We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hope Street Hotel

40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/11/21
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/11/21
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (587)
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (465)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hope Street Hotel
Updated 07/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#10 of 111 hotels in Liverpool
Travelers' Choice
Hope Street Hotel is an independent 4 star boutique hotel. 147 rooms are divided between Standards, Deluxes, Studios and Suites all with an urbane and fresh, cool style. Plum in the middle of Hope Street, the epicentre of the fashionable Georgian, Knowledge and Cultural neighbourhoods - with two iconic Cathedrals as bookends it has two successful theatres, the Everyman and Unity, the Victoria Museum and Gallery, Philharmonic Concert Hall and a plethora of independent restaurants, University departments and infamous ale houses - all within minutes of each other. The interiors combine the original Victorian warehouse structure of pitch pine beams, Cheshire pink bricks, iron pillars with bespoke cherry wood furniture, solid birch and oak floors, sea grass corridors oversized beds draped with bright white Egyptian cotton. The care and quality of the chosen room amenities include; REN toiletries, complimentary mineral waters, slippers, Nespresso Coffee makers, Sky and BT sports and high speed Wi-Fi. Complimentary services include guest office, 24-hour gym, shoe shining, and ironing and very helpful and informative 24-hour reception and room service. A full English and continental breakfast is available at £15.50 on a bed and breakfast rate when requested on booking and is served in our brand new restaurant - 1931. Our new neighbourhood restaurant is in the heart of Hope Street, serving pizza, international breads, pasta and meatballs, salads and sharing boards - enjoy the open kitchen and watch your order being prepared by our Head Chef, Vijay. 1931 takes inspiration from the trade routes that came through Liverpool in 1931, alongside some of our favourite travels. It may be an international menu, but all of our delicious ingredients come from local suppliers. The hotel’s award-winning restaurant since 2004, The London Carriage Works, serves modern British dishes using regional and seasonal produce alongside a perfectly balanced wine list of over 200 bins. Open from lunch to nightcaps it is advisable that our guests book dinner with reservations to avoid disappointment. We are a child and dog friendly hotel – staff will advise on how to entertain and exercise both!
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Street parking
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Light therapy
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 10 more
2686Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,744
  • 600
  • 219
  • 83
  • 40
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
groundhog51 wrote a review 17 Oct
Liverpool, United Kingdom68 contributions54 helpful votes
Finally got round to using a gift voucher which mostly covered our one night stay. Due to a misunderstanding on my part there was a problem with my booking which the reception staff were very helpful in sorting out and we got our room for the night. The room was comfortable and clean with a well equipped en suite bathroom. We slept well in the comfortable bed and had a good view of the sunrise when we looked out of our window in the morning. Good breakfast too with cereals, continental breakfast and cooked breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Sleep Quality
Deb wrote a review 15 Oct
51 contributions23 helpful votes
This was my 5th visit, all previous visits being fabulous. Unfortunately this was not the case on this occasion. Various complaints including ripped bedsheets, dirty toilets, overcharging on bills, disappointing food and service in the al a Carte restaurant, led to our stay being a huge disappointment. I must add however that we did receive a small
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
StephenH1964 wrote a review 14 Oct
Belfast, United Kingdom36 contributions33 helpful votes
I booked this lottery of a hotel in September for December 11th -12th or so I thought!!!! Contacted today to say my reservation was cancelled. Rang hotel to be told a corporate booking meant management had decided to cancel my and other bookings. No apology, no alternative just the offer of an upgrade the next time I book (that’s if they don’t cancel). Booking this hotel is like doing the lottery - you may get a room but probably won’t 😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡 - absolute joke have never been gazumped on a hotel room before.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Response from Natasha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Hope Street Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear StephenH1964, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. I am sorry that we have had to make amendments to our room availability for the dates you intended on staying, we’ve never been in this situation before and it’s been a challenging decision to make. We want to look after all our guests and the very last thing we want to do is disappoint anyone particularly when you haven’t experienced the hotel. We have been working with booking.com to contact guests who have chosen to book through their site, they were contacting guests and offering to find an alternative hotel and matching rates wherever possible, if they have not offered this please get in touch and we would be delighted to assist you. We are very sorry to have to do this and with this in mind hope we would have the opportunity to welcome you to Hope Street Hotel in the future with a preferential rate and perks for your stay when booking direct with us. If we can be of any further assistance please don’t hesitate to contact us. Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
Podiddly40 wrote a review 12 Oct
Leeds, United Kingdom7 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed at the hotel for two nights. We were both disappointed with the room we received as it was not as in the photographs and therefore not what we thought we had booked. The staff were good in finding us another room which was more to our liking. We would have liked to use the sauna, steam room and pool however when we enquired about it we were told it was £45 per person for 3 hours even for hotel guests. We have stayed in many hotels and have never had to pay extra to use the spa. When we went to the bar my husband asked for a port and the barman didn’t know what it was and had to ask another member of staff. For a four star hotel we were disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
1 Helpful vote
Response from Natasha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Hope Street Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Podiddly40, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Hope Street Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and I am sorry to hear your room was not as expected. Being boutique our rooms do vary and no two rooms would be identical, however if a guest has seen a particular room we are more than happy to accommodate the best we can. Our spa is our newest development and an additional facility within the hotel, and we do offer a variation of options to use the spa at an additional cost - however we do thank you for your feedback. I will ensure your feedback is passed on to the relevant managers and we do hope to welcome you back to Hope Street Hotel again in the future. Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
Kevin H wrote a review 6 Oct
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Great hotel, my wife and I went to the Philharmonic pub and Theatre and the Hope Street hotel is in an ideal location. The lovely contemporary large room had a big comfortable bed, tea and coffee facilities and well-appointed bathroom. Will come back again, as we've stayed twice in the last month, thankyou
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Response from Natasha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Hope Street Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear kevinhA1965TS, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hope Street Hotel. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team. We hope to welcome you back to Hope Street Hotel again soon! Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
US$104 - US$312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
hope street liverpool, hotel hope street
United KingdomEnglandMerseysideLiverpool
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hope Street Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Hope Street Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Quirky Quarter (0.4 km), CoverStar Experiences (0.2 km), and Liverpool Arts Bar (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hope Street Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hope Street Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hope Street Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hope Street Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hope Street Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Butterfly and The Grasshopper, Cowshed, and Christakis.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hope Street Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is Hope Street Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Liverpool.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hope Street Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hope Street Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hope Street Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.