We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Generator Hostel London

Save
Traveler (584)
Room & Suite (140)
Dining (80)
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good42%
  • Average17%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“bed dorm”(52 reviews)
“shared room”(16 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (2,858)
Filter reviews
1,543 results
Traveler rating
458
571
263
137
114
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
458
571
263
137
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormrussel square stationshared roomcommon areaskey cardkings crossbritish museumyour luggageenjoyed my stayroommatesbackpackerssinklaundrytubepancrasdrawerspubs
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,543 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

After being told this was one of the nicest hostels I have to disagree! There is a lot to like about this hostel but most of its broken, or dirty. During my stay the lift, latches on most the toilet and shower doors, one of...More

Thank emmasQ3089FT
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I'm not usually one to write reviews about anything and am not easily disappointed but after a trip around Europe by myself staying in all kinds of hostels, this one stood out as the worst hostel by far. First of all it's the middle of...More

1  Thank tjhodg24
Response from Genlon, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel LondonResponded yesterday

Dear tjhodg24, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am deeply sorry to read that you did not have a great stay while visiting us. It is unfortunate that you did not make us aware of your disappointment as we would...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

I loved this hostel exp. and it was the reason why I decided to go with Generator Paris as well. Friendly staff, great price, fun atmosphere, and this location was wonderful. It was my first time in a shared room at a hostel, and everything...More

Thank Nimesha P
Response from Genlon, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel LondonResponded 2 days ago

Hi! Thank you so much for taking your time to review our hostel. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. We aim to deliver the best service ever and it's great t hear we achieved it. Hope seeing you...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

This hostel will do if it's just a bed you're after. Staff were friendly, however, the lift was out of order and we were on the 5th floor, rather inconvenient. The room was extremely hot - minimal windows for air ventilation. Our duration was for...More

1  Thank Lecia W
Response from Genlon, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel LondonResponded 5 days ago

Dear Lecia W, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your feedback about your stay at our hostel. Naturally I am extremely disappointed to read that your stay was not so great. This is totally unlike our normal levels of service and...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

The facilities and rooms had everything you need. We had a 2 person bunk bed room and it had was basic but had everything we required. Staff helped us with questions we had about tickets. Downstairs had plenty of choice. Themed floors. Just trying to...More

Thank Jenny H
Response from Genlon, Guest Relations Manager at Generator Hostel LondonResponded 6 days ago

Dear Jenny H , Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry and extremely disappointed to hear that you had an issue with our security staff. I have taken your comments very seriously and I can assure you that this...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$30 - US$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$30 - US$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (584)
Room & Suite (140)
Dining (80)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (26)
Business Center & Event Rooms (10)
Nearby
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and
leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance
access to many of London's most popular attractions.
It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated
museums, including the must-see British Museum.
Despite an understandable popularity with students,
tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury
retain a quiet, residential feel year round and
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Henry M
8 July 2018|
Answer
Response from ash_h19 | Reviewed this property |
The lockers in the rooms are draws under the beds just make sure you bring a lock for them! They are big draws but won’t fit such a big suitcase
1
Vote
SuzSimba
3 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Nicole2701 | Reviewed this property |
No and they are boiling!
1
Vote
Jimmy Z
21 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TravelTipper141 | Reviewed this property |
no- but you can buy an overpriced one at the counter and soap down the street
0
Votes
Room Tips
"huge luggage are not advised as there are not much space to pack in the room!"
Read review
"Higher floor rooms seem quieter, unless you end up to a bunch of customers who are noisy in the hallways."
Read review
"Less noice higher up"
Read review
"My 10-bunk shared room was on the ground floor not far from reception and the corridor stayed noisy until the..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing