We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
North side of Anilao, Bauan, Luzon 4201 Philippines
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (227)
Room & Suite (31)
Pool & Beach (22)

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Bauan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A boutique resort in the more quiet side of what is popularly known as Anilao, Batangas. Portulano Dive Resort provides snorkeling and scuba diving services to Anilao/Mabini, Bauan, Tingloy popular dive sites. Wake up to the gentle sound of the waves with rooms directly fronting the sea with a bedside view of the ocean. It's a great place for both divers, non-divers having lots of private space to lounge and relax. Design and architecture is inspired by mediterranean colors accented by local materials and artistry.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Pool
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Fishing
Shuttle bus service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
148Reviews3Q+A42Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 103
  • 35
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
hotelreview77 wrote a review Dec 2021
Vienna, Austria142 contributions118 helpful votes
Great diving location in Bauan. The divers seemed to be happy with what they saw and the PADI instructor couple that also runs the accommodation side of the business. I have not gone diving in at least 40 years so I can't comment on the diving part. The accommodation side of the business was very owner/family-centric and ran as an extension. As with all family-operated businesses, there were functional and dysfunctional aspects. A good building needs a good foundation to upscale as does a good business. Some of the staff are very helpful whereas others give you instructions to do the work they are responsible for. I found the front desk very confused and poorly coordinated. Food was good and they try to accommodate your needs when the "right" person is in the kitchen. The trip
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded 31 May 2022
Thanks for your review, we will try to figure out how to improve based on it. In case you still find time please do tell us the experience you had with our frontdesk that was not quite in place so we can improve. You can email it to carmela@portulano.com. We have also been in the process of transition and re-training due to the up and downs during the pandemic, all the way up until 2022! We will do what we can to get better, thanks again for the feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pgheredero wrote a review May 2021
Luzon, Philippines16 contributions11 helpful votes
perfect place to relax and get away from city during this pandemic time, best to place to scuba diving at take a scuba diving course, The food is delicious and there is more to choose from, pool is perfect for non scuba diver and it is a salt water pool.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded 31 May 2022
Thank you for your support and feedback, a real encouragement for us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AnastasiaP wrote a review Feb 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia141 contributions194 helpful votes
This place is around 2 hours 15 minutes drive from Manila. 10 minutes boat ride provided by the resort. Great place to stay over the weekend even if you are not divers. However, I regret I didn't try. I will definitely come back and try to dive. The place is very calm, rooms are charming with Spanish-style decor. Food is excellent and they accept special requests. From the minute we were there it feels like we are in friends or even a family house. Kitchen open and friendly. You can make a coffee or tea anytime or just hang out there. No tv in the rooms, but they have one in the open space. But I doubt anybody will have the desire to use it when you have such a beautiful view from your balcony. Love everything about it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded 31 May 2022
Thank you Anastasia! Glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your kind words.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
531yvonneh wrote a review Jan 2021
Abbotsford, Canada48 contributions21 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed at Portulano Dive Resort for two nights in November. There was ample parking provided and we were picked up by their small boat. The boat trip is only 5 to 10 minutes up the coast line. The moment we arrived we felt welcomed and at home, the check in procedure was seamless. The room we stayed in was clean and a generous size, with a very comfortable bed and a beautiful sea view. We chose a room with no air conditioning and were pleased to have the doors wide open all night, enjoying the fresh sea air. Mosquito netting was provided, which we used, but we didn’t notice any mosquitoes at all. There are also rooms available with air conditioning. The rates include 3 meals a day. The food is delicious and there is enough of a selection to please
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded 31 May 2022
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amanda wrote a review Jun 2020
33 contributions35 helpful votes
Just a "short" 2-3 hours from Metro Manila, Portulano is a resort that offers both divers and non-divers an opportunity to take a break from the bustling city. The food was good but the mango float that's usually served at dinner is great - make sure you're not too late for dinner else you may just miss it. I especially like that you can just jump into the waters in front of the resort for some decent snorkelling - no booking needed, just snorkelling gear. Or even for a light swim. Internet connection is not great so do not plan to work while on a break. Cellphone reception is okay but these are all fine as we're usually here to just rest, read, swim, dive and disconnect. The rooms are well kept. No airconditioning or fans required as the sea breeze is just nice. The place
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded 2 Oct 2020
Thank you for your kind words. We hope you can visit us again soon, celphone providers have set up towers in the area so we have better internet now, thanks to a few new wifi products they've launched as well. Hope to see you here soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marie wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions
I've been to Portulano for diving now four times, including AOW course. I highly recommend - amazing diving, excellent instructors, top dive guides. I enjoyed the food, atmosphere and I wish I could return more often.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded 2 Oct 2020
We're glad you enjoyed, hope to see you here soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sunnyallovertheworld wrote a review Jan 2020
hong kong58 contributions47 helpful votes
Just driving back after a 3 day visit to this pristine resort and already looking forward to when we will be back. Everything is perfect here - rooms with balconies that look out to a vast, unimpeded sea view, delicious Filipino cuisine cooked fresh thrice a day, yummy banana turron for snacks, and friendly, welcoming staff. Given how precious resources are, the resort also focuses on sustainability with interesting decor made from recycled items, zero plastic bottles, free, refillable drinking water bottles available 24/7, toiletries in dispensers instead of tiny bottles, etc. Now for the diving: this has to be the most chilled out diving set up ever. There are fantastic dive sites 2-5 minutes out by boat. Yes you read that right. You can come back tomorrow the resort for
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded 31 May 2022
Thank you so much for a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
justine_wissam wrote a review Jan 2020
Hong Kong, China15 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
We had the chance to spend 3 days at Portulano Resort with our 3 small kids and a big group of friends and loved it!! This is a very nice hotel, only accessible by the sea which makes it very special. The view is amazing, the staff is LOVELY and we had very relaxing time while enjoying snorkeling, diving etc. The staff was always there to make the best of our stay: they found a babysitter for our kids when us parents wanted to dive, they let us decorate the place and prepared cocktails when we organized a theme party with our friends one evening etc. The food is all home made, simple and good. The cook was lovely and shared some of her recipes when we asked her :) ... and last but not least 🤪 they prepared banana sticks for our snacks everyday 😋😋😋😋😋
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded 31 May 2022
Thank you so much for your kind words, we hope you can visit us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NomadicPhysicist wrote a review Dec 2019
New York City, New York5 contributions1 helpful vote
The resort is picturesque, clean and comfortable. The staff members are quite attentive and eager to help. The meals are authentic, fresh, and delicious. The dive master is very knowledgeable and patient. This is a perfect diving getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
farighkaum wrote a review Jul 2019
Karachi9 contributions3 helpful votes
Great experience. Good communication from the staff. Got in two nice dives. The property looks like it belongs in the area and was super clean. The food was pretty decent with the pizza's being the highlight. The staff was polite and attentive to our needs.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ALSO KNOWN AS
portulano dive hotel bauan
LOCATION
PhilippinesLuzonCalabarzon RegionBatangas ProvinceBauan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PORTULANO DIVE RESORT - Reviews (Bauan, Philippines) - Tripadvisor