We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clink261 Hostel

Ashlee House 261-265 Gray's Inn Road Kings Cross, London WC1X 8QT England
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 15 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (118)
Panoramas (26)
Room & Suite (86)


#112 of 2,113 Specialty lodging in London
Clink261 has been redesigned and refurbished making it a London's most stylish hostel. The feeling is East London; draped in Union Jacks, a picture of the Queen adorning the wall and a cosy fireplace, it screams London! Staying with us puts you right in the centre of London, a short walk away from the British Museum, Covent Garden, Soho, Oxford Street, Camden Market and many of London's major tourist attractions. So if it's the real London experience you're looking for, come to Clink261! As well as offering a variety of dorm beds and private rooms, we also offer:- FREE bed linen- FREE luggage room storage- FREE safety deposit for valuables- FREE travel information- Fully equipped self-catering kitchen- Laundry room- Direct links to Heathrow, Gatwick, Luton and Victoria.- 5 minute walk to St Pancras International - for catching an early train to Paris.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free internet
Breakfast buffet
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Vending machine
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Portuguese and 1 more


Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
164Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
35Attractionswithin 0.5 km
831Reviews14Q+A84Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 164
  • 332
  • 182
  • 80
  • 73
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Belu wrote a review Apr 2020
Argentina3 contributions
we will find ourselves in the middle of a crisis and CLINK 261 answers your emails automatically, it does not return the money of the reservations. They give you a voucher to use until September. At times like these, you realize that hotels do not have to go again or recommend them. Thanks clink!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Cinzia P wrote a review Apr 2020
Brussels, Belgium48 contributions26 helpful votes
I ended up in this hostel due to flight disruptions, so I did not have the best opportunity to enjoy it fully. The staff was extremely helpful even late at night and its strategic location made it easy for me to reach it in those circumstances. The shared lounge was pretty cool too!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
1 Helpful vote
Damo B wrote a review Feb 2020
Western Ireland, Ireland2 contributions
Very poor service from the moment I walked in. Only received a free drink token after my room mate told me, and even after going to the other clink hostel it was a poorly run event. My advice book elsewhere...
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Response from Clink_Hostels1, Reception at Clink261 Hostel
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Hiya Damo! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, it’s super helpful to see what areas of Clink our guests best think we can improve on! I will make sure to pass your comments along to the team, our policies recently changed with drink vouchers, bit I am glad you were able to make the most out of yours in the end! All the very best and safe travels, Ellie@261
Read more
JulianMazzeo wrote a review Feb 2020
Province of Buenos Aires, Argentina244 contributions40 helpful votes
I do not recommend it to anyone. It is very dirty everywhere, the bathrooms are disgusting, they are always urinated or with poop remains. The cleaning guy goes only once a day to "clean them". In the kitchen a few days ago I saw a mouse. I have given notice to reception and the receptionist told me that he would be giving notice about it. No one did anything so far. I entered here on February 1st 2020 and I must stay until 15th. Since yesterday, they closed the bathrooms on all floors, except ground floor, which are miniature. 2 toilets for all people. Very strong smell of urine. The maid only passes a rag on the floor of the room when someone leaves. No one opens the windows or disinfectant strip. Apparently in this hostel nobody remembers that there are serious cases of corona virus in the world. They don't even change your blankets. I have to be 15 days with the same one. Then you will see the conditions in which the rooms are. In addition to the fact that people are dirty, nobody here does anything to improve the cleanliness and quality of this hostel. You are charged for impressions at 0.20. In other hostels impressions are free. Yesterday I wanted to wash my clothes, they say that the machine has a cost and it turns out that it is another, the washing machine supposedly puts the soap automatically but I do not think so. The dryer takes 50 minutes to dry and the clothes are still wet. You have to pay again to make it completely dry. Breakfast is very expensive, but next to the hostel is the Coops supermarket that is economical and has very delicious things.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: The hostel has a bus stop at the main door and it´s located at 3 blocks of King´s Cross St...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Response from Clink_Hostels1, Reception at Clink261 Hostel
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Hiya Julian! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, it’s super helpful to see what areas of Clink our guests best think we can improve on! I will make sure to pass your comments along to the team! We have just had a meeting about how best to move forward with regards to the bathrooms and have come up with a new solution, so hopefully next time you will notice the difference. We did in fact have pest control in the day after you reported the issue with us at reception. If you wanted fresh bedding again, just let us know at reception and we can make sure to give you a fresh set! The soap is distributed automatically with every cycle of the washing machine. I hope despite this you still enjoyed your time in London and good luck with the Job hunt! All the very best and safe travels.
Read more
Alice c wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
DON’T COME TO THIS HOSTEL!!!!!! My laptop was been stolen in the second day when I stayed in CLINK 261!!!!!!! Someone broken the room and stole all the expensive items inside the room, even you put a locker on the security box but they still have their tools to break it!!!! And CLINK 261 DID NOTHING after I reported this crime. The reception asked me to fill a form and go to the police station by myself, and THAT’S ALL. The thieves broke the window and went inside the room but CLINK 261 didn’t even put a CCTV outside the window, NOTHING BEEN RECORD AT ALL. Police did not show up after 2 days since this crime been reported and CLINK 261 did nothing either. CLINK 261 knows that this kind of crime happen regularly in their property but they did nothing to protect their customers. They did nothing but fixing the damaged window to get money from next customers who don’t know what terrible crime happened in that room. Moreover, this was not the only crime that happened while I was here. When the day that my laptop been stolen, there was fake police scam money from visitors outside the hostel. The fake police approached to 3 visitors who were trying to find the location of CLINK 261 and they been scam for most of the cash that they had. It’s not an isolated incident, it happened inside the building and around the building. This is how CLINK 261 treats their customers: No help, support or compensation. Just the attitude that it’s someone else’s problem.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
2 Helpful votes
Response from Clink_Hostels1, Reception at Clink261 Hostel
Responded 8 Feb 2020
Hiya Alice, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, it’s super helpful to see what areas we can improve! I'm sorry to see that you didn't feel as though we tried our best after this incident. This had never happened before in our premises and we did also report the incident to the police on both of our behalves. I will make sure to pass your comments along to the team, and other than what we were able to offer you. In regards to the complimentary private room upgrade and assistance with the CCTV, incident and police reports. We would love to know how else you feel we could have made you feel more taken care of and comfortable! All the very best and safe travels, Ellie@261
Read more
US$20 - US$103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
clink261 hotel london
United KingdomEnglandLondonBloomsbury / Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Clink261 Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Clink261 Hostel?
Nearby attractions include St. Pancras International Station (0.5 km), The Foundling Museum (0.5 km), and King's Cross Station (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clink261 Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include breakfast buffet, laundry service, and free internet access.
What are some restaurants close to Clink261 Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pizza Union King's Cross, Aux Pains de Papy, and Cappadocia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clink261 Hostel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Clink261 Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Clink261 Hostel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (3.0 km), Tower of London (3.8 km), and Houses of Parliament (3.3 km).