Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel

Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel

7 septembre 2023 / chambre 661
Traveler (102)
7 septembre 2023 / chambre 661
Room & Suite (52)
Breakfast Sliders - a guest favourite!
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
₱6,304
₱6,160
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#11 of 35 hotels in Sudbury
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to Sudbury's Landmark of Hospitality. Situated off of Highway 69, our hotel is within close proximity to the Vale Glencore, Laurentian University, Health Sciences North Hospital, Northeast Cancer Center and many restaurants and shopping centres. With 14,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space and a 24-hour Business Centre, the Holiday Inn Hotel is your one stop shop for events such as training sessions, conventions, conferences, expos, staff parties, workshops, private meetings, and weddings. For those travellers looking to escape from the business world, our hotel is close to the beautiful board walk located behind Science North, and minutes from Sudbury's largest attraction, the Big Nickel at Dynamic Earth. . Relax in one of our comfortable rooms featuring our free high-speed Wi-Fi, and large 42" LED HD TV . Whether you are travelling on business or for pleasure, we've got it all and we know you will love our rooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

1696 Regent Street, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 3Z8 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 53 out of 100
53
Sudbury Airport
25.2 km
See all flights
299Reviews8Q+A54Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 100
  • 107
  • 44
  • 25
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TorontoTimTim wrote a review Sep 2023
Toronto299 contributions176 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Basic rules for showers:
1. The curtain must be in the bath or drainage area.
2. The curtain must cover the complete shower.
In room 297 the roll-in shower it is fitted with a bowed curtain rod. This is fine for rooms with baths. It gives the user the feeling of more room. In a room like 297, there is a roll-in shower. To get the centre of the curtain in the drainage area the two ends of the rod were installed one foot inside the shower - sort of defeats the idea of more room. Plus, the long curtain is heavy. It has caused the centre of the rod to droop. So much so, that when you have a shower the two ends of the curtain move up over a foot away from the wall. Push them back and they move again. Water goes everywhere. The shower needs a straight rod.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel
Responded Sep 21, 2023
Hi TorontoTimTim, Thanks for staying at the Holiday Inn Sudbury. We value your business with us. Our guests can count on us to keep our hotels clean, the staff friendly, and everything in working order. I am sorry for your experience during your stay. I have shared your comments with the hotel management so they may check the areas that need attention. Again, thanks for your feedback. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you with a pleasant stay. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dawn H wrote a review Jun 2023
Campbell, California92 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel staff were courteous and friendly. Room was spacious and clean. I love that they had Dove products for shampoo, etc (first time I have ever had this). We.paid a small extra fee when booking to get breakfast and it was worth it! While hotel was located next to main road, our room was very quiet. Would stay here again if I ever visit Sudbury again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Donna H wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night on our way done to St. Jacob's and again on our way back home from there. The front desk staff was courteous and helpful. They also were fast to check us in . The rooms both times were very clean . It was explained to us we had to book the pool because of Covid and we were glad to know it was for our safety as well . They only thing was there was noo chairs or tables in the pool area but that was understandable because to make sure it stays clean it happens. One restaurant was closed but the bar one was open and the was very good . My husband and found the portions very big . The bar staff was very good to us and kind . When we showed our proof of vaccinations there thanked us . I would gladly recommend this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Remember they are doing their best to keep everyone is safe !
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Crystal I wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Ok where to start we travelled for medical reasons and had to stay at this hotel twice in a week period . First stay we were in a room on second floor let’s just say cleanliness and maintenance are not a priority for this hotel . We had hand prints all over mirror , dirt and dust everywhere and with Covid this is huge concern . Bathroom was same worn out and just lacking some good cleaning . Caulking around tub and bathroom was all worn out and either black or rust colour . Torn carpet in the bed area . Outlets near bed are worn out to point anything that you plugged in fall out. Windows are filthy and have such film on them hard to see out . Second stay we were given a room apparently on fourth floor this hotel is like a maze and I am disabled after walking half way to room still no elevator in site we returned to front desk said I am disabled I can’t make the walk after showing them I am in a cast they finally agreed to a room change . Both front desk people were whispering about were to put us like it was inconvenience . I overheard them say don’t worry about it room should be ok as they assigned us new room . That should of been my warning of what was to come . They wouldn’t give us the key they insisted on making spectacle of me being disabled and insisted on escorting us to our room. The gentleman walked to fast and asked my boyfriend if he can leave me to follow and catch up eventually . My boyfriend said no and waited for me to catch up . So got to our room on first floor and our escort from front desk left handed us key . This room was the worst it was very obvious this was a room that previously was out of service . Hence the whispering at front desk . The room was filthy and everything had thick layers of dust on it . The bedding was stale smelling and pillows smelled odd . The bathroom smelled like death and was very dirty even shower was so dirty we wouldn’t use it also back of bathroom door had stuff sprayed all over it some of it was white . There was a collection of flys and other bugs in the light fixture by bathroom . We decided to just rough it for the one night we were there but made us wonder what happened in this room it’s very obvious they weren’t using it for a reason . Anyways If you want a clean friendly hotel that you feel comfortable in this is not it . If you want a run down hotel with high cost and feel ripped off this is place for you . Also if your disabled and want to feel like a inconvenience and made a spectacle of this is place for you . If you want to be treated with dignity then go elsewhere . This hotel needs to be renovated , deep cleaned , and staff retrained to focus on being compassionate and friendly . Hoping I dont get sick after being at this hotel . I give it a 1 if I could give it a zero I would this place is horrible and over priced .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel
Responded Nov 28, 2021
Hi 160crystali, Yhank you for your visit and the time you have given to providing feedback. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience. It was apparent that we missed this opportunity to amaze you. I am sorry we have fallen short on the aspect of the cleanliness standards, of the room, amenities, and the level of customer service you received.. Know that I have shared your comments with the hotel management team for review to meet the needs of our guests. To discuss further, I sent you a private message. I value your insights. We hope to welcome you back and deliver an experience memorable only for the right reasons in the future. I look forward to your response. Warm regards, Zel N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Betty-Ann H wrote a review Feb 2020
Toronto, Canada135 contributions250 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed 2 nights in this hotel and changed rooms 3 times, All were terrible. The first room was obviously a modified meeting room with an absence of furniture. It looked like a bowling alley and smelt of chlorine as it was right beside the pool. The second room had a dirty torn carpet and the sink was plugged. When I ran the water black crud filled the sink. In the third room the door lock wouldn't work, the handle kept falling off the shower whenever I tried to adjust it and the phone had no dial tone (which I discovered when I didn't get my wake up call fro my early morning flight).In the current environment with Coronavirus we need hotels that clean and sanitize, especially in a place like Sudbury with its international mining community. Unfortunately this hotel fails at basic cleaning and its guests pay the price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel
Responded Mar 14, 2020
Hello Betty-Ann H, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. I want a well-maintained lodging space for you, and I am sorry to learn about the condition and level of cleanliness of some of the in-room amenities. I have alerted the individuals concerned about your comments, and I am positive that the actions taken will avoid similar issues from reoccurring in the future. I have also sent you a private message regarding your experience. I hope you give our hotel another try! Best regards, Clayton G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashley Evans wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was definitely a maze and very confusing. I called ahead and asked for a room on the main floor at the back door as I was having back surgery and couldn’t walk any length of distance. When I got to the hotel, I had a very hard time understanding what the staff member was saying, and I got a room on the second floor, and the farthest from the back door, at the end of the hallway. That was unacceptable. I called ahead intentionally so I would get what I needed. Back surgery isn’t something to take lightly. I was very disappointment about it. I’ve always had good experiences from this hotel chain, but this was not one of them. It was clean, and quiet, but the customer service was poor.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel
Responded Feb 5, 2021
Dear AMPeters88, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay due to the location of the room assigned and the service of our staff. Please be assured that I have noted and forwarded your comments for the management to improve. In the midst of the inconvenience, I am glad to know that the cleanliness in our hotel was still appreciated. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stonefield H wrote a review Apr 2022
Richards Landing, Canada2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff was helpful and extremely professional, no issues there. The room was clean, comfortable and well-appointed, and apart from the usual frustration with the television access, no complaints. Our issue was with the food service. Since masking for staff was apparently optional, one would think that restrictions had been largely lifted and regular service resumed. Why, then, is there no room service? We chose to order dinner from the on site restaurant (impressive menu, btw) and eat in our room, but did not enjoy the styrofoam containers and plastic cutlery. Since we had to pick up the food order ourselves, we would have been perfectly willing to carry back glass plates and stainless utensils. Such pathetic presentation really detracted from the excellent food and rendered the meal much less enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Lower floors are exposed to overhead walking.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LookingForReasonable wrote a review Feb 2024
Newmarket, Canada201 contributions127 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was OK, I'd stay here again in a pinch but it is certainly an old hotel with a face lift. The room itself was fine, two queens and the bathroom itself was actually very good. Some challenges- plugs/usb ports on bedside table didn't work and the construction noise on what looks like an abandoned hotel on the other side was not good during the day. I stayed on the first floor, I'd ask for a higher floor next time as there's lots of pool traffic and noise until 10pm. Breakfast was good, they obviously had teams in but it was nice the way they served regular guests and teams in a different area. It's a holiday in, I wasn't expecting the Ritz.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Make sure you don't stay on the 1st floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel
Responded Mar 16, 2024
Dear LookingForReasonable, Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Sudbury while visiting Sudbury and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. It's a pleasure having you as our guest. I am pleased that the location of our hotel, the service of our staff, and our breakfast met your expectations. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience, and it is always great to hear from our valued guests how we are doing. I also took note of your feedback about the sleeping quality in our room due to noise. I will share your comments with our team to provide a better experience in the future. Furthermore, I apologize for your observation. Once again, thank you for deciding to stay with us. We would be delighted if you revisit us in the future. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHG Hotels and Resorts Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Venai wrote a review Nov 2021
Whitby, Canada31 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve been always using Sudbury’s Holiday-inn as a stepping stone to my outer territory in Sault Ste Marie and Timmins on the way up and and way back down to Toronto. I love staying in the spacious and clean room 492 with the jacuzzi tub.

I must give my utmost thanks to Paul who have been always helpful and very accommodating. Dina is also a wonderful front desk representative.
I met the hotel manager Lisa today as I was returning the pool access fob and she was wonderful.
She asked me about my experience having the pool allocated in segments… so you basically have the massive heated pool to yourself once you book accordingly.

The pool as I mentioned before is heated and very clean and comfortable.

The room 492 is huge, very comfortable, clean and the bed and pillows are to die for!

Icing on the cake is the hotel has a fully stocked bar and lounge/kitchen for late travellers who just don’t want to leave the hotel after a long day.

I totally recommend and again hats off to Paul and the staff for the excellent service.

I myself is in the hospitality and service industry and I recognize great service when I see it.

Thank you Holiday inn Sudbury for making my travels to northern Ontario an ease.

Cheers

V
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Book before because the hotel can pretty booked fast and I always stay in the main hotel and not...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dan G wrote a review Sep 2022
Peoria, Illinois1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible time. The fire alarm activated at 12:30 am. The front desk, when asked, did not know anything. There was a smell of smoke. We waited outside in the rain for almost 30 minutes. On our return, we saw the employees at the front desk in a back room laughing with each other. The next morning on our check out the front desk said it was a false alarm.

I will remember this the next opportunity in my travels.

Dan Guzzi 309.370.4689
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel
Responded Sep 28, 2022
Hi Curious219944, It's a delight for us to host your stay. We appreciate you for choosing the IHG® Hotels and Resorts properties as your travel partner. Thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry to learn what happened during your stay. I've shared your feedback with our management team as a reference for improvements needed. I've also sent you a private message to discuss this further. I hope to get another chance to host your next visit as we promise to make the value of your experience worth it for all the right reasons. Yours in hospitality, Jeraldine R. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Manny G
Cambridge, Canada301 contributions76 helpful votes
Yes there are
TAMTAM0000 asked a question Oct 2018
North Bay, Canada13 contributions20 helpful votes
Will you be airing ufc 229 on Saturday?
Sharon C asked a question Jul 2017
Sioux Lookout, Canada85 contributions11 helpful votes
Is there shuttle service available to the Via rail train station on Lasalle Blvd?
Sudbury, Canada
Hi Kirby O, thanks for your question. Although we do not have drive-up access, we do have newly renovated guest rooms which are located just steps away from the hotel entrance. Should you require assistance with your baggage, our Guest Services team is more than happy to assist. Look forward to welcoming you soon!
LookingForReasonable wrote a tip Feb 2024
Newmarket, Canada201 contributions127 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you don't stay on the 1st floor"
Read full review
kpividor wrote a tip Sep 2023
Toronto, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not book here"
Read full review
Amber M wrote a tip Aug 2023
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t get room 101 in the Ramsey wing. "
Read full review
TravelJasonsWay wrote a tip Jul 2023
Toronto, Canada91 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"- Will never be my first, second, third or even forth choice for a hotel. - Waited 15 minutes for a waitress to even acknowledge us; Left!"
Read full review
Edward a wrote a tip Apr 2023
33 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"great food in restruant and room service to help with lugage would be nice to have outside adds for food as we dont all have fancy glass cel"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sudbury area.
PRICE RANGE
₱6,752 - ₱8,789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn sudbury hotel sudbury, sudbury holiday inn
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioNortheastern OntarioSudbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
138
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN SUDBURY, AN IHG HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include ARC Climbing + Yoga (0.9 km), Southridge Mall (0.7 km), and Backyard Birder Nature Gift Shop (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tommy's Not Here, Di Gusto Pizza & Pasta, and Ripe Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Sudbury HotelsSudbury Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SudburyHotels near Holiday Inn Sudbury, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars