We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
North side of Anilao, Bauan, Luzon 4201 Philippines
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (227)
Room & Suite (31)
Pool & Beach (22)

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Bauan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A boutique resort in the more quiet side of what is popularly known as Anilao, Batangas. Portulano Dive Resort provides snorkeling and scuba diving services to Anilao/Mabini, Bauan, Tingloy popular dive sites. Wake up to the gentle sound of the waves with rooms directly fronting the sea with a bedside view of the ocean. It's a great place for both divers, non-divers having lots of private space to lounge and relax. Design and architecture is inspired by mediterranean colors accented by local materials and artistry.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Fishing
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
Filipino
146Reviews3Q+A42Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 101
  • 35
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Zee J wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
+1
Portulano is a small owner-run resort with excellent family-style service. The staff are all accommodating and professional. There is plenty of space to relax outside the room. The best draw for this resort however, is the fact that the house reef is truly stunning. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Vjsanj wrote a review Jun 2022
Singapore, Singapore30 contributions11 helpful votes
Well run dive resort. Friendly, accommodating staff. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Food was yummy and portions were generous. House reef is easily accessible from the shore and featured tons of marine animals. Had a great time!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Whandforth wrote a review May 2022
Dunnellon, Florida299 contributions70 helpful votes
I rented a single room for 6 days. It was my treat to myself. There was virtually no one there as far as divers were concerned. Three days I had the resort to myself. Elmer was my dive master. He really took care of me since I am partially crippled . My friend Niko Santos stayed there for two dives. He is also a dive master. Every one was terrific helping me get dressed for my dives. The water was so warm that I did not need a suit. So much better diving there compared to Puerto Galera. I saw most of the critters on my bucket list here. Then there was the restaurant crew. They treated me like I was the Owner of the place. Now I am a very picky eater so some I did not or could not eat. Allergies to sea food. The one complaint I had was lack of desert. Another suggestion is to set up a small store that you could buy snacks. It was expensive for me to dive as I was the only diver in the whole resort. The beds, ac where great. If you want quiet , this is the place for you. No phones, no TV, but the internet worked most of the time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room with ac.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded 31 May 2022
Hi Bill, glad you enjoyed your stay. We really wanted you to be comfortable and to be able to enjoy your dives and your stay. Take care always!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria Janine Herrera wrote a review Apr 2022
Calamba, Philippines5 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
The resort was beautiful. If you value peace and quality time for yourself. You come to this place. You get to know the staff and owners of the resort as well. All of the members of the staff were accommodating and friendly. However, it was not the same case with the female owner of the resort. She could have made more effort to make the guests felt more welcome. If you're not picky or fuzzy with the food, this place is fine. However, there is a fine line between healthy food and cheap food. I particularly like their labrador, Snork.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded 31 May 2022
Dear Janine, I saw you gave us a low review on Tripadvisor. I'm sorry you felt negative about me, the female owner. When did you visit us? i couldn’t find your registration. I am usually swamped and stressed with juggling resort back end duties plus homeschooling during these times and sometimes don’t have time to chat, or say hi and can't be as attentive and friendly as our dog, Snork. For perspective, we have been running the resort on recovery mode due to the pandemic: operational restructuring, retraining, re-organisation & back end work is mostly my duty & is no walk in the park, or the beach. Do consider also that many resort owners don't even interface with their guests, or that personalities differ. So it may not be a fair expectation and reason for a low rating. A little "benefit of the doubt" for others always help us all move forward during these challenging times.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mara Iballa wrote a review Mar 2022
10 contributions
+1
Been coming here since 2017 (then pandemic happened). Always always a lovely stay! Simple, no frills quick getaway. Short straight drive from Manila, parking is readily available and safe. Short 5 min boat ride and you're already transported to this secluded place. All rooms with an ocean view. Great for solo, couple, friends. Food is great (serving, portion size, variety, and taste). You should also try the short orders for snacks! Sunset view always amazing. Try their mocktails/cocktails while sunset viewing too. Cell signal for smart/globe working. Suggest to bring your own portable wifi if you plan to work remotely like I usually do. No prob doing zoom calls, online consults (use pldt home wifi latest ver or globe) Got my Padi Open water license here (very thorough and proper). House reef is good, great even for non divers if you just want to snorkel. Theres a saltwater pool (usually for dive training but can also be used for just swimming). All equipment readily available for rent and use. 2 loveable labradors (Tank and Snork, between the two, itll be just Snork who will play with you). Stay-in owners are excellent divers/instructors who will always make you feel welcome. Do come even for an overnight stay! 💯
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded 31 May 2022
Thanks Mara, we're so glad you were able to get dives in despite your super busy schedule and we are glad to be part of your discovery of the underwater world. We hope to be able to do more dives together and dive trips as well! How nice to see you getting really good at diving! Always so good to have you over, see you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gale S wrote a review Mar 2022
Iba, Philippines6 contributions7 helpful votes
This quite resort is a best spot for scuba diving. Very relaxing and great place for a vacation. Such a nice place to get close to nature. You will surely enjoy seeing different aquatic organisms. A peaceful place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded 31 May 2022
Thanks for a good review, we appreciate the support! Specially during these challenging times!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AnastasiaP wrote a review Mar 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia141 contributions193 helpful votes
This place is lovely. The owner has beautiful taste and decorates it very well. This is not 5-star hotel, but you will find it cozy, comfortable, cute. The whole atmosphere is warm. Every person is welcoming and friendly. I feel very safe there and keep coming back. The rooms are different sizes and you pay per person, not for the room. Please choose wisely and count the exact number of people including kids who will travel. They need to know to accommodate you all. It's a diving resort, you can take a trial lesson and learn how to dive or you can take a whole 3 days course. They also have a kayak and paddle board. It's a best kept secret, so go and don't tell anyone else.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Bigger room with aircon directly facing the ocean on 2 or 3rd deck.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded 31 May 2022
It was great to meet you Anastasia, we are happy to be your hideout while you were here. Please please touch base and visit us again soon when you are in town!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SamuelHarvey wrote a review Jan 2022
Manila, Philippines290 contributions107 helpful votes
Portulano is one of our go-to resort for weekend diving getaways. We have been visiting them for the past 3 years, and the resort tick all the right boxes. Good food, nice shore dive, great sea view and very friendly staff (and dogs). Highly recommended for both divers and non-divers.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded 31 May 2022
Thanks so much for support and the review! Always glad to have you guys over you are really a great diving group! Thanks for supporting us specially during these challenging Covid times. More diving up ahead! Cheers!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hotelreview77 wrote a review Dec 2021
Vienna, Austria141 contributions118 helpful votes
Great diving location in Bauan. The divers seemed to be happy with what they saw and the PADI instructor couple that also runs the accommodation side of the business. I have not gone diving in at least 40 years so I can't comment on the diving part. The accommodation side of the business was very owner/family-centric and ran as an extension. As with all family-operated businesses, there were functional and dysfunctional aspects. A good building needs a good foundation to upscale as does a good business. Some of the staff are very helpful whereas others give you instructions to do the work they are responsible for. I found the front desk very confused and poorly coordinated. Food was good and they try to accommodate your needs when the "right" person is in the kitchen. The trip from Manila takes a good 3.5 to 4 hours and Lipa City traffic in the direction of Manila during weekdays is a good 4 hours plus. They have a nice secured parking lot where you can leave your car. Internet is a bit of an issue and they charge P300 for wifi that's only accessible in the common area with speeds of 700kb. Globe data plans work well enough in the rooms. They keep two very well-behaved black labrador dogs that are delightful. Do come here for the diving. Thank you, Candy and Shale Mae, for your sincere efforts to make us more welcome, and wishing you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the common areas. Guitar practice starts at six a.m. and someone else plays...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded 31 May 2022
Thanks for your review, we will try to figure out how to improve based on it. In case you still find time please do tell us the experience you had with our frontdesk that was not quite in place so we can improve. You can email it to carmela@portulano.com. We have also been in the process of transition and re-training due to the up and downs during the pandemic, all the way up until 2022! We will do what we can to get better, thanks again for the feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pgheredero wrote a review May 2021
Luzon, Philippines16 contributions11 helpful votes
perfect place to relax and get away from city during this pandemic time, best to place to scuba diving at take a scuba diving course, The food is delicious and there is more to choose from, pool is perfect for non scuba diver and it is a salt water pool.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: best view from the room. ocean view in front of the room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carmela Sevilla, Owner at Portulano Dive Resort
Responded 31 May 2022
Thank you for your support and feedback, a real encouragement for us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
portulano dive hotel bauan
LOCATION
PhilippinesLuzonCalabarzon RegionBatangas ProvinceBauan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PORTULANO DIVE RESORT - UPDATED 2022 Reviews (Bauan, Philippines) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Portulano Dive Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Portulano Dive Resort?
Nearby attractions include Basilica of St. Martin de Tours (7.6 km), Taal Heritage Village (7.5 km), and Casa Villavicencio (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Portulano Dive Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Portulano Dive Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Portulano Dive Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Don Juan, Cafe G, and Feliza Taverna Y Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Portulano Dive Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Portulano Dive Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Portulano Dive Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Portulano Dive Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Taal Heritage Village (7.5 km).
Does Portulano Dive Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.