We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
117 Elm St, Sudbury, Ontario P3C 1T3 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book Direct For Lowest Price!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$83
View deal
Expedia.com$83
Travelocity$83
Hotels.com$83
Priceline$83
Orbitz.com$83
Destinia.com$90
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (30)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 22/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Clarion Hotel
Updated 22/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 35 hotels in Sudbury
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Clarion Hotel in Sudbury, ON is situated in the heart of the city, right next to its main business and entertainment district. Our guests enjoy easy access to a rich variety of shopping and dining venues nearby. If you have friends or family members studying in the city, it will be easy for you to visit them while staying at the Clarion Hotel Sudbury, as all the key colleges and universities of the area including Cambrian College, College Boreal, Laurentian University and the new School of Architecture are located nearby. Every day at the Clarion Hotel Sudbury starts with a delicious breakfast served at our restaurant, the Hardrock 42 Gastropub. Our guests are also most welcome to stop by for a bite at lunch or dinner. If after visiting our restaurant you feel like you need to burn some calories, the onsite fitness centre as well as our indoor swimming pool will be at your disposal. If you prefer to relax in your room before hitting the town or don't feel like checking out any of the nearby restaurants, feel free to order room service from our front desk.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Horseback riding
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Vending machine
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct For Lowest Price!
295Reviews6Q+A34Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 91
  • 115
  • 56
  • 17
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Andrew L wrote a review 7 Aug
Toronto, Canada50 contributions40 helpful votes
My fifth or sixth stay here (see earlier reviews). Always a pleasure. I have to say, I don't understand the other reviews where the people were so miffed about the 3rd and 4th floors given over to long term care. What does that have to do with the hotel room one might have? Nothing, as far as I can tell. I've never seen the people on those floors, and it doesn't bother me, as it shouldn't. My room was clean, quiet, and comfortable, as ever; the location is great; the staff are friendly; parking is free and secure. That's what counts.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mike P wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Do yourself a favor and don't stay here. They have the first 3 floors turned into a hospital for patients they dont have room for in the hospital. It was real nice of them not to inform us of that when we booked. Never again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Andrew L wrote a review Aug 2021
Toronto, Canada50 contributions40 helpful votes
This is my third or fourth stay here. By far the best hotel in Sudbury. Quiet, excellent bed, great location, clean. One thing: Management, if you are reading this, please remove the Bibles from the rooms. This isn't 1953. Or, if you insist on providing your guests with something to read, I'd be happy to recommend to you any number of other fairy tale collections. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
A R wrote a review Aug 2021
Vancouver, Canada34 contributions36 helpful votes
We had a quick night at this hotel on a road trip. The front desk staff and security guard were helpful. It was nice that they had a “walking breakfast” so that we didn’t have to venture into a buffet during this time. The bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean and quiet. Downtown Sudbury seems to have suffered a bit during the pandemic. Several restaurants/cafes shut down and most places were closed on the weekend. Would be a better weekday place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
rolling wolves wrote a review Mar 2021
Ontario, Canada11 contributions2 helpful votes
The 3rd & 4th floor of this hotel are now being occupied by long term care patients because apparently the hospital doesn't have enough room.. As we were never notified of this, I realized this issue as I just walked on the floor and greeted by a care worker/nurse... Upon complaining about the issue at the front desk, the attendant was confused of the issue and said "they pay like everyone else, so what's the problem?" The problem starts with having to share the hotel and elevators with possibly sick elderly ppl and random visitors in and out. My wife and I requested a discount or refund when checking out, the attendant then began to argue and take the hotels side instead of making a customer happy. Unfortunately we used to stay here due to the restaurant on site. We will NEVER stay at the Clarion Sudbury!!! They do not strive for customer satisfaction;)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Derek Weisenberg, Other at Clarion Hotel
Responded 4 Mar 2021
During the recent state of emergency, we have partnered with Health Sciences North to provide temporary accommodations for healthy patients who are receiving physical therapy prior to returning home. This partnership allows for the hospital to free up space for a worse case scenario during the pandemic. All rehabilitative guests and staff receive daily screening and are tested weekly for covid-19. I can ensure you that enhanced health & safety measures are in place to ensure everyone's safety. Other than requiring some additional support, they are guests of our hotel just like yourself. We do not disclose any information about guests staying in the hotel. Essentials workers who are the only guests permitted to be traveling at this time have had no concerns during their stays with us. Sincerely, Derek Weisenberg Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne M wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
I don't understand where they get these employees to greet customers who are coming in for a short stay. Your Sudbury downtown establishment has a moron working the front desk. NO CLASS and VERY RUDE. This person grab my paper out of my hand and would not allow me to have my paper with all my info on. I asked for it and he said it was his paper it has all my info on it. I have tried to file a formal complaint but they have not responded.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Derek Weisenberg, Other at Clarion Hotel
Responded 4 Mar 2021
Your complaint has been received and was rejected as you were not an actual guest at our hotel. Without having proper payment available you chose to cancel your reservation and go else where. Our staff do not tolerate abusive language or behavior and anyone who is unable to follow this will be asked to leave the premises. Sincerely, Derek Weisenberg Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelMeAllTheTime wrote a review Oct 2020
London, Canada44 contributions3 helpful votes
This hotel looks like it is situated in the worst neighborhood of Sudbury. The picture shows the view out our suite window. It was so unwelcoming that I did not even want to keep the curtains open. The staff upon checkin wasn’t friendly, but reassuring letting us know there is a security guard on duty in the parking lot all night to help with crime, and they don’t get “very many” break ins or issues in the parking lot. The 3rd and 4th floors of this building are used for “continuing care” rooms. The pool was such an odd shape that I could not swim while children were playing in the pool because the splashing and waves made it too awkward. It is strange to me that breakfast is not included for the higher price this hotel charges compared to others. For the price, I was expecting better than an Econolodge type hotel. There was no coffee or drink station either. The suite was very outdated including an old stained couch, but clean. and the kitchenette was well appointed with dishes, cutlery, kettle, toaster, microwave. The bed was not comfortable as it had an extra thick layer which did not stretch properly from one side of the mattress to the other, making it more like a double than a queen. There wasn’t anything special about this place though and it shouldn’t carry the name Clarion, which is supposed to have higher level of services, comfort and quality than a budget hotel. Disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Derek Weisenberg, Other at Clarion Hotel
Responded 2 Nov 2020
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marion w wrote a review Mar 2020
7 contributions
This hotel is clean efficient and good for business However; food and beverege services depend on the restaraunt next door which is not open Sunday! The staff are helpful. The rooms have recently been upgraded and are very good !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SudburyClarion, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Hi marion w, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our onsite restaurant is open from 8:00AM - 2:00PM on Sundays. Sincerely, Derek Weisenberg Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruth D wrote a review Feb 2020
Goulais River, ON, Canada2 contributions
We stayed on Saturday night as our grandson was in a hockey tournament and their team was staying there also. Room was very clean, bed and pillows were comfortable. The restaurant served excellent food. And the price was right. What more could you ask for? I will definitely make this our place to stay in Sudbury.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SudburyClarion, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel
Responded 4 Feb 2020
Hi 405rond! Thank you for the great review. Happy to hear you had a great stay and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Yours in hospitality, Derek Weisenberg Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kassie s wrote a review Feb 2020
Ontario, Canada28 contributions29 helpful votes
We stayed for a hockey tournament over the weekend. Our group rented approx 15 rooms. No group discount on the rooms ($130 night) The rooms are basic and clean. Its a centralized place so that was nice. Elevators are very slow and only one was working during our whole stay (2 nights/ 3 days). The kids loved the pool and sauna. Pool is not very big but warm. Cleaning ladies were banging on our door at 8:45am(checkout is for 11). There is NO BREAKFAST at this hotel so factor that in on top of the rook rate. Front desk clerks were not over nice but got us checked in promptly. I was not the one who chose this hotel but if I had to choose I would not have picked this one nor will I come back. For the room rate and service/accommodations, there are better spots in Sudbury. Side note: The hotel restaurant HardRock42 was very good I would recommend that place for dinner
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$100 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
days inn sudbury hotel sudbury, sudbury days inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Days Inn Sudbury
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioNortheastern OntarioSudbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
103
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Clarion Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Clarion Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bay Used Books (0.03 km), Let's Scrabbalatte (0.3 km), and Galerie Du Nouvel-Ontario (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clarion Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Clarion Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Clarion Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Clarion Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clarion Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Respect is Burning Kitchen + Bar, Hardrock 42 Gastropub, and Oscar's Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clarion Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Clarion Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Sudbury.
Are any cleaning services offered at Clarion Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Clarion Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Clarion Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.