Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal

Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal

55 Rue Saint-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9 Canada
Nespresso - miam!
Traveler (1442)
Panorama at the Le Place D'Armes Hotel & Suites
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (819)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#8 of 159 hotels in Montreal
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Hotel Place d'Armes features 116 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The 4 historic buildings housing Hotel Place d'Armes all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 7 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace. CITQ 159751
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

55 Rue Saint-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9 Canada
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Montreal Airports
15.7 km
See all flights
St. Hubert Airport
11.3 km
See all flights
Place-d'Armes
3 minMontreal Metro
3,598Reviews44Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,692
  • 640
  • 168
  • 65
  • 33
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jessica K wrote a review Mar 2020
Wilder, Vermont1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is absolutely fabulous, from its genuinely friendly staff, to the gorgeous and spacious room, to the wonderful restaurants on site. We had to cancel a trip of a lifetime on a cruise, and decided to spend a few days in Montreal to escape, and I’m actually glad our cruise was canceled! This location is unbeatable and traveling with a four year old can be stressful, but not this trip. Our room was spacious for all of us, with a king bed and pull out sofa for our son. Perfect set up. Walking distance to everything you need/want and gorgeous surroundings, just around the corner from Notre Dame Basilica. The hotel staff was so kind to our son, and his stuffy, and sent him the sweetest note to our room on our first day. The soaking tub is top notch, and the rain shower is spa-like. We will be coming back to Montreal more frequently, and no more searching for the best hotel since this is it!! We’ll see you soon!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bryan Quilliams, Guest Services / Front Office at Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Dear 452jessicak, Thank you so much for your review. Your comments mean so much to us as they confirm our commitment to providing the ultimate experience for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Place d'Armes. Your Hospitality Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chiquis926 wrote a review Jan 2020
Albany, New York354 contributions129 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have traveled fairly extensively in North America and Europe and feel that the personnel at this hotel provided us with the best experience ever! The hotel is a manageable size and provides outstanding amenities including two good bars, a full service spa and excellent restaurant. From the moment we entered the lobby we were welcomed like good friends. The lobby smells lovely and the desk personnel smiled and went out of their way to accommodate us. Our room was upgraded automatically and the valet took our car promptly and carefully to the garage. The room was not quite ready when we arrived so we went to the restaurant for a snack. When we returned the valet took our bags cheerfully and promptly to our room. The room was spacious and spotless. The bathroom was huge with a wonderful shower and plenty of hot water. Our rest was comfortable and quiet and in the evening we received bottles of water and chocolates. Since the weather was inclement we needed taxi service which we received at a moment’s notice and the hotel even provided door to door service for a short distance to dinner one evening. The chief concierge was particularly kind and knowledgeable and helped us to arrange for a tour guide for us when other tours were unavailable. I can’t say enough about our wonderful stay. It encourages us to return soon to Montreal. The location was in the older section of the city which added to its charm but close to the subway, convention center and the Basilica. Other hotels should use this hotel as an example for training. Merci beaucoup to everyone on the staff of Hotel Place D’Armes!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from bquilliams, Manager at Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal
Responded Jan 25, 2020
Dear Chiquis926, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Hotel Place d'Armes experience. We so appreciate your comments as they confirm our commitment to ensuring our guests have the best possible experience when with us. We are delighted to hear that we helped create repeat visitors to our wonderful city and look forward to welcoming you back someday.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DebNate wrote a review Jul 2022
Ottawa, Canada180 contributions181 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at PDA for 5 nights on our repatriation trip to Canada.
Overall it was great. Very friendly check-in and assistance, perfect location if you want to see Old Montreal and the rooms are charming and adequate.

Check-in was smooth and very friendly. This is important for us as it sets the mood of your stay. The doorman was great and attentive and even gave us great advice about where to go during our stay.

The room was spacious, well decorated, has 12-13 ft ceilings.
It was very charming and the bed was very comfortable.
Room service and cleaning was good but they could do a bit better to remove used glasses. We stayed in the 4th building which is a bit more modern and spacious. We highly recommend this building.

The 3 restaurants in PDA are Brasserie 701, Kyo and the PDA Terrasse. We have tried all 3 and, the 701 and Kyo are amazing. Perhaps better for winter as there patios are way too close to traffic and sterol, but inside they are very appealing. The terrace is not that good and bit of a let down, we were expecting a fancier European vibe based on what you paid.

The lobby of PDA really provides a warm and relaxed work experience. We spent 1 day working from the lobby and besides a few cleaning staff interruptions (They literally will vacuum over your feet if you don’t move them), it was great.

Overall, price for experience.. We would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay on building four if you are looking for a bit of extra space.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samuel Aussant, Guest Services / Front Office at Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal
Responded Jul 19, 2022
Bonjour Debora, How to thank you for this amazing feedback regarding your stay among us at the Hotel Place D'Armes. We feel thrilled to know that your experience in Montreal was up to your expectations ! Also we highly appreciate your kind words about our team. We definitely hope to see you back soon whenever you have the chance to be back in Montreal for a little getaway ! Warm regards, Samuel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mzachariah wrote a review Feb 2020
Toronto, Canada67 contributions52 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Hotel Place D'Armes for 4 nights in February. We booked a deluxe room in the new building and absolutely loved it! The room itself was spacious with a comfortable bed, large walk in shower with multiple jets, high ceilings and big windows. Check in was fast and we thought everyone we interacted with was very warm and friendly.
There were a few small things that could be done a little bit differently or improved on but all in all, this was a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bryan Quilliams, Other at Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal
Responded Feb 21, 2020
Dear Mzachariah, Thank you sharing your recent experience at Hotel Place d'Armes. We are glad to hear that all in all you loved our accommodations and service. We appreciate your recommendation despite the few small things we could do better. Perhaps on your next stay you might share them with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonathan S wrote a review Sep 2021
Coquitlam, Canada23 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived in Montreal on Sept 11 and spent six nights in this beautiful hotel for our anniversary. We booked a junior suite which was spacious, extremely clean and tastefully decorated. The staff at the hotel had left us a nice bottle of wine which was a very thoughtful gesture to recognize our special occasion. Unfortunately the first night of our stay we encountered loud music coming from the restaurant/bar across the street from our room which was still playing at 1:30 am affecting our sleep. We called the front desk and spoke to the night manager who apologized for the noise issue which was out of his control, but was he was very helpful in finding another room for us which would be much quieter. To our surprise we received an upgrade in rooms which we did not expect but definitely appreciated and found it to be very quiet for the rest of our stay. As for housekeeping we chose only to have our room cleaned only once because of covid and were very happy with the service. We had breakfast at this hotel and enjoyed our tasty meal and the friendly service. The location of this hotel is very central to the Old Port, metro which is just a few blocks away, and Chinatown . We would like to thank the staff who were friendly and professional for all their help in making our trip to Montreal a wonderful vacation. One of these years we will come back to this beautiful City and stay at Hotel Place D'Armes again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samuel Aussant, Guest Services / Front Office at Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal
Responded Nov 1, 2022
Good evening, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you had a safe trip back home. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelCamelCanada wrote a review Aug 2021
Canada353 contributions109 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First off, I really wish I could give this hotel 5 stars because overall I loved our room and our stay and the staff was amazing. We used the valet for our car, which although pricey, was worth it. We did not bother taking the car out during our two night stay and walked everywhere (really loved all the restaurants in Le Plateau). We could not get a reservation at the restaurant for dinner our last night, so picked up our food from the restaurant and brought it to our room and the food was delicious and we enjoyed it very much.

The room was beautiful and so clean, with a Nespresso, free bottled water, a mini fridge (which was empty, so much more useful than a minibar full of stuff few people actually use/buy), bathrobes, Le Lalo bath products, excellent A/C, sitting area, comfy bed with nice crisp linens and a huge bathroom with an amazing shower. We were in the 4th (newest I believe) building. We were required to wear masks throughout the hotel which I was perfectly happy doing. The hotel also has a terrace on the roof which would be nice for a drink, however it was really busy with a small elevator. A kind gentleman who worked at the hotel allowed me to go up early in the morning to take photos.

Now - the two (minor but inexcusable) reasons for knocking off a star.

Firstly, when we arrived at our room on a Saturday afternoon, there were two full and dirty room service trays on a ledge across from our room. Well guess what - when we checked out on Monday morning, those dirty trays were still there (and who knows how long they had been sitting there before we arrived and I wonder if they are still there?). It was annoying to have to look at that pile of trash every time we left the room or returned to the room! It was such a disgrace for such a beautiful hotel. Especially with Covid, I would expect a hotel to bend over backwards to show their guests that they are taking the extra effort in regards to cleanliness.

The second reason for knocking off a star has to do with breakfast in the restaurant. The food was fine, nothing to write home about, but okay if you're too lazy to leave the hotel and hunt down something better. My beef is that my toast looked fine when the plate was put in front of me, but when it was flipped over, it was totally burnt! I mentioned it to our server and she just said "oh, wow" or something to that effect and that was about it. Really? I would have expected an apology plus a discount or a comp .

In summary, aside from those two items (which can be so easily corrected), it was a perfect stay with wonderful staff and hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samuel Aussant, Guest Services / Front Office at Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal
Responded Nov 1, 2022
Good evening, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope you had a safe trip back home. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yysguy wrote a review Aug 2021
Sherwood Park, Canada342 contributions187 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible place with awful reception staff. Our check-in time was 3pm and the rude lady at the desk kept telling us the room wasn’t ready and would be about a half hour. After every half hour passed she would tell us the same thing without an apology and looking annoyed that I was asking again. At 4:15 pm I asked another fellow who looked more approachable (maybe a manager?). He checked and got us a room after apologizing for the delay.
After that auspicious start, things didn’t get any better. Told them 3x that the tv wasn’t working and was told they’d send someone up. It never was fixed. Told them 3x to fix the non-draining sink. After the 3rd time it was fixed.
The room is in building 1 (there are 3). Do not accept a room here. There is one elevator. There is a busy terrace restaurant on top (8th) floor and a busy restaurant on the bottom floor. You can imagine what the elevator wait is like especially with Covid restricted numbers. The one time we took the stairwell down to avoid waiting for the elevator, the lower restaurant had dumped a bunch of dirty plates, carts and trays on the stairs. This made it dangerous to walk around in a dark stairwell plus it was unpleasant seeing all the dirty dishes. Also room security is poor as there is nothing stopping the customers of the restaurants from getting off on the floor where your room is at all hours of the night.
Mike the valet made me almost like this place but alas, he’s not a miracle worker. Avoid this place like the plague. There are many nice hotels in the area and this place is not worth your time or money just so you can be treated like an inconvenience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Run, don’t walk, away from this place.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samuel Aussant, Guest Services / Front Office at Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal
Responded Nov 4, 2022
Good morning, We are deeply sorry to learn that your experience with us was disappointing. Our team offer you our sincere apologies and we hope you had a safe trip back home. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kavya Premkumar wrote a review Sep 2021
San Francisco, California1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Place d'Armes hotel between Sep 16-Sep 19, 2021. The TV in our room was not working since arrival and there were other missing things like hair dryer etc. The staff told us maybe the previous traveller stole those from our room. We were offered an upgrade to an executive room but we did not want the upgrade so we were told to speak to the supervisor the following morning to work out some other form of concession. The supervisor told us that our breakfast would be covered for the reminder of our stay. This was about 10 am on Sep 17, breakfast was closing soon. We were hungry and so decided to order breakfast at the hotel as it is free now. The restaurant told us it was too late to seat us so instead they could deliver it to our room. We were ok and placed an order for two entrees, one hot chocolate, one coffee and a side of bread and fruits. We continued having breakfast at the hotel for the next two days. Upon checkout, we came to the front desk to check the charges on our account. They had wrongly charged us for the room as we had paid for it earlier while reserving and they also charged us for the breakfast. Upon mentioning to them that our breakfast was offered as a concession by the supervisor, they agreed and removed all three day breakfast charges. It seems the supervisor himself was also listening to this conversation. We agreed on the remaining charges, signed it and left the hotel. We noticed a week later that we were charged an extra $75 on our card. Upon calling, we were told it was for breakfast on the first day(Friday Sep 17) as it was not included. Only breakfast for the next two days were included since apparently the supervisor told us it is covered for "reminder of the stay". He said this at 10 am on Friday and according to us, the remainder of the stay included that day too. In any case, we felt that this should have been communicated to us while we were at the checkout going through every single charge and the supervisor was also part of the conversation. It was agreed then that all three days were covered . The supervisor 'Philippe' on the call was extremely rude and demeaning. He spoke to us as if we wanted to freeload off the hotel and wasn't even ready to consider the situation. We asked why they didn't tell us during checkout, he said 'Other guests were there so I didn't want to take time'. So we asked him why didn't he call us to clarify instead of just charging us without saying. He simply said "I have made a final decision to not refund your money so no point in you talking to me further". I do not know if his comments were racially motivated towards us but he made us feel not worthy of even arguing for our charges. This has been the poorest customer experience of my life and has ruined the memory of my entire trip to Montreal. When we can afford to pay $1500 for 3 night hotel stay, $75 means nothing. But the fact that the hotel does not even care to treat its customers with respect is a big surprise to me. Goes without saying, we will never return to Place d'Armes hotel in our lives.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Ponsin, Guest Services / Front Office at Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal
Responded Oct 1, 2021
Good day Kavya P, Thank you for sharing your experience following your stay in Montreal. I would like to start by saying that I am sorry for all the inconvenience you may have encouter during your stay. There have been a misunderstanding between my supervisor and you in regards of the compensation. Rooms booked shouldn't come with any problem and they must have been inspected before your arrival. However, we might have missed something in the room you went in. In regards of the charge on your credit card, we went ahead and refunded the breakfast amount. It may take up to 5 business days for the amount to be back on the credit card. Thank you for staying with us and I hope that we will have another chance to go beyond your expectation, Michael Ponsin Room division manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katy G wrote a review Jun 2022
Los Angeles, California31 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment I checked in to this absolutely gorgeous hotel, I felt welcomed and pampered. The concierge, Denis, could not have been nicer, more informative and helpful. He alone would make me want to return to Hotel Place d'Armes. This hotel is the PERFECT location - right across from Notre Dame Basilica in the center of Old Montreal, and the room was about the best I've ever stayed in, and I've stayed in a lot. See photos.

My only complaint about Hotel d"Armes, but I did not let it ruin my short stay, was that the service in the Terrace restaurant (see photo) was incredibly poor. My waiter, Gavin, basically ignored me...never offered water or bread or even asked if I wanted another cocktail while I waited for almost an hour (!) for my entre to arrive (and I would have ordered another). My wine arrived when I was halfway through the entre - even though. I was trying to go slowly, I just didn't want it to get cold. He never offered dessert or coffee, which I also would have ordered had I thought I would actually get it in a reasonable amount of time. I was a solo woman, paying top dollar for one of the nicer rooms, and Gavin seemed to be avoiding my table altogether as he went to have long conversations with every other table around me. I had to ask one of the hostesses if she would ask him to come take my order. It was my last dinner in Montreal, and it was hard not to get stressed by the experience. I honestly don't know what was up with him, as I could not have been nicer - the concierge had put me in such a great mood and I loved the terrace where I was sitting. I actually hope someone at the restaurant or hotel sees this and says something to him.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samuel Aussant, Guest Services / Front Office at Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Bonjour Katy, We feel so thrilled that you spent good time with us in Montreal. Indeed we are located in the middle of everything which is a great opportunity to discover our city. Also we would like to apology for the inconvenience you encountered on the terrace and be assured that we already talked with the person concerned. We definitly look forward to seeing you whenever you have the chance to come back ! Warm regards, Samuel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elissa S wrote a review Oct 2022
Thornhill, Canada10 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We found this hotel online and booked it based on location, great reviews, and price. We used our CAA membership for a discount and this also entitled us to complimentary breakfast. Right upon arrival we were impressed. We were greeted by the valent Carl who was very warm and welcoming. Our room was not ready so Carl gave us a map and made suggestions of where to walk and where to go for a bite to eat. He also gave us a subway map to help us get to the hockey game the next night. When our room was ready the front desk let us know that we had a room upgrade - we didn't know why nor did we know what the difference was, but the room was great - an upgraded King room. The room was spacious, clean, had an electric fireplace, a desk, and a lounge chair. The washroom had a large walk in shower. The hotel is well located a short walk to everything you want to see in Old Montreal. The valet desk provided us with an umbrella on rain days and bottled water to keep us hydrated on our walks. One night Carl the valet drove us to dinner as it was raining. The concierge Dennis (concierges are a rarity these days) booked a dinner reservation for us. The complimentary breakfast was very nice - the restaurant has a nice ambiance and the food was fresh, constantly replenished and there was a lovely selection of fresh fruit. The hotel itself was so nice. They had a few lounges, one of which had a pool table and large screen tv. Unfortunately we had to cut our trip short by one day as one of us came down with Covid but the hotel was very accommodating and did not charge us for the last night. This hotel is not the cheapest but between the location, ambiance and incredible service it is well worth every penny.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samuel Aussant, Guest Services / Front Office at Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal
Responded Oct 28, 2022
Good day, Thank you for these kind words. We are delighted to learn that you had a memorable stay with us and that you enjoyed the room and its amenities, the location of the hotel and that our team members helped make your stay more enjoyable. Carl and Denis also thanks you for your kind words. We are sorry to learn that you had to shorten your stay and hope you had a safe trip back home. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
grammy_diane2010 asked a question Jan 2022
Springfield, Vermont14 contributions4 helpful votes
How far to bell center if walking
Answer from MichaelPonsin
Montreal, Canada1 contribution
Hi Grammy, we are 15 minutes away from the Bell center.
Linda Y asked a question Aug 2019
Nichols Hills, Oklahoma
Do you provide early airport transportation for a 7:30 flight?
Answer from jettsetteriam
Toronto, Canada23 contributions7 helpful votes
There are no complimentary shuttles if that is what you are asking but they will call a taxi or you can order an uber.
Answer from Bryan Quilliams
Hello stevef265, thank you for your question; Here are your choices from YUL to Hotel Place d'Armes on a Tuesday at 5:30 PM: There is a shuttle called the 747 which has a designated bus lane through most of the way here. It costs $12/person - tickets purchased through a machine on the Ground Transportation level of YUL. The downside is that its closest stop to the Hotel is 4 blocks away. Otherwise, taxis are readily available at Ground Transportation level at a fixed cost of $41. and then there is always the UBER option where prices vary. Please let us know if there's anything else we can do for you. We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Place d'Armes for your anniversary.
William D asked a question May 2019
Toronto, Canada1,547 contribution170 helpful votes
Does this hotel have HBO in the rooms, we would like to watch Game of Thrones?
Answer from 341marshas
4 contributions4 helpful votes
Sorry William, I do not know. We were too busy exploring Montreal to watch any TV except for the news. Great staff at the Hotel so am sure they will be able to answer all your questions.
Mayank S asked a question Mar 2019
Wellesley, Massachusetts10 contributions
Hi - what spa facilities do guest have complementary access to, if any? Thanks.
Answer from Bryan Quilliams
Hi MayankS53, thank you for your question. Rainspa allows access to the hammam with any reserved treatment. Otherwise, access to the Hammam is $30 per day without a treatment. I hope this answers your question. Let us know if you have any other questions. Your Hospitality Team
Curiosity593380 wrote a tip May 4
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The restaurants fill up quickly so book in advance to avoid disappointment especially the Japanese restaurant. "
Read full review
vacationingmama wrote a tip Mar 2024
tennessee168 contributions79 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the creme brulee as room service dessert, delicious! Visit the Notre Dame Basilica, on the same block as hotel. Room 2703 is amazing."
Read full review
Curious34551998939 wrote a tip Mar 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't wait to make a reservation at the Japanese restaurant on premises. "
Read full review
sallywt wrote a tip Feb 2024
Sheffield, United Kingdom76 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you plan to eat in any of the local pubs then make a reservation in advance as we arrived on a Tuesday evening and struggled"
Read full review
Adam M wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use the valet services as this part of Montreal is a walking city. Also schedule any spa accommodations early, this was on us and we forgot."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Montreal area.
PRICE RANGE
₱13,794 - ₱20,430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
le place d`armes hotel montreal, le place d`armes hotel and suites, le place d armes montreal
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecMontrealVieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) / Ville-Marie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
169
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HÔTEL PLACE D'ARMES OLD MONTREAL - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal
Which popular attractions are close to Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal?
Nearby attractions include Notre-Dame Basilica (0.1 km), Old Montreal (0.2 km), and Dubarry Furs (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gaspar Brasserie Française, Maggie Oakes, and Café Olimpico - Vieux-Montréal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Montreal.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
All Montreal HotelsMontreal Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MontrealHotels near Hôtel Place d'Armes Old Montreal
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars