We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plymouth Backpackers Hotel

Save
Share
102 Union Street, Plymouth PL1 3HL England
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
eDreams
Booking.com
US$50
View deal
Priceline
Travelocity
Expedia.com
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (18)
Room & Suite (7)
Bathroom (3)

About

#26 of 46 Specialty lodging in Plymouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Friendly Backpackers/Hostel only five minutes from Plymouth City Center, ferry port to Spain and France, coach station and train station. We accommodate large bookings on a regular basis of in excess of fifty people. Warm, friendly environment with free super fast 300mb fibre broadband, kitchen facilities with dining and lounge communal area. We have private as well as shared rooms available, with full central heating and double glazing throughout.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
54Reviews1Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 15
  • 12
  • 3
  • 8
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Matt P wrote a review Sep 2016
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom10 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed here for a couple of days using Plymouth as a base to explore the area. Hostelbookers screwed up my booking but the staff accommodated me. Clean and friendly. Good budget accommodation. The location was within walking distance of the centre too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Helpful
Share
Velayadum Nicol wrote a review Jun 2016
5 contributions4 helpful votes
The worst place ever to stay.The owner,Karen is so unfriendly soon after she receives your money.No smile,just sits in her chair with her smelly dog that I dint think has had a bath in years.Don't know about Karen's cleanliness.I don't and will Never ever stay there again even if I was stranded.I even stayed out one night,having already paid for my stay.Never ever again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel
Responded 25 Jan 2017
I am very sorry you felt this way. I know Karen was going through a difficult time during your period of stay due to her dog, that she had had since he was a puppy, was unwell. Karen tells me that you understood that there was a curfew and it sounds like you were unable to make it back in time which is perhaps the reason you stayed out all night. Please understand that we put a curfew in place for the benefit of the other hotel guests.
Read more
John J wrote a review Mar 2016
Manchester, United Kingdom22 contributions19 helpful votes
Dirty & badly maintained. I can't believe this place is allowed to trade. It hasn't been cleaned, there are holes in the very worn carpets, there are even holes in the walls. Disgusting. It's really a doss house, there's no way this could be described as a backpackers / travellers hostel. There's a Globe hostel in Exeter, maybe in other places too. If this one is anything to go by I'd avoid like the plague.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel
Responded 25 Jan 2017
This review was for a different hostel near us that shut its doors 24/03/16. It was called Globe Backpackers but had decided to call themselves Plymouth Backpackers Hotel on Trip Advisor! They were based on Citadel Road and we are based on Union Street. I informed Trip Advisor about this but for some reason seemed unable or unwilling to remove or correct this error.
Read more
TPshow wrote a review Sep 2015
Antibes, France125 contributions35 helpful votes
Quite a bad experience. The place was quite dirty, and the matress was not confortable at all. I had to be brave to go and get a shower in one of the working bathroom. But well, it is really cheap, so I guess you get what you pay for!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel
Responded 25 Jan 2017
This review was for a different hostel near us that shut its doors 24/03/16. It was called Globe Backpackers but had decided to call themselves Plymouth Backpackers Hotel on Trip Advisor! They were based on Citadel Road and we are based on Union Street. I informed Trip Advisor about this but for some reason seemed unable or unwilling to remove or correct this error.
Read more
Mo_Khan_31 wrote a review Jul 2015
London, United Kingdom33 contributions19 helpful votes
The staff were friendly and the room had all that we needed for a nights stay but the place is v tired and in need of some renovation. For the price it's a fair deal and the location is great with easy access to the city centre and the sea front and Naval Memorial and cracking sea views.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel
Responded 25 Jan 2017
This review was for a different hostel near us that shut its doors 24/03/16. It was called Globe Backpackers but had decided to call themselves Plymouth Backpackers Hotel on Trip Advisor! They were based on Citadel Road and we are based on Union Street. I informed Trip Advisor about this but for some reason seemed unable or unwilling to remove or correct this error.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$18 - US$50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonPlymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing