We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gananoque Inn and Spa

550 Stone St S, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8 Canada
2 people are viewing this hotel
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/09/21
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/09/21
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/09/21
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (329)
Room & Suite (291)
Dining (60)


#3 of 11 hotels in Gananoque
Situated on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, the Gananoque Inn & Spa occupies the original the Gananoque Carriage Works factory. Converted to a hotel in 1896, the historic and charming Inn provides two river front restaurants, private docking, waterfront accommodation, and fireplace and Jacuzzi suites. The Inn is the perfect location from which to explore the 1000 Islands, the nearby UNESCO designated Rideau Canal and Kingston Fortifications. Golf, fishing, island tours, kayaking, cycling, summer theatre, brewery tours and shopping are just a few of the nearby activities. COVID-19 UPDATE: MASKS MANDATORY INSIDE ALL ENCLOSED PUBLIC SPACES- As of July 7,2020, our regional health authority has mandated that masks be worn inside all public spaces and businesses. All hotel guests entering the lobby for check-ins or passing through on their way to the open-air patio for meals will have to wear masks. Hotel guests with rooms accessed via enclosed hallways will also have to wear masks prior to entering their rooms.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Canoeing offsite
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Bar / lounge
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Walking tours
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
Great View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French
647Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 250
  • 226
  • 82
  • 52
  • 37
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
kay wrote a review 12 Jun
Guelph, Canada5 contributions
Great location and a super cute spot. The room layout reminded us of cabins. The staff is friendly and helpful and there is a restaurant on site with a patio also overlooking the water. The walls are a bit thin as we could hear every word of the conversation in the room next to us and were kept up from loud neighbours. Breakfast is very good and a great start to the day.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Mike wrote a review Feb 2021
Guelph, Canada4 contributions
Great Location at Waterfront. View lake from room Great Customer service. Food serve from Muskie Jake PUB menu as well as Valentine Menu. Surf and Turf, Wine with Cheese Plate. Food was great awesome.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Room Tip: Waterfront Any room
See more room tips
Response from The Management, General Manager at The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Responded 8 Mar 2021
Thank you for your 5 bubble rating and great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Valentine's stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Mike C wrote a review Nov 2020
Monteverde, Guanacaste, Costa Rica149 contributions55 helpful votes
This hotel is ideally situated in the 1000 island area. It has 1970's decor and needs a little updating but the rooms are nice and spacious and the views are excellent. The staff was excellent and the price to value is perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Response from Lori Higgs, Marketing at The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Responded 30 Nov 2020
Thank you Mike for your 4 bubble rating and review. We do our best to try and keep this historic property up-to-date but yet still keep its nostalgia as we feel we owe it to her as she dates back to 1896. We have been updating things such as new furniture in all guest rooms, replacing heating and air conditioning HVAC units, replacing windows and roofs, but regrettably Covid-19 has put a halt on this continued expansions. We are so glad you visited and hope to see you again. Yours in hospitality.
Read more
simjenk wrote a review Sep 2020
Ottawa77 contributions80 helpful votes
First the good: loved the location, which is within walking distance of the interesting part of downtown Gananoque. The restaurant patio has a great view of the harbour and there are a couple of ice cream locations within easy walking distance. The inn feels like it was built in another time and is quirky but fun. No pool but there are dockside Adirondack chairs to sit in and enjoy. Unfortunately the negatives take away from this. Replacing the carpet in our room would have raised this place a star. Our pillows were too soft and I've slept in better hotel beds. The furniture could be spruced up. There isn't a pool for kids but that's not a big deal. The staff at breakfast and lunch/dinner were very nice although heads up the breakfast menu only has 3 options. Honestly, the big thing here is replace. Do that and you'll do wonders here!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
2 Helpful votes
Response from Lori Higgs, Marketing at The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Responded 22 Sep 2020
Thank you for your 3 bubble rating and review and we are happy that for the most part you enjoyed your stay. New ownership took over 3 years ago and in that time spent a great deal of time replacing and repairing infrastructure items that are unseen to the eye, but were desperately in need to run the Inn. The Inn, that dates back to 1896, reveals a great deal of history and we do our best to capture this while upgrading the best we can. Since March this year, we turned our focus on more eye appealing amenities that our gusts would notice, and have replaced windows, air conditioning and heating units, have gone to a key-less room entry system and have replaced all guest room furniture. The carpets and some other action items are on our list of things to be completed, but with Covid-19, we just cannot complete everything at this time. We did eliminate breakfast at the start of Covid-19, as this is a more high contact and high-touch service, but when guests provided feedback we were able to offer a reduced breakfast menu with little contact to cater to our guests needs with hope it was able to at least offer some options. We have had wonderful feedback and guests have understood during these times, we can only do what we can. We hope in the future you will visit again and see the many more changes that are in store. Thank you again. The Management of The Gananoque Inn & Spa.
Read more
Ruth3931 wrote a review Aug 2020
Peterborough, Canada25 contributions11 helpful votes
We were a group looking for a get away and the Gananoque Inn & Spa worked perfectly. We could all gather along the water to chat and enjoy the view. Our rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. We enjoyed breakfast on the patio and also had dinner one night in the restaurant and the food was all very good. My only complaint would be it is tired. Rooms and public areas could all use an upgrade and a new coat of paint. Also, outdoor areas could have cobwebs removed and gardens looked after. We would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from Lori Higgs, Marketing at The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Responded 31 Aug 2020
Thank you for your comments and we were so happy to hear of your stay! Having the waterfront and spaced our Adirondack chairs definitely has made things a little easier to catch up with family and friends. Because we are a historic inn, you can imagine the undertaking it is to keep this majestic property to its rightful appeal. Since purchasing the Inn only 3 years ago, it has undergone some much needed updates including new guest furniture in all the rooms, heating and air conditioning units, new hot water tanks, a new addition to house our new and more efficient walk in fridges to key-less room entry and new windows. We do plan on more upgrades, but Covid-19, put a slight glitch in this and will be delayed regrettably as I am sure you can understand. We continuously sweep down the bugs daily, but being located on the water in a hot summer time, just makes it that much tougher to stay on top of. Thank you again and we hope to see you return. The Management of The Gananoque Inn & Spa
Read more
US$107 - US$230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
the gananoque hotel gananoque, gananoque bed breakfast
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Gananoque Inn and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Thousand Islands Playhouse (0.2 km), Sculpture Park (0.5 km), and 1000 Islands History Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Gananoque Inn and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Gananoque Inn and Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Gananoque Inn and Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Gananoque Inn and Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Gananoque Inn and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sushi Sun, 1000 Curry, and Purple House.
Is The Gananoque Inn and Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Gananoque.
Does The Gananoque Inn and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Gananoque Inn and Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to The Gananoque Inn and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Gananoque Clock Tower (0.4 km) and Gananoque Town Hall (0.6 km).
Does The Gananoque Inn and Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.