Portulano Dive Resort

Portulano Dive Resort

North side of Anilao, Bauan, Luzon 4201 Philippines
room
Traveler (238)
view from our room
Room & Suite (31)
view from the pool
Pool & Beach (22)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 resort in Bauan
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
A boutique resort in the more quiet side of what is popularly known as Anilao, Batangas. Portulano Dive Resort provides snorkeling and scuba diving services to Anilao/Mabini, Bauan, Tingloy popular dive sites. Wake up to the gentle sound of the waves with rooms directly fronting the sea with a bedside view of the ocean. It's a great place for both divers, non-divers having lots of private space to lounge and relax. Design and architecture is inspired by mediterranean colors accented by local materials and artistry.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Concierge
Secured parking
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Game room
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Billiards
Table tennis
Car hire
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
First aid kit
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Private bathrooms
Bidet
Bath / shower
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino
149Reviews3Q+A42Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 104
  • 35
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
531yvonneh wrote a review Jan 2021
Abbotsford, Canada47 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at Portulano Dive Resort for two nights in November. There was ample parking provided and we were picked up by their small boat. The boat trip is only 5 to 10 minutes up the coast line. The moment we arrived we felt welcomed and at home, the check in procedure was seamless.
The room we stayed in was clean and a generous size, with a very comfortable bed and a beautiful sea view. We chose a room with no air conditioning and were pleased to have the doors wide open all night, enjoying the fresh sea air. Mosquito netting was provided, which we used, but we didn’t notice any mosquitoes at all. There are also rooms available with air conditioning.
The rates include 3 meals a day. The food is delicious and there is enough of a selection to please everyone. On the first night there was a seafood barbecue which was a delicious surprise! Breakfast is cooked for you, while you wait. The kitchen staff were friendly and helpful, they let me know what the gluten free options were and took care with my food! Much appreciated!!
The resort has many cozy nooks to curl up with a book or have a nap. There is also a pool table, dart board and children’s toys in the open air, recreation area.
The salt water pool is a decent size on the waters edge. The dive staff are extremely professional and the equipment was good quality. You can dive and snorkel right in front of the resort, if you choose to.
We were pleased to meet the friendly owners/operators of the resort and must compliment them on how well run and clean the resort is. We have just booked a second stay and are excited to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded May 31, 2022
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
justine_wissam wrote a review Jan 2020
Hong Kong, China16 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the chance to spend 3 days at Portulano Resort with our 3 small kids and a big group of friends and loved it!! This is a very nice hotel, only accessible by the sea which makes it very special. The view is amazing, the staff is LOVELY and we had very relaxing time while enjoying snorkeling, diving etc. The staff was always there to make the best of our stay: they found a babysitter for our kids when us parents wanted to dive, they let us decorate the place and prepared cocktails when we organized a theme party with our friends one evening etc. The food is all home made, simple and good. The cook was lovely and shared some of her recipes when we asked her :) ... and last but not least 🤪 they prepared banana sticks for our snacks everyday 😋😋😋😋😋
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded May 31, 2022
Thank you so much for your kind words, we hope you can visit us again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ana Manila wrote a review Mar 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia131 contributions217 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is lovely. The owner has beautiful taste and decorates it very well. This is not 5-star hotel, but you will find it cozy, comfortable, cute. The whole atmosphere is warm. Every person is welcoming and friendly. I feel very safe there and keep coming back.
The rooms are different sizes and you pay per person, not for the room. Please choose wisely and count the exact number of people including kids who will travel. They need to know to accommodate you all. It's a diving resort, you can take a trial lesson and learn how to dive or you can take a whole 3 days course. They also have a kayak and paddle board.
It's a best kept secret, so go and don't tell anyone else.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Bigger room with aircon directly facing the ocean on 2 or 3rd deck.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded May 31, 2022
It was great to meet you Anastasia, we are happy to be your hideout while you were here. Please please touch base and visit us again soon when you are in town!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hotelreview77 wrote a review Dec 2021
Vienna, Austria152 contributions123 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Great diving location in Bauan. The divers seemed to be happy with what they saw and the PADI instructor couple that also runs the accommodation side of the business. I have not gone diving in at least 40 years so I can't comment on the diving part. The accommodation side of the business was very owner/family-centric and ran as an extension. As with all family-operated businesses, there were functional and dysfunctional aspects. A good building needs a good foundation to upscale as does a good business. Some of the staff are very helpful whereas others give you instructions to do the work they are responsible for. I found the front desk very confused and poorly coordinated. Food was good and they try to accommodate your needs when the "right" person is in the kitchen. The trip from Manila takes a good 3.5 to 4 hours and Lipa City traffic in the direction of Manila during weekdays is a good 4 hours plus. They have a nice secured parking lot where you can leave your car. Internet is a bit of an issue and they charge P300 for wifi that's only accessible in the common area with speeds of 700kb. Globe data plans work well enough in the rooms. They keep two very well-behaved black labrador dogs that are delightful. Do come here for the diving. Thank you, Candy and Shale Mae, for your sincere efforts to make us more welcome, and wishing you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the common areas. Guitar practice starts at six a.m. and someone else plays...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded May 31, 2022
Thanks for your review, we will try to figure out how to improve based on it. In case you still find time please do tell us the experience you had with our frontdesk that was not quite in place so we can improve. You can email it to carmela@portulano.com. We have also been in the process of transition and re-training due to the up and downs during the pandemic, all the way up until 2022! We will do what we can to get better, thanks again for the feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mara Iballa wrote a review Mar 2022
7 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Been coming here since 2017 (then pandemic happened). Always always a lovely stay! Simple, no frills quick getaway. Short straight drive from Manila, parking is readily available and safe. Short 5 min boat ride and you're already transported to this secluded place. All rooms with an ocean view. Great for solo, couple, friends. Food is great (serving, portion size, variety, and taste). You should also try the short orders for snacks! Sunset view always amazing. Try their mocktails/cocktails while sunset viewing too.

Cell signal for smart/globe working. Suggest to bring your own portable wifi if you plan to work remotely like I usually do. No prob doing zoom calls, online consults (use pldt home wifi latest ver or globe)

Got my Padi Open water license here (very thorough and proper). House reef is good, great even for non divers if you just want to snorkel. Theres a saltwater pool (usually for dive training but can also be used for just swimming). All equipment readily available for rent and use.

2 loveable labradors (Tank and Snork, between the two, itll be just Snork who will play with you).

Stay-in owners are excellent divers/instructors who will always make you feel welcome.

Do come even for an overnight stay! 💯
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded May 31, 2022
Thanks Mara, we're so glad you were able to get dives in despite your super busy schedule and we are glad to be part of your discovery of the underwater world. We hope to be able to do more dives together and dive trips as well! How nice to see you getting really good at diving! Always so good to have you over, see you soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ana Manila wrote a review Feb 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia131 contributions217 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is around 2 hours 15 minutes drive from Manila. 10 minutes boat ride provided by the resort. Great place to stay over the weekend even if you are not divers. However, I regret I didn't try. I will definitely come back and try to dive. The place is very calm, rooms are charming with Spanish-style decor. Food is excellent and they accept special requests. From the minute we were there it feels like we are in friends or even a family house. Kitchen open and friendly. You can make a coffee or tea anytime or just hang out there. No tv in the rooms, but they have one in the open space. But I doubt anybody will have the desire to use it when you have such a beautiful view from your balcony. Love everything about it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We stayed on the second level. The room and view were excellent. You don't need A/C. It's...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded May 31, 2022
Thank you Anastasia! Glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your kind words.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria Janine Herrera wrote a review Apr 2022
Calamba, Philippines19 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort was beautiful. If you value peace and quality time for yourself. You come to this place. You get to know the staff and owners of the resort as well. All of the members of the staff were accommodating and friendly. However, it was not the same case with the female owner of the resort. She could have made more effort to make the guests felt more welcome.

If you're not picky or fuzzy with the food, this place is fine. However, there is a fine line between healthy food and cheap food.

I particularly like their labrador, Snork.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded May 31, 2022
Dear Janine, I saw you gave us a low review on Tripadvisor. I'm sorry you felt negative about me, the female owner. When did you visit us? i couldn’t find your registration. I am usually swamped and stressed with juggling resort back end duties plus homeschooling during these times and sometimes don’t have time to chat, or say hi and can't be as attentive and friendly as our dog, Snork. For perspective, we have been running the resort on recovery mode due to the pandemic: operational restructuring, retraining, re-organisation & back end work is mostly my duty & is no walk in the park, or the beach. Do consider also that many resort owners don't even interface with their guests, or that personalities differ. So it may not be a fair expectation and reason for a low rating. A little "benefit of the doubt" for others always help us all move forward during these challenging times.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nickie M wrote a review Jan 2023
Saint Louis, Missouri25 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I last visited Portulano Dec 2022 and like always, it didn't disappoint!

If you're looking for a place to relax, or snorkel, or dive, or unplug, or any combination of those, this is the place.

The staff is great, the food is good. They have vegetarian options. They source everything locally and they seem to keep a fairly healthy menu.

As far as diving is concerned, they have rentals available and they take safety seriously.

And then the lounges! They're everywhere! They're so many places to hang out and relax and read a book or have a nice chat. Portulano's vibe is very cozy and inviting. It embraces you if you welcome it. I'd go every weekend if I could!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna C wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Portulano is tucked above a marine protected area along the beautiful Bauan coastline. From the moment we stepped onto the Portulano boat, we were welcomed by the staff—they helped carry our bags, cooked special meals to accommodate some of our family members’ dietary restrictions, and traded stories with us. The individualized dive instruction from Arnel and Carmela is careful, thorough, and fun! All the dive masters are extremely knowledgeable about the local area, and it shows during the dives—each dive was full of discoveries of different wildlife, from numerous nudibranches to octopi. We can truly say that the Portulano community welcomed us into the fold and we can’t wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gale S wrote a review Mar 2022
Iba, Philippines13 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This quite resort is a best spot for scuba diving. Very relaxing and great place for a vacation. Such a nice place to get close to nature. You will surely enjoy seeing different aquatic organisms. A peaceful place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded May 31, 2022
Thanks for a good review, we appreciate the support! Specially during these challenging times!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Osleg asked a question Apr 2017
Carmona, Philippines
Is it possible to make PADI certificate at your place?
Answer from diveaddiction
37 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes, we offer PADI Courses. Please check out the details in our website, you can also reach us through our website, you can google Portulano Dive Resort as website links and email addresses are not allowed to be posted here.
Whandforth wrote a tip May 2022
Dunnellon, Florida290 contributions72 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room with ac."
Read full review
Ana Manila wrote a tip Mar 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia131 contributions217 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bigger room with aircon directly facing the ocean on 2 or 3rd deck."
Read full review
hotelreview77 wrote a tip Dec 2021
Vienna, Austria152 contributions123 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid rooms next to the common areas. Guitar practice starts at six a.m. and someone else plays loud computer games in the afternoons."
Read full review
pgheredero wrote a tip May 2021
Luzon, Philippines16 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"best view from the room. ocean view in front of the room"
Read full review
Ana Manila wrote a tip Feb 2021
Washington DC, District of Columbia131 contributions217 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed on the second level. The room and view were excellent. You don't need A/C. It's fresh and cool from the ocean breeze."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bauan area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
portulano dive hotel bauan
LOCATION
PhilippinesLuzonCalabarzon RegionBatangas ProvinceBauan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PORTULANO DIVE RESORT - UPDATED 2024 Reviews (Bauan, Philippines) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Portulano Dive Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Portulano Dive Resort?
Nearby attractions include Basilica of St. Martin de Tours (7.6 km), Taal Heritage Village (7.5 km), and Casa Villavicencio (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Portulano Dive Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Portulano Dive Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a bidet, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Portulano Dive Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Portulano Dive Resort?
Yes, free private parking nearby and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Portulano Dive Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Don Juan, Cafe G, and Feliza Taverna Y Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Portulano Dive Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Portulano Dive Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Portulano Dive Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Portulano Dive Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Portulano Dive Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Taal Heritage Village (7.5 km).
Does Portulano Dive Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Bauan HotelsBauan Hotel DealsHotels near Portulano Dive Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars