We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Plus Suites Downtown

Save
Share
1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6 Canada
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$125
View deal
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (181)
Room & Suite (135)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#33 of 119 hotels in Calgary
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Best Western Plus Suites Downtown is a condominium style hotel that offers a choice of 405 sq ft studio, 765 sq ft One bedroom, 818 sq ft 2-bedroom suite, and 600 sq ft spa suite with modern kitchens. In addition, our Location is amongst the best you will find in Calgary, close enough to enjoy amenities of downtown as well a variety of restaurants and shops are within 5-minute walking distance. Our wall to wall windows will enable you to enjoy stunning views of Calgary’s skyline. We are the only downtown hotel that offers Complimentary Parking for all bookings through hotel direct and bestwestern. com platforms. Enjoy your complimentary Hot breakfast buffet and WiFi. Calgary’s best restaurants and shopping district- the “trendy 17 Ave shops” is just minutes walk away and will delight you with endless choices of cuisine from Italian, Japanese, or Thai in both casual and fine dining. Attractions such as Calgary Tower, a Major downtown Centre, Princess island park, as well as the world-famous Calgary Stampede Grounds and Saddledome, are nearby as well. Come experience our spacious condominium style accommodations with unbeatable value with Complimentary parking, breakfast and WiFi, in one of the finest locations in Calgary!
Read more
Property amenities
Parking garage
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Microwave
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Arabic, Hebrew and 3 more
1143Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 546
  • 399
  • 133
  • 39
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ame123 wrote a review 10 Sep
Dryden, Canada16 contributions2 helpful votes
I am not one to review hotels as they usually have sufficient reviews already but I felt I should share my experience here. We had originally booked into a different location and ended up switching to the Downtown Suites location. Evidentially that might have been a mistake… to start this hotel doesn’t feel like it is in a great part of town… there were several people loitering outside when we arrived. The lobby was misleading because it has obviously been renovated and looks quite nice. The rooms however are quite dated… now this usually wouldn’t bother me at all, but the room was far from clean. The silverware in the kitchenette was dirty, there was hair all over the bathroom floor, the shower curtain had chunks of soap on it, the bed sheets looked very old and were stained and the office chair in the room was covered in something and had to be cleaned before we could use it. To be fair we did not complain to the front desk as we arrived late and were leaving early so they weren’t able to do anything to make it right.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from George Dahbour, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 13ame123, Thank you for taking the time to review us! Our friendly and helpful front desk staff are always available, 24/7,to address any concerns a guest may have. It is concerning that you did not give the staff a chance to address your concerns, but yet chose to address them through social media. Guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to us and to read this review when we were not given the opportunity to sort this out at the time, and make it right, is indeed difficult to understand. Thanks again
Read more
Brenda H wrote a review Jul 2021
Sherwood Park, Canada80 contributions41 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I went to Calgary for a quick getaway. The front desk staff were very helpful and accommodating. The room was spotless and well appointed. Parking was great. I could park in the parking lot outside or underground. The location was great. I will return!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from George Dahbour, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Responded 26 Jul 2021
Dear 630brendah, Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus Suites Downtown! We are gratified to learn you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, George
Read more
CMinvan wrote a review 5 Sep
Vancouver, Canada17 contributions24 helpful votes
It is not the worst hotel but not my favorite either. The room is spacious but very dated. There is something desired to be do cleaning too. (found a long hair in a bathtub). I slept ok but AC is loud....not for light sleepers. The location is good. 17th ave. is a couple of min walk away. The downtown core is walking distance. (5-30 min depends on where you want to go). The breakfast is limited but convenient especially if you leave early joining tour etc.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from George Dahbour, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear CMinvan, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review! Glad you enjoyed the convenient downtown location! Regarding our free continental breakfast, we offer a great choice of options including eggs, potatoes, meat, yoghourts, both cold and hot cereals, bagels with cream cheese & jam, fresh fruits, various breads for toast, as well as coffee, tea, and multiple juices, all at no extra charge to our guests. Thanks again, kind regards, George Dahbour
Read more
karaoulismichael wrote a review 5 Sep
Ajax, Canada23 contributions6 helpful votes
The hotel was not the best; nor, was it the worst I have stayed at. Th hotel was close to 17th. The lobby and breakfast area were renovated. The breakfast was very limited because of the pandemic and needs more options. The rooms and hallways need a lot of work. I would look elsewhere before staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from George Dahbour, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear karaoulismichael, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review! Regarding our free continental breakfast, we do offer a wide range of choice, eggs, potatoes, meat, various cold cereals, oatmeal, fresh fruit, yoghourt, bagels with cream cheese, jams, and bread for toast. We also offer coffee, tea, and a choice of juices. All without any extra charge. Thanks again, George Dahbour
Read more
laina381 wrote a review 3 Sep
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel is well located downtown Calgary, to be honest for the price it is ok. So depending on the kind of vacation you are looking for , if the person wants to enjoy the hotel , this is not a good choice , but if it is just to sleep and eat so it is a good qualitry for the price. My only problem , was that I stayed there 5 days , and no one during the 5 days came to clean-up my room or change the towels . I have never experienced that in a hotel before , it was very disappointed. For the breakfast , it was ok , but dont expect a lot a choices , it was very limited. Otherwise , the staff was very friendly , and the room was big enough.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from George Dahbour, General Manager at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Laina381, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review! Frequency of cleaning is one of the options you select when you book. Please feel free to review the various rates and choices before you select, and you can choose what suits your needs and budget best. Our free continental breakfast is at no charge, includes eggs, potatoes, meat, oatmeal, various cold cereals, muffins, bagels, cream cheese, yoghourt, 2 kinds of fruit. As well as coffee, tea and a variety of juices. Quite a wide variety of choices for a free breakfast. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the large rooms and friendly staff. Many thanks again for your review. Kind regards, George Dahbour
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$73 - US$137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western plus suites downtown hotel calgary, best western calgary, calgary best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCalgaryBeltline
NUMBER OF ROOMS
124
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Plus Suites Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Plus Suites Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Lougheed House (0.3 km), Exit Calgary (0.2 km), and Twisted Element (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown?
Yes, a parking garage, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Plus Suites Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Coup, Holy Grill, and Made by Marcus.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Does Best Western Plus Suites Downtown have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Best Western Plus Suites Downtown offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Plus Suites Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Best Western Plus Suites Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.