pizza Sophia
252 reviews
.08 km away
49 Cafe
243 reviews
.16 km away
Pitted Olive
123 reviews
.08 km away
Casa Tua King's Cross
301 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 6,267 attractions in London
The Foundling Museum
410 reviews
.25 km away
The Shaw Theatre
18 reviews
.35 km away
Brunswick Square Gardens
11 reviews
.28 km away
St. George's Gardens
11 reviews
.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Henry M
8 July 2018|
Answer
Response from ash_h19 | Reviewed this property |
The lockers in the rooms are draws under the beds just make sure you bring a lock for them! They are big draws but won’t fit such a big suitcase
1
Vote
SuzSimba
3 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Nicole2701 | Reviewed this property |
No and they are boiling!
1
Vote
Jimmy Z
21 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TravelTipper141 | Reviewed this property |
no- but you can buy an overpriced one at the counter and soap down the street
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Single rooms are available if you want to avoid a dorm."
Read review
"Long corridors, many fire doors... Best to tell the receptionist in case you prefer a room near the stairs..."
Read review
"bring your own towel, and ask housekeeping for a fan"
Read review
"Take a padlock for the lockers in the rooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing